Richard and Judith Williams v. United States Fire Insurance
Richard and Judith Williams v. United States Fire Insurance, No. CA-0022-0071 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Oct. 5, 2022).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Duncan v. USAA Ins. Co. 950 So. 2d 544
- Carpenter ex rel. Walters v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. 235 So. 3d 1187
- Danielle Larson v. Xyz Insurance Company 226 So. 3d 412
- 330 So. 3d 667 not in our corpus
- Rafflee v. Hurricane Sports, Inc. 20 So. 3d 1202
- ASP Enterprises, Inc. v. Guillory 25 So. 3d 834
- 297 So. 3d 1045 not in our corpus
- 303 So. 3d 641 not in our corpus
- Sims v. Mulhearn Funeral Home, Inc. 956 So. 2d 583
- Geovera Specialty Ins. Co. v. Hernandez 262 So. 3d 463
- LeBlanc v. Aysenne 921 So. 2d 85
- Bonin v. Westport Ins. Corp. 930 So. 2d 906
- Rudloff v. Louisiana Health Services & Indem. Co. 385 So. 2d 767
- Tabb v. LOUISIANA HEALTH SERVICES & INDEM. CO. 361 So. 2d 862
- Batiste v. Pointe Coupee Constructors 401 So. 2d 1263
- Batiste v. Pointe Coupee Constructors, Inc. 409 So. 2d 615
- Marien v. General Ins. Co. of America 836 So. 2d 239
- Sanders v. Wysocki 631 So. 2d 1330
- Sanders v. Wysocki 637 So. 2d 156
- Hobson v. East Jefferson General Hospital 843 So. 2d 396
- Campbell v. Sottiurai 843 So. 2d 397
- Robin v. Allstate Ins. Co. 870 So. 2d 402
- Robin v. Allstate Ins. Co. 882 So. 2d 1143
- Myers v. Broussard 696 So. 2d 88
- Reed v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. 857 So. 2d 1012
- Wiley v. Safeway Ins. Co. 745 So. 2d 636
- Craig v. K & K Insurance Group, Inc. 780 So. 2d 1249
- Applegarth v. Transamerican Refining Corporation 792 So. 2d 738
- Stewart v. Calcasieu Parish School Board 933 So. 2d 797
- Lopez v. Blue Cross of Louisiana 397 So. 2d 1343
- Crawford v. BLUE CROSS BLUE SHIELD OF LA. 770 So. 2d 507
- Crawford v. Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana 786 So. 2d 98
- Savarino v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield 730 So. 2d 1083
- Ballex v. Municipal Police Employees' Retirement System 218 So. 3d 1076
- Eschete v. Gulf South Beverages 442 So. 2d 556
- David v. David 156 So. 3d 219
- Villenurve v. Gray 169 So. 3d 356
- Julien v. Dynamic Industries, Inc. 52 So. 3d 174
- Bolzoni v. Theriot 670 So. 2d 783
- Bolzoni v. Theriot 672 So. 2d 908
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
22-71
RICHARD AND JUDITH WILLIAMS
VERSUS
UNITED STATES FIRE INSURANCE, ET AL.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF RAPIDES, NO. 268,548
HONORABLE MONIQUE FREEMAN RAULS, DISTRICT JUDGE
**********
CANDYCE G. PERRET
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Elizabeth A. Pickett, Van H. Kyzar, and Candyce G. Perret,
Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Marne A. Jones
Mark A. Hill
Martin Schneider
Thompson, Coe, Cousins & Irons, LLP
650 Poydras Street, Suite 2105
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 526-4320
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS/APPELLANTS:
United States Fire Insurance Company
Trip Mate, Inc.
Judith M. Williams
4501 Jackson Street, C-324
Alexandria, LA 71303
(318) 525-2708
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLEES:
Judith M. Williams
Richard Williams
William M. Ford
Susan Ford Fiser
Ford Law Office, LLC
1630 Metro Drive
Alexandria, LA 71301
(318) 442-8899
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFFS/APPELLEES:
Judith M. Williams
Richard Williams
PERRET, Judge.
This case is on appeal following a motion for summary judgment filed by
Richard and Judith Williams, Plaintiffs-Appellees (“Plaintiffs”). United States Fire
Insurance Company and Tripmate, Inc., Defendants-Appellants (“Defendants”),
appeal the Judgment that granted Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment. The
judgment ordered Defendants to pay Plaintiffs’ medical expenses and medically
related travel expenses ($97,980.24), as well as statutory damages ($97,980.24) and
attorney fees ($4,000.00). Court costs were also assessed against Defendants.
Additionally, Plaintiffs filed a Motion to File a Later Answer and an Answer to
Appeal requesting that they be awarded judicial interest from April 16, 2020, an
increased award for attorney fees in the amount of $25,000.00, and costs incurred in
both courts. We affirm the trial court’s judgment but deny Plaintiffs’ Motion to File
a Later Answer.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY:
Plaintiffs purchased travel protection insurance for their trip when they
booked a cruise to Norway with Viking Cruise Line. United States Fire Insurance
Company (“USFIC”) was the underwriter for Part B of the travel insurance policy,
while Tripmate, Inc. (“Tripmate”) was the adjuster for the insurance, and Generali
Global (“Generali”) was the contact for Plaintiffs while traveling abroad on the
cruise. Part B included coverage for trip interruption, missed connection, travel
delay, air flight only accidental death and dismemberment, medical
expense/emergency assistance (accident & sickness medical expense; emergency
medical evacuation, medical repatriation, and return of remains), non-medical
emergency evacuation, baggage and personal effects, and baggage delay.
On March 10, 2020, during their trip, Mr. Williams presented to the ship
infirmary with acute shortness of breath and chest pain. He was taken by ambulance
to Helse Bergen Haukeland Universitetssjukehus, where he was treated for five days.
Ultimately, Mrs. Williams hired private medical transport, REVA, which
transported Mr. Williams back to the United States. REVA determined that
emergency transportation was required and also that no lesser level of care was safe.
Upon return, Mr. Williams was directly admitted to Intensive Care at Rapides
Regional Medical Center.
On July 20, 2020, Plaintiffs filed a Petition for Damages asserting that the
medical expenses and medical travel expenses they accrued were covered by the
travel protection insurance they procured prior to their trip. The petition claims that
USFIC was the underwriter for the medical expenses portion of the policy, and that
Tripmate and Generali acted on behalf of USFIC. Additionally, Plaintiffs asserted
that Generali was always kept informed of the situation and was asked to assist with
transport home. However, Plaintiffs assert that Generali refused to speak with
REVA representatives and did not provide its own transportation for Mr. Williams.
