Joyce Nordstrom and David Nordstrom v. New York Marine and General Insurance Company, New Orleans City Sightseeing, LLC, Tasha Batiste, John Doe, Xyz Insurance Company, and Automobile Club Inter-Insurance Exchange D/B/A Aaa of Michigan
Joyce Nordstrom and David Nordstrom v. New York Marine and General Insurance Company, New Orleans City Sightseeing, LLC, Tasha Batiste, John Doe, Xyz Insurance Company, and Automobile Club Inter-Insurance Exchange D/B/A Aaa of Michigan, No. 2019-CA-0577 (La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. Dec. 11, 2019).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Gray v. American Nat. Property & Cas. Co. 977 So. 2d 839
- Hayes v. De Barton 211 So. 3d 1275
- Supreme Services v. Sonny Greer, Inc. 958 So. 2d 634
- Cutsinger v. Redfern 12 So. 3d 945
- Duncan v. USAA Ins. Co. 950 So. 2d 544
- Daigle v. Authement 691 So. 2d 1213
- Henson v. Safeco Ins. Companies 585 So. 2d 534
- Guillory v. Progressive Ins. 117 So. 3d 318
- Pierce Foundations, Inc. v. Jaroy Construction, Inc. 190 So. 3d 298
- Eric Borcik v. Crosby Tugs, L.L.C. 222 So. 3d 672
- State v. Williams 60 So. 3d 1189
- Patterson v. Al Copeland Enterprises, Inc. 667 So. 2d 1188
- G.A. Lotz Co. v. Alack 140 So. 3d 94
Opinion text
JOYCE NORDSTROM AND * NO. 2019-CA-0577
DAVID NORDSTROM
*
VERSUS COURT OF APPEAL
*
NEW YORK MARINE AND FOURTH CIRCUIT
GENERAL INSURANCE *
COMPANY, NEW ORLEANS STATE OF LOUISIANA
CITY SIGHTSEEING, LLC, *******
TASHA BATISTE, JOHN DOE,
XYZ INSURANCE COMPANY,
AND AUTOMOBILE CLUB
INTER-INSURANCE
EXCHANGE D/B/A AAA OF
MICHIGAN
APPEAL FROM
CIVIL DISTRICT COURT, ORLEANS PARISH
NO. 2017-10174, DIVISION “J”
Honorable D. Nicole Sheppard,
******
Judge Edwin A. Lombard
******
(Court composed of Judge Edwin A. Lombard, Judge Sandra Cabrina Jenkins,
Judge Tiffany G. Chase)
Jason Giles
Brian King
James E. Courtenay
THE KING FIRM, LLC
2912 Canal Street
New Orleans, LA 70119
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT
Sidney J. Angelle
Brant J. Cacamo
LOBMAN, CARNAHAN, BATT, ANGELLE & NADER
400 Poydras Street, Suite 2300
New Orleans, LA 70130
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE
REVERSED AND REMANDED
DECEMBER 11, 2019
The Appellants, Joyce Nordstrom and her husband David Nordstrom, seek
review of the February 20, 2019 judgment of the district court, granting the motion
for summary judgment of the Appellee, New York Marine and General Insurance
Company (“NYM”). Pursuant to our de novo review, we reverse the judgment of
the district court, finding that there is a genuine issue of material fact as to whether
the policy is a renewal or a new policy, and remand for further proceedings.
Facts and Procedural History
The Nordstroms visited New Orleans in October 2016, and purchased a hop-
on hop-off tour on a double-decker tour bus in New Orleans operated by New
Orleans City Sightseeing, LLC, (“NOCS”). The Nordstroms maintain that Mrs.
Nordstrom was injured while riding on the NOCS tour bus, when the tour bus
driver allegedly made an abrupt stop to avoid a phantom driver. Mrs. Nordstrom
avers that she was thrust out of her seat and sustained serious injuries for which she
was treated at the scene. She maintains that she received further medical treatment
upon her return home to Michigan.
