Judith Langlinais Mistich v. Louisiana Farm Bureau Casualty Ins. Co.
Judith Langlinais Mistich v. Louisiana Farm Bureau Casualty Ins. Co., No. CA-0009-0518 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Nov. 4, 2009).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Gray v. American Nat. Property & Cas. Co. 977 So. 2d 839
- Supreme Services v. Sonny Greer, Inc. 958 So. 2d 634
- Jessop v. City of Alexandria 871 So. 2d 1140
- Miller v. Superior Shipyard and Fabrication 859 So. 2d 159
- SJ v. Lafayette Parish School Bd. 959 So. 2d 884
- Greer v. Dresser Industries, Inc. 715 So. 2d 1235
- Greer v. Dresser Industries, Inc. 728 So. 2d 867
- Quinn v. RISO Investments, Inc. 869 So. 2d 922
- Oaks v. Dupuy 740 So. 2d 263
- Douglass v. Alton Ochsner Med. Found. 696 So. 2d 136
- Bilbo for Basnaw v. Shelter Ins. Co. 698 So. 2d 691
- Lafreniere Park Foundation v. Friends of Lafreniere Park, Inc. 703 So. 2d 1312
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
09-517 c/w 09-518
ELLIOTT A. MISTICH, JR., ET AL.
VERSUS
DIEDRA R. WEEKS, ET AL.
CONSOLIDATED WITH
JUDITH LANGLINAIS MISTICH
VERSUS
LOUISIANA FARM BUREAU
AND STATE FARM INSURANCE
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE, NO. 2005-2134;2005-2147
HONORABLE MARILYN C. CASTLE, PRESIDING
**********
SYLVIA R. COOKS
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses G. Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, Sylvia R. Cooks, and John
D. Saunders, Judges.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
George Pivach, II
Mark A. Pivach
Gregory P. Nolan
Ellen Pivach Dunbar
8311 Highway 23, Suite 104
P.O. Box 7125
Belle Chasse, LA 70037
(504) 394-1870
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLANTS:
Elliott Mistich, Jr., Jamie Mistich Bergeron, Estate of Elliott Mistich, Sr.
Charles R. Sonnier
2 South Magdalen Square
P.O. Box 700
Abbeville, LA 70510
(337) 893-5973
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLANTS:
Judith L. Mistich, Marie M. Langlinais, Stephen and Monique Broussard
Edward O. Taulbee, IV
Max Michael Menard
Taulbee & Associates, L.L.C.
100 Asma Boulevard, Suite 200
P.O. Box 2038
Lafayette, LA 70502-2038
(337) 269-5005
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS/APPELLEES:
Farm Bureau Casualty Ins. Co. and Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. Co.
COOKS, Judge.
Plaintiffs appeal the judgment of the trial court granting the Defendants’
Motion for Summary Judgment on the limited issue of coverage. For the reasons that
follow, we find summary judgment was inappropriate, and we reverse and remand.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On May 2, 2004, Elliott Mistich, Sr. was driving a 2002 BMW 530 west on
Louisiana Highway 92 in Youngsville. His mother-in-law, Marie Langlinais, was
seated in the front passenger seat. Directly behind Ms. Langlinais was Judith Mistich,
Elliott’s wife. Judith Mistich’s two grandchildren, Timothy and Haley Broussard,
were also in the rear passenger seats.
At that time, Diedra Weeks, was driving her 1999 Honda Accord east on Hwy.
92, which at that location was a two-lane roadway with one lane running east and one
lane running west. Ms. Weeks’ vehicle crossed the center line, entered the westbound
lane, and collided head-on with the BMW driven by Mistich.
As a result of the accident, Elliott Mistich suffered fatal injuries. The other
passengers also suffered varying degrees of injury. The following lawsuits were
instituted after the accident:
1. Judith Mistich filed suit for her own injuries and the wrongful
death of her husband.
2. Marie Langlinais filed suit for her personal injuries.
3. Steven and Monique Broussard, the parents of the two minor
children, Haley and Timothy, filed suit on behalf of their children
for their injuries.