Therefore, Plaintiffs concluded that Defendants breached the terms of the insurance
contract and acted in bad faith. Further, Plaintiffs allege Tripmate continued to
remain unresponsive to Plaintiffs’ requests once Plaintiffs returned home. Plaintiffs
asserted Unfair Trade Practices and unfair settlement practices in their petition.
Further, Plaintiffs alleged that Defendants failed to timely pay their claims after
receiving proof of loss, entitling Plaintiffs to penalties and attorney fees under
La.R.S. 22:1964 and 22:1973.
After no answer was received, Plaintiffs moved for, and were granted, a
preliminary default on October 26, 2020. The preliminary default was not
2
confirmed. On November 12, 2020, Generali was dismissed as a party at Plaintiffs’
request.
Plaintiffs filed an Amended Petition for Damages on January 4, 2021, against
Viking Cruise Line, 1 USFIC, and Tripmate. The amended petition asserted the
disputed contract was a health and accident contract subject to La.R.S. 22:1821, that
Tripmate refused to communicate with REVA and refused to provide transportation,
and that Tripmate and USFIC acted in bad faith in failing to assist in arrangements
and in failing to honor the terms of the insurance contract.
Thereafter, Plaintiffs filed a Motion for Summary Judgment against USFIC
and Tripmate on the issue of liability for failing “to pay insurance claim within the
period permitted by law” as well as double and special damages. Plaintiffs asserted
that Tripmate was kept apprised of Mr. Williams’s medical emergency through
Generali, refused to respond to requests for assistance, and failed to respond to the
emergency within two days as required by La.R.S. 22:1821. Additionally, Plaintiffs
alleged the related bills and claims were not paid or resolved within thirty days as
required by La.R.S. 22:1821(A). Lastly, Plaintiffs asserted USFIC failed to timely
answer a request for admissions and, consequently, those requests are deemed
admitted. Attached to the motion was the Request for Admissions, First Set of
Interrogatories and Request for Production, and the Affidavit of Steve Williams, RN,
CEN, CFRN, Director of Global Air Medical Operations, REVA.
The motion was unopposed and granted on May 3, 2021. However,
Defendants filed a Motion to Vacate and Motion for New Trial alleging breakdowns
1
Viking Cruise Line was dismissed as a party on March 11, 2021.
3
in notice and service of the motion. After a hearing on June 14, 2021, the May 3,
2021 Judgment was vacated and the Motion for New Trial was granted.
Plaintiffs subsequently filed a second Motion for Summary Judgment, which
included several exhibits: Affidavit of Judith Williams with attachments
(Advertisement for Insurance and Travel Protection Plan #UF425V with Louisiana
Amendatory Endorsement 2 ); Affidavit of Steve Williams (REVA); Affidavit of
Richard Williams; Plaintiffs’ Request for Admissions; and USFIC’s responses to the
Request for Admissions.3 Mrs. Williams’s affidavit related her prior experience as
a registered nurse, facts pertinent to the cruise and procuring the travel insurance,
facts regarding Mr. Williams’s medical event and hospital stay, and discussed the
Norwegian hospital facilities. Mrs. Williams also attested to the lack of
communication and participation in planning from Tripmate, despite a meeting and
ongoing communication with the Generali agent. Mrs. Williams further attested that
the Norwegian and U.S. physicians agreed to the mode of travel due to Mr.
Williams’s condition. Finally, Mrs. Williams explained that Tripmate’s failure to
respond continued once Plaintiffs returned to the United States.
Steve Williams’s affidavit explained that he was asked to review Mr.
Williams’s medical case in March of 2020. Steve Williams explained the
considerations taken into account in determining modes of medical transport. In this
case, two modes of travel were considered, including commercial medical escort,
but ultimately Mr. Williams’s condition necessitated private transport. The affidavit
2
Plaintiffs filed a motion with the trial court to replace the policy attached to Judith
Williams’s affidavit after realizing the wrong policy number was attached.
3
The original request had five requests for admissions. Defendants’ responses attached to
Plaintiffs’ motion included two pages: the first page with requests to responses one through three,
and page three, the signatory page. ”
4
set forth the problems Mr. Williams would have encountered had he flown
commercial, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Defendants opposed the motion and attached Defendant’s Responses to
Plaintiffs’ Requests for Admissions as an exhibit in support of their opposition.4
Therein, Defendants asserted that there are genuine issues of material fact regarding
the extent of coverage and that discovery is not complete. Defendants alleged that
Plaintiffs failed to obtain and submit Tripmate’s Program Medical Advisor and/or
the local attending physician’s approval for the transport and, instead of obtaining
permission, Mrs. Williams independently arranged transport by REVA. In their
facts, Defendants assert these independent arrangements were made while efforts
were being made by Tripmate to transport Mr. Williams according to the travel
insurance provisions and pending approval from his physician. Therefore, after
reviewing the claim submitted by Plaintiffs, including the severity of Mr. Williams’s
condition, Defendants determined reimbursement for “non-medical or registered
nurse escort, and ground transportation” was warranted. Furthermore, Defendants
argued that the travel insurance plan is not a health and accident policy subject to
La.R.S. 22:1821.5
Thereafter, a hearing was held on October 11, 2021. After argument, the trial
court granted summary judgment, stating:
4
This document includes a page “2” with responses to requests four and five. This page
was not included in the exhibit attached to Plaintiffs’ summary judgment motion.
We also note that Defendants’ exhibit was not properly offered into evidence at the trial
court. The minutes indicate that the entire record was submitted; however, the transcript indicates
that only Plaintiffs requested that evidence be admitted. The transcript lists only “Motion for
Summary Judgment, Reply, and Attached Affidavits and Exhibits Filed by Judith Williams,
Plaintiff.”
5
Plaintiffs replied and included an additional exhibit, checks issued by Defendants.
However, this court notes that exhibits attached to a reply violates La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(B)(3):
“No additional documents may be filed with the reply memorandum.”
5
The Court reviewed the document. Clearly there was coverage.
The issue is whether or not the amount of the damages, the payment.
And the policy required them to provide notice, and the law requires
you all to respond within time limits. The, the 22 - - Revised Statute
22:1821 gives you two days in emergency situations, and then you have
the thirty days to resolve the matter.
Like she stated, at this point, it’s been a year and a half since this
happened. I don’t know if how much more evidence and how much
more information. The affidavits clearly in her, um, attached to her
Motion establish that there was an emergency; there was notice. You
all don’t dispute coverage.
