Jose Rodriguez-Zaldivar and Dylcio Rodriguez Cruz v. Charles Leggett and Progressive Casualty Insurance Company
Also decided on this docket: La. Ct. App. 4th Cir., September 28, 2022
Jose Rodriguez-Zaldivar and Dylcio Rodriguez Cruz v. Charles Leggett and Progressive Casualty Insurance Company, No. 2021-CA-0478 (La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. Mar. 29, 2023).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- 354 So. 3d 658 not in our corpus
- 330 So. 3d 152 not in our corpus
- 347 So. 3d 863 not in our corpus
- Abadie v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. 804 So. 2d 4
- Holmes v. Caeser 528 So. 2d 1391
- Morris v. Players Lake Charles, Inc. 761 So. 2d 27
- Gooding v. Merrigan 180 So. 3d 578
- Trascher v. Territo 89 So. 3d 357
- Bradley v. Safeway Insurance Co. of Louisiana 17 So. 3d 1
- Erwin v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. 771 So. 2d 229
- 339 So. 3d 524 not in our corpus
- 309 So. 3d 805 not in our corpus
- Finch v. HRI Lodging, Inc. 152 So. 3d 1039
- Williams v. Stewart 46 So. 3d 266
- Housley v. Cerise 579 So. 2d 973
Opinion text
JOSE RODRIGUEZ- * NO. 2021-CA-0478
ZALDIVAR AND DYLCIO
RODRIGUEZ CRUZ *
COURT OF APPEAL
VERSUS *
FOURTH CIRCUIT
CHARLES LEGGETT AND *
PROGRESSIVE CASUALTY STATE OF LOUISIANA
INSURANCE COMPANY *******
APPEAL FROM
CIVIL DISTRICT COURT, ORLEANS PARISH
NO. 2015-12246, DIVISION “C”
Honorable Sidney H. Cates, Judge
******
Judge Joy Cossich Lobrano
******
(Court composed of Judge Daniel L. Dysart, Judge Joy Cossich Lobrano, Judge
Sandra Cabrina Jenkins, Judge Paula A. Brown, Judge Dale N. Atkins)
On Remand from Louisiana Supreme Court
Miguel A. Elias
Paula J. Ferreira
Graham Brian
LAW OFFICE OF MIGUEL A. ELIAS
4224 Williams Boulevard
Kenner, LA 70065
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLEES
Christopher M. Short
Nat G. Kiefer, Jr.
Kris P. Kiefer
KIEFER & KIEFER
1100 Poydras Street, Suite 1300
New Orleans, LA 70130
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLANT
REVERSED AND RENDERED
MARCH 29, 2023
JCL This motor vehicle accident case is before this Court on remand from the
DLD Louisiana Supreme Court. Rodriguez-Zaldivar v. Leggett, 22-01688 (La. 2/7/23),
SCJ 354 So.3d 658. On our de novo review, we reverse the March 10, 2021 judgment
PAB of the district court, which awarded plaintiffs/appellees, Jose Rodriguez-Zaldivar
DNA
(“Zaldivar”) and Dylcio Rodriguez Cruz (“Cruz”) (collectively, “Plaintiffs”),
$15,000 and $65,000, respectively, in damages. Further, we render a judgment in
favor of defendant/appellant, Progressive Security Insurance Company
(“Progressive”), and dismiss Plaintiffs’ claims with prejudice.
The facts and procedural history of this matter are set forth in detail in this
Court’s prior opinion. Rodriguez-Zaldivar v. Leggett, 21-0478 (La. App. 4 Cir.
9/28/22), --- So.3d ---, 2022 WL 4494100, writ granted, judgment vacated and set
aside, 22-01688 (La. 2/7/23), 354 So.3d 658. Progressive brought its appeal before
this Court, seeking reversal of the March 10, 2021 trial judgment awarding
damages to Plaintiffs. In our prior opinion, this Court found that Plaintiffs failed to
show that they were unavailable for trial, as provided in La. C.C.P. art. 1450, and
1
that the erroneous admission of Plaintiffs’ depositions into evidence, in lieu of their
live testimony, affected a substantial right, Progressive’s opportunity to cross-
examine witnesses at trial. The Louisiana Supreme Court upheld our evidentiary
determination, but it vacated this Court’s remand of the case for a new trial.
Pursuant to the Supreme Court’s instruction, we conduct an independent de novo
review of the record to determine the sufficiency of the evidence. Rodriguez-
Zaldivar, 22-01688, p. 1, 354 So.3d at 658 (citing Cook v. Sullivan, 20-01471, pp.
6-7 (La. 9/30/21), 330 So.3d 152, 157, reh’g denied, 20-01471 (La. 12/7/21), 347
So.3d 863). On our review, we find that the evidence is insufficient to prove
causation of Plaintiffs’ injuries.
Plaintiffs allege that they sustained personal injuries in a vehicle collision,
wherein Progressive’s insured, Charles Leggett (“Leggett”), backed his Chevrolet
Tahoe into a parked utility van owned by Zaldivar. At trial, Plaintiffs did not
testify, and we cannot consider their depositions in our review. No witness testified
at trial to Plaintiffs’ accounts of their accident. Notably, Leggett, the only live
witness at trial, testified that no one was inside the van at the time of the collision.
