Gregory Castain v. American Summit Insurance Company
Gregory Castain v. American Summit Insurance Company, No. CW-0017-0375 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Nov. 2, 2017).
The holding in the court’s own words
Because Plaintiff presented no evidence to show that he will be able to prove the causation element of his claim, we conclude that Relator is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law dismissing Plaintiff’s claim against it.
Quoted verbatim from the opinion — no paraphrase, nothing generated. Not yet human-reviewed. How we find the holding.
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Bridges v. Cepolk Corp. 153 So. 3d 1137
- Blanchard v. Linder Oil Co. 147 So. 3d 1117
- Smitko v. Gulf South Shrimp, Inc. 94 So. 3d 750
- Hanks v. Louisiana Companies 205 So. 3d 1048
- Smith v. Andrews 220 So. 3d 749
- Flournoy v. Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center, Inc. 222 So. 3d 103
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
CW 17-375
GREGORY CASTAIN
VERSUS
AMERICAN SUMMIT INSURANCE COMPANY
**********
ON SUPERVISORY WRIT FROM THE
OPELOUSAS CITY COURT
PARISH OF ST. LANDRY, NO. 36,065
HONORABLE VANESSA HARRIS, CITY COURT JUDGE
**********
PHYLLIS M. KEATY
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of John D. Saunders, Phyllis M. Keaty, and Candyce G. Perret,
Judges.
WRIT GRANTED AND MADE PEREMPTORY;
JUDGMENT REVERSED; MOTION FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT GRANTED; MATTER DISMISSED.
John R. Walker
Sam J. Collett, III
Jones Fussell, L.L.P.
Post Office Box 1810
Covington, Louisiana 70434
(985) 892-4801
Counsel for Defendant/Applicant:
American Summit Insurance Company
Gregory Castain
In Proper Person
1264 Louisiana Highway 749
Opelousas, Louisiana 70570
(337) 351-8411
Plaintiff/Respondent
KEATY, Judge.
Relator, American Summit Insurance Company, sought supervisory writs
from a judgment denying its motion for summary judgment. By order dated
June 19, 2017, we granted the writ and gave the parties time to file additional briefs
and to request oral argument should they deem it necessary. 1 Thereafter, no
additional briefs were filed and oral argument was not requested. Accordingly, we
now address the merits of Relator’s motion for summary judgment.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
This case involves a lawsuit which Plaintiff, Gregory Castain, filed, seeking
to recover for damages to his house which was struck by a vehicle that ran off the
roadway. On January 24, 2014, Kenneth Rosette was driving his pickup truck on
Louisiana Highway 749 in Opelousas, Louisiana, when he lost control of the
vehicle. After crossing the centerline, the east shoulder of the road, and a ditch,
Mr. Rosette’s vehicle went onto Plaintiff’s property and struck the front of
Plaintiff’s house. Plaintiff alleges that the force of impact caused damage to his
front door, storm door, vinyl siding, and concrete steps. Plaintiff also alleges that
the impact caused the house’s foundation to become dislodged, resulting in humps
and dips in the flooring. Plaintiff filed a claim with Relator, which had issued a
homeowner’s insurance policy to Plaintiff. Relator paid to repair Plaintiff’s door,
1
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 966(H), in pertinent part, provides that “[o]n
review, an appellate court shall not reverse a trial court’s denial of a motion for summary
judgment and grant a summary judgment dismissing a case or a party without assigning the case
for briefing and permitting the parties an opportunity to request oral argument.” In addition, this
court’s Internal Rule 30 reads as follows:
When this court issues an order in a summary judgment proceeding
assigning a case for briefing and permitting the parties an opportunity to request
oral argument in accordance with La.Code Civ.P. art 966.H, the parties shall have
fourteen (14) days from the mailing of this order within which to file a motion
requesting oral argument on the merits. The motion shall state the reasons why
oral argument is necessary and shall be accompanied with the appropriate filing
fee.
steps, and siding; however, Relator refused to pay for the alleged damage to the
foundation on the basis that coverage for such damage is excluded under the policy.
Subsequently, Plaintiff, acting in proper person, filed the instant lawsuit. In
November 2016, Relator filed a motion for summary judgment, seeking dismissal
of the lawsuit. The trial court excluded Plaintiff’s opposition to the motion for
summary judgment on the ground that it was untimely filed. Following a hearing,
the trial court denied Relator’s motion for summary judgment. Relator seeks
review of the trial court’s ruling.
