Stonetrust Commercial Insurance Company v. TBT Contracting, Inc. of LA
Stonetrust Commercial Insurance Company v. TBT Contracting, Inc. of LA, No. 2022CA0972 (La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. June 20, 2023).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- 231 So. 3d 624 not in our corpus
- 344 So. 3d 656 not in our corpus
- 350 So. 3d 501 not in our corpus
- Crockerham v. La. Med. Mut. Ins. Co. 255 So. 3d 604
- Neighbors Federal Credit Union v. Anderson 196 So. 3d 727
- 277 So. 3d 1193 not in our corpus
- Wooley v. Lucksinger 61 So. 3d 507
- 300 So. 3d 437 not in our corpus
- 185 So. 3d 5 not in our corpus
- 325 So. 3d 398 not in our corpus
- 325 So. 3d 373 not in our corpus
- Mitchell v. Southern Scrap Recycling, LLC 93 So. 3d 754
- Sabillon v. Max Specialty Insurance Co. 99 So. 3d 47
- Allen v. EXHIBITION HALL AUTHORITY 842 So. 2d 373
- King v. Allen Court Apartments II 189 So. 3d 1069
- 353 So. 3d 153 not in our corpus
- 343 So. 3d 230 not in our corpus
- 349 So. 3d 1 not in our corpus
- 277 So. 3d 787 not in our corpus
- Stephens TPS, Inc. v. Lapoint 253 So. 3d 799
- 48 So. 3d 12701 not in our corpus
- 319 So. 3d 362 not in our corpus
- Forstall v. City of New Orleans 238 So. 3d 465
- Duncan v. Balcor Property Management, Inc. 615 So. 2d 985
- Duncan v. Balcor Property Management, Inc. 617 So. 2d 936
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL
FIRST CIRCUIT
NO. 2022 CA 0972
STONETRUST COMMERCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY
VERSUS
TBT CONTRACTING, INC. OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.
Judgment Rendered: JUN 2 0 2423
Appealed from the
17" Judicial District Court
In and for the Parish of Lafourche
State of Louisiana
Docket No. C- 140821
The Honorable Marla M. Abel, Judge Presiding
Jeremy D. Carter Counsel for Plaintiff/Appellant,
Phillip E. Foco Stonetrust Commercial Insurance
Colin P. O' Rourke Company
Baton Rouge, LA
Davis R. Peltier Counsel for Defendants/ Appellees,
Michelle Deloach Brooks Joshua Luft and Melissa Luft
Michael G. Gee
Mallory F. Maddocks
Kaitlyn E. Bourg
Thibodaux, LA
Travis L. Bourgeois Counsel for Defendant/Appellee,
Sidney W. Degan III TBT Contracting, Inc. of LA
Jena W. Smith
New Orleans, LA
BEFORE: GUIDRY, C.J., HOLDRIDGE, LANIER, WOLFE,
AND MILLER, JJ.
AJ r' 4 s 6U s.
crc `
Wd t a r
tl` xfcSSc h
c
AMIAMI
MILLER, J.
An electrical subcontractor' s workers' compensation carrier, Stonetrust
Commercial Insurance Company, appeals a summary judgment dismissing its tort
claims against the contractor, TBT Contracting, Inc. of LA, with prejudice, based
on a finding that the contractor was the statutory employer of the subcontractor' s
injured employee. For the reasons that follow, we reverse.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
In connection with a home renovation project, Joshua and Melissa Luft
entered into an agreement with TBT Contracting, Inc. of LA (" TBT"), on March
13, 2019, to " provide all material, equipment, labor and supervision to construct
the additions and renovations" to their residence. TBT then subcontracted Naquin
Electrical, Inc. (" Naquin") to "[ p] rovide labor, material, equipment and supervision
for all electrical work" for the Luft residence additions and renovations.
On June 11, 2019, Gary Andras, an employee of Naquin, was injured when
he fell through a hole cut for an attic access door to the floor below. As a result of
the accident, Naquin' s workers' compensation carrier, Stonetrust Commercial
Insurance Company (" Stonetrust"), paid medical and indemnity benefits to Mr.
Andras.
Stonetrust subsequently filed a petition for damages in subrogation against
TBT, the Lufts, and F& G Construction, LLC, seeking reimbursement for all
amounts paid to, or on behalf of, Mr. Andras, damages, penalties, legal interest,
attorney' s fees, and costs.' TBT answered and asserted various affirmative
defenses, including the affirmative defense of statutory employer immunity.
