CA-0011-1372 Nonprecedential Reversed Processed

Norbert Berard, Sr. v. Home State County Mutual Ins. Co.

Louisiana Court of Appeal, Third Circuit · Filed May 9, 2012

The holding in the court’s own words

We are called upon to determine whether the trial court properly granted summary judgment in favor of Home State County Mutual Insurance Company, dismissing the demands of Norbert Berard, Sr. We conclude that it was not, for the reasons that follow.

Quoted verbatim from the opinion — no paraphrase, nothing generated. Not yet human-reviewed. How we find the holding.

Authorities cited

Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.

Opinion text

STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

11-1372

NORBERT BERARD, SR.

VERSUS

HOME STATE COUNTY MUTUAL INS. CO.

**********

APPEAL FROM THE
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE, NO. C-20103163
HONORABLE MARILYN CARR CASTLE, DISTRICT JUDGE

**********

SHANNON J. GREMILLION
JUDGE

**********

Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, and Billy H. Ezell, J.
David Painter, James T. Genovese, and Shannon J. Gremillion, Judges.

REVERSED.

Genovese, J., dissents and assigns written reasons.
Ezell, J., dissents for the reasons assigned by Genovese, J.

Richard Riley Montgomery
Briney, Foret & Corry
P. O. Box 51367
Lafayette, LA 70505-1367
(337) 237-4070
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE:
Home State County Mutual Ins. Co.

Harry Karl Burdette
The Glenn Armentor Law Corp.
300 Stewart St.
Lafayette, LA 70501
(337) 233-1471
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT:
Norbert Berard, Sr.

GREMILLION, Judge.

We are called upon to determine whether the trial court properly granted

summary judgment in favor of Home State County Mutual Insurance Company,

dismissing the demands of Norbert Berard, Sr. We conclude that it was not, for the

reasons that follow.

FACTS

On September 11, 2008, Berard was allegedly south-bound on Louisiana

Highway 339 in Lafayette Parish. So was Julian Palma, who was driving a pickup

truck owned by Rolando Mata. Palma continued operating Mata’s truck in a

south-bound direction, even after his path was interrupted by the rear-end of a

vehicle driven by Joshua C. Reed. Reed’s vehicle struck that driven by Shelly A.

Reed, which then struck Berard’s vehicle. As a result of the accident, Berard

instituted the present litigation in May 2010 to recover for injuries he allegedly

sustained. He sued Mata, Palma, their alleged liability insurer, Home State County,

and his uninsured/underinsured motorist carrier, Progressive Security Insurance

Company.

Home State County answered and denied coverage for Palma, who it

maintains is not insured because he is not a resident relative of the named insured,

Mata, and was not given permission to drive the vehicle by Mata. Berard

attempted several times to serve Palma and Mata, including sending process

servers into Mexico for that purpose. All attempts to serve them failed.

In September 2010, Home State County filed a motion for summary

judgment in which it asserted that Palma was not an omnibus insured under its

policy because Palma was not a licensed driver residing in Mata’s home and did

not have Mata’s permission to drive the truck. In support of its motion, Home

State County attached a certified copy of Mata’s policy. The trial court heard the

matter on May 31, 2011. The trial court ruled that Berard had until June 10, 2011,

to produce evidence showing that Palma had permission to drive the truck. When

Berard failed to produce such evidence, the trial court granted Home State

County’s motion. Berard appeals.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

Berard assigns two errors of the trial court:

I. The trial court committed manifest error and was clearly wrong
in finding that Home State County Mutual Insurance
Company was not liable for Mr. Norbert Berard Sr.’s property
damage and personal injuries.

II. The trial court committed manifest error and was clearly wrong
in finding that Julian Palma did not have express or implied
permission to operate the vehicle at the time of the accident.

