Cited by
Opinions in Louisiana that cite Madison v. American Sugar Refining Company, 144 So. 2d 377.
- Giles v. General Motors Assembly Division 1 So. 3d 844 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2009
- Wyatt v. Avoyelles Parish School Bd. 831 So. 2d 906 La. 2002
-
Succession of Doll v. Doll
593 So. 2d 1239
La. 1992
995 , (1971); , (1962); Blades v. Southern Farm Bureau Cas.
-
Logan v. Louisiana Dock Co., Inc.
541 So. 2d 182
La. 1989
995 , (1971); , (1962); Pennington v. Justiss-Mears Oil Co., 242 La.
- Bistes v. Asplundh Tree Expert Co. 499 So. 2d 402 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1986
-
Mott v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
486 So. 2d 112
La. 1986
Madison v. American Sugar Refining Co., 243 La.408, (1962); writ denied
- Meche v. Arthur G. McKee & Co., Inc. 415 So. 2d 494 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1982
- Mayes v. Louisiana-Pacific Corp. 379 So. 2d 46 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1980
-
Lachney v. Cabot Corp.
368 So. 2d 500
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1979
(1962) for the rule that an employer gets no credit for wages actually earned by the employee retained after the accident.
-
Bolden v. Georgia Cas. & Sur. Co.
363 So. 2d 419
La. 1978
4th Cir. 1961), limited certiorari granted on unrelated case and award amended, , (1962).
-
McGee v. State, Through Bd. of Commissioners
355 So. 2d 1079
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1978
(1962); Francis v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp., (La.App.
- Burlew v. Houston General Insurance 346 So. 2d 1301 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1977
-
Smith v. Louisiana-Pacific Corp.
334 So. 2d 749
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1976
(1962); Lindsey v. Continental Casualty Company, 242 La.
-
Basco v. State of La., Dept. of Corrections
335 So. 2d 457
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1976
Lindsey v. Continental Casualty Company, 242 La.
-
Meador v. Toyota of Jefferson, Inc.
332 So. 2d 433
La. 1976
art. 2167; , (1962); Blades v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Ins.
-
Patterson v. Methodist Hospital
329 So. 2d 203
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1976
Co., , (1962).” *205 When plaintiff returned to the payroll in July, 1970, she resumed her duties in the operating rooms.
- LeBlanc v. Mangel's of Louisiana, Inc. 306 So. 2d 422 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1975
-
Matherne v. Avondale Shipyards, Inc.
299 So. 2d 859
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1974
694 , (1962); , (1962); 2 Larson, The Law of Workmen’s Compensation, § 57.42 (1970).
- Futrell v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company 276 So. 2d 271 La. 1973
-
Pender v. National Fire and Marine Insurance Co.
255 So. 2d 95
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1971
(1962); Lindsey v. Continental Casualty Company, 242 La.
-
Harrell v. Travelers Insurance Co.
255 So. 2d 410
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1971
(1962), the Court stated: “ * * * The basic test for determining whether they are made in lieu of compensation is whether the wages paid after the injury are actually earned.
-
Heymann v. Dixie Leasing Corporation
250 So. 2d 118
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1971
[2] , ; Daigle v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, La.App., ; Mella v. Continental Emsco, La.App., ; Ortego v. Cabot Corporation, La.
-
Jordan v. Travelers Insurance Company
245 So. 2d 151
La. 1971
(1962); Pennington v. Justiss-Mears Oil Co., 242 La.
-
Gulling v. EI Du Pont De Nemours and Company
228 So. 2d 750
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1969
The question of whether wages paid subsequent to injury are earned or paid gratuitously in lieu of compensation has been considered by our appellate courts on many occasions, , , described the basic test as follows: "* * * The basic test for determining whether they are made in lieu of compensation is whether the wages paid after the injury are actually earned.
-
Guillory v. Maryland Casualty Company
227 So. 2d 620
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1969
4th Cir., (affirmed on other point, , ); Brewster v. City of Shreveport, La.App.
- Francis v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corporation 225 So. 2d 756 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1969
-
Daigle v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company
205 So. 2d 507
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1967
However, a majority of this court held that although a transfer to lighter duties is relevant to the question of whether the wages are actually earned, it is not decisive of it, , (1962).
-
Mella v. Continental Emsco
189 So. 2d 716
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1966
99 ; (2) defendant paid unearned wages in lieu of compensation following plaintiff's return to work thus interrupting prescription as held in Brooks v. G. E. Johnson Lumber Co., La.App., ; , ; Gary v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York, La.App., ; Watson v. United States Tobacco Company, La.App., ; and Russell v. Employers Mutual Liability Ins.
-
LaCoste v. J. Ray McDermott & Co.
185 So. 2d 553
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1966
In reaffirming the rule of the Lindsey case, , , stated the applicable principle thusly: “The Court of Appeal considered under the holdings in Mottet v. Libby-Owens-Ford Glass Co., 220 La.
- Ortego v. Cabot Corp. 180 So. 2d 598 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1965
-
Deen v. Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co.
180 So. 2d 584
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1965
Lindsey v. Continental Casualty Co., 242 La.
-
Pitre v. Pitre
182 So. 2d 682
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1965
y the principle that: “* * *i where a writ of certiorari is granted on the application of one party to a suit, the other party who has not applied for a writ of review cannot have the judgment amended or changed to his • benefit, and that the review by the Supreme Court will be con fined to the complaint of the party at whose instance the writ was granted.” , .
-
Carpenter v. Employers Mutual Liability Insurance
178 So. 2d 486
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1965
694 , ; , ; Gaudet v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., La.App., .
-
Ledoux v. William T. Burton Co.
171 So. 2d 795
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1965
A , (1962) as follows: “The basic test for determining whether they are made in lieu of compensation is whether the wages paid after the injury are actually earned.
-
Occhipinti v. Marquette Casualty Company
158 So. 2d 389
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1964
Lindsey v. Continental Casualty Co., 242 La.
-
Gaudet v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co.
143 So. 2d 252
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1962
Madison v. The American Sugar Refining Company, La., ; France v. City of New Orleans, La.App., 92 .So.2d 473; Myers v. Jahncke Service, La.App., ; Griffin v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, La.App., 131 So.