In 2017, the Nordstroms sued NYM as the uninsured or underinsured
motorist (“UM”) carrier of NOCS at the time of the alleged accident.
1
On May 21, 2018, NYM filed a motion for summary judgment, arguing that
there is no genuine issue of material fact that NYM did not provide a policy of UM
coverage to NOCS because NOCS executed a valid waiver of UM coverage dated
October 22, 2015, that was in force and effect on the date of the alleged incident.1
NYM attached to its motion three affidavits from: Doug Hathaway, the Niche
President for underwriting Prosight Specialty Insurance/NYM and General
Insurance; the NOCS General manager Emily Valentino; and the NOCS Managing
member Michael Valentino. Attached to the affidavits were the 2015 NYM policy
(“the 2015 policy”), in effect from July 2015 to July 2016, with the UM rejection
form attached, and the 2016 NYM policy (“the 2016 policy”) in effect from July
2016 thru the date of the alleged accident.
NYM argued that it issued a commercial liability policy, bearing policy
number AU201500007486, for the 2015 policy, which had a $1,000,000 liability
limit. Emily Valentino, NOCS’ general manager, completed the UM rejection
form for this policy. The 2016 policy, bearing policy number AU201600007486,
was issued by NYM to NOCS in 2016. NYM maintains this policy was a renewal
of the 2015 policy. Another UM rejection form was completed by Michael
Valentino on or about July 5, 2016; however, this form is alleged to be invlalid.
The Nordstroms opposed the motion for summary judgment asserting that
the 2015 UM rejection form was inapplicable to the 2016 policy because separate
and distinct applications of insurance were negotiated by NOCS, including an
application for insurance dated June 15, 2016. Therefore, the 2016 policy required
its own UM rejection form. They further argued that NOCS was actively shopping
1
NOCS executed another UM form in 2016, but NYM did not base its motion for summary
judgment on the 2016 NOCS’ UM rejection form, which is alleged to be invalid.
2
for insurance rates prior to executing the 2016 policy with NYM. Thus, they
argued that there is a genuine issue of material fact as to whether the 2016 policy
was a renewal of the 2015 policy or a new policy as defined by La. Rev. Stat.
22:1295(1)(a)(ii).2
The district court, at a February 8, 2019 hearing, granted the motion for
summary judgment and read its Reasons for Judgment into the record. The Court
granted NYM’s motion for summary judgment based upon its determination that
the 2015 UM rejection form executed by Ms. Valentino was applicable to the 2016
policy.3 By judgment dated February 20, 2019, the district court granted NYM’s
motion for summary judgment, dismissing the claims of the Nordstroms with
prejudice. This timely appeal followed.
2
The Nordstroms later filed two respective supplemental oppositions to NYM’s motion for
summary judgment, which were both granted by the district court. First, they filed an ex parte
motion to supplement and a motion to continue, wherein they stated that they had not received a
reply brief filed by NYM and further authenticated a portion of the exhibits previously
submitted. Subsequently, they filed an Unopposed Second Motion to Supplement their
opposition with responses to requests for admissions to authenticate the contents of the
underwriting file they attached to their initial opposition to be properly considered on summary
judgment, as required by La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 966.
3
The district court explained:
. . Here, pursuant to the evidence submitted in support of its
motion for summary judgment, defendant makes a clear and
unmistakable showing that the New Orleans City Sightseeing
normally waived coverage under this particular policy. Emily
Valentino initialed next to the option which stated, “I do not want
UMBI coverage. I understand that I will not be compensated
through UMBI coverage for lost [sic] arising from an accident
caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.” Further the
document signed, printed, and dated [sic]. Moreover, the document
includes the policy number, name of insured, and individual
company. This, coupled with the affidavits of Doug Hathaway and
the [sic] Emily Valentino, suggests that there’s no issue of material
fact, and will preclude summary judgment.
3
The Nordstroms raise nine assignments of error:
1. Whether the district court erred in granting the motion for
summary judgment dismissing with prejudice the
Nordstroms’ UM claims?
