Althea Dupar v. the Estate of Maurice D. McNeal
Althea Dupar v. the Estate of Maurice D. McNeal, No. CA-0009-0942 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Mar. 31, 2010).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- RJ Messinger, Inc. v. Rosenblum 894 So. 2d 1113
- Robinson v. Heard 809 So. 2d 943
- Smith v. Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Inc. 639 So. 2d 730
- Sanchez v. Callegan 753 So. 2d 403
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
09-941 consolidated with 09-942
ANDRE ALEXANDER, ET AL.
VERSUS
THE ESTATE OF MAURICE D. MCNEAL, ET AL.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
TWELFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF AVOYELLES, NO. 20081592 C/W 20081993
HONORABLE MARK A. JEANSONNE, DISTRICT JUDGE
**********
ELIZABETH A. PICKETT
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, Sylvia R. Cooks, Marc
T. Amy, and Elizabeth A. Pickett, Billy H. Ezell, Judges.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, dissents with written reasons.
Cooks, Judge, dissents and assigns written reasons.
Dale G. Cox
Bradley Murchison Kelly & Shea LLC
401 Edwards St., Ste 1000
Shreveport, LA 71101
(318) 227-1131
Counsel for Defendants-Appellees:
Althea Dupar
Jerod Dupar
Paige Dupar
John W. Munsterman
Attorney at Law
P. O. Box 1848
Alexandria, LA 71309-1848
(318) 445-6111
Counsel for Defendant-Appellee:
Tyler Timber, Inc.
Donald Armand, Jr.
S. Michael Cooper
Pettiette, Armand, Dunkelman, Woodley, Byrd & Cromwell, LLP
P. O. Box 1786
Shreveport, LA 71166-1786
(318) 221-1800
Counsel for Defendant-Appellant:
Praetorian Specialty Insurance Co.
Cory Paul Roy
Attorney at Law
P. O. Box 544
Marksville, LA 71351
(318) 240-7800
Counsel for Plaintiffs-Appellees:
Andre Alexander
Phaetra Moore
PICKETT, Judge.
The appellant, Praetorian Specialty Insurance Company, appeals the trial
court’s ruling granting a motion for partial summary judgment.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Maurice D. McNeal and Marvin Dupar were both killed when the vehicles they
were driving collided on December 7, 2007. At the time of the accident, McNeal was
an employee of Tyler Timber, driving a vehicle owned by Tyler Timber in the course
and scope of his employment. The Tyler Timber vehicle was insured under a policy
issued by Praetorian Specialty Insurance Company (Praetorian).
The heirs of Dupar filed two separate suits in district court, which were
consolidated. Among the defendants named in the suits were Tyco Centures, the
parent company of Tyler Timber, and Praetorian. Additionally, Tyler Timber filed
a third party demand against Regions Insurance, Inc., its insurance agent, and
Praetorian. After some discovery, the plaintiffs and Tyler Timber filed a motion for
partial summary judgment asking the court to find that a certain endorsement in the
policy issued to Tyler Timber was unenforceable. This endorsement required Tyler
Timber to give notice to Praetorian of any new drivers in order for the coverage limits
of one million dollars to apply; otherwise, the statutory minimum coverage of
$100,000 would apply to that driver. The trial court heard the matter on March 20,
2009, and at the conclusion of the hearing he granted partial summary judgment in
favor of the plaintiffs and Tyler Timber. A second hearing was held on April 26,
2009, when Praetorian opposed certification that the partial summary judgment was
immediately appealable pursuant to La.Code Civ.P. art. 1915(B). The trial court
certified the judgment as immediately appealable. Praetorian now appeals.
1
ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR
Praetorian asserts four assignments of error:
1. The trial court impermissibly decided a disputed issue of material fact.
Specifically, the trial court believed the testimony of Tyler Timber
employee Donna Desselle over the testimony of Regions employees
Nancy Green and Caren Hebert, and concluded that Regions received
notice that McNeal was to be added as a “specified operator.” Based on
this factual conclusion on a disputed issue of fact, the trial court granted
partial summary judgment.
2. The trial court erred in finding that Regions had apparent and/or actual
authority to bind coverage for Praetorian.
3. The trial court erred to the extent it found the Auto 100A endorsement
ambiguous or unenforceable.
4. The trial court erred in certifying the Partial Summary Judgment as final.
Althea Dupar, Jared Dupar and Paige Dupar have filed an answer to the appeal
arguing that this court should “approve a second grounds upon which the appellees’
partial motion for summary judgment should be granted, in addition to the grounds
cited by the trial court, to-wit: that the fifteen day requirement in the Praetorian
endorsement leads to an absurd result.”
DISCUSSION
Certification as Immediately Appealable
We shall address Praetorian’s final assignment of error first, since resolution
of that issue in favor of Praetorian would end our consideration of this case. When
the trial court gives explicit reasons for certifying a partial judgment as final, the
proper standard of reviewing that determination on appeal is whether the trial court
abused its discretion. R.J. Messinger, Inc. v. Rosenblum, 04-1664 (La. 3/2/05), 894
So.2d 1113. Following the hearing on April 26, the trial court found that the ruling
on summary judgment was “a crucial and threshold issue” that should be resolved
2
before proceeding to the trial on the merits. We find no abuse of discretion in the trial
court’s determination. This assignment of error lacks merit.
Standard of Review
The supreme court discussed the applicable standard of appellate review in
summary judgments involving insurance contracts in Robinson v. Heard, 07-1697,
pp. 3-4 (La. 2/26/02), 809 So.2d 943, 945:
A reviewing court examines summary judgments de novo under
the same criteria that govern the district court’s consideration of whether
summary judgment is appropriate. Smith v. Our Lady of the Lake
Hospital, Inc., 93-2512 (La.7/5/94), 639 So.2d 730, 750. A reviewing
court thus asks the same questions as does the trial court in determining
whether summary judgment is appropriate: whether there is any genuine
issue of material fact, and whether the mover is entitled to judgment as
a matter of law. Smith, 639 So.2d at 750.