4. Elliott Mistich, Jr. and Jamie Bergeron Mistich filed suit for the
wrongful death of their father.
Named as defendants in the lawsuits were Diedra Weeks and her insurer, US
Agencies Casualty Insurance Company; Louisiana Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance
Company and Louisiana Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company, who issued two
-1-
policies of insurance to the Mistichs; Gemini Insurance Company, who issued a
policy of insurance on the BMW 530 to the owner of the vehicle, Tobias, Inc.; and
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, who issued a policy of insurance
covering a 1963 Cadillac antique vehicle owned by Elliott Mistich. The petition was
later amended to add several agents who represented Farm Bureau in the procurement
of the two Farm Bureau policies. The amended petition added the following
paragraph:
In the event that said policy of insurance is determined not to
provide coverage, Plaintiffs make the following additional allegations:
At all times material and relevant hereto, Eric Robichaux, Christine
Laporte, Fran Fullerton, and R.J. Stoutes acted as agent(s) for Louisiana
Farm Bureau, and as agent(s) failed to: (1) properly advise and direct the
insureds, (2) properly follow the instructions/requests given by the
insureds, (3) obtain the appropriate insurances for or on behalf of the
insureds, Judith and/or Elliot Mistich, as intended.
The record revealed the following facts concerning the ownership of the BMW
530 and insurance coverage for the parties in question. The BMW 530 was owned
by Tobias, Inc., a business that was owned by Judith Mistich. Tobias, Inc. obtained
and made the payments on a policy of insurance for that vehicle from Gemini
Insurance Company. Tobias rejected UM coverage on the Gemini policy. Judith
Mistich testified the BMW was provided to her by Tobias as a “company car” for her
use at any time and without any restrictions. Judith owned no other vehicles at this
time.
Farm Bureau issued a comprehensive automobile liability policy, No. C707387,
to Elliott and Judith Mistich. This policy did provide for UM coverage with limits
of 300,000.00/500,000.00. The Mistichs also purchased from Farm Bureau a
Commercial Umbrella Policy, No. UM806930, which provided additional coverage
to them in the amount of $1,000,000.00.
At the time the two Farm Bureau polices were issued, the Mistichs had three
-2-
vehicles available to them for use: The 2002 BMW 530, owned by Tobias, Inc.; a
Ford 250 truck, owned by Elliott Mistich’s company, Jade Marine, and an antique
1963 Cadillac owned by Elliott Mistich. The 1963 Cadillac was covered by a policy
of insurance issued by State Farm.
After discovery, Farm Bureau filed a Motion for Summary Judgment alleging
neither policy issued by it provided coverage under the facts of this case.
Specifically, Farm Bureau asserted there was no coverage under its comprehensive
policy because the BMW was provided for the “regular use” of Judith Mistich by her
employer, Tobias, Inc. In support of this argument, Farm Bureau referenced what it
termed a “clear and unambiguous exclusion” contained in the policy pertaining to
UM coverage, which read:
EXCLUSIONS
THIS POLICY DOES NOT APPLY:
....
(b) Under any of the coverages for automobiles owned or furnished for
regular use of any member of the insured’s household, unless shown on
the declaration;
Because the BMW was not specifically listed on the policy as an insured
vehicle, Farm Bureau contended it was not a covered vehicle under the policy. Farm
Bureau argued the purpose of this type of exclusionary clause is to exclude from
coverage non-owned automobiles over which the insured has general authority of use.
Secondly, Farm Bureau asserted there could be no coverage under its umbrella
liability policy since coverage under the umbrella policy presupposed coverage under
the primary policy.
Plaintiffs opposed summary judgment, arguing the Farm Bureau
comprehensive policy was vague and ambiguous. Specifically they argued the phrase
in the exclusionary clause “unless shown on the declaration” could just as likely refer
to “members of the insured’s household’ as to “automobiles.” Therefore, Plaintiffs
-3-
contended the policy was ambiguous. Plaintiffs also argued Farm Bureau’s
contention that an automobile must be specifically listed on the declarations page was
“non-sensical and ambiguous” given the fact there was no space on the declarations
page to list any automobiles. Plaintiffs further noted the declarations page on the
comprehensive policy specifically referenced “UM hired/non-owned,” which
indicated that the policy covered all hired and non-owned vehicles. Additionally,
Plaintiffs maintain Farm Bureau and its agents were guilty of negligent representation
when the policies were procured.
