James Landreneau v. St. Landry Fire District III
James Landreneau v. St. Landry Fire District III, No. WCA-0003-0870 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Dec. 10, 2003).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Coats v. American Tel. & Tel. Co. 681 So. 2d 1243
- Peck v. Procter & Gamble Mfg. Co. 586 So. 2d 714
- Rosell v. Esco 549 So. 2d 840
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
03-0870
JAMES LANDRENEAU
VERSUS
ST. LANDRY FIRE DISTRICT III
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - DISTRICT 2
PARISH OF RAPIDES, NO. 00-08258
JAMES L. BRADDOCK, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
OSWALD A. DECUIR
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Oswald A. Decuir, and Jimmie C.
Peters, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
James S. Gates
MORROW, MORROW, RYAN & BASSETT
P. O. Drawer 1787
Opelousas, LA 70571
(337) 948-4483
Counsel for Plaintiff/Appellant:
James Landreneau
Jeffrey J. Warrens
Attorney at Law
P. O. Box 98001
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-8001
(225) 231-0652
Counsel for Defendants/Appellees:
St. Landry Fire District III
Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Corporation
DECUIR, Judge.
Workers’ compensation claimant, James Landreneau, appeals a judgment
finding that he failed to carry the burden of proof necessary to establish that he
contracted bladder cancer as a result of his work as a firefighter.
FACTS
James Landreneau has been employed as a firefighter with St. Landry Fire
District III since 1973. Landreneau is presently the Assistant Fire Chief.
Landreneau was initially diagnosed with recurrent bladder cancer on August 2,
1989, after he had served as a firefighter for approximately sixteen years. There have
been three recurrences of the bladder cancer, for which Landreneau has undergone
prompt and successful surgery for removal of the tumors. He is not currently
disabled, and the payments for medical expenses associated with the recurrent bladder
cancers have been made through his private health insurance company, with his
personal payments of deductibles and copayments. LWCC and the employer have
declined to pay the expenses through workers’ compensation.
Landreneau responded to fires regularly throughout the years. In the early
years, from 1973 through 1980, protective equipment was infrequently used, and the
safety equipment was not as comprehensive as the respirators currently used. He is
a non-smoker, is not obese and has no history of bladder cancer in his family. The
only apparent risk factor for bladder cancer for Landreneau is his exposure to
chemicals, fire and smoke. The workers’ compensation judge found that these facts
were insufficient to establish that his bladder cancer was caused through occupational
exposure and, therefore, denied his claim for medical payments. Landreneau lodged
this appeal.
DISCUSSION
Landreneau contends that the workers’ compensation judge’s conclusion that
he failed to establish that he contracted bladder cancer as a result of his work as a
firefighter is manifestly erroneous. We disagree.
A previous panel of this court found that La.R.S. 33:2011 is not applicable to
this case because Landreneau is not disabled. Accordingly, his claim is based on the
theory that bladder cancer is an occupational disease under La.R.S. 23:1031.1.
Louisiana Revised Statute 23:1031.1 states, in pertinent part:
B. An occupational disease means only that disease or illness
which is due to causes and conditions characteristic of and peculiar to the
particular trade, occupation, process, or employment in which the
employee is exposed to such disease. Occupational disease shall include
injuries due to work-related carpal tunnel syndrome. Degenerative disc
disease, spinal stenosis, arthritis of any type, mental illness, and
heart-related or perivascular disease are specifically excluded from the
classification of an occupational disease for the purpose of this Section.
In Coats v. American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 95-2670, p. 7 (La. 10/25/96),
681 So.2d 1243, 1247, the supreme court said:
In examining the merits of an occupational disease claim, the
threshold question is whether or not the claimant has sustained an
occupational disease resulting from causes and conditions characteristic
of and peculiar to his particular trade, occupation, process, or
employment. LSA-R.S. 23:1031.1; Peck v. Procter & Gamble
Manufacturing Co., 586 So.2d 714 (La.App. 3 Cir. 1991). Proof of such
a causal connection need not be shown to an absolute certainty. It is
sufficient that the claimant establish the cause of his disability by a
reasonable probability.
The parties stipulated prior to trial that Landreneau is not disabled by his
condition. Therefore, the compensability of his medical expenses under La.R.S.
23:1203 is the only issue in dispute. Thus, Landreneau had the burden of proving, by
a reasonable probability, that he contracted bladder cancer as a result of his
employment. The workers’ compensation judge found that he had not met that burden
of proof. This is a factual finding that this court will reverse only upon a showing that
2
the workers’ compensation judge was manifestly erroneous or clearly wrong. See
Rosell v. ESCO, 549 So.2d 840 (La.1989).
To support his claim, Landreneau testified to his twenty-eight years as a
firefighter; his exposure to toxic chemicals, smoke and fire; and the lack of any other
pertinent risk factors for bladder cancer. In addition, Landreneau put on evidence,
which the parties stipulated to be accurate, as to the number of fires during the period
when he contracted his bladder cancer. There was no evidence that he had bladder
cancer before he began working for the department.
The workers’ compensation judge apparently gave great weight to the testimony
of Landreneau’s doctor, Dr. Frank Bacque. When asked whether Landreneau’s work
as a firefighter had any role in the development of his bladder cancer, he indicated that
he would “have a hard time proving anything like that.” When pressed for his
opinion, the doctor responded that he did not think that Washington, Louisiana,
suffered from the type of major fires on a recurring basis that are usually associated
with this particular occupational hazard. Moreover, the doctor testified that in his
twenty-one years of urology practice in the Lafayette area, he has never treated
another firefighter with the same type of cancer.
While Landreneau established that there is a possibility that he contracted the
disease as a result of his employment, the evidence presented supports the workers’
compensation judge’s finding that Landreneau failed to establish a reasonable
probability that he contracted bladder cancer as a result of his employment. Thus, this
assignment of error lacks merit.
3
DECREE
For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the workers’ compensation judge is
affirmed. All costs of these proceedings are taxed to appellant, James Landreneau.
AFFIRMED.
4