On July 16, 2021, TBT filed a motion for summary judgment contending
that Stonetrust' s claims against TBT wholly arise from the work-related accident
and are thus governed exclusively by the provisions of the Louisiana Workers'
In a first amending and supplemental petition, Stonetrust named F& G Construction,
LLC, who was also performing work at the site, as a defendant.
2
Compensation Act. TBT submits that, at all relevant times, it was the statutory
employer of Mr. Andras pursuant to La. R. S. 23: 1061 and is thus immune from
liability in the instant suit, such that Stonetrust' s claims against it should be
dismissed with prejudice. With reference to the claims asserted by Stonetrust,
TBT contends that Stonetrust, stepping into Mr. Andras' s shoes as subrogee, has
no greater rights to recovery than those of Mr. Andras. In support of its motion for
summary judgment, TBT submitted the affidavit of its President, T. Benton
Thompson, attaching the March 13, 201.9 agreement with the Lufts, the subcontract
agreement with Naquin, and correspondence and invoices; and the Lufts' answers
to interrogatories and requests for production of documents.
Stonetrust opposed the motion, contending that TBT failed to set forth
competent summary judgment evidence establishing the contracts herein, the
obligations it contracted to perform, the obligations it subcontracted to third
parties, and what its alleged statutory employee was doing at the time of the
accident. In support of its opposition, Stonetrust presented the deposition of TBT
Superintendent Brian Larousse with attached invoices; the deposition of Joshua
Luft; the deposition of Melissa Luft; and the affidavit of Joshua and Melissa Luft
with the attached agreement between TBT and the Lufts.
Following a hearing, the trial court granted TBT' s motion for summary
judgment.' On March 11, 2022, the trial court signed a judgment granting TBUs
motion for summary judgment and dismissing Stonetrust' s claims against it with
prejudice.
Stonetrust now appeals, contending that the trial court erred in finding that
TBT was entitled to immunity under La. R. S. 23: 1061 where the summary
judgment evidence was insufficient and " without making a specific factual
2The trial court also heard and granted a motion for summary judgment in favor of the
Lufts, dismissing Stonetrust' s claims against them with prejudice. This court affirmed that
judgment on appeal. See Stonetrust Commercial Insurance Company v. TBT Contracting, Inc.
of LA, 2022- 0971 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 4/ 14/ 23), — So. 3d _ ( 2023 WL 2947826).
3
determination that Mr. Andras was injured while performing work in furtherance
of the two -contract relationship."
DISCUSSION
Summary Judgment
A motion for summary judgment is a procedural device used to avoid a full-
scale trial when there is no genuine issue of material fact. M/V Resources LLC v.
Louisiana Hardwood Products LLC, 2016- 0758 ( La. App. Pt Cir. 7126117), 225 So.
3d 1104, 1109, writ denied, 2017- 1748 ( La. 12/ 5117), 231 So. 3d 624. After an
opportunity for adequate discovery, a motion for summary judgment shall be
granted if the motion, memorandum, and supporting documents show that there is
no genuine issue as to material fact and that the mover is entitled to judgment as a
matter of law. La. C. C. P. art. 966( A)(3). The only documents that may be filed in
support of or in opposition to the motion are pleadings, memoranda, affidavits,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, certified medical records, written
stipulations and admissions. La. C. C. P. art. 966( A)(4). The court may consider
only those documents filed in support of or in opposition to the motion for
summary judgment and shall consider any documents to which no objection is
made. La. C. C. P. art. 966( D)( 2).
On a motion for summary judgment, the initial burden of proof is on the
mover. La. C. C. P. art. 966( D)( 1). The mover' s supporting documentary evidence
must prove the essential facts necessary to carry his burden. Hooper v. Lopez,
2021- 1442 ( La. App. Is' Cir. 6122122), 344 So. 3d 656, 660, as clarified on reh'
911122), writ denied, 2022- 01421 ( La. 11122122), 350 So. 3d 501. If the mover
fails to carry this burden, summary judgment must be denied in favor of a trial on
the merits. Crockerham v. Louisiana Medical Mutual Insurance Co., 2017- 1590
La. App. 1St Cir. 6/ 21/ 18), 255 So. 3d 604, 608. It is only when the moving party
has established both that there is no genuine issue of material fact and that he is
l
entitled to judgment as a matter of law, that it is incumbent upon the adverse party
to establish that there is a genuine issue for trial. Neighbors Federal Credit Union
v. Anderson, 2015- 1020 ( La. App. V Cir. 613116), 196 So. 3d 727, 734- 735.