Interpretation of an insurance contract is usually a legal question
that can be properly resolved in the framework of a motion for summary
judgment. Sanchez v. Callegan, 99-0137 (La.App. 1 Cir. 2/18/00), 753
So.2d 403, 405. When the language of an insurance policy is clear and
unambiguous, a reasonable interpretation consistent with the obvious
meaning and intent of the policy must be given. Sanchez, 753 So.2d at
405.
The motion for partial summary judgment filed by the plaintiffs and Tyler
Timber asserted three distinct reasons that the policy limits of one million dollars
should apply. First, they argued that there was no genuine issue of material fact that
Tyler Timber notified Regions that McNeal had been hired, and that as Regions was
an agent for Praetorian, notice to Regions was sufficient to meet the notice
requirements of the endorsement. Second, the movers argued that the notice
provision violated Louisiana public policy by reducing Praetorian’s liability
exposure. Third, the movers argued that the endorsement was ambiguous because it
was impossible for Tyler Timber to give notice to Praetorian as required in the
3
endorsement. Alternatively, they argued that the fifteen day limit to add new drivers
to the policy was arbitrary.
Disputed Issue of Material Fact
In its first assignment of error, Praetorian alleges that the trial court erred when
it decided a genuine issue of material fact in reaching its decision to grant summary
judgment. The endorsement at issue requires the insured, Tyler Timber, to notify the
insurer, Praetorian, when it adds a new driver to its policy in order to be covered
under the policy limits of one million dollars. Failure to properly notify Praetorian
would result in the limits of coverage being reduced to the statutory minimum of
$100,000. The notification clause that is at issue in this case is:
Should you decide to add a “specified operator” (who is regularly
furnished with a covered “auto” for use in the course and scope of
employment) to this policy, you shall provide to us the following
information in writing within fifteen (15) days of either 1] the initial hire
date or 2] the first date the operator or driver begins regularly operating
a covered “auto” on your behalf, whichever occurs first:
– Full Name, and
– Driver’s License Number.
In the event you fail to give us such written notice within the timeframe
specified above, the individual concerned shall be considered a “non-
specified operator”, rather than a “specified operator” under this policy.
We find that the trial court did in fact make a credibility determination in
deciding that the evidence proved that Tyler Timber faxed the document adding
McNeal as a “specified operator” to Regions, where employees of Regions disputed
in their depositions that they ever received that document. In determining that the
one million dollar policy limits applied, the trial court stated:
I believe there is no issue of fact as far as Tyler giving, giving and going
through the appropriate channels to specify Mr. McNeal as an operator.
Now, whether there was a failure between Regions and Praetorian I
4
don’t think should bind or prejudice the plaintiffs. It is a matter for a
cross claim.
Thus, we find that the trial court improperly granted summary judgment on the
grounds that Tyler gave notice adding McNeal as a “specified operator” to its agent,
Regions, where there is a disputed issue of material fact about whether that notice
was ever transmitted.
Ambiguity of the Endorsement
At the hearing on the motion for partial summary judgment, the trial court
pointedly refused to reach the issue of whether the policy language was ambiguous
or against public policy for the reasons assigned in the motion and repeated in the
answer to the appeal filed by the Dupars. Inasmuch as discovery is still ongoing in
this case and further information may be developed regarding the endorsement and
notice requirement therein, we reserve to the trial court the opportunity to rule on
those issues in the first instance once discovery has been completed.
Motion to Remand
Given our ruling on the merits, we find Praetorian’s Motion to Remand moot.
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the trial court granting the plaintiff’s partial summary
judgment is reversed. The matter is remanded for proceedings consistent with this
opinion. Half of the costs of this appeal are assessed to the plaintiffs, Althea Dupar,
Jared Dupar, Paige Dupar, Andre Alexander, and Phaetra Moore, and half of the costs
of this appeal are assessed to Tyler Timber.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
5
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
09-941 consolidated with 09-942
ANDRE ALEXANDER, ET AL.
VERSUS
THE ESTATE OF MAURICE D. MCNEAL, ET AL.
THIBODEAUX, Chief Judge, dissenting.
The Auto 100A endorsement, written by Praetorian, is subject to more
than one interpretation. Thus, it is not clear and unambiguous and must be interpreted
in favor of coverage.
I respectfully dissent.
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
09-941 c/w 09-942
ANDRE ALEXANDER, ET AL.
VERSUS
THE ESTATE OF MAURICE D. MCNEAL, ET AL.
COOKS, J., dissenting.
I dissent from the majority’s decision to reverse the trial court’s judgment
granting summary judgment and remand for further proceedings. I find summary
judgment was appropriate in this matter, albeit for different reasons than the trial
court’s factual assumption. Summary judgment is appropriate because the policy
required a mechanism of notice that was not possible. Deep South Surplus, Inc. was
the exclusive managing general agent in Louisiana for Praetorian. Michael Dugan,
the president of Deep South, testified unequivocally that they did not accept notice
for Praetorian. The real issue in this case is was notice possible if the policy is read
as Defendant insists? I believe the answer is no, because Deep South clearly said
they would not accept notice on behalf of Praetorian. Thus, whether Regions
received a faxed notice from Tyler Timber may be a disputed fact, but this fact is
neither material nor genuine because notice was not possible, as contemplated by the
policy and as Defendant, the author of the policy, interprets it. Therefore, I would
affirm the grant of summary judgment.