Brian Savoie, Kendrick Savoie and Kevin Savoie, Individually and on Behalf of the Decedent, Willie Savoie v. Anco Insulations, Inc.; The McCarty Corporation; Union Carbide Corporation; Reilly-Benton Company, Inc.; Taylor-Seidenbach, Inc.; Georgia-Pacific, LLC; Entergyy Gulf States of Louisiana, LLC; Exxon Mobil Corporation; Honeywell International, Inc.; Shell C
Brian Savoie, Kendrick Savoie and Kevin Savoie, Individually and on Behalf of the Decedent, Willie Savoie v. Anco Insulations, Inc.; The McCarty Corporation; Union Carbide Corporation; Reilly-Benton Company, Inc.; Taylor-Seidenbach, Inc.; Georgia-Pacific, LLC; Entergyy Gulf States of Louisiana, LLC; Exxon Mobil Corporation; Honeywell International, Inc.; Shell C, No. 2020CA0584 (La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. Apr. 9, 2021).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Prejean v. McMillan 274 So. 3d 575
- Sensebe v. Canal Indemnity Co. 35 So. 3d 1122
- Sensebe v. Canal Indemnity Co. 58 So. 3d 441
- Fouquet v. Daiquiris & Creams of Mandeville, L.L.C. 49 So. 3d 44
- Knighten v. Daniell Battery Manufacturing Co. 688 So. 2d 1197
- Learson v. Bussey 695 So. 2d 988
- Richard v. Hebert's Creamery, Inc. 415 So. 2d 668
- Credeur v. Luke 368 So. 2d 1030
- 32 La. 1979 not in our corpus
- McGuire v. Smith 370 So. 2d 895
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL
FIRST CIRCUIT
PM NUMBER 2020 CA 0584
WBRIAN SAVOIE, KENDRICK SAVOIE & KEVIN SAVOIE, INDIVIDUALLY
AND ON BEHALF OF THE DECEDENT, WILLIE SAVOIE
VERSUS
NCO INSULATIONS, INC.; THE MCCARTHY CORPORATION; UNION
CARBIDE CORPORATION; REILLY-BENTON COMPANY, INC.; TAYLOR-
SEIDENBACH, INC.; GEORGIA -PACIFIC, LLC; ENTERGY GULF STATES
OF LOUISIANA, LLC; EXXON MOBIL CORPORATION; HONEYWELL
INTERNATIONAL, INC.; SHELL CHEMICAL, L.P.; SHELL OIL COMPANY;
THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY; THE TEXAS COMPANY
Judgment Rendered:
APR 0 9 2021
Appealed from the
Nineteenth Judicial District Court
In and for the Parish of East Baton Rouge
State of Louisiana
Suit Number C645843
Honorable Robert D. Downing, Presiding
Benjamin D. Rumph Counsel for Plaintiffs/Appellants
J. Burton LeBlanc, IV Brian Savoie, et al
David R. Cannella
Christopher C. Colley
Jeremiah S. Boling
Kristopher L. Thompson
Baton Rouge, LA
Lawrence G. Pugh Counsel for Defendant/ Appellee
Jacqueline A. Romero Arrowood Indemnity Co.
Donna M. Young
Shelley L. Thompson
G. Benjamin Ward
New Orleans, LA
BEFORE: GUIDRY, McCLENDON, AND LANIER, JJ.
GUIDRY, J.
Plaintiffs, Brian Savoie, Kendrick Savoie, and Kevin Savoie, individually and
on behalf of their decedent father, Willie Savoie, appeal from a judgment of the trial
court granting summary judgment in favor of defendant, Arrowood Indemnity
Company, and dismissing all claims against it with prejudice. For the reasons that
follow, we affirm.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Willie Savoie worked for Stone & Webster Engineering Corporation ( Stone
Webster) from 1967- 1978. Savoie was subsequently diagnosed with asbestos-
related lung cancer and thereafter died as a consequence of this disease on February
11, 2015. On February 10, 2016, his surviving children filed a petition for damages
against multiple manufacturers/ suppliers of asbestos containing products and several
premises defendants, alleging Savoie worked with and/or was exposed, on numerous
occasions, to asbestos and/ or asbestos containing products produced, manufactured,
installed, removed, maintained, sold, and/or distributed by defendants and in doing
so, inhaled great quantities of asbestos fibers, which resulted in physical and mental
injury.