So the Court grants the Motion for Summary Judgment.
Thereafter, on December 13, 2021, the trial court granted Defendants’ Petition
for Suspensive Appeal. On January 6, 2022, the court granted Plaintiffs’ motion to
dismiss the suspensive appeal and converted the suspensive appeal to a devolutive
appeal. Defendants now assert two Assignments of Error:
1. The District Court: (a) improperly decided several material questions of fact
and (b) based its decision on facts not in evidence when it wrongly granted
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary Judgment.
2. The District Court erred in determining that: (a) as a matter of law La.R.S.
22:1821 applies to the insurance policy at issue, as that policy was a travel
insurance policy rather than a health and accident policy, and (b) that
Defendants were arbitrary and capricious in their refusal to reimburse
Plaintiffs the cost of private air transportation back to Louisiana.
On appeal, Plaintiffs have also filed an untimely answer to appeal seeking
judicial interest from the date of the violation, which Plaintiffs allege is thirty days
after the claim was submitted, increased attorney fees ($25,000 or other reasonable
sum to include appellate work), and court costs. The motion was referred to this
court on the merits to be decided with the remainder of this case.
DEFENDANTS’ ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR:
On appeal, the grant of summary judgment is reviewed de novo using the same
criteria as the trial court in determining the appropriateness of summary judgment.
6
Duncan v. U.S.A.A. Ins. Co., 06-363 (La. 11/29/06), 950 So.2d 544. Thus, this court
considers “whether there is a genuine issue of material fact and whether the mover
is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Carpenter on behalf of Walters v. State
Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 17-552, p. 2 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/28/17), 235 So. 3d 1187,
1188. The motion “shall be granted if the motion, memorandum, and supporting
documents show that there is no genuine issue as to material fact and that the mover
is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(A)(3). A
“material fact” is one that “potentially ensures or precludes recovery, affects a
litigant’s ultimate success or determines the outcome of the legal dispute.” Larson
v. XYZ Ins. Co., 16-745, p. 6 (La. 5/3/17), 226 So.3d 412, 416. “The burden of proof
rests with the mover[,]” but “if the mover will not bear the burden of proof at trial
on the issue that is before the court . . . the mover’s burden on the motion does not
require him to negate all essential elements of the adverse party’s claim, action or
defense[.]” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966 (D)(1).
Once the motion for summary judgment has been properly
supported by the moving party, and the mover has made a prima facie
showing that the motion for summary judgment should be granted, the
burden shifts to the non-moving party to produce factual support . . .
sufficient to establish that he will be able to satisfy his evidentiary
burden of proof at trial - the existence of a genuine issue of material
fact or that the mover is not entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
Kelley v. Estate of Kelley, 21-178, p. 5 (La.App. 1 Cir. 10/4/21), 330 So.3d 667, 670-
71.
In this case, Plaintiffs filed for summary judgment on the issue of liability and
penalties. Plaintiffs have the burden of proving that their loss is covered by the
insurance policy. Rafflee v. Hurricane Sports, Inc., 09-349 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/7/09),
20 So.3d 1202, writ denied, 09-2421 (La. 1/29/10), 25 So.3d 834.
7
“Whether an insurance policy provides or precludes coverage is a dispute that
can be properly resolved within the framework of a motion for summary judgment.”
Williams v. Univ. of La. Lafayette, 19-753, p. 3 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/22/20 ), 297 So.3d
1045, 1048, writ denied, 20-1008 (La. 11/4/20), 303 So.3d 641. In Calderon v.
Sanabria, 21-579, pp. 4-5 (La.App. 5 Cir. 5/4/22), __ So.3d __, the court has recently
explained:
An insurance policy is a contract between the parties and should
be construed using the general rules of interpretation of contracts. Sims
v. Mulhearn Funeral Home, Inc., 07-54 (La. 5/22/07), 956 So.2d 583,
589. The responsibility of the judiciary in interpreting insurance
contracts is to determine the parties’ common intent. Id.; La. C.C. art.
2045. When the words of a contract are clear and explicit and lead to
no absurd consequences, no further interpretation may be made in
search of the parties’ intent. La. C.C. art. 2046. Words and phrases in
an insurance policy are to be construed using their plain, ordinary, and
generally prevailing meaning, unless the words have acquired a
technical meaning. Geovera Specialty Ins. Co. v. Hernandez, 18-330
(La. App. 5 Cir. 12/19/18), 262 So.3d 463, 467; La. C.C. art. 2047.
Therefore, if the policy wording at issue is clear and expresses the intent
of the parties, the agreement must be enforced as written. LeBlanc v.
Aysenne, 05-297 (La. 1/19/06), 921 So.2d 85, 89.
The words of a contract must be given their generally prevailing
meaning. La. C.C. art. 2047. Words susceptible of different meanings
must be interpreted as having the meaning that best conforms to the
object of the contract. La. C.C. art. 2048. Each provision in a contract
must be interpreted in light of the other provisions so that each is given
the meaning suggested by the contract as a whole. La. C.C. art. 2050.
Furthermore, “[u]nless a policy conflicts with statutory provisions or public
policy, it may limit an insurer’s liability and impose and enforce reasonable
conditions upon the policy obligations the insurer contractually assumes.” Bonin v.
Westport Ins. Corp., 05-886, p. 5 (La. 5/17/06), 930 So.2d 906, 911.
In their brief, Defendants assert that there remain several genuine issues of
material fact regarding whether Plaintiffs proved that their loss came within the
policy coverage. Defendants argue that Plaintiffs failed to provide evidence that the
8
requirements to trigger coverage set forth in the policy were met. Specifically,
Defendants claim Plaintiffs failed to include written approval for private air
transportation by both the Program Medical Advisor and the Legally Qualified
Physician per the policy requirements. Additionally, Defendants aver Plaintiffs
failed to show the private air transportation was arranged by the Program Medical
Advisor, another requirement to coverage stated in the policy. Thus, according to
Defendants, Plaintiffs failed to establish coverage and, therefore, failed to prove they
were entitled to summary judgment on liability.
Additionally, and alternatively, Defendants contend that the insurance policy
is not a health and accident policy; thus, La.R.S. 22:1821 and the penalties set forth
therein, do not apply. However, even if the statute does apply, Defendants argue
any delay and refusal to pay benefits was not arbitrary and capricious based on the
failure of Plaintiffs to comply with the policy requirements necessary for coverage.
