Derrick Alexander v. Government Employees Insurance
Derrick Alexander v. Government Employees Insurance, No. CA-0020-0622 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. June 2, 2021).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Cole v. Allstate Ins. Co. 987 So. 2d 310
- LOUTRE LAND AND TIMBER COMPANY v. Roberts 994 So. 2d 535
- Earls v. McDowell 960 So. 2d 242
- Stobart v. State Through DOTD 617 So. 2d 880
- Rosell v. Esco 549 So. 2d 840
- Rogers v. City of Baton Rouge 916 So. 2d 1099
- Rose v. Oswald 922 So. 2d 1187
- Ferrell v. Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. 650 So. 2d 742
- Fuller v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. 519 So. 2d 366
- Boxie v. Smith-Ruffin 979 So. 2d 539
- Youn v. Maritime Overseas Corp. 623 So. 2d 1257
- Bitoun v. Landry 302 So. 2d 278
- Coco v. Winston Industries, Inc. 341 So. 2d 332
Opinion text
NOT FOR PUBLICATION
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
20-622
DERRICK ALEXANDER
VERSUS
GOVERNMENT EMPLOYERS INSURANCE COMPANY, SILVINA REID
AND STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE CO.
************
APPEAL FROM THE
CITY COURT OF ALEXANDRIA
PARISH OF RAPAIDES, DOCKET NO. 144518
HONORABLE RICHARD E. STARLING, JR., CITY COURT JUDGE
************
SYLVIA R. COOKS
JUDGE
************
Court composed of Sylvia R. Cooks, Chief Judge, Billy Howard Ezell and D. Kent
Savoie, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Jerald Edward Knoll
Jerald Edward Knoll, Jr.
Laura B. Knoll
Chancey Anna Kimble
The Knoll Law Firm
233 S. Main Street
Marksville, LA 71351
(318) 253-6200
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT:
Derrick Alexander
Andrew P. Texada
Stafford, Stewart & Potter
3112 Jackson Street
Alexandria, LA 71304
(318) 487-4910
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS/APPELLEES:
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co.
COOKS, Chief Judge.
On January 12, 2019, Plaintiff, Derrick Alexander, was exiting Interstate 49
in Alexandria, Louisiana using the Broadway Avenue exit. Plaintiff testified he
came to a complete stop at the traffic light which controls the exit. When the light
turned green, he proceeded forward and was struck on the driver’s side door by a
vehicle driven by Silvina Reid. The force of the collision caused the air bags in
Plaintiff’s Honda Accord to deploy. It was later determined that Plaintiff’s vehicle
was totaled as a result of the accident. Ms. Reid admitted to the responding officer
that she crossed on a red light.
Plaintiff suffered a momentary loss of consciousness at the scene. Following
his removal from the vehicle by emergency personnel, Plaintiff was taken by
ambulance to Christus St. Frances Cabrini Hospital. He complained of numbness
on his left side and extremities. Plaintiff began treatment with Dr. Robert Rush of
Injury Management Specialists in Alexandria. He was diagnosed with cervical,
thoracic and lumbar strains, left cervical radiculopathy, left ulnar neuropathy and
left shoulder problems. Dr. Rush recommended Plaintiff undergo physical therapy
at Elite Physical Therapy. After the physical therapy had limited effect on Plaintiff’s
symptoms, Dr. Rush referred Plaintiff for cervical and lumbar MRI’s. Dr. Rush
stated the MRI of the lumbar spine showed a small herniation at L5-S1, and the
cervical MRI showed some cervical disc disease. Plaintiff, noting that physical
therapy had offered very little improvement, requested to see a chiropractor at Elite
Healthcare Alliance. Plaintiff also underwent massage therapy to alleviate the
lumbar and cervical pain he was experiencing, as well as performing home exercises
recommended by his physicians.
Plaintiff filed a personal injury suit in the Alexandria City Court. The vehicle
Silvina Reid was driving was insured by Shelter Insurance Company with liability
limits of $15,000.00/$30,000.00. In addition, Ms. Reid had a personal liability
2
insurance policy with Government Employers’ Insurance Company (GEICO) with
liability limits of $30,000.00/$60,000.00. Plaintiff was insured by State Farm
Mutual Automotive Insurance Company with uninsured/underinsured motorist
coverage limits of $15,000.00/$30,000.00. Prior to trial, Plaintiff settled with
Shelter for payment of its policy limits of $15,000.00 and with GEICO for its
liability limits of $30,000.00. Therefore, only State Farm, in its role as UM insurer
of Plaintiff, remained as a defendant.
