Mitchell Lemaire v. John Frank Blanchard, Jr.
Also decided on this docket: La. Ct. App. 3d Cir., October 2, 2013
Mitchell Lemaire v. John Frank Blanchard, Jr., No. CA-0013-0942 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Apr. 2, 2014).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Perkins v. Shaheen 867 So. 2d 135
- Robinson v. Heard 809 So. 2d 943
- Smith v. Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Inc. 639 So. 2d 730
- Sanchez v. Callegan 753 So. 2d 403
- Doe v. Mires 741 So. 2d 842
- Neuman v. Mauffray 771 So. 2d 283
- Hewitt v. Allstate Ins. Co. 726 So. 2d 1120
Opinion text
NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
13-942
MITCHELL LEMAIRE, ET AL.
VERSUS
JOHN FRANK BLANCHARD, JR., ET AL.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE, NO. C-2010-4888-1
HONORABLE THOMAS R. DUPLANTIER, DISTRICT JUDGE
**********
ELIZABETH A. PICKETT
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Elizabeth A. Pickett, James T. Genovese, and Phyllis M. Keaty,
Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Charles C. Garrison
Caffery, Oubre, Campbell & Garrison, L.L.P.
P. O. Drawer 12410
New Iberia, LA 70562-2410
(337) 364-1816
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT-APPELLEE:
Louisiana Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Co.
J. Brent Barry
J. Brent Barry, LLC
600 Jefferson Street, Ste 900
Lafayette, LA 70501
(337) 354-2437
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS:
Mitchell Lemaire
Monique Lemaire
M. L., II
PICKETT, Judge.
The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Louisiana Farm
Bureau Casualty Insurance Company (Farm Bureau), finding the intentional act
exclusion in the homeowner’s policy issued to John Blanchard, Sr. precluded
coverage for the alleged damages sustained by Mitchell and Monique Lemaire’s
minor son. The Lemaires appeal the judgment, which dismissed Farm Bureau
from the lawsuit.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
In July 2009, the twelve-year-old daughter of John Blanchard, Jr. was caught
fondling the seven-year-old son of the Lemaires. In a separate juvenile
proceeding, the minor perpetrator admitted to the facts of the charge of indecent
behavior with a juvenile. She received a suspended sentence.
The Lemaires, individually and as tutors of their minor child, subsequently
sued John Blanchard, Jr., seeking damages for the emotional distress caused to
their son. At the time, John Blanchard, Jr. and his children lived in the home of his
father, John Blanchard, Sr. The Lemaires amended their petition to add Farm
Bureau as a defendant, as it had issued a homeowner’s policy to cover John
Blanchard, Sr., and, under the terms of the policy, John Blanchard, Jr. and his
daughter were insured.
Farm Bureau filed a motion for summary judgment, claiming that an
intentional act exclusion in the policy issued to John Blanchard, Sr., precluded
coverage for the damages caused to the Lemaires’ son. The relevant language in
the policy states:
This policy does not apply:
....
(c) under coverages A, B and C, to injury, sickness, death or
destruction which is either expected, or intended from the standpoint
of the insured.
Relying on this court’s opinion in Perkins v. Shaheen, 03-1254 (La.App. 3 Cir.
3/3/04), 867 So.2d 135, the trial court found the exclusion applicable for not only
the claims of intentional tort committed by the minor, but also the allegations of
negligent supervision against John Blanchard, Jr. The trial court dismissed Farm
Bureau from the suit with prejudice.
The Lemaires appeal that judgment.
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR
On appeal, the Lemaires assert one assignment of error:
Genuine issues of material fact existed and therefore the trial court’s
ruling granting the defendant’s motion for summary judgment was
clearly wrong.
DISCUSSION
The supreme court explained the proper appellate standard of review in a
summary judgment case involving insurance issues in Robinson v. Heard, 01-1697,
pp. 3-4 (La. 2/26/02), 809 So.2d 943, 945:
A reviewing court examines summary judgments de novo under
the same criteria that govern the district court’s consideration of
whether summary judgment is appropriate. Smith v. Our Lady of the
Lake Hospital, Inc., 93-2512 (La.7/5/94), 639 So.2d 730, 750. A
reviewing court thus asks the same questions as does the trial court in
determining whether summary judgment is appropriate: whether there
is any genuine issue of material fact, and whether the mover is entitled
to judgment as a matter of law. Smith, 639 So.2d at 750.