At the hearing on the motion for summary judgment, the trial court found Farm
Bureau’s policy was clear, unambiguous, and had the standard “regular use”
exclusion. The court determined there was no coverage under either Farm Bureau
policy. In addressing Plaintiffs’ arguments as to what these polices actually covered,
since there was no listed vehicle on the declarations page, the trial court stated people
with company cars such as Judith Mistich often buy a comprehensive policy that does
not have a listed vehicle to protect them if they are driving another party’s vehicle.
The trial court concluded the Mistichs purchased the Farm Bureau policy to fill a hole
in the Mistichs’ coverage if they were driving a rented or borrowed vehicle.
During the hearing on the motion for summary judgment, when it became clear
the trial court was prepared to rule in Farm Bureau’s favor, counsel for Plaintiffs
noted they had yet to take depositions concerning representations that might have
been made to the Mistichs concerning what the comprehensive policy issued by Farm
Bureau actually was intended to cover. The trial court noted that after discovery it
could be possible “there are facts in there to establish that the agents and/or Farm
Bureau should have had information to cause a different policy to be written.” When
pressed by Plaintiffs to pretermit a decision until final discovery, the trial court stated
-4-
as follows:
THE COURT: Well, I don’t think anybody – Regardless of what
happens, I don’t think anybody’s in a position to go to the Court of
Appeals, because its not a final disposition of the claims against Farm
Bureau. So I don’t think anybody would be in a position to do anything
anyway.
MR. SONNIER: Well –
THE COURT: It’s a partial - - I mean, I don’t - - You don’t certify
that as a final appealable judgment when it’s a partial judgment. So I
don’t think anybody would be in a position to do that anyway.
...
So, to that extent, I’m going to grant the partial summary
judgment. But, again, that does not dismiss Farm Bureau
Despite clearly setting forth that its conclusion on the limited issue of whether
the language in the policy provided coverage did not make for a final, appealable
judgment, the trial court then issued a judgment certifying the grant of partial
summary judgment as a final, appealable judgment. Reasons for judgment provided,
in pertinent part, as follows:
. . . there is no just reason for delaying the certification and appeal of
this Court’s October 29, 2007 ruling against Farm Bureau’s Motion for
Summary Judgment as Plaintiff’s remaining claims against Farm Bureau
and the other defendants involve different theories of liability, causes of
action, and operative facts that will not affect this Court’s October 29,
2007 ruling. Plaintiffs’ claims against the other insurers involve
determination of coverage under entirely different insurance policies and
language from the policies at issue in Farm Bureau’s Motion for
Summary Judgment. Further, allowing the appeal of this Court’s
October 29, 2007 judgment to proceed at this juncture promotes judicial
efficiency and economy.
Judgment was entered on December 29, 2008 certifying as final the bench
ruling that granted the Motion for Summary Judgment filed by Farm Bureau.
Plaintiffs now appeal, contending the trial court’s grant of summary judgment in
favor of Farm Bureau was error.
ANALYSIS
Standard of Review
-5-
When an appellate court reviews a district court judgment on a
motion for summary judgment, it applies the de novo standard of review,
“using the same criteria that govern the trial court’s consideration of
whether summary judgment is appropriate, i.e., whether there is a
genuine issue of material fact and whether the mover is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law.”
Gray v. Am. Nat. Prop. & Cas. Co., 07-1670, p. 6 (La. 2/26/08), 977 So.2d 839, 844
(quoting Supreme Serv. & Specialty Co., Inc. v. Sonny Greer, 06-1827, p. 4 (La.
5/22/07), 958 So.2d 634, 638). “The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if
the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to material fact, and
that mover is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(B).