Through the date of trial, Plaintiff totaled $12,781.18 in itemized medical
expenses. Plaintiff was the only witness to testify live at trial, and the deposition
testimony of Dr. Rush was entered into evidence. Plaintiff, who worked as a
certified personal trainer, testified he was unable to see clients for nearly a month in
the immediate aftermath of the accident. He testified he lost flexibility and mobility
due to the injuries he sustained in the accident, which he maintained persisted up to
the date of trial. He noted the physical limitations he has placed on himself since
the accident made it difficult to perform his job as a personal trainer. On cross-
examination, defense counsel noted Plaintiff had placed several workout and
running videos on social media which seemingly contradicted his testimony that he
was physically impacted by the injuries he suffered in the accident.
Following trial, the city court judge rendered oral reasons from the bench.
The judge found Ms. Reid was one hundred percent (100%) at fault in causing the
accident. The judge noted that Plaintiff was a “very credible witness” and found the
evidence established Plaintiff was having problems up to the date of trial. The judge
then awarded $35,000.00 in damages for past pain and suffering, $12,781.18 in
medical expenses and $15,000.00 in future pain and suffering (for a total award of
$62,781.18. State Farm, as UM insurer, was entitled to a $45,000.00 credit for the
prior settlements between Plaintiff and Shelter and GEICO. State Farm was then
cast in judgment for its limits of $15,000.00 plus court costs and legal interest.
3
State Farm has appealed the lower court judgment, contending the city court
judge erred in finding there was sufficient proof that Plaintiff would suffer any future
pain and suffering, and any award for future pain and suffering was manifestly
erroneous. In the alternative, State Farm maintains, even if there were sufficient
evidence of future pain and suffering, the total award of $50,000.00 in general
damages is clearly excessive. Finding no manifest error on the part of the city court
judge, we affirm the lower court judgment in all respects.
DECREE
This court recently in Cole v. Allstate Insurance Co., 07-1046, p. 2-3 (La.App.
3 Cir. 6/5/08), 987 So.2d 310, 312-13, writ denied, 08-1463 (La. 10/31/08), 994
So.2d 535, discussed the appellate standard of review for factual determinations as
follows:
The standard of appellate review of a trial court’s factual findings
is well settled and has long been established in this state. A court of
appeal may not set aside a trial court’s or a jury’s finding of fact in the
absence of “manifest error” or unless it is “clearly wrong.” Our
supreme court set forth a two-part test for the reversal of a factfinder’s
determinations: (1) The appellate court must find from the record that
a reasonable factual basis does not exist for the finding of the trial court,
and (2) the appellate court must further determine that the record
establishes that the finding is clearly wrong (manifestly erroneous).
Earls v. McDowell, 07-17 (La.App. 5 Cir. 5/15/07), 960 So.2d 242,
citing Stobart v. State through Dep’t of Transp. and Dev., 617 So.2d
880, 882 (La.1993). On appeal, the issue to be resolved is not whether
the trier of fact was right or wrong, but whether the factfinder’s
conclusion was a reasonable one. Id. Reasonable evaluations of
credibility and reasonable inferences of fact should not be disturbed
upon review where conflict exists in the testimony. Earls, supra, citing,
Rosell v. ESCO, 549 So.2d 840, 844 (La.1989).
An appellate court cannot shirk its duty of appellate review of
fact by simply deferring to a trial court’s factual determinations because
its reasons for judgment are couched in terms of a credibility call.
Earls, supra, citing, Rogers v. City of Baton Rouge, 04-1001 (La.App.
1st Cir. 6/29/05), 916 So.2d 1099, 1104, writ denied, 05-2022 (La.
2/3/06), 922 So.2d 1187. This Court has a constitutional responsibility
to review the entire record and to determine whether, as a whole, it
supports the judgment rendered by the trial court. Earls, supra, citing,
LSA-Const. Art. 5, section 10(B); Ferrell v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co.,
94-1252 (La.2/20/95), 650 So.2d 742.
4
Proof by a preponderance of the evidence is defined as taking the
evidence as a whole, the fact to be proved is more probable than not.
Earls, supra, citing, Fuller v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 519 So.2d 366
(La.App. 2nd Cir.1988). Uncontroverted evidence should be taken as
true to establish a fact for which it is offered absent any circumstances
in the record casting suspicion as to the reliability of this evidence and
sound reasons for its rejection. Id.