In opposition, Plaintiffs argue that this policy is a “health and accident” policy
according to Louisiana’s insurance code and that those code articles pertaining to
“health and accident,” particularly La.R.S. 22:1821, govern this case. Plaintiffs aver
they had no correspondence from Tripmate throughout the medical event, and that
according to La.R.S. 22:1821, because Tripmate failed to respond to the emergency
within two days, Tripmate’s silence and inaction was an unreasonable denial and
Plaintiffs were justified in making their own arrangements under the emergency
circumstances. While Plaintiffs do not specifically contest that they failed to get
written approval from the Legally Qualified Physician per the policy requirements,
Mrs. Williams stated in her affidavit that Mr. Williams’s Norwegian and U.S.
physicians, as well as REVA, agreed that private medical transport was necessary.
Plaintiffs assert in brief that “[Defendants] cannot create issues of material fact by
9
relying on its own failure to perform. . . . Getting these approvals were internal
organization functions and not within the reach of [Plaintiffs].” Furthermore, “pre-
approvals are inappreciable in an emergency and unenforceable” citing La.R.S.
22:1821(D)(2)(a).6 Thus, Plaintiffs’ main argument is that their claims were “health
and accident” governed by La.R.S. 22:1821 and, because of the emergency nature
of Mr. Williams’s condition, they were not required to obtain pre-approvals from the
Medical Advisor. Therefore, any failure on their part to comply with this portion of
the policy is not a material issue of fact preventing summary judgment.
Accordingly, we will determine whether La.R.S. 22:1821 applies and governs
this case. Louisiana’s Insurance Code provides for a multitude of insurance types.
Defendants assert the policy involved is a travel protection policy. The types of
insurance potentially applicable to Defendants’ argument are defined under La.R.S.
22:47(13) Marine and transportation, subsection (g): “Insurance against financial
loss due to trip cancellation or interruption, lost or damaged baggage, trip or baggage
delay, missed connections, or changes in itinerary[,]”; La.R.S. 22:47(14)
“Miscellaneous. Any other kind of loss, damage, or liability properly the subject of
insurance and not within any other kind or kinds of insurance as defined in this
Section, if such insurance is not contrary to law or public policy”; and, as asserted
by Plaintiffs, La.R.S. 22:47(2), “Health and accident”:
(a) Insurance of human beings against bodily injury,
disablement, or death by accident or accidental means, or the expense
thereof, or against disablement, or expense resulting from sickness or
old age, including insurance wherein the benefits are covered at a
higher level when health care is received from a defined network of
health care providers, provided, however, that such insurance meets all
6
Louisiana Revised Statutes 22:1821(D)(2)(a) states: “Any insurer, health maintenance
organization, preferred provider organization, or other managed care organization requirement that
the insured be prospectively evaluated through a pre-hospital admission certification, pre-inpatient
service eligibility program, or any similar pre-utilization review or screening procedure shall be
inapplicable to an emergency medical condition.”
10
applicable requirements of Subpart I of Part I of Chapter 2 of this Title,
R.S. 22:241 et seq., for provision of coverage through designated
providers of medical services.
(b) Health stop loss. Insurance against major expenses
incurred by an employee benefit plan due to the illness or injury of a
covered employee or against major expenses incurred by a health care
provider at financial risk for provision of health care to persons under
an agreement.
(c) Limited benefit. Health and accident insurance policy
designed, advertised, and marketed to supplement major medical
insurance that includes accident-only, the Civilian Health and Medical
Program of the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS), dental, disability
income, fixed indemnity, long-term care, Medicare supplement,
specified disease, vision, and any other health and accident insurance,
other than basic hospital expense, basic medical-surgical expense, or
other major medical insurance.
In determining whether a policy falls under the confines of “health and
accident” in Louisiana’s Insurance Code, Plaintiffs point to Rudloff v. Louisiana
Health Services and Indemnity Co., 385 So.2d 767 (La.1979) (on rehearing), for
guidance. In that case, the supreme court determined that a policy providing hospital
and medical benefits was a health and accident policy.
The plaintiff in Rudloff filed a suit for reimbursement of hospital and doctor’s
charges incurred when she was admitted for a mental or nervous disorder. She
argued that her insurer, Blue Cross, was “required by LSA-R.S. 22:213.2 to offer
optional insurance coverage for the treatment of mental and/or nervous disorders”
despite the group agreement specifically excluding such coverage. Id. at 769-70.
The court considered whether the plaintiff’s hospitalization policy was a “health and
accident” insurance policy, which would require coverage for the treatment of
mental and/or nervous disorders to be offered. At the time, health and accident
insurance was defined as “Insurance against bodily injury, disablement or death by
11
accident and against disablement resulting from sickness and every insurance
appertaining thereto.” Id. at 770. On rehearing, the court found:
In Tabb [v. Louisiana Health Services & Indemnity Co., 361
So.2d 862 (La.1978)], a policy which provided benefits for hospital and
medical care, was held not to be a health and accident policy because it
did not insure against injury, disablement or death. However, under the
statute “health and accident insurance” also encompasses “insurance
against bodily injury . . . and against disablement resulting from
sickness and every insurance appertaining thereto.” The United States
Supreme Court has held that health insurance is “an undertaking by one
person for reasons satisfactory to him to indemnify another for losses
caused by illness.” Haynes v. United States, 353 U.S. 81, 83, 77 S.Ct.
649, 650, 1 L.Ed.2d 671, 673 (1957). This policy which provides
benefits for hospital and medical care, was intended to indemnify
plaintiff for those expenses occasioned by her “sickness” and is
therefore a health insurance policy. See Meyer, Life and Health
Insurance Law, 19:3, p. 614 (1972). Since hospitalization policies are
included within the definition of health and accident policies in
Louisiana law, Blue Cross was required by LSA-R.S. 22:213.2 to offer
coverage for mental disorders to its policyholders. To the extent that it
conflicts with this holding, Tabb v. La. Health Services & Indem. Co.,
361 So.2d 862 (La., 1978) is overruled.
Id.
Here, the policy provides coverage for medical expenses and emergency
assistance along with several other coverages. The Benefit Summary regarding
medical states: “May provide Medical Expense benefits for a covered Sickness or
covered Injury incurred while on Your Trip. Under certain circumstances detailed
in the Plan, the Plan can pay for the transportation expenses incurred to evacuate
You to the nearest qualified hospital and/or to return You home.”
The policy describes the coverage in more detail as follows:
ACCIDENT & SICKNESS MEDICAL EXPENSE:
Benefits will be paid for the Covered Expense incurred, up to the
Maximum Benefit Amount shown in the Schedule of Benefits, as a
result of a covered Injury or covered Sickness, which first occurs during
Your Trip. Only Covered Expenses incurred during Your Trip will be
reimbursed. Expenses incurred after Your Trip are not covered.
