53,431-WCA Precedential Affirmed Processed

Joe Whitten v. Patterson UTI Drilling Company, LLC and Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

Louisiana Court of Appeal, Second Circuit · Filed April 22, 2020

Authorities cited

Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.

Opinion text

Judgment rendered April 22, 2020.
Application for rehearing may be filed
within the delay allowed by Art. 2166,
La. C.C.P.

No. 53,431-WCA

COURT OF APPEAL
SECOND CIRCUIT
STATE OF LOUISIANA

*****

JOE WHITTEN Plaintiff-Appellant

versus

PATTERSON UTI DRILLING Defendant-Appellees
COMPANY, LLC AND LIBERTY
MUTUAL INSURANCE
COMPANY

*****

Appealed from the
Office of Workers’ Compensation, District 1-W
Parish of Caddo, Louisiana
Trial Court No. 18-04453

Linda Lea Smith
Workers’ Compensation Judge

*****

FISCHER & MANNO Counsel for Appellant
By: Mark K. Manno
Timothy R. Fischer

THOMAS SOILEAU JACKSON, ET AL Counsel for Appellees
By: Patrick F. Cole
Haley G. Baynham
Erica Marie Ducoing

*****

Before MOORE, STONE, and McCALLUM, JJ.

MOORE, J.

Joe Whitten appeals a judgment of the Office of Worker’s

Compensation that denied his claim for medical treatment on a finding that

after a work-related injury temporarily aggravated his degenerative disk

disease, his back had returned to its pre-injury condition. For the reasons

expressed, we affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Whitten, who lives in Kilgore, Texas, had been employed by

Patterson UTI Drilling (“UTI”) since 2002. By May 2016, he was working

as a driller, at an average weekly wage of $1,409.

On May 31, 2016, he was working on the 13th night of a 14-day shift

on a UTI rig in DeSoto Parish; he described that night’s situation as

“tripping out wet all over.” As he tried to go down a metal staircase to wash

up, he slipped on the oil and mud, fell down the stairs some 10-12 feet, and

landed on his back. In the fall, he struck his left knee, neck, and right

shoulder on the railing, but these injuries are not the subject of the appeal.

Rather, he landed on his back and hurt his lower back. Nonetheless, he

completed the night shift, rested, and then worked the final day of his 14-day

shift. He then took his 14-day off-time, and came back for his next 14-day

shift. He testified that during this time frame, if he got sore, he just took

some Ibuprofen. However, by the time he completed those 14 days, he was

“hurting all over.”

On June 30, he went to Willis-Knighton Work Kare in Shreveport.

He told Dr. John Goddard that he’d had “some back strains in the past, but

nothing that lasted more than a few days.” An X-ray was taken that day and

interpreted by Dr. James Price to show nothing acute, but degenerative

changes and spondylolysis at L4. Dr. Goddard sent Whitten home to apply

heat and use nonprescription medicines, and released him to regular work.

Whitten returned to Work Kare in July and August, and each time, Dr.

Goddard released him to light work. In late August, however, owing to

Whitten’s continued complaints, Dr. Goddard ordered an MRI. This showed

disk degeneration at L1-2, L2-3, L3-4, facet arthrosis at L4-5, and disk

desiccation and facet arthrosis at L5-S1. As Whitten was rating his pain a

“5,” Dr. Goddard referred him to an orthopedist-spine specialist.

Whitten went to Dr. James Michaels, a pain management specialist at

Azalea Orthopedics, in Tyler, Texas. Dr. Michaels reviewed the MRI and

suggested a nerve root block, which Whitten took twice, in October and

December 2016. Although Dr. Michaels initially noted a “40-50%

response,” Whitten testified they were “no help at all.”

In January 2017, Dr. Michaels referred Whitten for a surgery consult.

A physician’s assistant at Azalea took X-rays in late March, and noted

degradation at L2-3 and L3-4 and “other spondylosis with radiculopathy.”

A different doctor at Azalea, Dr. Michael Merrick, recommended another

MRI, which was done on May 12. This found decreased disk space from L1

all the way down to S-1, with mild facet arthrosis at L4-5 and L5-S1. Dr.

Merrick then suggested a spinal cord stimulator (“SCS”). However, when

Whitten came back to Azalea on June 12, he saw Dr. Michaels, who told

him that no further treatment was needed.

