Charles Thiels v. American International South Ins. Co.
Charles Thiels v. American International South Ins. Co., No. CA-0003-0774 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Dec. 10, 2003).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Rambo v. Walker 704 So. 2d 30
- Schroeder v. Board of Sup'rs 591 So. 2d 342
- Bradford v. Louisiana Downs, Inc. 606 So. 2d 1370
- Claiborne v. Conagra, Inc. 682 So. 2d 851
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Cooper 707 So. 2d 986
- Thibodeaux v. Diamond M Drilling Co. 632 So. 2d 736
- Louisiana Ins. Guar. Ass'n v. Interstate Fire & Casualty Co. 630 So. 2d 759
- Smith v. Matthews 611 So. 2d 1377
- Central Louisiana Elec. Co. v. Westinghouse 579 So. 2d 981
- Pareti v. Sentry Indem. Co. 536 So. 2d 417
- Fertitta v. Palmer 252 La. 336
- Walls v. American Optical Corp. 740 So. 2d 1262
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
03-774 consolidated with 03-775, 03-776, & 03-777
CHARLES THIELS, ET AL.
VERSUS
AMERICAN INTERNATIONAL SOUTH INSURANCE CO., ET AL.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF RAPIDES, NO. 208,655 C/W 209,772; 209,915; & 210,027
HONORABLE HARRY FRED RANDOW, DISTRICT COURT JUDGE
**********
ULYSSES GENE THIBODEAUX
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Oswald A. Decuir, and Jimmie C.
Peters, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Kenneth Pitre
PITRE LAW OFFICE
P. O. Drawer 1260
Eunice, LA 70535
Telephone: (337) 457-9048
COUNSEL FOR:
Appellant - Deborah Banks
Henry Gregory Walker, Jr.
Walker, Passman & Michiels
P. O. Box 13020
Alexandria, LA 71315-3020
Telephone: (318) 445-4516
COUNSEL FOR:
Plaintiffs/Appellees - Charles Thiels, Ralph Thiels, Harvey Thiels,
Darrell Thiels, and Janel Thiels Gains
James Berry Reichman
Reichman & Armour
P. O. Box 210
Alexandria, LA 71309
Telephone: (318) 442-6611
COUNSEL FOR:
Defendant/Appellee - State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co.
Monique Freeman Rauls
Assistant Attorney General
P. O. Box 1710
Alexandria, LA 71309-1710
Telephone: (318) 487-5944
COUNSEL FOR:
Defendant/Appellee - State of Louisiana, Through DOTD
Shannon James Gremillion
Briney & Foret
P. O. Drawer 51367
Lafayette, LA 70505-1367
Telephone: (337) 237-4070
COUNSEL FOR:
Defendants/Appellees - American International South Insurance
Company and Michael S. Thibodeaux
THIBODEAUX, Judge.
Deborah Banks (Banks), the plaintiff in this personal injury case, appeals
a judgment rendered by the trial court in a concursus proceeding invoked by American
International South Insurance Company (AIS) in connection with a motor vehicle
accident that occurred on August 21, 2001, in Rapides Parish. The accident resulted
in the death of Robert Thiels (Robert). The trial court’s judgment held that the
language of the AIS policy provided $10,000.00 “per person” claim coverage to each
of Robert’s children, Charles Thiels, Ralph Thiels, Harvey Thiels, Darrell Thiels and
Janel Thiels Gaines (the Thiels), subject to the $20,000.00 “per accident” maximum
limit. Banks, the guest passenger in the vehicle driven by the tortfeasor, appeals that
judgment. We affirm.
I.
ISSUE
The issue in this case is whether survival, wrongful death and personal
injury actions that arise out of the same accident entitle the heirs of the deceased and
the tortfeasor’s injured guest passenger to the “per person” coverage for each
claimant, subject to the $20,000.00 “per accident” maximum, or whether the language
of the liability policy limits the heirs to the “per person” policy limit of $10,000.00 to
share among the five heirs, leaving another $10,000.00 “per person” limit to the guest
passenger who was injured in the accident.