12
....
Benefits will not be paid in excess of the Usual and Customary
Charges.
Advance payment will be made to a Hospital, up to the
Maximum Benefit Amount, if needed to secure Your admission to a
Hospital, because of a covered Injury or covered Sickness. The
Program Medical Advisor will coordinate advance payment to the
Hospital.
For the purpose of this benefit:
“Covered Expense” means expense incurred only for the
following:
1. The medical services, prescription drugs and therapeutic
services ordered or prescribed by a Legally Qualified Physician as
Medically Necessary for treatment;
2. Hospital or ambulatory medical-surgical center services
(including expenses for a cruise ship cabin or hotel room, not already
included in the cost of the [sic] Your Trip, if recommended as a
substitute for a hospital room for recovery from a covered Injury or
covered Sickness);
3. Transportation furnished by a professional ambulance
company to and/or from a Hospital.
The policy further states:
EMERGENCY MEDICAL EVACUATION, MEDICAL
REPATRIATION AND RETURN OF REMAINS.
When you suffer loss of life for any reason or incur a Sickness or
Injury during the course of Your Trip, the following benefits are
payable, up to the Maximum Benefit Amount shown in the Schedule of
Benefits.
1. Emergency Medical Evacuation: If the local attending
Legally Qualified Physician and the Program Medical Advisor
determine that transportation to a Hospital or medical facility is
Medically Necessary to treat an unforeseen Sickness or Injury which is
acute or life threatening and adequate Medical Treatment is not
available in the immediate area, the Transportation Expense incurred
will be paid for the Usual and Customary Charges for transportation to
the closest Hospital or medical facility capable of providing that
treatment.
13
....
2. Medical Repatriation: If the local attending Legally
Qualified Physician and the Program Medical Advisor determine that
it is Medically Necessary for You to return to Your primary place of
residence because of an unforeseen Sickness or Injury which is acute
or life-threatening, the Transportation Expense incurred will be paid for
Your return to Your primary place of residence or to a Hospital or
medical facility closest to Your primary place of residence capable of
providing continued treatment via one of the following methods of
transportation, as approved, in writing, by the Program Medical
Advisor:
i. one-way Economy Transportation;
ii. commercial air upgrade (to Business or First Class), based
on Your condition as recommended by the local attending Legally
Qualified Physician and verified in writing and considered necessary
by the Program Medical Advisor; or
iii. other covered land or air transportation including, but not
limited to, commercial stretcher, medical escort, or the Usual and
Customary Charges for air ambulance, provided such transportation has
been pre-approved and arranged by the Program Medical Advisor.
Transportation must be via the most direct and economical route.
....
Dispatch of a Physician: If the local attending Legally Qualified
Physician and the Program Medical Advisor cannot adequately assess
Your need for Medical Evacuation or Transportation, and a Physician
is dispatched by the Program Medical Advisor to make such
assessment, benefits will be paid for the travel expenses incurred and
medical services provided by the dispatched physician.
The following terms are also defined by the policy:
“Legally Qualified Physician” means a physician: (a) other
than You, a Traveling Companion or a Family Member; (b) practicing
within the scope of his or her license; and (c) recognized as a physician
in the place where the services are rendered.
“Medically Necessary” means a service which is appropriate
and consistent with the treatment of the condition in accordance with
accepted standards of community practice.
“Program Medical Advisor” means Generali Global
Assistance.
14
Lastly, the policy included a Louisiana Amendatory Endorsement which amended
Section V of the policy pertaining to subrogation, concealment and
misrepresentation, legal actions, and time of payment of claims. The latter was
amended to state: “We, or Our designated representative, will pay the claim within
30 days after receipt of acceptable proof of loss.”
The amount of coverage is also significant. For Medical Expense/Emergency
Assistance, the policy provides up to $100,000 in benefits for “Accident & Sickness
Medical Expense” and up to $250,000 in benefits for “Emergency Medical
Evacuation, Medical Repatriation & Return of Remains.”
Additionally, Mrs. Williams explained in her affidavit Plaintiffs’ reason for
purchasing the insurance policy at issue:
4. When we were preparing for a vacation, I purchased
insurance through Viking River Cruises, as part of the entire cruise
package. . . . The sales person John Faenza, described the policy and
suggested that we would get a preferential rate if the premium was paid
at the same time as the rest of the cruise package. Viking caters to
retirees, and seniors. These are destinations designed to interest mature
travelers[.] Any trip of this duration will prompt some concern for any
senior traveler, and Mr. Faenza assured me that this insurance was
comprehensive to cover any medical condition that could arise, or
aggravation of a preexisting condition. I further purchased this policy
in reliance upon this conversation and after reading the policy he
provided.
....
6. I called John Faenza the following day after I had a chance
to read the policy. It states clearly that it provides coverage for travel
delay and Interruption, for medical expense arising from illness or
injury, for transportation expenses incurred to evacuate you to the
nearest qualified hospital and/or return home. Medical expenses are
covered to a maximum of $100,000 and emergency evacuation and
repatriation is covered to a maximum of $250,000. The policy was
underwritten by United States Fire Insurance.
I reviewed these points with Mr. Faenza and he agreed. I
determined that the policy was worth the high premium for the
assurance that we would have a safe trip and safe return.
15
After reviewing the policy, La.R.S. 22:47(2), and Rudloff, we find that the
policy provides significant coverage “against bodily injury, disablement, or death by
accident or accidental means, or the expense thereof, or against disablement, or
expense resulting from sickness[.]” La.R.S. 22:47(2). Specifically, the policy will
pay benefits “as a result of a covered Injury or covered Sickness” and will cover the
“return to Your primary place of residence because of an unforeseen Sickness or
Injury which is acute or life-threatening[.]” Thus, we agree with the trial court that
this claim and policy falls within “health and accident” insurance.
Now that we have determined those provisions relating to health and accident
policies apply, we must determine whether Defendants violated La.R.S. 22:1821,
which states in pertinent part:
A. All claims arising under the terms of health and accident
contracts issued in this state, except as provided in Subsection B of this
Section, shall be paid not more than thirty days from the date upon
which written notice and proof of claim, in the form required by the
terms of the policy, are furnished to the insurer unless just and
reasonable grounds, such as would put a reasonable and prudent
businessman on his guard, exist. . . . Failure to comply with the
provisions of this Section shall subject the insurer to a penalty payable
to the insured of double the amount of the health and accident benefits
due under the terms of the policy or contract during the period of delay,
together with attorney fees to be determined by the court. . . .