2. Whether the district court erred in failing to properly
consider what is a “new policy” under La. Rev. Stat.
22:1295(l)(a)(ii)?
3. Whether the district court erred in failing to consider the
original applications of insurance filled out by NOCS
when it annually shopped its insurance, creating “new
policies” under the terms of La. Rev. Stat.
22:1295(l)(a)(ii)?
4. Whether the district court erred in looking at the intent
of the parties by considering and weighing the “history”
of the rejections at issue and what NOCS “normally”
did?
5. Whether the district court erred in failing to consider the
factual issue of why NOCS executed a UM rejection
form for what NYM argues was a “renewal” policy?
6. Whether the district court erred in failing to consider the
factual questions involved in shopping commercial
insurance and how it impacts the question of renewing
insurance and/or binding new coverage?
7. Whether the district court erred in failing to construe all
factual inferences reasonably drawn from the evidence in
favor of the Nordstroms, as the party opposing the
motion for summary judgment?
8. Whether the district court erred in failing to resolve all
doubt in favor of the Nordstroms, as the party opposing
the motion for summary judgment?
9. Whether the district court erred in failing to allow further
discovery on whether the UM rejection forms in the
underwriting file, including the rejection form that
appears valid and at issue, was filled in and executed on
the same date in compliance with Grey v. Am. Nat. Prop.
& Cos. Co., 07-1670 (La. 2/26/08), 977 So.2d 839, given
the multiple copies of forms partially completed in the
underwriting file?
4
While the Nordstroms maintain that there is a need for more discovery and
that the district court erroneously considered the “history” of NOCS rejecting UM
coverage and what NOCS “normally” did, we pretermit discussion of these
assignments of error. First, the Nordstroms failed to raise the need for more
discovery before the district court. Thus, this issue is not properly before this Court
on appeal. Additionally, the Nordstroms’ reference to the wording the district court
used in its Reasons for Judgment, which are distinct from the judgment itself, are
not reviewable on appeal and are not germane to our de novo review, explained
below.
The central issue of this appeal is whether there is a genuine issue of
material fact that the 2016 policy is a new policy under La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295
(1)(a)(ii), requiring its own rejection form, or is it a renewal of the 2015 policy
such that the 2015 UM rejection form is applicable? Pursuant to our de novo
review and for the reasons more fully explained below, we find that a genuine
issue of material fact exists as to this issue.
Standard of Review
Summary judgments are reviewed by appellate courts under a de novo
standard of review, using the same criteria as the trial court. Gray v. Am. Nat'l
Prop. & Cas. Co., 07-1670, p. 6 (La. 2/26/08), 977 So.2d 839, 844. In order to
prevail on a motion for summary judgment, the moving party must show that
“there is no genuine issue of material fact and that he is entitled to judgment as a
matter of law.” La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 966(A)(3). “The summary judgment
procedure is designed to secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of
every action . . . . The procedure is favored and shall be construed to accomplish
these ends.” La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 966 (A)(2).
5
Documents that may be filed in support of or in opposition to the motion are
“pleadings, memoranda, affidavits, depositions, answers to interrogatories,
certified medical records, written stipulations, and admissions.” La. Code Civ.
Proc. art. 966 (A)(4). Only those documents filed in support of or in opposition to
the motion for summary judgment shall be considered, in addition to any
documents to which no objection is made. La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 966 (D)(2).
Moreover, the burden of proof on a motion for summary judgment rests with
the mover. “Nevertheless, if the mover will not bear the burden of proof at trial on
the issue that is before the court on the motion for summary judgment, the mover's
burden on the motion does not require him to negate all essential elements of the
adverse party's claim, action, or defense, but rather to point out to the court the
absence of factual support for one or more elements essential to the adverse party's
claim, action, or defense.” La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 966 (D)(1). The adverse party
bears the burden of producing “factual support sufficient to establish the existence
of a genuine issue of material fact or that the mover is not entitled to judgment as a
matter of law.” La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 966 (D)(1).
