Cited by

Opinions in Louisiana that cite Doty v. Central Mutual Insurance Co., 187 So. 2d 451.

34 citing documents.

  • Toston v. National Union Fire Ins. Co. 942 So. 2d 1204 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2006
    3 Cir.), writ denied, , (1966); *1207 (La.App.
  • Marjorie Cooks v. Rental Service Corp. La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2005
    3 Cir.), writ denied, for the proposition that the insurer is liable for interest on the limits of its policy from the date of judicial demand until paid, and concluded from this that their payment obligations were dissolved because they have deposited with the court the limits of liability for one car under the policy.
  • Cooks v. Rental Service Corp. 900 So. 2d 1146 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2005
    3 Cir.), writ denied, , (1966) for the proposition that the insurer is liable for interest on the limits of its policy from the date of judicial demand until paid, and concluded from this that their payment obligations were dissolved because they have deposited with the court the limits of liability for one car under the poli
  • Williams v. City of Baton Rouge 848 So. 2d 9 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2003
    3 Cir.) (per curiam), writ refused, , (1966).
  • Explained Spiegal v. Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. 680 So. 2d 690 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1996
    3d Cir.), writ denied, , such provisions are intended to protect the insured from the accrual of post-judgment interest when the insurer unilaterally decides to appeal.
  • Matthews v. Paddio 670 So. 2d 312 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1996
    3 Cir.), writ refused, , this court, in explaining the purpose of a supplemental payment provision in an insurance contract, stated: ‘This would appear to be the only fair result, inasmuch as the insurer has control of the litigation, and can make its election to appeal irrespective of the insured’s desires in the m
  • Martin v. Champion Ins. Co. 656 So. 2d 991 La. 1995
    3rd Cir.) (on rehearing), writ denied, , (1966) (both holding liability insurer liable for legal interest on policy limits from date of judicial demand); (La.App.
  • Daney v. Haynes 630 So. 2d 949 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1993
    3d Cir.), writ denied , (1966).
  • Epps v. City of Baton Rouge 604 So. 2d 1336 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1992
    3rd Cir.), writ denied, , the court, on rehearing, recognized that the insurer and the insured may contractually agree, such as through an insurer's supplementary payments clause, that the insurer will pay, in addition to the principal amount insured plus legal interest thereupon, legal interest upon any excess of po
  • Malbrough v. Wallace 594 So. 2d 428 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1991
  • Remedies v. Lopez 560 So. 2d 118 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1990
    3d Cir.1966), writ refused , (1966).
  • Demarest v. Progressive American Ins. Co. 552 So. 2d 1329 La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1989
    3d Cir.1966) (writ denied , (1966); Roberts v. Houston Fire & Casualty Co., (La.App.
  • Boston Old Colony Ins. Co. v. Fontenot 544 So. 2d 739 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1989
    In Luttrell , we stated: "In Doty v. Central Mutual Insurance Company, La.App., , writ refused , , we held that the insurer is liable for interest on the sum up to the limits of its *742 policy from the date of judicial demand until paid and on the judgment in excess of its policy limits (under its supplementary payment agreement with the insured) from the date of judgment.
  • Smith v. Zale Indem. Co. 538 So. 2d 1142 La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1989
    3 Cir.1966), writ denied, , ; see also, Glazer v. Louisiana Trailer Sales, Inc., (La.App.
  • Petry v. Richard 532 So. 2d 286 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1988
    3rd Cir.1966), writ denied, , (La.
  • Moon v. City of Baton Rouge 522 So. 2d 117 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1988
    3d Cir.1966), certiorari denied, , (1966) ("no error of law").
  • Levet v. Calais & Sons, Inc. 514 So. 2d 153 La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1987
    (1st Cir.1966) writ denied , the court, in interpreting a policy provision identical to that quoted above, held the insurer responsible for interest on the amount in excess of its policy limits only from entry of the judgment.
  • Fletcher v. Leader Nat. Ins. Co. 513 So. 2d 1226 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1987
    4th Cir.1975) writ not considered writ denied , (1966), citing Lowery v. Zorn, 184 La.
  • Scherer v. Chaisson 508 So. 2d 596 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1987
    3rd Gir.1966), writ denied, , (1966), and Lowery v. Zorn, 184 La.
  • Hodge v. American Fidelity Fire Ins. Co. 486 So. 2d 233 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1986
    [7] Writ denied, 249 La.486, (1966).
  • Dobson v. Aetna Cas. and Sur. Co. 484 So. 2d 976 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1986
    3rd Cir. 1966), writ denied
  • Landry v. Louisiana Hosp. Service, Inc. 449 So. 2d 584 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1984
    3rd Cir.1966), application denied, , (1966); Prilleux v. Metropolitan Life Ins.
  • Negem v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co. 366 So. 2d 194 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1978
    3d Cir. 1966) (writ denied , (1966)); Roberts v. Houston Fire & Casualty Co., (La.App.
  • Travelers Indem. Co. v. Reserve Ins. Co. 364 So. 2d 1041 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1978
    [ ], (1966), in which such limitations on an insurer's interest liability were upheld.
  • Stanley v. Orkin Exterminating Co., Inc. 360 So. 2d 225 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1978
  • O'DONNELL v. Fidelity General Ins. Co. 344 So. 2d 91 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1977
    3d Cir. 1966), writ refused , (1966).
  • Thornton v. Moran 341 So. 2d 1136 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1976
    (3rd La.App., 1966), writs denied, , .
  • Glazer v. Louisiana Trailer Sales, Inc. 313 So. 2d 266 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1975
    1 Cir. 1966) writ refused, , (1966).
  • Simon v. Ford Motor Company 282 So. 2d 126 La. 1973
    Co., certiorari denied, , (1966) ("no error of law".)
  • Davis v. Humble Oil & Refining Company 283 So. 2d 783 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1973
    3 Cir. 1966), writ refused, , .
  • Inabinet v. State Farm Automobile Insurance Co. 262 So. 2d 920 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1972
    3rd Cir. 1966), writ refused, , .
  • Luttrell v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. 244 So. 2d 97 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1971
    In Doty v. Central Mutual Insurance Company, La.App., , writ refused , , we held that the insurer is liable for interest on the sum up to the limits of its policy from the date of judicial demand until paid and on the judgment in excess of its policy limits (under its supplementary payment agreement with the insured) from the date of judgment.
  • AMERICAN LEGION ED BRAUNER POST NO. 207, INC. v. Southwest Title and Ins. Co. 207 So. 2d 393 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1968
    App.3d Cir. 1966), certiorari denied, , .
  • Pittman v. Fowler 191 So. 2d 172 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1966
    We answered all of these questions in the recent case of Doty v. Central Mutual Insurance Company, (La.App., 3 Cir., 1966), , writ refused June 23, 1966, Louisiana Supreme Court, , .