The burden of proof imposed upon a movant for a motion for summary
judgment are set forth in the Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure:
The burden of proof remains with the movant. However, if the
movant will not bear the burden of proof at trial on the matter that is
before the court on the motion for summary judgment, the movant’s
burden on the motion does not require him to negate all essential
elements of the adverse party’s claim, action, or defense, but rather to
point out to the court that there is an absence of factual support for one
or more elements essential to the adverse party's claim, action, or
defense. Thereafter, if the adverse party fails to produce factual support
sufficient to establish that he will be able to satisfy his evidentiary
burden of proof at trial, there is no genuine issue of material fact.
La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(C)(2). Summary judgment may not be rendered declaring
lack of coverage unless there is no reasonable interpretation of the policy, when
applied to the undisputed material facts shown by the evidence supporting the motion
under which coverage could be afforded. Jessop v. City of Alexandria, 03-1500
(La.App. 3 Cir. 03/31/04), 871 So.2d 1140 citing Miller, v. Superior Shipyard and
Fabrication, Inc., 01-2907, p. 4 (La.App. 1 Cir. 08/20/03), 859 So.2d 159, 162.
After a review of the record we find the negligent representation claims alleged
against Farm Bureau in this case are simply too intertwined with the question of
-6-
coverage for summary judgment to have been rendered. This fact is demonstrated by
the trial court’s need to make factual conclusions in rendering summary judgment on
the coverage issue.
We point specifically to the trial court’s factual conclusion that the motivation
for the purchase of the Farm Bureau policy was to fill a hole in the Mistichs’
coverage so, if they were driving another vehicle, they would be covered. Farm
Bureau, as well, argued below, and to this court, that the policies were purchased
simply to provide coverage for the limited times when the Mistichs: (1) rented a
vehicle, (2) borrowed a vehicle, or (3) drove another person’s vehicle with
permission.
Judith Mistich has, at all times, maintained the purpose of the Farm Bureau
polices was to acquire UM coverage. Plaintiffs also contend the State Farm policy
of insurance issued on the 1963 antique Cadillac provided coverage for the Mistichs
when using a non-owned vehicle. Thus, the gap in coverage the trial court referenced
as the motivation for the Mistichs’ purchase of the Farm Bureau polices may not have
even existed. Were this true, it certainly would support the Mistichs’ argument that
it is simply illogical to assume, if they were aware the Farm Bureau policies did not
provide UM coverage, they would have purchased this otherwise useless policy. The
deposition testimony in the record of Christine LaPorte, an agent for Farm Bureau,
does little to resolve this disputed issue:
Q. You’ve been writing insurance for [Judith Mistich] for sometime.
A. Yes.
Q. And would you say that you were her primary Farm Bureau agent?
A. The last few years, yes, really.
....
-7-
Q. Christine, just for the purposes of the record, I want to be sure that
your testimony is that when you met and your supervisor met at this
umbrella meeting at the Mistiches’ home, that she didn’t inform you that
she had no uninsured motorist coverage?
A. I do not remember that.
Q. You just don’t remember it?
A. No.
Q. Okay. Did you tell them, the Mistiches, at that meeting, that it was
impossible for Tobias to insure them for the Tobias vehicle, anyway?
Mr. Taulbee: Objection to form.
Q. Did you instruct them that Tobias’ vehicle could not be insured?
A. I don’t recall that.
Q. Okay. You’re selling insurance. You’re there to sell insurance, to
provide them with coverage for liability and cover some risks.
A. Correct.
Q. And your testimony in neither you nor your supervisor ever
breached the subject of whether or not they had uninsured motorist
coverage on any of their vehicles?
Mr. Taulbee: Objection to form.
Mr. Delaune: And objection to the form of the recitation
of testimony. You can answer.
Q. You can answer the question.
A. No, I do not remember asking or them asking me for that.
Q. You know Judy to be a business woman and to conduct a pretty
big, powerful business.
A. Yes, definitely.
Q. You know her to have a lot of insurance.
A. Yes.
Q. You know her to be very astute in terms of trying to be covered for
all risks that she was involved in because she had purchased a bunch of
policies from you?
-8-
A. Right.
Q. You find it strange that she had no uninsured motorist coverage?
A. I would think it would be under her Tobias policy with her
commercial agent.