Interpretation of an insurance contract is usually a legal
question that can be properly resolved in the framework of a motion
for summary judgment. Sanchez v. Callegan, 99-0137 (La.App. 1 Cir.
2/18/00), 753 So.2d 403, 405. When the language of an insurance
policy is clear and unambiguous, a reasonable interpretation
2
consistent with the obvious meaning and intent of the policy must be
given. Sanchez, 753 So.2d at 405.
The Lemaires argue that the exclusionary provision relied on by Farm Bureau is
overly broad, and therefore ambiguous. Specifically, they claim that the terms
“expected, or intended from the standpoint of the insured” does not clearly apply to
acts of sexual molestation as occurred in this case. We disagree. The twelve-year-
old perpetrator admitted in a juvenile proceeding that she committed an act of
indecent behavior with a juvenile. Indecent behavior with a juvenile is a specific
intent crime. See La.R.S. 14:81. There is no reasonable argument that this twelve-
year-old girl did not intend to cause injury to the seven-year-old victim when she
exposed his genitals and fondled them. Thus, the policy exclusion clearly applies.
The Lemaires’ argument that this policy lacked a specific sexual molestation
exclusion is of no moment.
Further, we are not persuaded that this case is distinguishable from similar
cases, such as Doe v. Mires, 99-65 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/2/99), 741 So.2d 842, because
the perpetrator of the intentional act in this case is a minor child. We find that the
evidence presented at the hearing on the motion for summary judgment supports a
finding that the perpetrator knew her actions were wrong and would cause harm to
her victim. She was immediately remorseful, according to the deposition
testimony of Mrs. Lemaire. Mrs. Lemaire also heard the girl tell her son not to tell
anyone, or “I’ll hurt you.” Immediately thereafter, Mrs. Lemaire walked into the
room and saw the illicit conduct.
Finally, the Lemaires argue that the trial court erred by finding their claims
of negligent supervision of the minor perpetrator by her father, John Blanchard, Jr.,
were also precluded under the intentional act exclusion. The trial court, citing this
3
court’s opinion in Perkins, 867 So.2d 135, rejected that claim. We agree. In
Perkins, Hank Shaheen, a minor, threw Shane Perkins, also a minor, through a
plate glass window. Shane’s father sued Hank’s father and his homeowner’s
insurance carrier, Farm Bureau, seeking damages. This court found the intentional
act exclusion applied not only to Hank’s intentional act, but also to claims of
negligent supervision, stating:
Mr. Perkins next argues that Mr. Shaheen’s negligent
supervision of Hank is not addressed by Farm Bureau’s exclusions.
The same argument was made in Neuman v. Mauffray, 99-2297
(La.App. 1 Cir. 11/8/00), 771 So.2d 283, where similar exclusionary
language was at issue. The court rejected the plaintiff’s contention
that the parents’ negligent supervision did not fall within the
exclusion, explaining:
The language of the exclusionary clause is not restricted
to intentional acts of the particular insured sought to be
held liable, but it is broad enough to exclude coverage for
any loss intentionally caused, or at the direction of, an
insured person, i.e., John Mauffray. Notwithstanding the
existence and classification of a cause of action based on
negligent supervision of the child by Mr. or Mrs. Welsh,
any and all losses arising out of an intentional act of John
Mauffray would fall within the exclusionary provisions
pursuant to the language in the insurance policy.
Id. at 285. See also Hewitt v. Allstate Insurance Co., 98-221, pp. 9-
10 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1/27/99), 726 So.2d 1120, 1124-25, where the
court clarified the purpose of the exclusion:
The focus of the policy exclusion is on the cause of the
damages, not the cause of action alleged. All damages
caused by intentional acts are excluded, regardless of the
classification of the cause of action against the individual
defendants. [The plaintiff] cannot avoid the
consequences of the policy language by attempting to
couch her allegations against the [defendant parents] as
negligent, rather than intentional.
This analysis is applicable here. Accordingly, this argument is
without merit.
Perkins, 867 So.2d at 138-39.
4
We find this case analogous to the situation in Perkins. Having found the
intentional act exclusion applies to the acts of the minor perpetrator, the Lemaires
cannot avoid the exclusion by alleging negligence on the part of the minor’s parent
for failing to supervise his child.
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the trial court is affirmed. Costs of this appeal are assessed
to the appellants, Mitchell and Monique Lemaire.
AFFIRMED.
This opinion is NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION.
Uniform Rules−Courts of Appeal, Rule 2−16.3.
5