LAW
Appellate courts “review a grant or a denial of a motion for
summary judgment de novo.” Bridges v. Cepolk Corp., 13-1051, p.
10 (La.App. 3 Cir. 2/12/14), 153 So.3d 1137, 1145, writ denied, 14-
901 (La. 8/25/14), 147 So.3d 1117. As noted in La.Code Civ.P. art.
966(A)(2), “[t]he summary judgment procedure is designed to secure
the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of every action. . . .
The procedure is favored and shall be construed to accomplish these
ends.” On de novo review, “there is no deference to the trial judge’s
legal findings, and we make an independent review of the evidence in
determining whether there is no genuine issue of material fact and
whether the mover is entitled to judgment as a matter of law under
La.Code Civ.P. art. 966.” Bridges, 153 So.3d at 1145. “A genuine
issue of material fact is one as to which reasonable persons could
disagree; if reasonable persons could reach only one conclusion, there
is no need for trial on that issue and summary judgment is
appropriate.” Smitko v. Gulf S. Shrimp, Inc., 11-2566, p. 7 (La.
7/2/12), 94 So.3d 750, 755.
Hanks v. La. Cos., 16-334, p. 9 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/14/16), 205 So.3d 1048, 1056
(footnote omitted), writ denied, 17-260 (La. 5/19/17), 220 So.3d 749.
According to La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(D)(1):
The burden of proof rests with the mover. Nevertheless, if the
mover will not bear the burden of proof at trial on the issue that is
before the court on the motion for summary judgment, the mover’s
burden on the motion does not require him to negate all essential
elements of the adverse party’s claim, action, or defense, but rather to
point out to the court the absence of factual support for one or more
elements essential to the adverse party’s claim, action, or defense.
The burden is on the adverse party to produce factual support
2
sufficient to establish the existence of a genuine issue of material fact
or that the mover is not entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 967(B) further provides that:
When a motion for summary judgment is made and
supported . . . , an adverse party may not rest on the mere allegations
or denials of his pleading, but his response, by affidavits or as
otherwise provided above, must set forth specific facts showing that
there is a genuine issue for trial. If he does not so respond, summary
judgment, if appropriate, shall be rendered against him.
DISCUSSION
Relator asserts that the trial court erred in denying its motion for summary
judgment. Relator takes the position that coverage for Plaintiff’s claim is excluded
under Exclusion A of its policy. That exclusion provision, in pertinent part, reads
as follows (italics added):
GENERAL EXCLUSIONS
A. We do not insure for loss caused directly or indirectly by any of
the following. Such loss is excluded regardless of any other
cause or event contributing concurrently or in any sequence to
the loss.
....
2. Earth Movement, meaning earthquake including land
shock waves or tremors before, during or after a volcanic
eruption; landslide; mine subsidence; mudflow; earth
sinking, rising or shifting; unless direct loss by:
a. fire; or
b. explosion;
ensues and then we will pay only for the ensuing loss.
Relator notes that Plaintiff alleges that the impact of the vehicle striking his
house caused damage to his pier and beam foundation. Relator contends, however,
that Plaintiff has not furnished any evidence to show that the damage to the
foundation of his house was caused by the accident. Relator maintains that it, on
the other hand, retained an expert whose affidavit establishes that the damage to
3
the foundation of Plaintiff’s house was not due to anything other than movement or
settlement of the earth. In that regard, Relator notes that its expert, Joe D. Hughes,
a registered professional engineer in Louisiana and Texas, examined Plaintiff’s
house and concluded that the conditions in its foundation were the result of long-
term, ongoing problems caused by differential earth movement, rather than by the
lateral impact by a vehicle. Relator points out that Mr. Hughes’s opinion was
based on factors such as the lack of evidence of lateral movement of the girders,
and the fact that a significant amount of repairs had been performed on the
foundation in the past. Further, Relator notes that Mr. Hughes’s report suggests
that the particular area of land upon which Plaintiff’s house sits is subject to
drought, which is a common cause of earth settlement. Relator asserts that
coverage is excluded for Plaintiff’s claim because the policy at issue excludes
coverage for losses caused by the earth sinking, rising, or shifting, unless direct
loss is caused by fire or explosion. Relator contends that while it has submitted
ample proof that coverage is excluded under its policy, Plaintiff has failed to
submit any evidence to show that there is coverage under the policy.
In opposition to the instant writ application, pro se Plaintiff asserts that the
trial court did not err when it denied Relator’s motion for summary judgment.