ANALYSIS

Courts of appeal review summary judgments de novo applying the same

analysis as the trial court. Schroeder v. Bd. of Supervisors of La. State Univ., 591

So.2d 342 (La.1991). Summary judgment is governed by La.Code Civ.P. arts. 966

and 967. Article 966 provides that while the burden of proving entitlement to

summary judgment rests with the mover, if the mover will not bear the burden of

proof at trial on the matter that is before the court on the motion for summary

judgment, the mover’s burden does not require him to negate all essential elements

of the adverse party’s claim, action or defense, but rather to point out that there is

an absence of factual support for one or more elements essential to the adverse

party’s claim, action or defense. Thereafter, if the adverse party fails to produce

factual support sufficient to establish that he will be able to satisfy his evidentiary

burden of proof at trial, there is no genuine issue of material fact. Hardy v. Bowie,

98-2821 (La. 9/8/99), 744 So.2d 606.

2

Home State County supported its motion for summary judgment with a

certified copy of the policy that demonstrates that an insured is defined as a person

who possesses a valid driver’s license and is either the named insured, any family

member or resident of the named insured household who is listed in the

declarations page, or a person operating the vehicle with the named insured’s

express or implied permission. Because the burden of proving that Palma was

driving Mata’s truck with Mata’s permission rested with Berard, Home State

County argued that the burden on summary judgment was Berard’s to produce

evidence that such permission had been granted. Because Berard could not

produce such evidence, the trial court granted Home State County’s motion.

This argument ignores the express wording of article 966(C)(2), which

provides, “The burden of proof remains with the movant.” Because Home State

County would not bear the burden of proof at trial, though, it was not required to

“negate all essential elements of the adverse party’s claim, action, or defense, but

rather to point out that there is an absence of factual support for one or more

elements essential to the adverse party’s claim, action or defense.” Id. How does

one point out that there is an absence of factual support for one or more elements

of the adverse party’s claim? That question is answered by La.Code Civ. P. art.

967.

Article 967(A) provides that supporting affidavits shall be made on personal

knowledge, shall set forth facts admissible into evidence, and shall show that the

affiant is competent to testify at trial. Section (B) provides, “When a motion for

summary judgment is made and supported as provided above [in Section (A)], an

adverse party may not rest on the mere allegations and denials of his pleadings, but

his response, by affidavits or as otherwise provided above, must set forth specific

facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.” (Emphasis added).
3

A party cannot simply file a motion for summary judgment that lacks proper

support under Section (A) and rely on the fact that the opposing party will bear the

burden of proof at trial. The threshold issue to consider on summary judgment is

whether the moving party carried its burden of proof. Only then does the burden

of production shift to the party opposing the motion. It is true that Berard will bear

the burden of proving at trial that Palma was a permissive user. Manzella v. Doe,

94-2854 (La. 12/8/95), 664 So.2d 398. But, Home State County had the burden on

summary judgment to affirmatively show through affidavits, depositions, or other

admissible evidence that a lack of factual support exists for the proposition that

Palma was not a permissive user. All it succeeded in showing is that Palma was

not the named insured.

We recognize the quandary this analysis presents. Because the whereabouts

of Palma and Mata have proven difficult to establish, the parties find themselves in

a holding pattern. However, expedience and judicial economy do not supplant the

requirements a party must meet in order to obtain summary judgment. Such a

motion must be properly supported with supporting evidence before it may be

granted.

CONCLUSION

Motions for summary judgment must be properly supported by admissible

evidence, regardless of who will bear the burden of proof at trial. In the present

case, Home State County merely alleged that Berard cannot produce evidence that

Palma was not a permissive user of Mata’s vehicle. And while that allegation may

indeed prove true, it does not serve to shift the burden of production to Berard.

The judgment of the trial court is reversed. All costs of these proceedings are

taxed to defendant/appellant, Home State County Mutual Insurance Company.

REVERSED.
4

STATE OF LOUISIANA

COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

11-1372

NORBERT BERARD, SR.