....
D. (1) In any event where the contract between an insurer or self-
insurer and the insured is issued or delivered in this state and contains
a provision that in non-emergency cases the insured is required to be
prospectively evaluated through a pre-hospital admission certification,
pre-inpatient service eligibility program, or any similar pre-utilization
review or screening procedure prior to the delivery of contemplated
hospitalization, inpatient or outpatient health care, or medical services
which are prescribed or ordered by a duly licensed health care provider
who possesses admitting and clinical staff privileges at an acute care
16
health care facility or ambulatory surgical care facility, the insurer, self-
insurer, third-party administrator, or independent contractor shall be
held liable in damages to the insured only for damages incurred or
resulting from unreasonable delay, reduction, or denial of the proposed
medically necessary services or care according to the information
received from the health care provider at the time of the request for a
prospective evaluation or review by the duly licensed health care
provider, as provided in the contract; such damages shall be limited
solely to the physical injuries which are the direct and proximate cause
of the unreasonable delay, reduction, or denial as further defined in this
Subsection together with reasonable attorney fees and court costs.
(2)(a) Any insurer, health maintenance organization, preferred
provider organization, or other managed care organization requirement
that the insured be prospectively evaluated through a pre-hospital
admission certification, pre-inpatient service eligibility program, or
any similar pre-utilization review or screening procedure shall be
inapplicable to an emergency medical condition.
(b) Every insurer, health maintenance organization, preferred
provider organization, or other managed care organization which
includes emergency medical services as part of its policy or
contract, shall provide coverage and shall subsequently pay
providers for emergency medical services provided to an insured,
enrollee, or patient who presents himself with an emergency medical
condition. This Subparagraph shall not be construed to require
coverage for illnesses, conditions, diseases, equipment, supplies, or
procedures or treatments which are not otherwise covered under the
terms of the insured’s policy or contract. The provisions of this
Subparagraph shall not apply to hospital indemnity, disability, or
renewable limited benefit supplemental health insurance policies
authorized to be issued in this state.
(c) An insurer, health maintenance organization, preferred
provider organization, or other managed care organization shall not
retrospectively deny or reduce payments to providers for emergency
medical services of an insured, enrollee, or patient even if it is
determined that the emergency medical condition, initially presented is
later identified through screening not to be an actual emergency, except
in the following cases:
....
(iii) Cases in which the insured does not meet the emergency
medical condition definition, unless the insured has been referred to the
17
emergency department by the insured’s primary care physician or other
agent acting on behalf of the insurer.
....
(e) Failure to comply with the provisions of Subparagraphs (a),
(b), and (c) of this Paragraph shall subject the insurer, health
maintenance organization, preferred provider organization, or other
managed care organization to penalties as provided for in Subsection A
of this Section and to penalties for violations as provided in R.S.
22:1969.
....
(g) As used in this Paragraph, the following definitions shall
apply:
(i) “Emergency medical condition” is a medical condition of
recent onset and severity, including severe pain, that would lead a
prudent layperson, acting reasonably and possessing an average
knowledge of health and medicine, to believe that the absence of
immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result
in:
....
(bb) Serious impairment to bodily function.
(cc) Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.
(ii) “Emergency medical services” are those medical services
necessary to screen, evaluate, and stabilize an emergency medical
condition.
....
(3)(a) For the purposes of this Subsection, a period of two
working days from the time of the duly licensed health care provider’s
request to the insurer, self-insurer, third party administrator, or
independent contractor for a pre-hospital admission or pre-inpatient
service eligibility certification or any similar pre-utilization review or
screening procedure confirmation until the receipt by the duly licensed
health care provider of such insurer’s, self-insurer’s, third party
administrator’s, or independent contractor’s certification, approval, or
denial of the contemplated hospitalization, inpatient or outpatient
health care, or medical services, shall not be considered unreasonable.
18
(b) For the purposes of this Subsection, a period in excess of two
working days from the time of the duly licensed health care provider’s
request to the insurer, self-insurer, third party administrator, or
independent contractor for a pre-hospital admission or pre-inpatient
service eligibility certification or any similar pre-utilization review or
screening procedure confirmation until the receipt by the duly licensed
health care provider of such insurer's, self-insurer’s, third party
administrator’s, or independent contractor’s certification, approval, or
denial of the contemplated hospitalization, inpatient or outpatient
health care, or medical services may be considered unreasonable
depending on the circumstances of each individual case.
....
(d) For the purposes of this Subsection, an “unreasonable denial”
shall mean the failure to do any of the following:
(i) Review a request from a duly licensed health care provider by
the insurer’s or self-insurer’s review or screening procedure.
(ii) Review a request from the insured within the time period as
provided for in the contract between the insurer or self-insurer and the
insured, which time period shall not exceed two work days as provided
for in Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph.
(iii) Deliver the contracted for health care or medical services
previously certified or approved by the insurer’s or self-insurer’s
review or screening procedure for medically necessary treatment or
care as mandated by and provided for in the contract between the
insurer or self-insurer and the insured.
....
(e) For the purposes of this Subsection, “medically necessary
treatment or care” shall mean contemplated hospitalization, inpatient or
outpatient health care, or medical services recommended for
appropriate treatment or care in accordance with nationally accepted
current medical criteria.
Plaintiffs submitted evidence explaining Mr. Williams’s condition, the state
of the hospital and hospital facilities, and the state of travel at the time of Mr.
Williams’s event during Covid-19. In the 1980s and early 1990s, Mrs. Williams was
a registered nurse who spent time in the cardiac critical care department whereas Mr.
19
Williams practiced cardiac surgery and was still working at the time of this trip. Mrs.
Williams’s affidavit explains her husband was first isolated and tested for Covid-19
instead of receiving treatment for the underlying emergency, and he was instructed
to take his own nitroglycerine for his symptoms. Mrs. Williams explained that her
husband was first diagnosed with pneumonia and it was several days until his
symptoms were realized to be largely cardiac. She continued: “His nurses informed
me that his blood pressure would drop when he walked from the bed to the bathroom.
He was taking nitroglycerine for the perpetual chest pain on exertion. This hospital
did not have the facilities we have in the US.” Mrs. Williams explained her
understanding that Mr. Williams was in “acute congestive heart failure with angina
and that transport was only safe or reasonable by air ambulance with oxygen support
and nursing monitoring.”