Through this time, Whitten had used the Texas Department of

Insurance Workers’ Compensation system. UTI’s carrier had provided all

medical expenses and UTI had paid (and continues to pay) either indemnity

benefits or wages in lieu of compensation. Whitten testified that he hired
2

Louisiana counsel to “transfer his case” to OWC; the disputed claim was

filed July 5, 2018.

Meanwhile, Whitten had selected Dr. Euby Kerr, at Spine Institute of

Louisiana, as his treating physician, and saw him in December 2017. Dr.

Kerr looked at Whitten’s MRIs but told him he was not a surgical candidate

because of his excessive weight, nearly 400 lbs. However, like Dr. Merrick,

Dr. Kerr suggested an SCS, and ordered a new MRI. The February 2018

MRI showed a high-intensity zone lesion and posterior annular tear at L5-

S1, extensive degenerative changes from L2 to L4, and a “subtle

spondylolisthesis developing” at L4-5. Dr. Kerr later testified that he

considered the L4-5 condition “dynamic” rather than degenerative.

Another doctor at Spine Institute, Dr. Rama Letchuman, suggested a

“trial” SCS, which he implanted in April 2018. Whitten testified that this

“took the edge off” the pain, so Dr. Letchuman recommended implanting a

permanent one.

However, UTI’s carrier wanted a second opinion, and it hired Dr.

Gordon Mead, an orthopedic surgeon in Shreveport, to examine Whitten.

Dr. Mead saw him in late February 2018 and diagnosed preexisting

degenerative disk disease, aggravated by the fall at work in 2016. He

reported that Whitten had reached maximum medical improvement, and was

having chronic pain only because of his morbid obesity. Dr. Mead

expressed no opinion as to an SCS, suggested that Whitten have a functional

capacity evaluation, and said he could return to work.

UTI’s carrier had approved surgery to implant the permanent SCS, but

on September 6, 2018, one day before the planned procedure, it revoked

approval, citing Dr. Mead’s finding of maximum medical improvement.
3

Since that date, the carrier has provided no more medical benefits to

Whitten.

On September 14, Whitten amended his disputed claim to demand

approval of the SCS, with a penalty and attorney fee for UTI’s failure to

reasonably controvert this claim. Claims based on the other injuries

sustained in the fall (left knee, neck, shoulder) were withdrawn pretrial.

SUMMARY OF TRIAL EVIDENCE

The matter came to trial in April 2019. Counsel stipulated that the

only issue was whether the work-related fall caused Whitten’s spinal injury;

if so, whether UTI owed penalties for failing to reasonably controvert the

claim.

The only live witnesses were Whitten and his wife. Whitten fully

described how the accident happened, his course of treatment (outlined

above), his desire to continue working, and his confidence that Dr. Kerr

could perform a back surgery to restore him to health. He admitted being in

a minor auto accident in 2013, and missing one day of work as a result, but

insisted he had worked regularly his whole life until the accident at UTI (at

which time he was age 44). He also admitted that he needed to lose weight,

but claimed that he had already dropped from 410 to 370 lbs.

Whitten’s wife confirmed his testimony, adding that he had always

weighed from 300 to 350 lbs. and was never much for exercising or going to

the gym.

Whitten also offered Dr. Kerr’s deposition, which stated that he had

read only the radiology reports from after the auto accident (the actual 2013

X-ray films were no longer available), and these showed only minimal

subluxations from L2 to L4. However, after the work accident, the X-rays
4

and the first MRI showed degenerative disk disease and L4-5

spondylolisthesis, which he considered a “definite change” since 2013. Dr.

Kerr disagreed with Dr. Merrick’s view that there was no spondylolisthesis,

and with Azalea Orthopedics’ recommendation not to have surgery. As

noted, he considered Whitten’s condition “dynamic spondylolisthesis,”

definitely caused by the work accident, stated that an SCS would not help,

and felt that the patient’s only hope is a two-level, 360-degree fusion at L5-

S1 and L4-5. On cross-examination, Dr. Kerr admitted that most problems

at L4-5 are degenerative, though some can be traumatic; that he initially said

that Whitten was not a surgical candidate, but he changed his mind; and that

Whitten’s morbid obesity, diabetes, and overall health may have factored in

his current condition, but they did not cause it. Finally, although he now

favored surgery, Dr. Kerr said he would not perform it until Whitten lost

another 30-40 lbs.