VERSUS

HOME STATE COUNTY MUTUAL INS. CO.

GENOVESE, J., dissents, and assigns the following reasons.

I disagree with this court’s opinion reversing the trial court’s grant of

summary judgment in favor of the insurer. In my view, the majority completely

misconstrues the intent, application, and purpose of summary judgment.

In this case, the tortfeasor, Mr. Palma, rear-ended a vehicle which caused a

collision involving several vehicles, one of which struck Plaintiff’s vehicle and

injured him. At the time of the accident, Mr. Palma was operating a vehicle owned

by a Mr. Mata and insured by Home State County Mutual Insurance Company

(Home State). Plaintiff sued Mr. Palma, Mr. Mata, and Home State. Defendant,

Home State, then filed a Motion for Summary Judgment which was granted by the

trial court, and Plaintiff appealed.

The only evidence before the trial court for consideration at the hearing on

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment was the Home State liability policy.

Plaintiff offered no evidence (no affidavit, deposition, or otherwise) that the

insured, Mr. Mata, gave either express of implied permission to the driver,

Mr. Palma.

Though, under La.Code Civ.P. art. 966, Defendant has the initial burden of

proof in this summary judgment proceeding, that burden shifted to the Plaintiff

when the Mata policy did not list the driver (Mr. Palma) as a named insured. At

that point, Plaintiff had the burden of proving that Mr. Palma was either an

omnibus insured or a permissive user according to the policy. This, Plaintiff did

not do.

Thus, in order for there to be coverage available to Plaintiff pursuant to the

Home State policy, it is the Plaintiff (not the Defendant) that must prove all

essential elements of his case; particularly, he must prove that Mr. Palma was a

permissive driver or an omnibus insured. Because Plaintiff failed to prove this

essential element of his case, i.e., that Mr. Palma was a permissive driver or an

omnibus insured, there is no question of material fact, and Plaintiff loses.

This case hinges on the “burden of proof.” It is not the insurance policy

which shifts the burden of proof; it is the law (jurisprudence) that places the burden

of proving “permissive user” status on the person claiming that status—and that

would be the plaintiff. The jurisprudence is clear and unequivocal. The plaintiff

has the burden of proving the express or implied permission of the insured in order

to obtain coverage under the omnibus clause of an automobile liability policy.

La.R.S. 32:900(B)(2); Arceneaux v. Norman, 05-1536 (La.App. 3 Cir. 2006), 931

So.2d 484. All the defendant in this case had to do was to “point out to the court

that there is an absence of factual support for one or more elements essential to the

adverse party’s claim, action, or defense.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(C)(2)

(emphasis added). There is no factual dispute in this case that Home State, the

defendant insurer, “pointed out” to the court that the tortfeasor was neither a

permissive driver, nor a family member or resident of the household.

Plaintiff produced no evidence that Mr. Palma was driving the vehicle

insured by Home State with the express or implied permission of Mr. Mata or that

Mr. Palma was a family member or resident of Mr. Mata’s household. Therefore,

2

Plaintiff will not be able to prove this essential element of his case and, thus, this

summary judgment must be sustained.

Plaintiff’s only saving grace would have been to prove that he was not

afforded adequate time for discovery. Well, that argument fails since Plaintiff was

given over a year and four continuances by the trial court in order to locate

Mr. Palma or Mr. Mata or someone in order to get an affidavit or deposition to

establish that Mr. Palma was a permissive user or an omnibus insured. This case

cannot be left open forever. The law only requires that a reasonable amount of

time be given, and the trial court allowed more than a reasonable amount of time

for adequate discovery.

Simply put, Plaintiff did not prove an essential element of his case; hence,

there is no question of material fact, and Defendant is entitled to summary

judgment as a matter of law. I find the trial court to be 100% correct; hence, I

respectfully dissent from the majority and would affirm the trial court’s grant of

summary judgment in favor of Defendant’s insurer.

3