Dusty Collette v. Danielle W. Allen
Also decided on this docket: La. Ct. App. 3d Cir., February 1, 2017; La. Ct. App. 3d Cir., December 28, 2016
Dusty Collette v. Danielle W. Allen, No. CA-0016-0846 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. May 24, 2017).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Schroeder v. Board of Sup'rs 591 So. 2d 342
- AIU Ins. Co. v. Roberts 404 So. 2d 948
- Duncan v. USAA Ins. Co. 950 So. 2d 544
- Cohn v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. 895 So. 2d 600
- Cohn v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 904 So. 2d 705
- Guillory v. Progressive Security Ins. Co. 47 So. 3d 12
- Davis v. Peoples Benefit Life Ins., 2010-2440 (La. 12/17/10) 51 So. 3d 11
- Steven W. Richardson v. Geico Indemnity Company. 51 So. 3d 7
- Carter v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company 964 So. 2d 375
- Ashmore v. McBride 11 So. 3d 720
- Gray v. American Nat. Property & Cas. Co. 977 So. 2d 839
- In Re Willard 4 So. 3d 800
- McElroy v. Continental Casualty Co. 15 So. 3d 377
Opinion text
NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
16-846
DUSTY COLLETTE, ET AL.
VERSUS
DANIELLE W. ALLEN, ET AL.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE, NO. C-20153367
HONORABLE EDWARD B. BROUSSARD, DISTRICT JUDGE
**********
JOHN D. SAUNDERS
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, John D. Saunders,
and Marc T. Amy, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
John Avender London III
Attorney at Law
10988 N. Harrell’s Ferry, #18A
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
(225) 275-8100
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE:
LUBA Casualty Insurance Company, Inc.
Connell L. Archey
Keith J. Fernandez
Kantrow, Spaht, Weaver & Blitzer, APLC
Post Office Box 2997
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-2997
(225) 383-4703
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE:
National Trust Insurance Company.
Staci Knox Villemarette
Cloyd, Wimberly and Villemarette, LLC
P. O. Box 53951
Lafayette, LA 70505-3951
(337) 289-6906
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS/APPELLANTS:
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
Danielle W. Allen
Chaz H. Roberts
Bradley Aldrich
Chaz Roberts Law
100 Magnate Drive, Suite A1
Lafayette, LA 70508
(337) 504-3202
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLEES:
Dusty Collette
Ashley Collette
SAUNDERS, Judge.
This case addresses whether uninsured motorist (UM) coverage was validly
rejected when the company name and policy numbers were put into the wrong
boxes on a form prescribed by the commissioner of insurance.
For the following reasons, we affirm the trial court’s granting of summary
judgment.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY:
On September 8, 2014, Dusty Collette, hereinafter “Plaintiff” or
“Appellee,” was involved in an automobile collision in Lafayette, Louisiana while
driving a freightliner truck leased by his employer, M&M Sales Co., Inc.,
hereinafter “M&M.” Danielle Allen made a left-hand turn in front of Plaintiff’s
truck, and Plaintiff was unable to stop in time before colliding with Defendant.
Plaintiff and his wife, individually and in their capacities as tutors of their minor
children, filed suit against Defendant and her insurer, State Farm Mutual
Automobile Insurance Company, hereinafter collectively with Danielle Allen as
“Defendants” or “Appellants.”
On November 24, 2015, Plaintiffs were granted leave to file a First
Amended Petition naming National Trust Insurance Company as an additional
defendant on the belief that Plaintiffs’ damages exceeded Defendant’s policy with
State Farm and could be covered under UM coverage under Plaintiffs’ policy with
his employer, M&M Sales Co., Inc.
Charles McMath, hereinafter “Mr. McMath,” is the president and owner of
M&M and was authorized to obtain insurance for M&M. In 2014, Mr. McMath
contacted Ryan Marine, hereinafter “Mr. Marine,” with Regions Insurance Group.
After meeting and discussing several options, Mr. Marine sent an Accord insurance
application to FCCI Insurance Group to obtain a quote for a commercial
automobile policy for M&M. A quote was sent back to Mr. Marine with the
number QUA0133730 on behalf of National Trust, a member of the FCCI
Insurance Group. The quote included a UM waiver form. Plaintiff’s truck is on the
vehicle schedule included with the quote.