Other documents offered by Whitten included medical records from

Good Shepherd Hospital, in Longview, Texas, that included the radiology

reports from November 2013 showing degenerative changes in Whitten’s

lumbar spine, some 2½ years before the work accident. Work Kare records

from Willis-Knighton showed that Dr. Goddard twice released Whitten to

light-duty work before September 2016, as did the Texas Workers’ Comp

system, in late 2016. OWC documents showed that UTI’s carrier initially

approved, and then withdrew approval for, the permanent SCS. Counsel’s

affidavit shows that Whitten had unpaid bills of $3,346.53 with Dr. Kerr,

and 20 hours of attorney fees, at $250 an hour.

UTI offered the deposition of Dr. Mead, who had been hired for a

medical second opinion and examined Whitten in February 2018. Based on
5

Whitten’s medical records, Dr. Mead found degenerative lumbar disk

disease that predated the work accident. He felt that the work accident

aggravated the preexisting condition, but that the period of aggravation had

passed, Whitten had reached maximum medical improvement, and the main

cause of his chronic back pain was extreme obesity. On cross-examination,

Dr. Mead admitted that his main field of practice was foot and ankle; that he

had no experience with the SCS; and that there was no evidence that obesity

caused disk degeneration.

ACTION OF THE WORKER’S COMPENSATION JUDGE

The WCJ wrote an 18-page opinion, identifying the issue as whether

Whitten’s present disability continues to be the result of an aggravation of

his preexisting, degenerative lumbar condition. She then catalogued

Whitten’s wide-ranging medical evidence. She stated Dr. Kerr’s position as

follows: even though Whitten has some degenerative changes, “the L4-5

spondylolisthesis and L5-S1 herniated disk are not degenerative and were

caused by the work accident.” She stated Dr. Mead’s position as that

“Whitten suffers from degenerative changes, and not injuries related to the

work accident[,]” the period of aggravation lasted about six months, and he

has returned to his pre-accident baseline. She also noted that Drs. Goddard

and Merrick, who treated Whitten earlier, had found “no acute, objective

injury to the lumbar spine.”

The WCJ found that Dr. Kerr’s view was not fully supported by the

medical records, or by Drs. Goddard’s and Merrick’s reports, and was

contradicted by Dr. Mead. She concluded that Whitten’s current condition

was a “progression of the degenerative disease from 2013 through 2016[,]”

in addition to “morbid obesity [and] other health issues.” In short, Whitten’s
6

current condition was no longer a result of the work accident. The WCJ

rendered judgment rejecting all claims.

Whitten has appealed, raising four assignments of error.

DISCUSSION

Incorrect Burden of Proof

By his first assignment of error, Whitten urges the WCJ erred as a

matter of law by requiring the claimant to meet a higher burden of proof

than required by law. He contends the WCJ made him “prove a negative,”

on the basis of this passage from the written opinion:

The issue herein is not whether there was an aggravation
of the preexisting condition, but rather, whether that
aggravation has ended. * * * The testimony and evidence fail to
show whether the natural progression [of Whitten’s back
problems] would not have naturally progressed.

He argues that in this way, the WCJ required him to prove that his current

condition was “not caused by something other than the accident.” He also

shows that the WCJ cited three cases: Koenig v. Christus Schumpert Health

Sys., 44,244 (La. App. 2 Cir. 5/13/09), 12 So. 3d 1037; Blake v. Turner

Indus. Group, 2012-0140 (La. App. 1 Cir. 9/21/12), 111 So. 3d 21, writ

denied, 12-2288 (La. 11/30/12), 103 So. 3d 376; and Henderson v. Graphic

Packaging Int’l Inc., 48,491 (La. App. 2 Cir. 11/20/13), 128 So. 3d 599. He

contends that these cases simply do not require the plaintiff disprove other

causes of the injury, including a natural progression of a preexisting

condition. He submits that this was legal error warranting de novo review.

An employee is entitled to workers’ compensation benefits if he

“receives personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of” his

employment. La. R.S. 23:1031 A. The claimant is not required to prove the

exact cause of the disability, but he must show by a preponderance of the
7

evidence that the accident had a causal connection with the disability. Iberia

Medical Ctr. v. Ward, 09-2705 (La. 11/30/10), 53 So. 3d 421; Crawford v.

