Carlton Maxey v. Universal Casualty Company
Carlton Maxey v. Universal Casualty Company, No. CA-0011-0339 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Oct. 5, 2011).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Louisiana Bag Co., Inc. v. Audubon Indem. Co. 999 So. 2d 1104
- Albert v. Cuna Mutual Insurance Society 255 So. 2d 170
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
11-339
CARLTON MAXEY
VERSUS
UNIVERSAL CASUALTY COMPANY
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
TENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF NATCHITOCHES, NO. 81,786
HONORABLE ERIC ROGER HARRINGTON, DISTRICT JUDGE
**********
OSWALD A. DECUIR
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Sylvia R. Cooks, Oswald A. Decuir, and Jimmie C. Peters,
Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Joe Payne Williams
Williams Family Law Firm, L.L.C.
Post Office Box 15
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0015
(318) 352-6695
Counsel for Plaintiff/Appellant:
Barbara Renee Maxey, as Representative of Estate
Charles K. Charrier
Attorney at Law
P. O. Box 1007
Alexandria, LA 71309
(318) 448-3952
Counsel for Plaintiff/Appellant:
Barbara Renee Maxey, as Representative of Estate
R. Todd Musgrave
Musgrave, McLachlan & Penn, L.L.C.
1515 Poydras Street, Suite 2380
New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 799-4300
Counsel for Defendant/Appellee:
Universal Casualty Company
Amanda H. Aucoin
Musgrave, McLachlan & Penn, L.L.C.
1515 Poydras Street, Suite 2380
New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 799-4300
Counsel for Defendant/Appellee:
Universal Casualty Company
DECUIR, Judge.
Carlton Maxey filed suit against his automobile insurer, Universal Casualty
Company, seeking payment under the comprehensive coverage provision of his policy
after his vehicle was stolen and destroyed by fire. After prevailing on the coverage
question, Maxey sought penalties and attorney fees which were denied by summary
judgment. Maxey’s succession representative, Barbara Maxey, perfected this appeal.
For the following reasons, we affirm.
Sometime between 9:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. on July 24, 2008, Maxey’s 2006
Nissan Altima was stolen from the driveway of his home in Derry, Louisiana. The car
was unlocked, and a spare key was hidden under the floor mat. Maxey was away
from home during those hours; when he returned shortly after 1:00 p.m., he noticed
the car was gone. He immediately reported the car stolen, and it was located by police
later that day elsewhere in the parish. The car had been set on fire and was a total loss.
Universal does not deny that it had in full force and effect a policy of insurance
in favor of Carlton Maxey providing comprehensive coverage for loss due to both
theft and fire. However, the policy contains a specific exclusion for theft under
certain circumstances: specifically, under Part IV, Exclusion (o) of the policy,
coverage does not apply “to loss due to theft under coverage (a) of this part if
evidence exists that forcible entry was not required to gain access to the automobile.”
Based on this exclusion, and Maxey’s admissions that the car was unlocked and a key
was inside at the time it was stolen, Universal denied coverage. Universal then filed a
motion for summary judgment on the issue of coverage.
Maxey responded by filing a cross motion for summary judgment, arguing that
his loss was the result of a fire, not theft. The trial court agreed and granted Maxey’s
motion. Universal unsuccessfully took up writs to this court and the Louisiana
Supreme Court. Universal then immediately tendered to Maxey the full amount of his
loss plus interest. However, Maxey sought statutory penalties and attorney fees for
Universal’s delay in paying the claim. Maxey specifically alleged that Universal’s
delay in tendering payment was based upon a misinterpretation of its own policy, and
Maxey asserts that when an insurer misinterprets its policy, “it does so at its own risk,
not at the risk of the insured.”
The trial court described the case as presenting a unique factual situation and
determined that Universal had a reasonable basis to defend the claim. The court
found Universal acted in good faith reliance on its defense of a theft exclusion.
Penalties and attorney fees were denied via summary judgment, and Maxey appealed.
In this appeal, Maxey relies on the case of Louisiana Bag Co. v. Audubon
Indemnity Co., 08-453, pp. 19-20 (La. 12/2/08), 999 So.2d 1104, 1117, which held:
This court has found that an insurer “must take the risk of misinterpreting
its policy provisions,” and that, if an insurer “errs in interpreting its own
insurance contract, such error will not be considered as a reasonable
ground for delaying payment of benefits, and it will not relieve the
insurer of the payment of penalties and attorney’s fees.” Id. (citing
Albert v. Cuna Mut. Ins. Soc’y, 255 So.2d 170 (La.App. 3 Cir.1971)).
“In other words, insurers should not have their policy provisions
interpreted at the expense of the insured, especially when they are
charged with knowledge of their policy’s contents.” Id. In short,
Audubon’s potential error in the interpretation of its insurance contract
was not a reasonable ground for refusing timely payment. Therefore,
Audubon could not avoid the payment of penalties for its delay in
tendering payment within the statutorily mandated time period by reason
of its interpretation of the coverage afforded by its policy.
We find Maxey’s reliance on the Louisiana Bag language to be misplaced. The
coverage in the present case does not rest on the interpretation of the policy. Rather,
the issue confronting the trial court was simply a question of whether Maxey’s
damages were due to fire or theft. If the damages were due to theft, then the
undisputed “forced entry” terms of the policy would exclude coverage. If the
damages were due to fire, then the undisputed fire terms of the policy would provide
coverage. The trial court considered the facts and determined the damages were due
to fire.
2
In Louisiana Bag, the disputed coverage question was based on a legal issue,
the resolution of which would affect only the extent of coverage. The insurer had
knowledge of the undisputed portion of the claim and refused to pay even that amount
while it waited for a legal opinion from its retained counsel on the full extent of the
claim. In the present case, the insurer sought judicial resolution of a factual question:
whether Maxey’s damages were the result of fire or theft. The trial court found this
coverage question to be reasonably disputed by the insurer, even though the court
ultimately ruled against the company. We agree with the trial court’s rationale. We
do not believe Universal acted unreasonably in contesting coverage in this particular
case.
Accordingly, we find no error in the decision reached by the trial court.
Universal’s motion for summary judgment was properly granted, with the dismissal of
all remaining claims asserted by Maxey. For these reasons, the judgment appealed
from is affirmed. Costs of the appeal are assessed to Barbara Maxey.
AFFIRMED.
3