When a motion is made and properly supported, an adverse party may not
rest on the mere allegations or denials of his pleading, but his response, by
affidavits or as otherwise provided by law, must set forth specific facts showing
there is a genuine issue for trial. La. C. G. P. art. 967( B). The burden is then on the
adverse party to produce factual support sufficient to establish the existence of a
genuine issue of material fact or that the mover is not entitled to judgment as a
matter of law. La. C. C. P. art. 966( D)( 1). If he does not so respond, summary
judgment, if appropriate, shall be rendcred against him. La. C. C.P. art. 967(B).
To summarize, on a motion for summary judgment, it must first be
determined that the supporting documents presented by the moving party are
sufficient to resolve all material issues of fact. If they are not sufficient, the
summary judgment should be denied. Only if they are sufficient does the burden
shift to the opposing party to present evidence showing that a material fact is still
at issue; only at this point may one no longer rest on the allegations contained in
his pleadings. Neighbors Federal Credit Union, 196 So. 3d at 734.
In determining whether summary judgment is appropriate, appellate courts
review evidence de novo under the same criteria that govern the trial court' s
3
determination of whether summary judgment is appropriate. MN Resources
We note that appellate courts review judgments and not reasons for judgment. Waltony.
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 2018- 1510 ( La. App. I" Cir. 5131119), 277 So. 3d
1193, 1199. In fact, judgments are often upheld on appeal for reasons different than those
assigned by a trial court. Wooley v. Lucksinger, 2009- 0571, 2009- 0584, 2009- 0545, 2009- 0586
La. 4/ 1/ 11), 61 So. 3d 507, 572. Reasons for judgment are merely an explication of the trial
court' s determinations and do not alter, amend, or affect the final judgment being appealed.
Davis v Allstate Property & Casualty Insurance Co., 2019- 0285 ( La. App. I" Cir. 11115119)
unpublished) 2019 WL 6044635, * 2, citing Walton, 277 So. 3d at 1199.
Additionally, because this court reviews summary judgments de novo, we afford no
deference to the trial court' s underlying reasoning for its judgment. John River Cartage, Inc. v.
Louisiana Generating, LLC, 2020- 0162 ( La. App. 1St Cir, 314120), 300 So. 3d 437, 453 n. 12,
titin King v. Allen Court Apartments II, 2015- 0858 ( La. App. 0 Cir. 12123115), 185 So. 3d
5
LLC, 225 So. 3d at 1109. Because it is the applicable substantive law that
determines materiality, whether a particular fact in dispute is material must be
viewed in light of the substantive law applicable to the case. Gentry v. Spillers,
2020- 1077 ( La. App, Pt Cir. 5/ 10/ 21), 325 So. 3d 398, 402, writ denied, 2021-
00509 ( La. 10/ 5121), 325 So. 3d 373.
Statutory Employer
Under the Louisiana Workers' Compensation Act, an employer is liable for
compensation benefits to an employee who is injured as a result of an accident
arising out of and in the course of his employment. La. R.S. 23: 1031. An
employee injured in an accident while in the course and scope of his employment
is generally limited to the recovery of workers' compensation benefits as his
exclusive remedy against his employer and, thus, may not sue his employer in tort.
Mitchell v. Southern Scrag Recycling, L.L.C., 2011- 2201 ( La. App. 1St Cir.
6/ 8/ 12), 93 So. 3d 754, 757, writ denied, 2012- 1502 ( La. 10112/ 12), 99 So. 3d 47.
Louisiana adopted a broad version of the statutory employer doctrine; thus, the Act
expressly extends the employer' s compensation obligation and its corresponding
tort immunity to a " principal," which is also referred to as a " statutory employer."
See Allen v. State _ex rel. Ernest N. Morial-New Orleans Exhibition Hall Authority,
2002- 1072 ( La. 4/ 9/ 03), 842 So. 2d 373, 378.
Statutory employer immunity is governed by La. R.S. 23: 1061( A), which
provides that the principal, as a statutory employer, shall be granted the exclusive
remedy protections of La. R.S. 23: 1032 and shall be liable to pay workers'
compensation benefits to any employee employed in the execution of the work or
to his dependent. A statutory employer relationship shall exist, in two instances:
835, 839, writ denied, 2016- 0148 ( La. 3114116), 189 So. 3d 1069. Thus, we will review the
summary judgment de novo to determine whether there is any genuine issue of material fact, and
whether the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. See La. C. C. P. art. 966( A)(3);
Louisiana Property Development, LLC v. U -S. National Title Insurance Company, 2022- 0163
La. App. I" Cir. 9116122), 353 So. 3d 153, 158.