Plaintiffs thereafter amended their petition to add Arrowood Indemnity
Company ( Arrowood) as a defendant as the insurer of Stone & Webster and its
executive officers. Arrowood, as successor to Royal Indemnity Insurance Company,
issued a comprehensive general liability insurance policy to Stone & Webster and
its executive officers that provided coverage from January 1, 1965 to January 1,
1968. This policy was extended for two successive annual policy periods.
Arrowood issued a subsequent policy on January 1, 1970, which was cancelled
effective June 2, 1971.
On October 28, 2019, Arrowood filed a motion for summary judgment based
upon its assertion that Arrowood' s commercial general liability policies issued to
2
Stone & Webster contained employee exclusions that preclude coverage to Stone &
Webster for plaintiffs' claims. Arrowood also claimed the policies do not extend
additional insured coverage to Stone & Webster executive officers for injury,
sickness, disease, or death of a co -employee such as Savoie.
At the hearing on Arrowood' s motion, the parties conceded that the
employee exclusion" precluded coverage for the named insured, Stone & Webster;
therefore, the only contested issue before the trial court on the motion for summary
judgment was the applicability of the " co -employee exclusion" with regard to claims
against the executive officers. Following the hearing, the trial court signed a
judgment on February 7, 2020, granting summary judgment in favor of Arrowood
and dismissing all claims against Arrowood with prejudice. Plaintiffs now appeal
from the trial court' s judgment.
DISCUSSION
A motion for summary judgment shall be granted only if the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions, together with the affidavits,
if any, admitted for purposes of the motion for summary judgment, show that there
is no genuine issue of material fact and that the mover is entitled to judgment as a
matter of law. La. C. C. P. art. 966( B)( 2). In determining whether summary judgment
is appropriate, appellate courts review evidence de novo under the same criteria that
govern the trial court' s determination of whether summary judgment is appropriate.
Prejean v. McMillan, 18- 0919, p. 3 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 2/ 28/ 19), 274 So. 3d 575, 578.
An insurer seeking to avoid coverage through summary judgment must prove
that some exclusion applies to preclude coverage. Sensebe v. Canal Indemnity Co.,
09- 1325, p. 4 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 3/ 24/ 10), 35 So. 3d 1122, 1125, affd, 10- 0703 ( La.
1/ 28/ 11), 58 So. 3d 441. An insurance policy, as a contract between the parties,
should be construed using the general rules of contract interpretation. If the words
of the policy are clear and explicit and lead to no absurd consequences, no further
C
interpretation may be made in search of the parties' intent, and the agreement must
be enforced as written. La. C. C. art. 2046; Fouquet v. Daiquiris & Creams of
Mandeville, LLC, 10- 0233, p. 4 ( La. App. 1 st Cir. 9/ 13/ 10), 49 So. 3d 44, 47.
Moreover, an insurer has the burden of proving that a loss falls within a policy
exclusion. Additionally, in determining whether an exclusion applies to preclude
coverage, courts are guided by the well- recognized rule that an exclusionary clause
in an insurance policy must be strictly construed. Nonetheless, an insurance policy,
including its exclusions, should not be interpreted in an unreasonable or strained
manner so as to enlarge or to restrict its provisions beyond what is reasonably
contemplated by its terms or so as to achieve an absurd conclusion. Fou uet, 10-
0233 at pp. 4- 5, 49 So. 3d at 47- 48 ( citing Sensebe, 09- 1325 at p. 6, 35 So. 3d at
1125- 26).