Town of Grambling, 51,090 (La. App. 2 Cir. 1/11/17), 211 So. 3d 660, writ

denied, 17-0284 (La. 4/7/17), 218 So. 3d 110. Where the claimant suffers

from a preexisting condition, he may still prevail if he proves that the

accident aggravated, accelerated, or combined with the disease or infirmity

to produce disability for which compensation is claimed. Peveto v. WHC

Contractors, 93-1402 (La. 1/14/94), 630 So. 2d 689; Hill v. IASIS Glenwood

Reg’l Med. Ctr., 50,531 (La. App. 2 Cir. 5/18/16), 195 So. 3d 536, writ

denied, 16-1357 (La. 11/7/16), 209 So. 3d 104. In this situation, the

employee is entitled to compensation for the duration of the aggravation.

Blake v. Turner Indus. Group, supra; Read v. Pel-State Oil Co., 44,218 (La.

App. 2 Cir. 5/20/09), 13 So. 3d 1191; Frye v. Olan Mills, 44,192 (La. App. 2

Cir. 4/8/09), 7 So. 3d 201; Merriett v. Budget Build Lumber & Supp., 2008-

1090 (La. App. 3 Cir. 3/4/09), 6 So. 3d 326, writ denied, 09-0776 (La.

5/22/09), 9 So. 3d 148.

We have closely examined the WCJ’s opinion and find that it did not

impose on Whitten a higher burden of proof than the law requires. The first

sentence of the contested passage correctly states the law that a claimant is

entitled to compensation for aggravation of a preexisting condition, for the

duration of the aggravation. The second sentence, though not artfully

expressed, still conveys the finding that the evidence showed that after a

period of aggravation, Whitten’s current condition was only the natural

progression of degenerative disk disease. We cannot find that the WCJ

misstated the burden of proof or imposed a higher burden than a

preponderance of the evidence. This assignment lacks merit.
8

Denial of Benefits

By his remaining assignments of error, Whitten contends the WCJ

committed manifest error in denying benefits: by finding that after he

suffered an aggravation, he had returned to his pre-injury condition, or that

his current condition was unrelated to the work accident; by failing to apply

the presumption of causation and aggravation of a preexisting injury; and by

finding that the work accident did not cause an injury to his lumbar spine.

He argues that the deposition of Dr. Kerr was enough to satisfy his burden of

proof, and suggests that Dr. Mead, UTI’s expert, is a foot-and-ankle doctor

who based his opinion on “experience,” not any study. He submits that the

opinion of the treating physician is entitled to more weight than that of one

hired merely to examine the patient, Leidelmeijen v. Ferncrest Manor

Nursing Home, 2015-1216 (La. App. 4 Cir. 3/16/16), 192 So. 3d 38, and

cites the presumption of causation, Smith v. Nu Verra Envtl. Solution, 52,908

(La. App. 2 Cir. 10/30/19), 281 So. 3d 827. Notably, he shows that in Smith

v. Nu Verra, this court reversed the same WCJ as in the instant case for

failing to apply the presumption of causation and to accept the unrebutted

testimony of the claimant; he contends the same result is warranted here. He

concludes it is just plainly wrong, on this record, for the WCJ not to find an

aggravation or a new injury.

Factual findings in workers’ compensation cases are subject to the

manifest error rule. Buxton v. Iowa Police Dept., 09-0520 (La. 10/20/09), 23

So. 3d 275; Crawford v. Town of Grambling, 51,090 (La. App. 2 Cir.

1/11/17), 211 So. 3d 660. Under this rule, the reviewing court does not

decide whether the WCJ was right or wrong, but only whether its findings

are reasonable. When there are two permissible views of the evidence, the
9

WCJ’s choice between them can never be manifestly erroneous or clearly

wrong. Id. The reviewing court is emphatically not permitted to reweigh

the evidence or reach its own factual conclusions from the record. Marange

v. Custom Metal Fabricators Inc., 12-2678 (La. 7/2/12), 93 So. 3d 1253;

Hill v. IASIS Glenwood, supra. Whether a claimant has carried his burden

of proof and whether testimony is credible are questions of fact for the WCJ.

Buxton v. Iowa Police Dept., supra.

