Charles D. Ezernack v. Progressive Security Ins. Co.
Charles D. Ezernack v. Progressive Security Ins. Co., No. CA-0004-1634 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Apr. 6, 2005).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Peck v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. 682 So. 2d 974
- Detraz v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. 647 So. 2d 576
- Doucet v. Doug Ashy Bldg. Materials, Inc. 671 So. 2d 1148
- Lonthier v. Northwest Ins. Co. 497 So. 2d 774
- Creel v. St. Charles Gaming Co., Inc. 707 So. 2d 475
- Bellard v. South Cent. Bell Telephone Co. 702 So. 2d 695
- Ditch v. State ex rel. Department of Transportation & Development 745 So. 2d 1279
- Missouri Pacific Railroad v. Greater Baton Rouge Port Commission 761 So. 2d 544
- Thrash v. Maerhofer 745 So. 2d 1238
- Thrase v. Maerhofer 754 So. 2d 966
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
04-1634
CHARLES D. EZERNACK, ET AL.
VERSUS
PROGRESSIVE SECURITY
INSURANCE COMPANY, ET AL.
************
APPEAL FROM THE
NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF RAPIDES, NO. 212,400-C
HONORABLE F. RAE SWENT, DISTRICT JUDGE
************
JAMES T. GENOVESE
JUDGE
************
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, J. David Painter and
James T. Genovese, Judges.
AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.
Ian A. MacDonald
600 Jefferson Street, Suite 1200
Lafayette, Louisiana 70502
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLANT:
Farmers Insurance Exchange
V. Ross Cicardo
Post Office Drawer 11635
1725 MacArthur Drive
Alexandria, Louisiana 71315
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLEES:
Charles D. Ezernack
Mildred Ezernack
GENOVESE, Judge.
Defendant, Farmers Insurance Exchange (“Farmers”), appeals the trial court’s
award of $40,000 for loss of consortium to Plaintiff, Mildred Ezernack. After
thorough consideration of the record and applicable law, we affirm but amend the
judgment of the trial court to reduce the award for loss of consortium to $25,000.
FACTS
On April 5, 2002, Plaintiff, Charles Ezernack, was involved in a two-car
collision on MacArthur Drive in Alexandria, Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Mr.
Ezernack was returning home from work in a vehicle owned by his employer, the City
of Alexandria, and was stopped at a red light when his vehicle was struck once from
the rear by a vehicle being operated by Brittney Menard. Mr. Ezernack, who was 61
years old at the time of the accident, sustained a torn rotator cuff injury to his right
shoulder that necessitated arthroscopic surgery on June 31, 2002.
The Plaintiffs, Charles and Mildred Ezernack, brought suit against the City of
Alexandria’s automobile liability insurer, Progressive Security Insurance Company,
and their own uninsured/underinsured motorist (“UM”) carrier, Farmers Insurance
Exchange. Mr. Ezernack sought damages for his personal injuries and Mrs. Ezernack
sought loss of consortium damages.
Prior to trial, Plaintiffs settled with Progressive Security Insurance Company.
On May 25, 2004, a bench trial was held against the UM carrier on the sole issue of
quantum. Written reasons for judgment were rendered on June 16, 2004, whereby
Charles Ezernack was awarded $65,000 in general damages and $34,708.80 for past
medical expenses. Mildred Ezernack was awarded $40,000 for loss of consortium.
Farmers appeals the trial court’s award of consortium damages.
1
STANDARD OF APPELLATE REVIEW
Farmers contends that the evidence does not support the trial court’s award of
$40,000 in loss of consortium damages to Mrs. Ezernack and should either be set
aside or reduced.
In order to prove a claim for loss of consortium, a plaintiff must
prove three things: (1) the liability of the defendant, (2) his or her
spouse's damages, and (3) his or her consequent loss of consortium
damages. Peck v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 96-645 (La.App. 3 Cir.
11/6/96), 682 So.2d 974. Loss of consortium is more than just a loss of
general overall happiness, it also includes love and affection, society and
companionship, sexual relations, the right of performance of material
services, the right of support, aid, and assistance, and felicity. Detraz [v.
Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 94-708 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/7/94)],
647 So.2d 576. The trier of fact is given much discretion in awards for
loss of consortium and will not be overturned on appeal in the absence
of manifest error. Doucet v. Doug Ashy Bldg. Materials, Inc., 95-1159
(La.App. 3 Cir. 4/3/96), 671 So.2d 1148; Lonthier v. Northwest Ins. Co.,
497 So.2d 774 (La.App. 3 Cir.1986).
Creel v. St. Charles Gaming Co., 97-994, p. 11 (La.App. 3 Cir. 2/4/98), 707 So.2d
475, 481 (citing Bellard v. South Cent. Bell Tel. Co., 96-1426, p. 21 (La.App. 3 Cir.
8/27/97), 702 So.2d 695, 707).
After reviewing the record, we find the evidence does not support such a
substantial award for loss of consortium to Mrs. Ezernack.
Mrs. Ezernack testified that shortly after her husband’s accident, she began to
notice he could no longer perform certain menial tasks around the house that he was
accustomed to performing without difficulty and discomfort. Mr. Ezernack testified
that after sustaining the injury to his right shoulder he could no longer go grocery
shopping or clean the pool as he was accustomed to doing. In fact, the Plaintiffs
testified they hired a pool man due to Mr. Ezernack’s inability to lift. However, Mr.
Ezernack also testified that he returned to work only one week after his accident and
that he could still assist in chores, such as taking out the garbage, due to the fact that
he is left handed and his injury was to his right shoulder.
The record supports a finding that Mrs. Ezernack has sustained a loss of the
2
services that Mr. Ezernack used to perform around the house. The record tends to
show that this is not a huge amount of work, but it is a loss nonetheless.
As to the effect of Mr. Ezernack’s injury on the marital relationship, Mr.
Ezernack testified that due to his discomfort, he would often awake during the night
which would, in turn, disturb Mrs. Ezernack’s sleep. This led to Mrs. Ezernack
sleeping in a separate bedroom. Though the trial court cites this fact as being a
determining factor in granting its considerable consortium award, both Mr. Ezernack
and Mrs. Ezernack testified that the reason they began to sleep in separate bedrooms
was their concern for the other’s restful sleep and comfort. Further, there was no
testimony that the Ezernack’s sexual relations were impaired or curtailed after the
accident.
Based upon the testimony presented, we must conclude that the trial court’s
award of $40,000 for loss of consortium is excessive. Therefore, we refer to similar
cases to determine a reasonable award based on circumstances comparable to the case
at bar.
The court of appeal affirmed the trial court’s award of $20,000 in loss of
consortium damages to the plaintiff’s former husband in Ditch v. State ex rel.
Department of Transportation and Development, 99-379 (La.App. 3 Cir. 11/24/99),
745 So.2d 1279, writ denied, 00-695 (La. 5/5/00), 761 So.2d 544. The plaintiff
sustained injuries in a motor vehicle accident and the evidence indicated that the
plaintiff’s husband failed to provide very much, if any, financial and emotional
support to plaintiff. In affirming the trial court’s award, the appellate court noted the
loss of consortium award was “generous.” Id. at 1290.
In Thrash v. Maerhofer, 99-375 (La.App. 3 Cir. 11/17/99), 745 So.2d 1238,
writ denied, 99-3578 (La. 2/18/00), 754 So.2d 966, the trial court granted the
3
plaintiff’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and awarded $20,000 to
the plaintiff’s husband for loss of consortium. In that case, the plaintiff brought a
malpractice action against her chiropractor for negligent treatment which led to her
subsequently undergoing several lumbar surgeries. The appellate court affirmed the
trial court’s award stating that the testimony supported the husband’s claim that his
wife’s disability and residual pain impacted the marital relationship.
In LeBlanc v. Acadian Ambulance Service, Inc., 99-271 (La.App. 3 Cir.
10/13/99), 746 So.2d. 665, the plaintiff underwent several surgeries, for both back-
and neck-related problems, after sustaining injuries in a three-vehicle accident. The
testimony in that case supported the wife’s claims that the husband’s accident put a
strain on their marriage and diminished their social and sex life. The court of appeal
reversed the jury’s denial of consortium damages and awarded plaintiff’s wife
$20,000.
Considering the evidence of the effect of Mr. Ezernack’s injury on the
relationship with his wife, we find that an award of $25,000 is the highest amount
reasonably within the discretion of the factfinder under the circumstances of this case.
The judgment is amended accordingly.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the district court’s judgment is affirmed, as
amended, reducing the loss of consortium award to Mildred Ezernack to $25,000.
Costs of this appeal are assessed against the appellee, Mildred Ezernack.
AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.
4