Boxie v. Smith-Ruffin, 07-264, pp. 3-4 (La.App. 5 Cir. 2/6/08), 979
So.2d 539, 545.
Because general damages are inherently speculative in nature and cannot be
fixed with mathematical certainty, the law grants the factfinder much discretion in
their assessment. Youn v. Mar. Overseas Corp., 623 So.2d 1257 (La.1993), cert.
denied, 510 U.S. 1114, 114 S.Ct. 1059 (1994). Our role, as the reviewing court, is
not to decide what we may consider to be an appropriate award, but rather to
determine “whether the award of the trial court can be reasonably supported by the
evidence and justifiable inferences from the evidence before it.” Bitoun v. Landry,
302 So.2d 278, 279 (La.1974). The adequacy of the award must be determined by
the facts or circumstances particular to the case under consideration. Youn, 510 U.S.
1114. Only after finding an abuse of that broad discretion, based on the record, can
we disturb the award made by the trial court. Coco v. Winston Indus., Inc., 341 So.2d
332 (La.1976).
At oral argument on this matter, State Farm conceded the $35,000.00 award
for past pain and suffering was warranted and limited its argument solely to the
award for future pain and suffering. State Farm maintained there was no evidence
in the record to justify the trial court’s award of $15,000.00 in future pain and
suffering. Specifically, it contends there was no medical evidence or testimony to
suggest more probable than not that Plaintiff would suffer any future pain and
suffering.
State Farm correctly notes that Dr. Rush’s deposition testimony concluded
that injuries to the “SI triad’ of muscles typically resolve within twelve weeks.
5
However, Dr. Rush noted there are situations where this is not the case and the
problems can linger for a much longer period of time. Dr. Rush testified in Plaintiff’s
case, the injury to the SI triad was a chronic condition. The following testimony was
elicited on this point:
Q. Doctor, still we’re almost a year post-accident and he’s still having
complaints regarding the SI area. Would you say it’s chronic in nature?
A. I would think so. Anything over six months would be chronic. But
you have to maintain those things. You learn your exercises. You learn
how to maintain. You just may have a chronic right SI. Just learn how
to live with it, and if it hurts, I know what to do.
State Farm also dismissed Dr. Rush’s concerns over a possible herniated disc
at L5-S1, stating it was testified by Dr. Rush that this herniation could have been
caused by a degenerative condition. However, Dr. Rush clearly stated, at a
minimum, the herniation likely was aggravated by the accident. State Farm also
maintained Dr. Rush testified the disc herniation at L5-S1 was not a “pain
generator.” However, Dr. Rush noted Plaintiff was experiencing radiculopathy in
his hip, which radiated down his legs all the way to his toes. Dr. Rush stated “[d]ue
to his leg going numb and such, I went ahead and ordered an MRI of the lumbar
spine.” Dr. Rush also, contrary to State Farm’s assertions, could not rule out the disc
herniation being a pain generator, as the following exchange demonstrates:
A. . . . Sometimes you can find a herniation that’s not the pain
generator, it could be SI piriformis causing the radiculopathy, and
believe it or not, I have seen discs operated on when they weren’t the
pain generator. So I’m just saying doing fifty years of this, you see al
lot of stuff.
Q. In this particular case, Doctor, what’s your opinion as to the pain
generator for Mr. Alexander?
A. I think it’s more SI, but he does have a disc, and I can’t say forever
that it’s not [the pain generator]. . .
So the exam looks more SI piriformis than it does lumbar
radiculopathy, although he’s got an MRI that could justify maybe some
lumbar component.
6
Thus, we find no merit to State Farm’s contention that the lumbar disc was dismissed
by Dr. Rush as unproblematic. Dr. Rush’s testimony establishes a disc component
to Plaintiff’s pain.
We find the record provides reasonable support for the trial court’s award of
$15,000.00 for future pain and suffering. Dr. Rush’s testimony provided a medical
basis to support Plaintiff’s complaints of pain he testified he was still experiencing
at the time of the trial. Accordingly, we affirm the trial court’s judgment.
DECREE
For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the lower court is affirmed in all
respects. Costs of this appeal are assessed to defendant-appellant, State Farm Mutual
Automotive Insurance Company.
AFFIRMED.
This opinion is NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION. Uniform Rules–Courts of
Appeal, Rule 2-16.3.
7