On May 13, 2014, Mr. McMath completed the UM waiver form with the
quote number QUA0133730 referenced in the “Policy Number” box of the form.
Mr. McMath signed his name, printed his name, and dated the form. He also
initialed Option 4 of the form which states, “I do not want UMBI coverage. I
understand that I will not be compensated through UMBI coverage for losses
arising from an accident caused by an uninsured/underinsured motorist.” The form
signed by Mr. McMath is the same form found in Bulletin No. 08-02 whereby the
Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance issued the “Uninsured/Underinsured
Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage Form” dated August 29, 2008.
The UM waiver form, along with the acceptance of the quote, was sent back
to FCCI Insurance Group, and on May 15, 2014, National Trust issued a business
automobile policy with the number of CA0027054 to M&M. During the discovery
process, a certified copy of this policy was requested and issued to M&M along
with a blank pro forma UM rejection form.
On May 18, 2016, National Trust filed a Motion for Summary Judgment on
the basis that UM coverage was waived by M&M and also that National Trust did
not provide UM coverage for the accident that forms the basis of the plaintiffs’
action. On June 20, 2016, the trial court granted the Motion for Summary
Judgment and found there was no UM coverage. The judgment was signed on July
6, 2016, dismissing all claims by Plaintiffs against National Trust with prejudice.
2
On July 20, 2016, State Farm filed for a devolutive appeal to appeal the
judgment signed on July 6, 2016, and on July 28, 2016, the trial court signed an
order granting the devolutive appeal. Appellants allege one assignment of error.
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR:
Whether the trial court erred in granting the Motion for Summary Judgment
filed by National Trust Insurance Company.
DISCUSSION OF THE MERITS:
Standard of Review
Appellate courts review summary judgments de novo under the same criteria
that govern the trial court’s consideration of whether summary judgment is
appropriate. Schroeder v. Bd. of Supervisors of La. State Univ., 591 So.2d 342
(La.1991).
Discussion
Appellants argue that the completed UM waiver form does not comply with
the requirements of law and does not validly reject UM coverage because the
company name and quote number in lieu of the policy number are in the incorrect
boxes.
“Under Louisiana law, [UM] coverage is provided for by statute and
embodies a strong public policy.” A.I.U. Ins. Co. v. Roberts, 404 So.2d 948, 949
(La.1981). “[T]he requirement of UM coverage is an implied amendment to any
automobile liability policy ... as UM coverage will be read into the policy unless
validly rejected.” Duncan v. U.S.A.A. Ins. Co., 06–363 p. 4 (La. 11/29/06), 950
So.2d 544, 547. Louisiana Revised Statutes 22:1295(1)(a)(ii) sets out the
requirements for effectuating a valid rejection of such coverage:
Such rejection, selection of lower limits, or selection of
economic-only coverage shall be made only on a form prescribed by
the commissioner of insurance. The prescribed form shall be provided
3
by the insurer and signed by the named insured or his legal
representative. The form signed by the named insured or his legal
representative which initially rejects such coverage, selects lower
limits, or selects economic-only coverage shall be conclusively
presumed to become a part of the policy or contract when issued and
delivered, irrespective of whether physically attached thereto. A
properly completed and signed form creates a rebuttable presumption
that the insured knowingly rejected coverage, selected a lower limit,
or selected economic-only coverage. The form signed by the insured
or his legal representative which initially rejects coverage, selects
lower limits, or selects economic-only coverage shall remain valid for
the life of the policy and shall not require the completion of a new
selection form when a renewal, reinstatement, substitute, or amended
policy is issued to the same named insured by the same insurer or any
of its affiliates. An insured may change the original uninsured
motorist selection or rejection on a policy at any time during the life
of the policy by submitting a new uninsured motorist selection form to
the insurer on the form prescribed by the commissioner of insurance.