As noted, an employee is entitled to workers’ compensation benefits if

he receives personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of his

employment. La. R.S. 23:1031 A. Accident is defined as an “unexpected or

unforeseen actual, identifiable, precipitous event happening suddenly or

violently, with or without human fault, and directly producing at the time

objective findings of an injury which is more than simply a gradual

deterioration or progressive degeneration.” La. R.S. 23:1021 (1). The work-

related accident requirement is interpreted liberally, but the claimant still

must prove it by a preponderance of the evidence. Iberia Med. Ctr. v. Ward,

supra; Crawford v. Town of Grambling, supra. A claimant’s testimony

alone may be sufficient to meet this burden of proof, as long as no other

evidence discredits or casts serious doubt on the claimant’s testimony, and

that testimony is corroborated by the circumstances following the incident.

Id.

The opinion of the treating physician should be accorded greater

weight than that of a physician who sees the patient only once or twice.

Miller v. Clout, 03-0091 (La. 10/21/03), 857 So. 2d 458; Bradley v. St.

Francis Med. Ctr., 51,572 (La. App. 2 Cir. 9/27/17), 244 So. 2d 722, and

10

citations therein. However, the treating physician’s opinion is not

irrebuttable, and the WCJ is required to weigh all the medical testimony. Id.

Disability may be presumed to have resulted from an accident if,

before the accident, the claimant was in good health, but commencing with

the accident, the symptoms of the disabling condition appear and

continuously manifest themselves afterward, provided that there is sufficient

medical evidence to show a reasonable possibility of a causal relationship

between the accident and the disability, or the nature of the accident,

combined with the other facts of the case, raises a natural inference of

causation. Doucet v. Baker Hughes Prod. Tools, 93-3087 (La. 3/11/94), 635

So. 2d 166; Crawford v. Town of Grambling, supra.

We have closely reviewed the medical evidence. Dr. Kerr’s

description of “dynamic spondylolisthesis” is very cogent and, standing

alone, would probably warrant reversing the judgment. However, every

other doctor who treated Whitten described something different. Dr.

Goddard, at Work Kare, found merely degenerative changes and

spondylolysis, and released him to regular work; Dr. Merrick, at Azalea,

reviewed two MRIs and suggested the SCS; and his colleague at Azalea, Dr.

Michaels, reviewed the same MRIs and concluded no further treatment was

needed. Dr. Mead, who was retained only for a second opinion, described a

temporary aggravation that had resolved to maximum medical improvement.

Even Dr. Kerr did not initially suggest the two-level, 360-degree fusion

surgery; he first suggested the less invasive procedure of implanting an SCS.

Looming over the whole discussion was the specter of Whitten’s gross

obesity, which all experts seemed to agree placed an undue burden on his

lumbar spine and contributed to his current condition. As convincing as Dr.
11

Kerr’s later diagnosis and recommendation may seem, there was abundant

expert evidence from which a different conclusion could be drawn. On this

record we cannot say the WCJ was plainly wrong to find that after a period

of aggravation, Whitten’s current condition was not the result of the work-

related accident. Whitten’s second assignment of error lacks merit.

The presumption of causation hinges on a finding of sufficient

medical evidence to show a reasonable possibility of a causal relation

between the accident and disability. Doucet v. Baker Hughes, supra;

Crawford v. Town of Grambling, supra. The testimony and documents

already discussed – Drs. Goddard, Merrick and Michaels, and Mead –

provided a reasonable possibility that Whitten’s back had returned to its pre-

injury status and that any lingering problem was preexisting or a result of

obesity. This is unlike the situation in Smith v. Nu Verra, supra, in which

we found that the “medical evidence does not establish that claimant’s work-

related injury had resolved or that the aggravation of his pre-existing

degenerative condition was limited in duration.” Here, the WCJ chose

between two permissible views of the evidence, and we cannot say that she

was clearly wrong. Buxton v. Iowa Police Dept., supra; Crawford v. Town

of Grambling, supra. Whitten’s third assignment of error lacks merit.

Finally, the WCJ explicitly found that the claim “was accepted in

Louisiana for payment of benefits” and that “there was an aggravation of the

preexisting condition.” Whitten’s fourth assignment of error, asserting that

the WCJ found “that the work accident did not cause an injury to plaintiff’s

lumbar spine,” lacks merit.

12

CONCLUSION

For the reasons expressed, the judgment is affirmed. All costs are to

be paid by the appellant, Joe Whitten.

AFFIRMED.

13