Mrs. Williams’s understanding regarding best travel is supported by Steve
Williams with REVA. Steve Williams has many years of experience in flying air
ambulance and commercial medical escorts. He has “been a flight nurse since 1992”
and has “a detailed understanding of the differences between the two modalities [air
ambulance and commercial medical escort] of patient transport.” Steve Williams
explains that Mr. Williams’s condition was seriously considered:
2. In early March I was asked to review the medical case of
an 80 year old US citizen who was hospitalized with pneumonia in
Bergen Norway. . . .
....
4. . . . the patient was quite unwell and had not been out of
bed. On the occasions he had got out of bed he was dizzy with an
unsteady gait and demonstrated orthostatic hypotension. The patient
was elderly with a significant past medical history of cardiovascular
diseases, past acute myocardial infarction and coronary artery bypass
grafting.
20
The sudden onset of his shortness of breath at night also raised
the possibility that as well as the pneumonia, he also had an element of
congestive heart failure.
6. Additionally, there was no direct flights from Bergen to a
hospital close to the patient’s home, and with, at the time, the new
Covid-19 travel restrictions, there were real concerns about being able
to complete the journey.
7. The commercial itineraries we considered all had at least
4 segments, meaning multiple take offs and landings putting additional
strain on his cardiovascular system. If he had either hypotension or an
episode of congestive heart failure, these would all be more difficult to
manage on a commercial aircraft with very limited options for clinical
intervention.
8. An additional important factor was the significant risk of
Covid 19 infection during what would be an extended commercial
aircraft flight itinerary with multiple changes of planes in terminal
buildings.
9. With the patient in the frail condition that was described
to us at the time, an additional disease burden of infection with Covid-
19 would have probably been fatal.
Further, the policy anticipates a scenario in which air ambulance is necessary
to repatriate an insured and provides coverage for the type of care and travel Mr.
Williams received: “other covered land or air transportation including, but not
limited to, commercial stretcher, medical escort, or the Usual and Customary
Charges for air ambulance[.]” Considering the foregoing and in view of the
definition of “Emergency medical condition” set forth in La.R.S. 22:1821, which is
based on a “prudent layperson” understanding of the medical event, 7 we find
7
Louisiana Revised Statutes 22:1821(D)(2)(g)(i) defines “Emergency medical condition”
as:
[A] medical condition of recent onset and severity, including severe pain, that
would lead a prudent layperson, acting reasonably and possessing an average
knowledge of health and medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate
medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in:
....
21
Plaintiffs carried their burden on summary judgment. The burden then shifted to
Defendants to produce factual support “through the use of proper documentary
evidence” to prove the existence of a genuine issue of material fact or that Plaintiffs
were not entitled to summary judgment. Kelley, 330 So.3d at 671. Defendants set
forth no evidence to contest that this was an emergency medical condition under
La.R.S. 22:1821. Accordingly, we find, as did the trial court, that summary
judgment was proper.
Lastly, Defendants assert that the trial court erred in awarding penalties and
attorney fees because Defendants were not arbitrary and capricious in their refusal
to reimburse Plaintiffs. Defendants argue that there is a lack of evidence supporting
a conclusion that Plaintiffs complied with the pre-requisites of the policy.
In reviewing awards of penalties and attorney fees, the third circuit has
explained:
An award of penalties and attorney fees under this statute serves
as a punishment, and therefore must be applied with great care. “This
section is penal in nature and is strictly construed. The burden is on the
claimant to prove arbitrariness and capriciousness or lack of probable
cause. Batiste v. Pointe Coupee Constructors, Inc., 401 So.2d 1263
(La.App. 1st Cir.1981), writ denied, 409 So.2d 615 (La.1981).” Marien
v. Gen. Ins. Co. of Am., 02–545, p. 12 (La.App. 3 Cir.2002), 836 So.2d
239, 249 (quoting Sanders v. Wysocki, 92–1190, p. 8 (La.App. 4 Cir.
1/27/94), 631 So.2d 1330, 1335, writ denied, 94–506 (La.4/22/94); 637
So.2d 156), writs denied, 03–474 (La.5/9/03), 843 So.2d 396, 03–513
(La.5/9/03), 843 So.2d 397; See also Robin v. Allstate Ins. Co., 03–
1009, 03–926 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/24/04), 870 So.2d 402, writ denied, 04–
1383 (La.9/24/04), 882 So.2d 1143.
The determination as to whether an insurer acted arbitrarily or
capriciously is a fact-based analysis, and therefore cannot be overturned
by an appellate court absent a finding of manifest error, or that the trial
court was clearly wrong. “ ‘The determination of whether an insurer’s
handling of a claim is arbitrary or capricious is one of fact, which
(bb) Serious impairment to bodily function.
(cc) Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.
22
should not be disturbed on appeal unless it is manifestly erroneous.’ ”
Robin v. Allstate, 870 So.2d at 410 (quoting Myers v. Broussard, 96–
1634, p. 29 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/21/97), 696 So.2d 88, 103).
The party claiming entitlement to penalties and attorney fees
bears the burden of proving that the insurer had sufficient proof that
payment on a claim was due as a basis for establishing that the insurer
was arbitrary and capricious in denying the claim. Reed v. State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,03–107 (La.10/21/03), 857 So.2d 1012.
The determination of whether the insurer acted arbitrarily or
capriciously must be based, at least in part, on the information known
to the insurer at the time the claim was made. If the insurer has a good
faith, reasonable explanation for its failure to timely pay on a claim,
then the penalty provisions should not apply. Myers, 696 So.2d 88.
Also, when a reasonable disagreement exists between an insurer and an
insured, it is not arbitrary and capricious or without probable cause on
the part of the insurer to deny payment on the claim that is in dispute.
Wiley v. Safeway Ins. Co., 99–161 (La.App. 3 Cir. 7/14/99), 745 So.2d
636. “Whether there are such just and reasonable grounds is a question
of fact. The trial court’s findings of fact may not be disturbed on appeal
absent manifest error.” Craig v. K & K Ins. Group, Inc., 00–1549, p. 3
(La.App. 3 Cir. 2/28/01), 780 So.2d 1249, 1251 (citation omitted), writ
denied, 01–839 (La.5/11/01), 792 So.2d 738.
Stewart v. Calcasieu Par. Sch. Bd., 05-1339, pp. 4-5 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/3/06), 933
So.2d 797, 801.
Louisiana Revised Statutes 22:1821(A) provides for penalties and attorney
fees when a claim is not paid within thirty days from “written notice and proof of
claim, in the form required by the terms of the policy . . . unless just and reasonable
grounds, such as would put a reasonable and prudent businessman on his guard,
exist.”