Any changes to an existing policy, regardless of whether these
changes create new coverage, except changes in the limits of liability,
do not create a new policy and do not require the completion of new
uninsured motorist selection forms. For the purpose of this Section, a
new policy shall mean an original contract of insurance which an
insured enters into through the completion of an application on the
form required by the insurer.
The Supreme Court of Louisiana in Duncan took the requirements a step
further in stating that the insurance commissioner’s form requires six tasks, which
are pertinent in rejecting UM coverage.
Essentially, the prescribed form involves six tasks: (1) initialing the
selection or rejection of coverage chosen; (2) if limits lower than the
policy limits are chosen (available in options 2 and 4), then filling in
the amount of coverage selected for each person and each accident; (3)
printing the name of the named insured or legal representative; (4)
signing the name of the named insured or legal representative;
(5) filling in the policy number; and (6) filling in the date.
Duncan, 950 So.2d . at 551 (emphasis added).
Failure to comply with one of these six tasks results in an invalid rejection of
UM coverage. Id.
The rules from La.R.S. 22:1295 and Duncan are to be applied strictly.
Molbert v. Thomas, 09-363 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/7/09). “The expression of a desire
not to have UM coverage, however clear, does not necessarily constitute a valid
4
rejection if the expression of rejection does not meet the formal requirements of
law.” Cohn v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 03-2820, p. 4 (La.App. 1 Cir.
02/11/05), 895 So.2d 600, 602, writ denied, 05-1000 (La.6/17/05), 904 So.2d 705.
The UM waiver form completed by M&M’s president, Mr. McMath, meets
all of the Duncan requirements: Mr. McMath initialed the option on the form that
rejected UM coverage; Mr. McMath did not need to fulfill second requirement
since he was not lowering policy limits; Mr. McMath signed and printed his name
on the appropriate lines on the form as M&M’s legal representative; the date was
provided on the form; and a quote number was provided in lieu of a policy number
on the form.
As has been stated above, our legislature and our supreme court
in Duncan have laid out the formal requirements which must be satisfied in order
to validly reject or waive UM coverage. Among them is the requirement that the
UM rejection form must display the insurance policy number. Guillory v.
Progressive Sec. Ins. Co., 09-1056 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/6/10), 47 So.3d 12, writ
denied, 10-2419 (La. 12/17/10), 51 So.3d 11, writ denied, 10-2519 (La. 12/17/10),
The supreme court, in Carter v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance
Co., 07-1294 (La. 10/5/07), 964 So.2d 375, noted that the Commissioner of
Insurance’s regulations allow for the omission of a policy number on a UM waiver
form if that policy number does not exist at the time the form is completed.
In Ashmore v. McBride, 09-80 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/3/09), 11 So.3d 720, 723,
this court applied the supreme court’s footnote in Gray v. American Nat’l Prop. &
Casualty Co., with regard to the six tasks identified in Duncan, which stated, in
pertinent part:
5
[B]ecause “Insurance Commissioner Bulletin LIRC 98–03 provides as
follows: ‘In the case where a policy number is not available, the space
for the policy number may be left blank or a binder number may be
inserted . . . only five “tasks” must be completed for a valid UM
selection when the policy number is not available.
Gray v. American Nat’l Prop. & Cas. Co., 07–1670, p. 11 (La.2/26/08), 977 So.2d
839, 847 n.2.
Here, National Trust provided to M&M the quote number QUA0133730,
which was accepted, and prompted the issuance of the policy number CA0027054
two days later. Accordingly, the policy number requirement enumerated by
Duncan is satisfied. The supreme court held in Gingles v. Dardenne, 08-2995, p. 2
(La. 3/13/09), 4 So.3d 800 that a rejection form is valid if all the pertinent
designated spaces on the form are “filled out.” Accordingly, we find no merit to
Appellants’ argument regarding the misplaced information on the UM waiver form.
Appellants contends that the blank pro forma form produced in conjunction
with the printing of the certified copy of the policy results in a revocation of
M&M’s election to waive UM coverage and thus creates a genuine issue of
material fact. We find this contention without merit. The undisputed evidence
presented before the court remains that there is only one waiver form and that the
blank pro forma form prints automatically when a certified copy of the policy is
requested to show that UM coverage was rejected.