II.
FACTS
The facts of the accident giving rise to the present case are not in dispute.
On August 21, 2001, at the intersection of Louise Street and the west service road
1
along MacArthur Drive in Alexandria, Louisiana, Robert had the right of way and was
driving on Louise Street through the intersection. A vehicle operated by Michael
Thibodeaux (Thibodeaux) was on the service road and failed to yield in accordance
with the yield sign, causing Robert’s vehicle to collide with Thibodeaux’s vehicle. As
a result of the injuries he received from the accident, Robert was taken to Rapides
Regional Medical Center by ambulance. He died there on August 31, 2001.
Robert had five children who each asserted wrongful death and survival
action claims against Thibodeaux and his insurer, AIS. Banks, who was a guest
passenger in Thibodeaux’s vehicle, was also injured. She asserted a personal injury
claim against Thibodeaux as a result of his negligence. AIS provided a liability
insurance policy with bodily injury limits of $10,000.00 per person subject to a
maximum of $20,000.00 per accident. Both Banks and the Thiels filed cross motions
for summary judgment in the trial court. The issue was whether the AIS policy
provides $10,000.00 per person claim coverage to each of the five Thiel children
subject to the $20,000.00 per accident cap or whether the five Thiel children are
subject, collectively, to a $10,000.00 per person limit. The trial court decided in favor
of the Thiels, finding that the policy issued by AIS provides $10,000.00 per person
coverage to each of the five Thiel heirs subject to the $20,000.00 per accident
maximum. It is from this judgment that Banks appeals.
III.
LAW AND DISCUSSION
Summary Judgment
In Louisiana, summary judgment is now favored and it shall be used to
secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of all actions, except those
specifically excluded in La.Code Civ.P. art. 969. La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(A)(2). A
2
summary judgment shall be rendered if the pleadings, depositions, interrogatory
responses, and admissions, together with any affidavits, show that there is no genuine
issue of material fact and that the mover is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(B). Material facts are those that have the potential to insure
or preclude recovery, affect a litigant’s ultimate success, or determine the outcome of
a legal dispute. Rambo v. Walker, 96-2538 (La.App. 1 Cir. 11/7/97), 704 So.2d 30.
Appellate courts review summary judgments de novo applying the same criteria as the
trial court to determine whether summary judgment is appropriate. Schroeder v. Bd.
of Sup’rs, 591 So.2d 342 (La.1991). Accordingly, we undertake a de novo review of
the matter at bar.
The party moving for summary judgment has the burden of affirmatively
showing the absence of a genuine issue of material fact. Any doubt as to whether the
moving party has met that burden should be resolved against granting the motion.
Bradford v. Louisiana Downs, Inc., 606 So.2d 1370 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1992). The
likelihood that a party will prevail on the merits does not constitute a basis for
granting a motion for summary judgment. Claiborne v. Conagra, Inc., 96-482
(La.App. 3 Cir. 10/30/96), 682 So.2d 851.
AIS Policy Language
This case involves the interpretation of the language in the AIS liability
insurance policy issued to Thibodeaux. The AIS policy’s limit of liability provision
states:
LIMIT OF LIABILITY
A. The limit of liability shown in the Declarations for
this coverage is our maximum limit of liability for all
damages resulting from any one auto accident. This
is the most we will pay regardless of the number of:
1. “Insureds,”
3
2. Claims made;
3. Vehicles or premiums shown in the
Declarations; or
4. Vehicles involved in the auto accident.
The policy defines “bodily injury” as “bodily harm, sickness or disease including
death that results.” According to the policy, the total amount of money available per
accident is $20,000.00. Thus, if the “per accident” amount of $20,000.00 is applicable
in this case, all of the injured parties would have to share in the $20,000.00. Although
not completely clear from her brief, it appears that Banks contends that the Thiels are
entitled to share only the “per person” amount of $10,000.00 because their claims are
derivative of the bodily injury to and subsequent death of their father.