Q. But y’all never inquired about that?
A. No.
Despite the apparent confusion surrounding this question, and the Plaintiffs’
communicated desire to take further discovery on the negligent representation issue,
the trial court made a conclusive determination as to the Mistichs intent in purchasing
the Farm Bureau policy.1 Such a factual conclusion drawn by the trial court, which
was a key component to its decision, is clearly inappropriate for summary judgment.
The jurisprudence has consistently held “[e]ven though summary judgment is now
favored, it is not a substitute for trial on the merits, and it has been found
inappropriate for judicial determination of subjective facts, such as motive, intent,
good faith, knowledge or malice that call for credibility evaluations and the weighing
of the testimony.” (Emphasis ours.) S.J. v. Lafayette Parish School Bd., 06-2862, p.
5 (La. 6/29/07), 959 So.2d 884, 887 (per curiam ); see also Greer v. Dresser Indus.,
Inc., 98-0129 (La.App. 3 Cir.7/1/98), 715 So.2d 1235, writ denied, 98-2094
(La.11/6/98), 728 So.2d 867; Quinn v. RISO Investments, Inc., 03-903 (La.App. 4 Cir.
1
The trial court’s factual conclusion on the issue of the Mistichs’ intent, along
with being inappropriate at the summary judgment stage, is arguably a premature
decision on the negligent representation issue. If the trial court has already
determined the Mistichs’ intent, without allowing them to complete full discovery on
the issue, it would be difficult, if not impossible, for the Plaintiffs to prevail on the
negligent representation claims. The negligent representation argument presupposes
that the Mistichs desired to procure UM coverage from Farm Bureau in the
purchasing of the comprehensive policy. If the trial court has already found the
Mistichs’ intent was to merely insure themselves for the rare occasions that they
rented or borrowed a vehicle, then they will not be able to prove negligent
representation on the part of Farm Bureau’s agents. To make such a determination
on intent at the summary judgment stage is not only inappropriate, but patently unfair.
-9-
3/3/04), 869 So.2d 922; Oaks v. Dupuy, 32,070 (La.App.2 Cir. 8/18/99), 740 So.2d
263; Douglass v. Alton Ochsner Med. Found., 97-25 (La.App 5 Cir. 5/28/97), 696
So.2d 136; Bilbo for Basnaw v. Shelter Ins. Co., 96-1476 (La.App. 1 Cir. 7/30/97),
698 So.2d 691, writ denied, 97-2198 (La.11/21/97), 703 So.2d 1312. Therefore, we
are compelled to reverse the trial court’s grant of summary judgment and remand the
case for a trial on the merits.
We note, in passing, that Plaintiffs’ arguments concerning the ambiguity of the
exclusion in the policy are compelling. The exclusionary clause in the policy
provided as follows:
EXCLUSIONS
THIS POLICY DOES NOT APPLY:
....
(b) Under any of the coverages for automobiles owned or furnished for
regular use of any member of the insured’s household, unless shown on
the declaration;
Plaintiffs argue it is ambiguous whether the phrase “unless shown on the
declaration” refers to (1) “members of the insureds household” or (2) “automobile.”
If Farm Bureau’s interpretation is accepted, that the phrase is unambiguous and refers
to “automobiles,” the failure by Farm Bureau’s agents to list any automobiles on the
declarations page means there would be no coverage whatsoever. Plaintiffs argue it
is equally plausible the phrase “unless shown on the declaration” refers to “any
member of the insureds household.” Plaintiffs point out an insured may not intend
to cover all individuals (oftentimes minors) unless specifically listed on the
declarations page. As we stated earlier, because the coverage question and negligent
representation question are so intertwined, we find resolution of Plaintiffs’ arguments
on the ambiguity of the exclusionary clause in the Farm Bureau policy is not ripe for
summary determination.
-10-
DECREE
Finding the trial court made inappropriate factual conclusions in reaching the
issue of coverage, we reverse the trial court’s grant of summary judgment and remand
the case for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs of this appeal are
assessed against appellees, Louisiana Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Company and
Louisiana Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
-11-