“Insurance policies are interpreted according to the general rules of contract
interpretation, and liability insurance policies are interpreted to provide coverage
not deny coverage.” Hayes v. De Barton, 16-541, pp. 2-3 (La. App. 3 Cir.
2/15/17), 211 So.3d 1275, 1278 (citing Supreme Servs. & Specialty Co., Inc. v.
Sonny Greer, Inc., 06-1827 (La. 5/22/07), 958 So.2d 634). The Hayes Court
further explained Louisiana’s public policy that UM coverage will be read into a
policy except when such coverage is validly rejected, as set forth in La. Rev. Stat.
22:1295(1)(a)(ii):
6
Louisiana law provides that “[n]o automobile
liability insurance” policy shall be issued in the state
unless it provides UM coverage for persons injured in
accidents involving “owners and operators of uninsured
or underinsured motor vehicles.” La. Rev. Stat.
22:1295(1)(a)(i). This law embodies a strong public
policy to allow innocent automobile accident victims to
fully recover their damages. Cutsinger, 12 So.3d 945.4
“Thus, under the UM statute, the requirement of UM
coverage is an implied amendment to any automobile
liability policy, even when not expressly addressed, as
UM coverage will be read into the policy unless validly
rejected.” Id. (quoting Duncan v. USAA Ins. Co., 06–363,
p. 4 (La. 11/29/06), 950 So.2d 544, 547).
Id., 16-541, pp, 2-3, 211 So.3d at 1278.
Thus, the UM statute is liberally construed, such that the statutory
exceptions to coverage are to be interpreted strictly. Daigle v. Authement, 96-1662,
p. 3 (La. 4/8/97), 691 So.2d 1213, 1214. Any exclusion from coverage in an
insurance policy must be clear and unmistakable. Id. It is the insurer’s burden to
prove that an insured “named in the policy rejected in writing the coverage equal to
bodily injury coverage or selected lower limits.” Henson v. Safeco Ins. Companies,
585 So.2d 534, 538 (La.1991). Consequently, in the instant matter the burden of
proof is on NYM to establish that NOCS validly rejected UM coverage.
Discussion
The instant appeal involves both statutory interpretations as well as the
interpretation of an insurance contract as “UM coverage is determined not only by
contractual provisions, but also by applicable statutes.” Duncan v. U.S.A.A. Ins.
Co., 06-363, p. 4 (La. 11/29/06), 950 So.2d 544, 547 (citation omitted). “Whether
a policy has been renewed or whether a policy has been submitted as a new
4
Cutsinger v. Redfern, 08-2607 (La. 5/22/09), 12 So.3d 945.
7
application is a factual question.” Guillory v. Progressive Ins. Co., 12-1284, p. 5
(La. App. 3 Cir. 7/3/13), 117 So.3d 318, 323.
In the instant matter, two statutes are applicable:
La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii), entitled Uninsured motorist
coverage; and
La. Rev. Stat. 22:1267, entitled Commercial insurance; cancellation
and renewal.
The requirements for those rejecting uninsured motorist coverage are set
forth in La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii), which requires the completion of a form
provided by the Commissioner of Insurance:
(ii) Such rejection, selection of lower limits, or selection
of economic-only coverage shall be made only on a form
prescribed by the commissioner of insurance. The
prescribed form shall be provided by the insurer and
signed by the named insured or his legal representative.