Leggett testified that if a person was in the front seat of the van, he would have
seen him. According to Leggett, after the collision, he parked and exited his Tahoe,
and a male in his 30’s or 40’s approached him from down the street, claiming to be
the owner of the van. The other evidence introduced at trial included the
Progressive policy, photographs of the van and accident site, map images of the
accident site, and Plaintiffs’ respective medical records.
2
In the absence of Plaintiffs’ testimony, the only evidence admitted at trial
that Plaintiffs were inside the van at the time of the collision are their patient
histories – the statements given to their medical providers which purport to give a
reason for their injuries – as documented within their medical records. Progressive
stipulated to the authenticity of most of these medical records at trial, with the
exception of certain billing records it objected to as untimely produced, but
reserved its rights to challenge medical causation.
We recognize that patient histories are usually admissible as hearsay
exceptions. See La. C.E. art. 803(4). Nevertheless, where the inability to confront
or cross-examine a witness is at issue, such patient histories alone are generally
insufficient to meet a patient’s burden of proof as to causation. Abadie v. Metro.
Life Ins. Co., 00-344, 00-345 - 00-856, pp. 5-6 (La. App. 5 Cir. 4/11/01), 804
So.2d 4, 6-7 (citing Holmes v. Caeser, 528 So.2d 1391, 1392 (La. App. 4th Cir.
1988); Morris v. Players Lake Charles, Inc., 99-1864, pp. 3-4 (La. App. 3 Cir.
4/5/00), 761 So.2d 27, 29); see also Gooding v. Merrigan, 15-200, pp. 6-7 (La.
App. 5 Cir. 11/19/15), 180 So.3d 578, 582-83 (citing Trascher v. Territo, 11-2093,
p. 8 (La. 5/8/12), 89 So.3d 357, 364). Rather, “the medical record provides at most
prima facie evidence that the statements were made, not of the truth of the
statements.” Abadie, 00-344, 00-345 - 00-856, p. 6, 804 So.2d at 7 (quoting
Morris, 99-1864, pp. 3-4, 761 So.2d at 29).
“The plaintiff seeking damages in a civil action must prove each element of
his claim by a preponderance of the evidence.” Bradley v. Safeway Ins. Co. of La.,
3
08-1188, p. 2 (La. App. 4 Cir. 5/6/09), 17 So.3d 1, 2 (citing Erwin v. State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 34,127, p. 4 (La. App. 2 Cir. 11/1/00), 771 So.2d 229, 232)).
Louisiana jurisprudence employs a duty-risk analysis to resolve negligence claims
under La. C.C. art. 2315. Doe v. McKesson, 21-00929, p. 7 (La. 3/25/22), 339
So.3d 524, 531. A plaintiff seeking to prevail under a negligence claim must prove
five elements:
(1) the plaintiff suffered an injury; (2) the defendant
owed a duty of care to the plaintiff; (3) the duty was
breached by the defendant; (4) the conduct in question
was the cause-in-fact of the resulting harm; and (5) the
risk of harm was within the scope of protection afforded
by the duty breached.
Id. “Failure to prove any of the elements of the duty-risk analysis results in a
determination of no liability.” Seymour v. House of Blues New Orleans Rest.
Corp., 20-0297, p. 6, n. 4 (La. App. 4 Cir. 11/25/20), 309 So.3d 805, 811 (quoting
Finch v. HRI Lodging, Inc., 49,497, p. 8 (La. App. 2 Cir. 11/19/14), 152 So.3d
1039, 1044).
“The test for determining the causal relationship between an accident and a
subsequent injury is whether the plaintiff proved through medical and lay
testimony that it is more probable than not that the subsequent injuries were caused
by the accident.” Williams v. Stewart, 10-0457, p. 6 (La. App. 4 Cir. 9/22/10), 46
So.3d 266, 272. We find the evidence of record is insufficient to prove causation of
Zaldivar’s and Cruz’s injuries. Without Plaintiffs’ testimony, the only evidence of
Plaintiffs’ presence inside the van at the moment of the collision are their
statements given to health care providers, “which, although admissible as hearsay
4
exceptions, standing alone are insufficient to carry [their] burden.” See Abadie, 00-
344, 00-345 - 00-856, p. 7, 804 So.2d at 7.
Plaintiffs argue that they can establish causation via the Housley
presumption. We disagree. The Housley presumption is a jurisprudentially-created
concept wherein:
a plaintiff may be aided by a presumption of causation if
before the accident the plaintiff was in good health, but
subsequent to the accident the symptoms of the disabling
condition appear and those symptoms continuously
manifest themselves afterward providing that the
evidence establishes a reasonable possibility of causal
connection between the accident and the disabling
condition.
Williams, 10-0457, pp. 6-7, 46 So.3d at 272 (citing Housley v. Cerise, 579 So.2d
973, 980 (La. 1991))(other citations omitted). We find no case, however, that
would allow Zaldivar and Cruz a presumption that they were involved in an
accident. Contrast Housley, 579 So.2d at 975 (wherein plaintiff and corroborating
eyewitness testified that plaintiff fell down the stairs). Even if the Tahoe collided
with the van, we cannot presume that both Zaldivar and Cruz were inside.
Evidence is needed. We cannot apply the Housley presumption to these facts, and
the record before us on remand lacks sufficient evidence that the Tahoe’s collision
with the van caused Plaintiffs’ injuries.
Accordingly, for the reasons set forth herein, we reverse the March 10, 2021
trial judgment, we render judgment in favor of Progressive Security Insurance
Company, and we dismiss Plaintiffs’ claims with prejudice.
REVERSED AND RENDERED
5