Audrey Ashley v. City of Alexandria Employee Retirement System
Audrey Ashley v. City of Alexandria Employee Retirement System, No. CA-0011-1322 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Mar. 7, 2012).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Guilbeaux v. Times of Acadiana, Inc. 693 So. 2d 1183
- Elliott v. OMSI 701 So. 2d 1327
- State v. Albritton 610 So. 2d 209
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
11-1322
AUDREY ASHLEY
VERSUS
CITY OF ALEXANDRIA EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF RAPIDES, NO. 230,487
HONORABLE GEORGE CLARENCE METOYER, JR, DISTRICT JUDGE
**********
ULYSSES GENE THIBODEAUX
CHIEF JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, Sylvia R. Cooks, and
Billy Howard Ezell, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Edward Larvadain, Jr.
626 Eighth Street
Alexandria, LA 71301
Telephone: (318) 445-6717
COUNSEL FOR:
Plaintiff/Appellant - Audrey Ashley
Trevor Scott Fry
Joseph H. L. Perez-Montes
Gold, Weems, Bruser, Sues & Rundell
P. O. Box 6118
Alexandria, LA 71307-6118
Telephone: (318) 445-6471
COUNSEL FOR:
Defendant/Apellee - City of Alexandria Employees’ Retirement System
THIBODEAUX, Chief Judge.
In this dispute, Audrey Ashley, a former wife of an employee, John
Ashley, who participated in the City of Alexandria Employees’ Retirement System
(the System), claims that the trial court erred by granting a summary judgment in
favor of the System. The trial court held that the System was not liable to Audrey
for the portion of the retirement benefits the System paid to John prior to the notice
of Audrey’s claim to the benefits. For the following reasons, we affirm.
I.
ISSUE
We shall consider whether the designation form, pursuant to which
the System paid benefits to the employee, was properly executed where no
particular questions are statutorily required to be included on the designation form
and where proper execution of the form is required for the System to be discharged
from all adverse claims to the benefits.
II.
FACTS
Audrey and John were married in 1974, and John started working for
the City of Alexandria (the City) in 1976. As the City’s employee, John
participated in the System. Audrey and John were divorced in 1997 but never
obtained a community property division order.
In 2002, John executed a designation form, naming his daughter from
his marriage to Audrey as the beneficiary of his retirement’s balance in case of his
death. In 2005, John retired. John requested and received from the System a
lump-sum payment of over fifty thousand dollars along with the monthly benefits.
The daughter died in 2007. Two months later, John died without naming a
different beneficiary.
It is undisputed that the System received notice regarding Audrey’s
claim to the portion of the benefits shortly after John’s death, over two years after
the System started to make payments to John.
Audrey filed a petition against the System asserting entitlement to one
half of community interest in John’s retirement benefits and in the more than fifty
thousand dollars John withdrew. After the System filed for a concursus
proceeding, the trial court granted the System’s request to deposit the residual
balance of John’s retirement contributions into the court’s registry. The trial court
then ordered the release of the balance to Audrey as administratrix of her
daughter’s estate.
The System filed a motion for summary judgment arguing: (1) John
properly executed the designation form; (2) the System paid the benefits to John
pursuant to its written retirement plan and the designation form; and, (3) because
Audrey did not notify the System of her claim to the benefits prior to their
payment, the System was discharged from all adverse claims under La.R.S.
23:638(A). Audrey, after agreeing that there were no disputed material facts in the
case, argued that La.R.S. 23:638 was unconstitutional as it deprived her of a vested
property right without due process of the law. The record contains no notice to the
Attorney General regarding constitutional challenges. The trial court granted the
System’s motion, and Audrey appealed. We now consider the matter.
2
III.
STANDARD OF REVIEW
Appellate courts review summary judgments de novo. Guilbeaux v.
Times of Acadiana, Inc., 96-360 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/26/97), 693 So.2d 1183, writ
denied, 97-1840 (La. 10/17/97), 701 So.2d 1327.
IV.
LAW AND DISCUSSION
(A) Preliminary Considerations
At the trial court, Audrey questioned the constitutionality of La.R.S.
23:638. In her brief to this court, Audrey, again, raises constitutional questions,
i.e., deprivation of vested property rights without due process of the law.
“If the statute, ordinance, or franchise is alleged to be
unconstitutional, the attorney general of the state shall also be served with a copy
of the proceeding and be entitled to be heard.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 1880. Courts
do not reach issues of constitutionality where the Attorney General was not served
pursuant to La.Code Civ.P. art. 1880. See State v. Albritton, 610 So.2d 209
(La.App. 3 Cir. 1992).
Here, the record contains no notice to the Attorney General.
Therefore, this court does not reach the constitutional questions.
During the hearing on the motion for summary judgment, the attorney
for Audrey stated: “opposing counsel is accurate in the facts of this case. There’s
no question about the facts.” To this court, Audrey argues that there are genuine
issues of material fact as to whether the designation form was “properly executed,”
whether the form was critically deficient, and whether Audrey was deprived of a
vested property right.
3
We do not even consider whether these issues are, indeed, questions
of fact, or, as the System ably points out, questions of law. “The Courts of Appeal
will review only issues which were submitted to the trial court . . . .” Uniform
Rules—Courts of Appeal, Rule 1-3. At the trial court, Audrey agreed that there
were no questions of material fact in this case, and, therefore, the trial court did not
consider the issue. Thus, we do not review this issue.
(B) The “Proper Execution” of the Designation Form
Whenever payment . . . is made to any employee . . .
pursuant to a written retirement, death or other employee
benefit plan or savings plan, the payment or refund shall
fully discharge the employer and any trustee or insurance
company making payment or refund from all adverse
claims thereto unless, before the payment or refund is
made, the employer or former employer . . . has received
. . . written notice by or on behalf of some other person
claiming to be entitled to the payment . . . .
La.R.S. 23:638(A).
“Plan” shall mean any arrangement, agreement, contract,
plan, system or trust whereby a participant acquires an
enforceable right to retirement income or other
compensation where payment is deferred until the
termination of employment or thereafter, regardless of
the method of calculating the amount of plan benefits or
the mode of their distribution.
La.R.S. 23:651(1).
(1) Any designation form permitted by a plan shall be
valid for the purpose of naming a beneficiary, or
selecting the mode of payment of plan benefits, or both.
(2) A designation form need not be in testamentary form,
nor authentic form, nor in any form other than that
permitted or required by the plan.
(3) As is provided by R.S. 23:638, benefits may be paid
in reliance on a properly executed designation form until
the payor receives notice of an adverse claim.
La.R.S 23:652 (emphasis added).
4
Here, there is no dispute that the benefits paid to John were paid
pursuant to a plan as it is defined under La.R.S. 23:651(1). Furthermore, there is
no dispute that the System received no notice of Audrey’s claim until after John’s
death. After the System received the notice, it deposited the residual balance of
John’s retirement contributions into the court’s registry. The trial court then
ordered the release of these funds to Audrey as administratrix of her daughter’s
estate.
Because no particular questions are statutorily required to be included
on the designation form, the form was properly executed under the statute. As
discussed above, because of procedural deficiencies, we do not address the
constitutional questions. Based on these considerations, we find no error in the
trial court’s judgment.
V.
CONCLUSION
The trial court’s judgment in favor of the City of Alexandria
Employees’ Retirement System is affirmed. Costs of this appeal are assessed to
Audrey Ashley.
AFFIRMED.
5