31
1) when a party undertakes to carry out any work that is a part of its trade,
business, or occupation by means of a contract with another party; or ( 2) when a
party contracts to perform work and sub -lets any portion of the work to another
party (the " two -contract" theory). See La. R.S. 23: 1032( A)( 1) and ( 2) and La. R. S.
23: 1061( A)(1) and ( 2); Allen, 842 So. 2d at 378.
In the instant case, TBT contends that it is entitled to statutory immunity
under the two -contract theory, which is set forth in La. R.S. 23: 1061( A)(2), as
follows:
A statutory employer relationship shall exist whenever the services or
work provided by the immediate employer is contemplated by or
included in a contract between the principal and any person or entity
other than the employee' s immediate employer.
The two -contract theory applies when: ( 1) the principal enters into a
contract with a third party; ( 2) pursuant to that contract, work must be performed;
and ( 3) in order for the principal to fulfill its contractual obligation to perform the
work, the principal enters into a subcontract for all or part of the work performed.
Allen, 842 So. 2d at 379. The two -contract statutory employer status contemplates
relationships among at least three entities: a general contractor who has been hired
by a third party to perform a specific task; a subcontractor hired by that general
contractor; and an employee of the subcontractor. Badeaux v. St. Tammany Parish
Hospital Service District No. 1, 2021- 1229 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 6/ 3/ 22), 343 So. 3d
230, 236, writ denied, 2022- 01169 ( La. 11/ 1/ 22), 349 So. 3d 1. The purpose
behind the two -contract theory is to establish a compensation obligation on the part
of the principal who contractually obligates itself to a party for the performance of
work and who then subcontracts with intermediaries whose employees perform
1St
any part of that work. Fee v. Southern Packaging, Inc., 2018- 1364 ( La. App.
Cir. 5/ 24/ 19), 277 So. 3d 787, 798.
7
An employer seeking to avail itself of tort immunity bears the burden of
proving its entitlement to immunity. Patterson _v. Raceland Equipment Company,
LLC, 2017- 0703 ( La. App. 1St Cir. 4/ 18/ 18), _ So. 3d _, _, 2018 WL 1870156,
3, writ denied, 2018- 1018 ( La. 1018118), 253 So. 3d 799. Furthermore, immunity
statutes must be strictly construed against the party claiming the immunity.
Labranche v. Fatty' s, LLC, 2010- 0475 ( La. App, I" Cir. 10129110), 48 So. 3d
12701 1272. The ultimate determination of whether a principal is a statutory
employer entitled to immunity is a question of law for the court to decide.
Patterson, So. 3d at , 2018 WL 1870156 at * 3.
In the instant case, TBT, as the mover on the motion for summary judgment,
bears the burden of proving tort immunity and showing there is no genuine issue of
material fact as to the defense that it is the statutory employer of Mr. Andras. See
La. C. C.P. art. 966( D)( 1); Horrell v. Alltmont, 2019- 0945 ( La. App. 1 St Cir.
7/ 31/ 20), 309 So. 3d 754, 759. Accordingly, if the supporting documents
presented by TBT are sufficient to resolve all material issues of fact, only then
would the burden shift to Stonetrust to present evidence showing that a material
fact is still at issue. See La. C.C.P. art. 966( D)( 1).
In support of its motion for summary judgment, TBT offered the affidavit of
its President, Mr. Thompson, who attested that TBT was hired by the Lufts to serve
as a general contractor for the complete renovation of their residence pursuant to a
contract that he prepared and submitted to the Lufts on February 21, 2019, which
was approved and signed by Mr. Luft on March 13, 2019. Mr. Thompson further
attested that TBT, in turn, entered into a subcontract with Naquin to provide labor,
material, equipment, and supervision for all electrical work, and that Naquin
invoiced TBT directly for all work performed at the Luft residence. The contract,
subcontract, and invoices were attached to Mr. Thompson' s affidavit. TBT
contends that its contract with the Lufts and its subcontract with Naquin, in
connection with Mr. Thompson' s affidavit, establish that it was the statutory
employer of Mr. Andras under the two -contract theory and is thus statutorily
immune from tort liability.
Stonetrust contends on appeal that TBT failed to meet its initial burden of
proving that Mr. Andras was injured while performing work in furtherance of the
two -contract relationship. In response, TBT maintains that Stonetrust judicially
confessed in its petition that Mr. Andras was injured while " performing electrical
wiring work in the attic of the home located at 704 Menard Street ... as part of a
remodeling project," in the course and scope of his employment with Naquin.
TBT thus contends that Stonetrust' s judicial confession waives the requirement
that TBT produce evidence establishing the same on summary judgment.