Arrowood' s Commercial General Liability Policy RTG075085, which
provided coverage from January 1, 1965 to January 1, 1970 provides:
I. Coverage A -Personal Injury Liability
To pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall
become legally obligated to pay as damages because of personal injury,
sickness or disease, including death at any time resulting therefrom,
sustained by any person.
III. Definition of Insured
The unqualified word " insured" includes the named insured and
also includes executive officers, directors, stockholders, and employees
of the Named Insureds while acting within the scope of his or her duties
as such, provided that:
2) The insurance afforded under this policy (see endorsement) does not
apply to any employee with respect to injury to or sickness, disease or
death of another employee of the same employer in the course of such
employment.
Arrowood Policy RTG075020, which provided coverage from January 1, 1970 to
June 2, 1971, provides:
L INSURING AGREEMENTS
The Company will pay on behalf of the insured all sums which
the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because
of:
El
Coverage A —personal injury sustained by any person, caused by
an occurrence....
III. DEFINITION OF INSURED
The unqualified word " insured" means and includes:
a) each Named Insured;
b) any executive officer, director, stockholder or employee ( including
a nurse or other employee rendering medical treatment) of a Named
Insured while acting within the scope of his, her, or its duties as
such, as well as any officer, director or employee of a stockholder
of a Named Insured while acting with respect to the affairs of such
Named Insured, provided that the insurance afforded by this policy
does not apply:
ii) to any employee with respect to bodily injury ( including sickness,
disease or death) to another employee of the same employer sustained
in the course of such employment unless such employer has agreed as
a term of employment to provide such insurance to the employee or
unless such injury is covered by coverage C....
According to the plain language of the foregoing policies, " insured" is defined
to include executive officers when they are acting within their capacity as such.
However, the definition further provides that coverage is not provided to any
employee with respect to any bodily injury, sickness, disease, or death to another
employee of the same employer in the course of such employment. Plaintiffs assert
that because executive officers and employees are listed separately in one subsection
defining who is insured under the policy that the reference to " employee" in the co -
employee exclusions only applies to " employees" and not to executive officers. We
find this argument to be without merit.
As this court has previously recognized in the context of co -employee
exclusions, executive officers work for and are paid by the employer, and as such,
are employees of the corporation for purposes of such exclusions from coverage.
See Kniahten v. Daniell Battery Manufacturing_Company, Inc., 96- 0733 ( La. App.
1st Cir. 12/ 20/ 96), 688 So. 2d 1197, 1200, writ denied, 97- 0997 ( La. 6/ 13/ 97), 695
So. 2d 988. Furthermore, we do not find that the designation of executive officers
as separate from employees in the definition of insured under the policies renders
the policies ambiguous. The fact that executive officers are among those defined as
5
insureds" and also considered as " employees" of the named insured employer in
the co -employee exclusion does not in and of itself render the policy ambiguous.
See Richard v. Hebert' s Creamery, Inc., 415 So. 2d 668, 670 ( La. App. 3rd Cir.
1982). Furthermore, contrary to plaintiffs' argument on appeal, we find that the
instant matter is distinguishable from Credeur v. Luke, 368 So. 2d 1030, 1031- 32
La. 1979) and McGuire v. Smith, 370 So. 2d 895, 898 ( La. App. 1 st Cir. 1979),
wherein the president and executive officer defendants were listed as named
insureds under the policy. In the instant matter, the executive officers were not listed
as named insured, and therefore, the ambiguity present in Credeur and McGuire is
not present in the instant matter.
Accordingly, because we find that the plain language of the policies at issue
exclude coverage for the executive officer defendants pursuant to the co -employee
exclusions, we find that Arrowood is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of
law.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the judgment of the trial court. All costs
of this appeal are assessed to plaintiffs, Brian Savoie, Kendrick Savoie, and Kevin
Savoie, individually and on behalf of their decedent father, Willie Savoie.