The form signed by the named insured or his legal
representative which initially rejects such coverage,
selects lower limits, or selects economic-only coverage
shall be conclusively presumed to become a part of the
policy or contract when issued and delivered, irrespective
of whether physically attached thereto. A properly
completed and signed form creates a rebuttable
presumption that the insured knowingly rejected
coverage, selected a lower limit, or selected economic-
only coverage. The form signed by the insured or his
legal representative which initially rejects coverage,
selects lower limits, or selects economic-only coverage
shall remain valid for the life of the policy and shall
not require the completion of a new selection form
when a renewal, reinstatement, substitute, or
amended policy is issued to the same named insured
by the same insurer or any of its affiliates. An
insured may change the original uninsured motorist
selection or rejection on a policy at any time during the
life of the policy by submitting a new uninsured motorist
selection form to the insurer on the form prescribed by
the commissioner of insurance. Any changes to an
existing policy, regardless of whether these changes
create new coverage, except changes in the limits of
liability, do not create a new policy and do not require
8
the completion of new uninsured motorist selection
forms. For the purpose of this Section, a new policy
shall mean an original contract of insurance which an
insured enters into through the completion of an
application on the form required by the insurer.
[Emphasis added].
The Third Circuit in Guillory explained that La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii),
establishes that a new policy is created when policy limits are changed and/or when
an application for new insurance policy is completed:
The statute [La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii)] is
clear that an insured can modify a policy without creating
a new policy. Such changes might include new coverage,
but cannot include changes in the limits of liability. When
changes other than liability limits are completed, a new
uninsured motorist selection form is not required. In
contrast to changes during the term of the contract, a new
policy can be created. This is not the same as modifying
a contract during its term. A new policy is created when
an original contract of insurance is entered into upon
completion of an application on the form required by the
insurer. Whether a policy has been renewed or whether a
policy has been submitted as a new application is a
factual question.
It is incorrect to assert that a new policy can only
be created when there is a change in liability limits.
Louisiana Revised Statutes [sic] 22:1295(1)(a)(ii) is clear
that during the term of a policy it can be modified
without creating a new policy; however, if the liability
limits are changed, this is a way to enter into a new
policy which would require a new UM selection form.
Another way to enter into a new policy arrangement
is further laid out in the statute: through completion
of an application on the required form. Furthermore,
it is important not to confuse changes during the term
of a policy with a renewal of a policy. . . .
A policy can be renewed, and this does not require a new
waiver of UM coverage. . . . On the other hand, a new
application on the required form also creates a new
policy, which also requires a new waiver of UM
coverage. [Emphasis added].
Guillory, 12-1284, pp. 5-6, 117 So.3d at 323-24.
9
While La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295 states that a properly executed UM rejection
form is applicable to the “renewal” of a policy, the statute does not define the
term.5 However, in Section B(5) of La. Rev. Stat. 22:1267,6 the Louisiana
Legislature set forth the definition of a “renewal” policy applicable to commercial
liability insurance policies:
B. For the purposes of this Section, the following terms
shall mean:
(5) “Renewal” or “to renew” means the issuance of or the
offer to issue by the insurer a policy succeeding a policy
previously issued and delivered by the same insurer or an
insurer within the same group of insurers, or the issuance
of a certificate or notice extending the term of an existing
policy for a specified period beyond its expiration date.
Our review of the record, the aforementioned statutes and the Third Circuit
opinions of Guillory and Hayes, reveals that the definition of a new policy and a
renewal are met in the instant matter.
In Guillory, a Cox Communications Inc. employee and his spouse (“the
plaintiffs”) filed suit against Cox’s automobile insurer, American Home Assurance
5
The Louisiana Legislature has expressed that “[w]hen a law is clear and unambiguous, and its
application does not lead to absurd consequences, it shall be applied as written, with no further
interpretation made in search of the legislative intent. Pierce Foundations, Inc. v. Jaroy Const.,
Inc., 15-0785, pp. 6-7 (La. 5/3/16), 190 So.3d 298, 303 (citing La. Rev. Stat. 1:4). “The starting
point for interpretation of any statute is the language of the statute itself.” Borcik v. Crosby Tugs,
L.L.C., 16-1372, p. 4 (La. 5/3/17), 222 So.3d 672, 675.