As set forth above, La. R.S. 22:1295(1)(a)(ii) provides, in pertinent part:
Such rejection, selection of lower limits, or selection of
economic-only coverage shall be made only on a form prescribed by
the commissioner of insurance. The prescribed form shall be provided
by the insurer and signed by the named insured or his legal
representative. The form signed by the named insured or his legal
representative which initially rejects such coverage, selects lower
limits, or selects economic-only coverage shall be conclusively
presumed to become a part of the policy or contract when issued and
delivered, irrespective of whether physically attached thereto. A
properly completed and signed form creates a rebuttable presumption
that the insured knowingly rejected coverage, selected a lower limit,
6
or selected economic-only coverage. The form signed by the insured
or his legal representative which initially rejects coverage, selects
lower limits, or selects economic-only coverage shall remain valid for
the life of the policy and shall not require the completion of a new
selection form when a renewal, reinstatement, substitute, or amended
policy is issued to the same named insured by the same insurer or any
of its affiliates. An insured may change the original uninsured
motorist selection or rejection on a policy at any time during the life
of the policy by submitting a new uninsured motorist selection form to
the insurer on the form prescribed by the commissioner of insurance.
The UM waiver form completed and signed by Mr. McMath stated:
The choice indicated and initialed on this form will apply to all
persons and/or entities insured under this policy. The choice shall
apply to the motor vehicles described in this policy and to any
replacement vehicles, to all renewals of this policy, and to all
reinstatement, substitute or amended policies until a written request is
made for a change to the Bodily Injury Liability Limits, the UMBI
limits or UMBI Coverage.
There is no evidence from the record that Mr. McMath submitted a new UM
selection form. The affidavit of Crystal Baer, which is also a point of contention
for Appellants to be discussed below, clearly explains the process of why an
unsigned, blank pro forma waiver form prints along with a certified copy of the
policy. The testimony from this affidavit states, in pertinent part:
Whenever the certified copy is requested and printed, the UM rejected
form is printed as part of the policy to show that UM coverages were
rejected and that the policy does not provide UM coverages.
We agree with Appellee and the trial court that even if this blank pro forma
waiver was relevant to the case at hand, jurisprudence holds that a subsequent,
invalidly executed UM waiver form does not invalidate a previous, properly
executed UM waiver form. McElroy v. Cont’l Cas. Co., 43,868 (La.App. 2 Cir.
6/24/09); 15 So.3d 377. We find Appellants contention regarding the blank pro
forma form is without merit.
Appellants’ last contention objects to the affidavit of Crystal Baer, the
underwriter with FCCI who worked with Mr. Marine on M&M’s insurance quote.
7
Appellants argue that this affidavit is hearsay testimony. We find this contention to
be without merit.
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure 967(A) provides:
[s]upporting and opposing affidavits shall be made on personal
knowledge, shall set forth such facts as would be admissible in
evidence, and shall show affirmatively that the affiant is competent to
testify to the matters stated therein . . . Sworn or certified copies of all
papers or parts thereof referred to in an affidavit shall be attached
thereto or served therewith.
Baer’s affidavit sets forth her own personal knowledge based on her work with the
original Accord insurance application sent by Mr. Marine. She personally sent the
UM waiver form bearing the quote number QUA0133730 and also received the
completed form in return, which allowed her to issue the CA0027054 policy to
M&M two days later. This document was properly sworn, authenticated, attached,
and considered by the trial court. Thus, we find no merit in this contention.
We find there is no genuine issue of material fact as to whether the executed
UM waiver form complied with all applicable Duncan requirements, and as such,
the trial court’s decision should be affirmed.
DISPOSITION:
Appellants, Danielle Allen and State Farm Insurance, raised one assignment
of error. For the foregoing reasons, we find no merit in these assertions. Therefore,
we affirm the trial court’s judgment granting National Trust’s Motion for Summary
Judgment. All costs associated with this appeal are assessed to Appellants
AFFIRMED.
This opinion is NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION.
Uniform Rules– Courts of Appeal, Rule 2–16.3.
8