The purpose of penalties and attorney fees in La.R.S. 22:1821 has been
explained by the supreme court: “The statute was evidently enacted to effect a
speedy collection of just claims without diminution and without unnecessary delay
and expense.” Lopez v. Blue Cross of La., 397 So.2d 1343, 1344-45 (1981). The
first circuit expanded on the reasoning behind penalties against insurers who fail to
23
pay claims in Crawford v. Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana, 99-2503, p. 15
(La.App. 1 Cir. 11/3/00), 770 So.2d 507, 517, writ denied, 00-3267 (La. 2/16/01),
The imposition of an attorney’s fee in addition to a penalty is a deterrent
to an insurer’s self-serving dalliance in the payment of a just claim. An
insurer has an affirmative duty to verify, through a reasonable
investigation, whether the claim was actually excluded from coverage.
When, as here, an insurer chooses to resist its contractual obligation
based upon a supposed defense, which a reasonable investigation would
have proved to be without merit, it acts at its peril and renders itself
liable for statutory penalties and attorney’s fees. See Savarino v. Blue
Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana Inc., 98–0635, p. 13 (La.App. 1 Cir.
4/1/99), 730 So.2d 1083, 1090.
In Lopez, the court found that the insurer’s reliance on its opinion that the
claimant did not submit a record that established a “recoverable claim” and that the
records submitted “did not contain certain details sufficient according to company
guidelines to establish the medical necessity of the hospital admission” were not
“just and reasonable grounds” to deny payment. Id. at 1345.
In this case, the policy instructs insureds that they must report a claim within
twenty days of the loss or “as soon as is reasonably possible.” The claim may be
made online. The policy continues, “[t]he notice should be given to Us or Our
designated representative and should include sufficient information to identify You.”
The policy specifies:
Claim Forms: When notice of claim is received by Us or
Our designated representative, forms for filing proof of loss will be
furnished. If these forms are not sent within 15 days, the proof of loss
requirements can be met by You sending Us a written statement of what
happened. This statement must be received within the time given for
filing proof of loss.
Proof of Loss: Proof of loss must be provided within 90 days
after the date of the loss or as soon as is reasonably possible. Proof
must, however, be furnished no later than 12 months from the time it is
otherwise required, except in the absence of legal capacity.
24
Plaintiffs produced Mrs. Williams’s affidavit wherein she stated that Tripmate
was immediately put on notice that an emergency occurred on March 11, 2020, and
in fact, Generali did respond and assist with securing Mr. Williams’s lab results and
accommodations for Mrs. Williams. Mrs. Williams further attested that she
submitted a claim online and, after receiving no response, submitted a claim via U.S.
mail on March 19, 2020. After receiving no response still, Mrs. Williams submitted
a second claim via U.S. mail on May 4, 2020, and another via FedEx, which included
“duplicate medical records and invoices, the same records that had already been
uploaded to the claim website.” The “Claim Status” document attached to Mrs.
Williams’s affidavit shows a Medical Sickness/Disease claim was incurred on
3/10/2020 and reported on 3/18/2020 and a “Non-emergency Medical Evacuation”
claim incurred on 2/26/20 and reported on 3/18/20. Mrs. Williams’s testified that
Tripmate made their first payment in the amount of $965.17, on May 31, 2020, and
a second payment for $16,000.00 in July of 2021.
The evidence submitted by Plaintiffs shows the claim was reported according
to the policy, with documentation, and was not paid within thirty days of written
notice and proof of claim. Again, we find that Plaintiffs carried their burden of proof
on summary judgment and that the burden shifted to Defendants. Again, Defendants
submitted no evidence in support of their position. Accordingly, considering the
above facts, we find no error in the trial court’s award of penalties and attorney fees
in this case.
PLAINTIFFS’ ANSWER TO APPEAL:
This court is also tasked with deciding whether Plaintiffs will be permitted to
file their answer to the appeal, which was untimely filed. In their answer to appeal,
Plaintiffs seek judicial interest from the date of the violation, which Plaintiffs allege
25
is thirty days after the claim was submitted, increased attorney fees of $25,000 or
another reasonable sum to include appellate work, and court costs.
Plaintiffs acknowledge their answer was due February 22, 2022, but their
Motion to File a Later Answer and Answer to Appeal were not filed until March 29,
2022. Their only reasoning for such a tardy filing was that counsel had “other
commitments and deadlines in other cases.” Defendants assert that Plaintiffs’
justification that they were not put on notice and could not have prepared the answer
any sooner due to other commitments does not pass muster, citing Ballex v.
Municipal Police Employees’ Retirement System, 16-905 (La.App. 1 Cir. 4/18/17),
Louisiana Civil Code of Procedure Article 2133 states that a party seeking
modification of a judgment “must file an answer to the appeal, stating the relief
demanded, not later than fifteen days after the return day or the lodging of the record
whichever is later.” In Ballex, 218 So.3d 1076, the appellee was permitted to file an
untimely supplemental answer to appeal where the original answer was timely filed,
no new issues were raised, the appellant had sufficient time to address the
supplemented answer, and the appellant did not object to the late filing. Ballex also
cited Eschete v. Gulf South Beverages, 442 So.2d 556, 559 (La.App. 1 Cir. 1983),
which similarly stated:
[W]here an appellee timely files an answer to an appeal, later
supplements that answer more than 15 days after the return date with
leave of court, but raises no new issues and affords an appellant ample
time within which to respond to the supplemental answer, then pursuant
to the powers vested in the court by La.C.C.P. art. 2164, it is both just
and efficient to consider the supplemental answer.
The answer in this case was late and was not a supplemental answer. Counsel
did not provide a sufficient reason for the delay. This court has previously denied
26
requests to modify judgments when the answers to appeal were untimely. See David
v. David, 14-657 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/23/14), 156 So.3d 219, writ denied, 15-171 (La.
4/24/15), 169 So.3d 356; Julien v. Dynamic Indus., Inc., 10-520 (La.App. 3 Cir.
11/3/10), 52 So.3d 174; Bolzoni v. Theriot, 95-1233 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/6/96), 670
So.2d 783, writ denied, 96-718 (La. 4/26/96), 672 So.2d 908. Based on the
foregoing, Plaintiffs’ Motion to File a Later Answer and the Answer to Appeal is
denied.
DECREE:
Considering the foregoing, we affirm the trial court’s October 11, 2021
Judgment. However, Plaintiffs’ Motion to File a Late Answer is denied. Costs of
this appeal are assessed against Defendants, United States Fire Insurance Company
and Tripmate, Inc.
AFFIRMED.
27