However, unclear and ambiguous laws, or laws whose application leads to absurd consequences
are reviewed under “secondary rules of statutory interpretation to discern the meaning of the
statute at issue.” Id. (citations omitted.) In such cases, the statute “must be interpreted as having
the meaning that best conforms to the purpose of the law. Moreover, when the words of a law are
ambiguous, their meaning must be sought by examining the context in which they occur and the
text of the law as a whole.” Id., 16-1372, p. 5 (La. 5/3/17), 222 So.3d at 675.
6
The Nordstroms maintain that the “renewal” definition contained in the above-referenced
statute is inapplicable because it is neither contained in nor referenced in La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295
(1)(a)(ii). Nevertheless, the Louisiana Supreme Court reasoned that “all laws pertaining to the
same subject matter must be interpreted in pari materia, or in reference to each other.” See, e.g.,
State v. Williams, 10-1514, p. 4 (La.3/15/11), 60 So.3d 1189, 1191; La. Civ. Code art. 13.
Moreover, the Third Circuit in both Hayes and Guillory applied La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295 with La.
Rev. Stat. 22:1267(B)(5).
10
Co., seeking UM benefits for a 2005 accident that left the employee injured.
American Home asserted that Cox had validly rejected UM coverage in an
insurance policy issued a few years prior to the accident which was still applicable
as the policy had been continuously renewed. The district court ultimately granted
summary judgment in favor of the plaintiffs, determining that American Home’s
2005 policy was a new policy, not a renewal. After a jury verdict was rendered for
the plaintiffs, both parties filed motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict;
however, the district court granted only the plaintiffs’ motion. Guillory, 12-1284,
pp. 1-3, 117 So.3d at 321-22.
On appeal, American Home argued that a 2002 UM waiver was valid at the
time of the 2005 accident. Id., 12-1284, p. 3, 117 So.3d at 322. The Guillory
Court reasoned that it needed to address two issues: whether the completion of an
application for insurance creates an original contract of insurance; and whether the
limits of liability changed. Id., 12-1284, p. 5, 117 So.3d at 323.
The Third Circuit noted that negotiations that occurred between American
Home and Cox were “distinctive and important to the application of the law.” The
Court determined there were significant differences between the policies issued for
three successive years, noting that: the premiums for the policies were separately
and annually negotiated between American Home and Cox; UM waiver forms
were completed for each of the policies7; and the policy limits had also changed in
each of the policies. As a result of the foregoing, the Court reasoned that the
completion of an application for insurance created a new original contract of
insurance. Id.,12-1284, pp. 7-8, 117 So.3d at 324-25. Thus, the Guillory Court
reversed the district court’s grant of summary judgment.
7
The Third Circuit noted that the latter two waivers executed were both invalid.
11
Following the Third Circuit’s decision in Guillory, the Court again
addressed the issue of whether a commercial insurance policy was a “renewal” or a
“new policy” under La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii). In Hayes v. De Barton, 16-
541 (La. App. 3 Cir. 2/15/17), 211 So.3d 1275, an employee was seriously injured
when struck by another motorist. He and his wife (“the plaintiffs”) sued his
employer’s insurer, Penn Millers Insurance Company, seeking UM coverage. The
district court granted the plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment, finding
that the insurance policy issued by Penn Millers provided UM coverage. Penn
Millers appealed, raising among other issues that its insured had validly waived
UM coverage in 2007, which applied to the 2013 accident. Id., 16-541, pp. 1-2,
211 So.3d at 1277-78.
The Third Circuit reviewed the plaintiffs’ argument that the
employer/insured annually submitted new applications for insurance, which the
plaintiffs asserted required the annual completion of a UM waiver. Relying upon
commercial auto forms for various years that identified the insured/employer as
“applicant,” the plaintiffs maintained that the statutory definition of a “new policy”
was met under La. Rev. Stat. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii), as application forms required by
the Employer’s insured had been completed. Id., 16-541, p. 6, 211 So.3d at 1280.