The rules concerning the interpretation of insurance contracts were set
out by the court in State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. v. Cooper, 97-1134
(La.App. 3 Cir. 2/18/98), 707 So.2d 986, 988, citing Crabtree v. State Farm Insurance
Co., 93-0509 (La.2/28/94), 632 So.2d 736, 741 (footnotes omitted):
An insurance policy is a contract between the parties
and should be construed using the general rules of
interpretation of contracts set forth in the Civil Code.
Louisiana Ins. Guar. Ass’n v. Interstate Fire & Casualty
Co., 93-0911 p. 5 (La. 1/14/94), 630 So.2d 759, 763; Smith
v. Matthews, 611 So.2d 1377, 1379 (La.1993); Schroeder
v. Board of Supervisors of La. State Univ., 591 So.2d 342,
345 (La.1991). If the words of the policy are clear and
explicit and lead to no absurd consequences, no further
interpretation may be made in search of the parties’ intent
and the agreement must be enforced as written. Smith, 611
So.2d at 1379; Central La. Elec. Co. v. Westinghouse Elec.
Corp., 579 So.2d 981, 985 (La.1991); Pareti v. Sentry
Indem. Co., 536 So.2d 417, 420 (La.1988); see
La.Civ.Code art. 2046. An insurance policy should not be
interpreted in an unreasonable or strained manner so as to
enlarge or restrict its provisions beyond what is reasonably
contemplated by its terms or so as to achieve an absurd
conclusion. Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763;
Fertitta v. Palmer, 252 La. 336, 211 So.2d 282, 285 (1968).
The policy should be construed as a whole and one portion
thereof should not be construed separately at the expense of
disregarding another. Westinghouse, 579 So.2d at 985;
Pareti, 536 So.2d at 420; see La.Civ.Code art. 2050. If
4
after applying the other general rules of construction an
ambiguity remains, the ambiguous contractual provision is
to be construed against the insurer who issued the policy
and in favor of the insured. Interstate, 93-0911 p. 6, 630
So.2d at 764; Smith, 611 So.2d at 1379; Pareti, 536 So.2d
at 420; see La.Civ.Code art. 2056.
In Crabtree, a wife was driving a vehicle behind her husband who was
driving a motorcycle. She suffered mental anguish when she witnessed another
vehicle cross the center line and collide head-on with her husband’s motorcycle. She
brought suit against the insurer of the tortfeasor seeking damages for her mental
anguish caused by seeing, not only the collision, but also her husband’s leg almost
completely severed. Thus, she had a Lejeune claim. The defendant in Crabtree
asserted the same argument asserted by Banks in the present case—that because the
wife’s mental anguish resulted from her husband’s bodily injury, it falls within the
“per person” limit of the policy as opposed to the “per accident” limit. The supreme
court decided that the wife’s mental anguish claim was an additional bodily injury
under the insurance policy language in that case, separate and apart from the injury
to the person actually involved in the accident.
Likewise, the supreme court decision in Walls v. American Optical Corp.,
98-455 (La. 9/8/99), 740 So.2d 1262, a case involving a wrongful death action,
establishes that a wrongful death and a survival action are two separate causes of
action. The language in the AIS policy is not ambiguous. It provides for the payment
of $20,000.00 for all damages resulting from one accident regardless of the number
of claims. Each of the five Thiel heirs has a wrongful death action. Additionally, the
deceased has a survival action which was inherited by his heirs, and Banks, the guest
passenger in Thibodeaux’s vehicle, has a personal injury claim. One accident, caused
by Thibodeaux, resulted in multiple injuries to several persons. The Thiels’ wrongful
death claims are not subject to the single person policy limit applicable to their
5
father’s survival action. The trial court’s grant of summary judgment in favor of the
Thiels was correct.
IV.
CONCLUSION
The insurance policy issued by American International South Insurance
Company provides a $10,000.00 “per person” coverage to each of the Thiel heirs,
subject to the $20,000.00 “per accident” maximum limit of the policy. The judgment
of the trial court is affirmed. All costs of appeal are assessed against plaintiff-
appellant, Deborah D. Banks.
AFFIRMED.
6