On review, however, while the assertions set forth in Stonetrust' s petition
may amount to a judicial confession that Mr. Andras was injured while performing
work in furtherance of the alleged two -contract relationship, TBT failed to attach
Stonetrust' s petition as evidence in support of its motion for summary judgment
and the balance of mover' s supporting documents do not establish this material
fact. Again, a party seeking summary judgment may not reference documents
located elsewhere in the record when those documents were not specifically filed
in support of, or in opposition to, the motion for summary judgment. See La.
G. C. P. art. 966( D)( 2); Huggins v. Amtrust Insurance Company_of _
Kansas Inc.,
2020- 0516 ( La. App. 1St Cir, 12130120), 319 So. 3d 362, 366- 367; Forstall v. City
of New Orleans, 2017- 0414 ( La. App. 4"h Cir. 1/ 17/ 18), 238 So. 3d 465, 471- 472.
In order to prevail on its motion for summary judgment, TBT had the burden
of establishing that Mr. Andras was injured while performing work in furtherance
of the two -contract relationship, and failed to do so. Thus, because TBT failed to
meet its initial burden of establishing there is no genuine issue of material fact as to
its defense that it is the statutory employer of Mr. Andras and that it is therefore
C
entitled to judgment as a matter of law, we find the trial court erred in granting
summary judgment in its favor.'
CONCLUSION
For the above and foregoing reasons, the March 11, 2022 judgment of the
trial court granting TBT' s motion for summary judgment and dismissing Stonetrust
Commercial Insurance Company' s claims is reversed. All costs of this appeal are
assessed to the defendant/ appellee, TBT Contracting, Inc. of LA.
REVERSED.
Finding merit to this assignment of error, we pretermit discussion of Stonetrust' s
remaining assignments of error.
10
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL
FIRST CIRCUIT
NO. 2022 CA 0972
STONETRUST COMMERCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY
VERSUS
TBT CONTRACTING, INC. OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.
Holdridge, J. dissents for the reasons assigned by Judge Wolfe.
I write further to state that the documents produced by TBT establish that there
were no genuine issues of fact that the Lufts contracted with TBT, as the general
contractor, to renovate their residence. TBT contracted with Naquin to do the
electrical work needed to be performed for the renovations. An employee ofNaquin,
Mr. Andrus, was working in the attic of the Lufts' residence when he was injured.
These undisputed facts clearly show that TBT was the statutory employer of Mr.
Andrus. See La. 23: 1061( A)( 1)( 2); Allen v. State ex rel. Ernest N. Morial-New
Orleans Exhibition Hall Authority, 2002- 1072 ( La. 4/ 9/ 03), 842 So. 2d 373, 383.
The burden then shifted to the Stonetrust to come forth with evidence that Mr.
Andrus was not doing the work of Naquin at the time he was injured. In order for
the trier of fact to find that Mr. Andrus was not a statutory employee of TBT,
Stonetrust had to produce factual support to establish the existence of a genuine issue
of fact that Mr. Andrus was doing work at the time he was injured that was not
covered under the contracts of TBT and Naquin. See La. C. C. P. art. 966( D)( 1).
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL
FIRST CIRCUIT
2022 CA 0972
STONETRUST COMMERCIAL INSURANCE COMPANY
VERSUS
TBT CONTRACTING, INC. OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.
WOLFE, J., DISSENTS AND ASSIGNS ADDITIONAL REASONS.
I respectfully dissent from the majority opinion, in that I disagree that TBT' s
evidence was insufficient to meet its initial burden of establishing there is no genuine
issue of material fact as to its tort immunity defense as statutory employer of the
injured worker. Further, I do not find that Stonetrust' s petition is necessary to the
analysis, because TBT offered uncontradicted evidence to prove it had a contract
with the Lufts for a complete renovation and, pursuant to that contract, TBT entered
into a subcontract with Naquin for electrical work. The two -contract scenario is
evidenced by the affidavit of TBT president, Thompson, with the supporting
attachments. See Duncan v. Balcor Property Management, Inc., 615 So. 2d 985,
989 ( La. App. 1st Cir.), writ denied, 617 So. 2d 936 ( La. 1993). No objection was
made concerning Thompson' s affidavit and attachments. The court shall consider
any documents to which no objection is made. See La. Code Civ. P. art. 966( D)( 2).
Thus, the uncontradicted evidence demonstrated that TBT was the statutory
employer of the injured Naquin employee, which leads to the conclusion that TBT
is immune from tort liability under the Louisiana Workers' Compensation Act. For
these reasons, I would affirm the trial court judgment.