Plaintiff explains that his house was hit by a 4,500 pound truck that was traveling
at a speed in excess of fifty-five miles per hour. Plaintiff points out that
Mr. Hughes did not inspect the house until May 28, 2015, which was more than
sixteen months after the accident. Plaintiff maintains that as a result of the time
between the accident and the inspection, Mr. Hughes failed to see 95% of the
evidence as most of it had been removed and replaced because emergency repairs
were necessary to the foundation to make the house safe for Plaintiff and his family
to continue occupying it. In its reply brief, however, Relator asserts that none of
4
the foregoing factual allegations made by Plaintiff should be considered by this
court because the record does not contain any factual support for those allegations.
Plaintiff also contends that the foundation pictures that were submitted by
Relator were taken at such a distance that they do not show the discoloration and
gaps between the girders located in the foundation. Additionally, Plaintiff points
out that Mr. Hughes did not inspect the truck that hit Plaintiff’s house. Plaintiff
maintains that such an inspection would have provided valuable information
regarding the speed of the vehicle and the force of impact.
With regard to the exclusionary provision on which Relator relies, Plaintiff
notes that coverage is excluded for “earth movement” and that the policy explains
what is meant by “earth movement.” However, Plaintiff argues that while
Relator’s expert deems the damage to Plaintiff’s foundation as having been caused
by “earth settlement,” the exclusionary clause at issue does not mention the words,
“earth settlement.” Further, Plaintiff notes that Relator’s expert, Paul Boswell,
Relator’s vice president of claims, does not expressly state that the foundation
damage was caused by “earth settlement.” Rather, Plaintiff notes that in
Mr. Boswell’s affidavit, he states that the damage to Plaintiff’s foundation
“appeared to be caused by earth settlement.” Plaintiff also contends that there is an
absence of scientific information regarding the condition of the soil around
Plaintiff’s house. In that regard, Plaintiff maintains that Relator has not shown any
weather report indicating that there was any earth movement or earthquake that
occurred in Opelousas, Louisiana, at any time relevant to Plaintiff’s claim.
According to Plaintiff, he is a lifelong resident of the Opelousas area, and there has
been no earth movement in that area. However, in its reply brief, Relator counters
that its expert, Mr. Hughes, stated in his affidavit that the area where Plaintiff’s
property is located experienced severe droughts from 2011 through recent years
5
and that drought conditions usually result in soil shrinkage and differential
movements of residences.
We note that although Relator paid for some of the damage to Plaintiff’s
house after it was struck by Mr. Rosette’s vehicle, Relator excluded coverage for
the damage to the house’s foundation on the basis that such damage is excluded
under the policy it issued to Plaintiff. The exclusion provision at issue does not
insure for loss caused by “earth movement” which is described as “earthquake,
including land shock waves or tremors before, during or after a volcanic eruption;
landslide; mine subsidence; mudflow; earth sinking, rising or shifting, unless direct
loss by fire or explosion.” Relator’s expert, Mr. Hughes, stated in his report that it
is his opinion that the automobile accident at issue did not cause any moving or
shifting of Plaintiff’s house. Rather, Mr. Hughes opines that the damage to
Plaintiff’s foundation and floors was “the result of differential movement by the
building and foundation due to differential movement by the supporting foundation
soils.”
After having completed a de novo review of the evidence submitted by
Relator in support of its motion for summary judgment, we find that Relator met its
burden of proving “the absence of factual support” for Plaintiff’s claim that the
damage to his foundation was caused by the January 24, 2014 accident. Thus,
Plaintiff could no longer “rest on the mere allegations . . . of his pleading[s],” and
the burden shifted to him “to produce factual support sufficient to establish the
existence of a genuine issue of material fact or that the mover is not entitled to
judgment as a matter of law.” See La.Code Civ.P. arts. 967(B) and 966(D)(1);
Flournoy v. Our Lady of Lourdes Regional Medical Center, Inc., 17-81 (La.App. 3
Cir. 5/17/17), 222 So.3d 103. Because Plaintiff presented no evidence to show that
he will be able to prove the causation element of his claim, we conclude that
6
Relator is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law dismissing Plaintiff’s
claim against it.
DECREE
For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the trial court is reversed.
Summary judgment is granted in favor of American Summit Insurance Company,
dismissing Gregory Castain’s claims against it with prejudice at Mr. Castain’s
costs.
WRIT GRANTED AND MADE PEREMPTORY; JUDGMENT
REVERSED; MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT GRANTED;
MATTER DISMISSED.
7