The Hayes Court reasoned, however, that the plaintiffs failed to consider that
the policy at issue was a renewal under La. Rev. Stat. 22:1267(B)(5). Id. The Court
further noted that seven forms identified as “Declarations: General Policy
Information,” corresponding to the policies it issued to the insured/employer
beginning in 2007 and continuing through 2013, were in the record. The initial
2007 declarations form identifies the policy as a “new policy” bearing policy
number PAC 2603726-01. However, the subsequently and consecutively issued
12
declarations forms for policies issued from 2008-2013 included the same
identification information, with policy numbers that only changed corresponding to
the years the policy had been in effect, as well as identifying them as policy
renewals:
The 2007 declarations form also identifies the
“Transaction” as “New Policy.” Every declarations form
after the 2007 form includes the same identification
information with one exception: the policy numbers after
2007 are PAC 2603726–02 for 2008 through PAC
2603726–07 for 2013. The last two numbers “02”
through ‘07” reflect the number of years the policy had
been in effect. The limit of insurance on each
declarations form remained $1 million during those
years. Moreover, the 2008–2013 declarations forms
identify the “Transaction” as “Policy Renewal Certificate
for PAC 2603716–01” through “PAC 2603716–06.” This
evidence establishes that Penn Millers renewed O’Neal’s
commercial auto policy each year and did not issue a new
policy each year.
Id., 16-541, p. 6, 211 So.3d at 1280.
The Hayes Court reversed the judgment of the lower court on this issue, as well as
on other issues, holding that the subsequent policies were renewals. Id.
In the instant matter, a review of the 2015 and 2016 policies shows that the
limits of liability remained the same, thus, a new policy was not created in this
manner. Furthermore, the only change in the policy number is the change in the
year the policy was issued from AU201500007486 to AU201600007486, which is
factually similar to Hayes.
Additionally, another similarity to the facts of Hayes is that the declarations
page of the 2015 policy states “Previous Policy Number: NEW,” whereas the
declarations page of the 2016 policy states “Previous Policy Number:
AU201500007486.” Thus, from the face of these documents it would appear that
the 2016 policy was a renewal of the 2015 policy because NYM issued “a policy
13
succeeding a policy previously issued and delivered” to NOCS, under La. Rev.
Stat. 22:1267(B)(5).
Nevertheless, the documents contained in the record also show that a new
application for insurance was completed by NOCS as it shopped for competitive
rates and/or coverage. Included in the record is a “Public Transportation
Application” dated July 10, 2016, the same type of form completed on NOCS’
behalf in 2015, showing that NOCS as an “applicant” was shopping for insurance
policies. Mr. Valentino also executed a new UMBI rejection form in connection
with the 2016 application. Ultimately, NOCS again obtained insurance coverage
with NYM in 2016 with the same liability limit, but with a premium lowered by
over $8,000, from $153,162 to $144,938, evidencing NOCS and its agents were
negotiating for a better rate. As the Guillory Court observed, such negotiations are
integral to the procurement of a “new policy.”
In consideration of the differing facts about the 2016 policy, we recognize
that the weighing of conflicting evidence on a material fact has no place in
summary judgment procedure. Patterson v. Al Copeland Enterprises, Inc., 95-
2288, p. 2 (La. App. 4 Cir. 1/19/96), 667 So.2d 1188, 1190 (citation omitted).
Appellate courts, furthermore, must consider whether summary judgment is
appropriate under the circumstances of the case and whether there is a genuine or
triable issue on which reasonable minds could disagree. G.A. Lotz Co. v. Alack, 13-
674, p. 7 (La. App. 5 Cir. 4/9/14), 140 So.3d 94, 98.
In the matter sub judice, the record contains evidence of both a new policy
and a renewal such that reasonable minds could disagree. We determine that there
is a genuine issue of material fact as to whether the 2016 policy is indeed a renewal
14
of the 2015 policy. Therefore, we reverse the judgment of the district court and
remand for further proceedings.
DECREE
For the reasons discussed herein, the February 20, 2019 judgment of the
district court granting summary judgment in favor of New York Marine and
General Insurance Company, is reversed and the matter is remanded for further
proceedings.
REVERSED AND
REMANDED
15