Loyce Ray v. Rodmar Enterprises, Inc.
Loyce Ray v. Rodmar Enterprises, Inc., No. WCA-0003-1133 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Mar. 17, 2004).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Lexington House v. Gleason 733 So. 2d 123
- Hargett v. Hargett 746 So. 2d 603
- Girard v. Courtyard by Marriott 827 So. 2d 578
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
03-1133
LOYCE ALLEN RAY
VERSUS
RODMAR ENTERPRISES, INC.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION, DISTRICT 2
PARISH OF RAPIDES, NO. 00-08680,
HONORABLE JAMES L. BRADDOCK
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
JIMMIE C. PETERS
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of John D. Saunders, Jimmie C. Peters, Marc T. Amy, Glenn B.
Gremillion, and Billy Howard Ezell, Judges.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
Saunders, J., dissents and assigns written reasons.
Robert E. Guillory, Jr.
Guillory & McCall, LLC
P. O. Drawer 1607
Lake Charles, LA 70602
(337) 433-9996
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS/APPELLEES:
Rodmar Enterprises, Inc.
American Interstate Insurance Company
Loyce Allen Ray
In Proper Person
P. O. Box 2535
Ada, OK 74821
(580) 436-4445
PETERS, J.
Loyce Allen Ray appeals a summary judgment in favor of his employer,
Rodmar Enterprises, Inc. (Rodmar Enterprises), and its insurer, American Interstate
Insurance Company (American Interstate), dismissing Mr. Ray’s claim for workers’
compensation benefits, ordering forfeiture of Mr. Ray’s right to benefits pursuant to
La.R.S. 23:1208, and ordering restitution in the amount of $117,149.54 for amounts
paid by American Interstate. For the following reasons, we reverse and remand for
further proceedings.
Mr. Ray contends that he sustained a compensable accident on March 25, 1999,
while working for Rodmar Enterprises. Initially, American Interstate paid weekly
benefits and medical expenses associated with the alleged accident. At some point,
American Interstate became suspicious of Mr. Ray’s continued complaints of
disability and retained an investigator to evaluate the overall situation. American
Interstate claims that through this process it became aware that Mr. Ray was engaged
in physical activities that would preclude his right to continued workers’
compensation benefits. Among other things, American Interstate claims to have
obtained information that Mr. Ray participated in the construction of a carport for the
grandparents of his wife, Tandi, in Gerty, Oklahoma.
With this information in hand, American Interstate caused Mr. Ray’s deposition
to be taken. In response to specific questions concerning the carport construction, Mr.
Ray specifically denied doing anything in the construction other than watching the
trusses being put in place. The taking of other depositions revealed an entirely
different picture of Mr. Ray’s participation in the construction project. The deponents
in those depositions testified that Mr. Ray directly participated in the construction
project, even to the extent that he worked on the roof installation. Furthermore, some
of those deposed testified that Mr. Ray had offered them money to lie at the
depositions. Armed with this sworn testimony and relying on the provisions of
La.R.S. 23:1208, Rodmar Enterprises and American Interstate filed a motion for
summary judgment seeking to have Mr. Ray’s claim for workers’ compensation
benefits dismissed and seeking reimbursement of the $117,149.54 paid in weekly
benefits and medical expenses. They submitted the following, among other items, in
support of their motion:
1. Deposition of Loyce Allen Ray, taken June 18, 2002.
2. Deposition of Dale Sullivan, Mrs. Ray’s grandfather, taken
February 17, 2003.
3. Deposition of Lola Sullivan, Mrs. Ray’s grandmother, taken
February 17, 2003.
4. Deposition of Jerry Wayne Sanders, Mrs. Ray’s stepfather, taken
February 17, 2003.
5. Deposition of Diane Sanders, Mrs. Ray’s mother, taken February
17, 2003.
6. Deposition of Steven Ray Gatlin, husband of Mrs. Ray’s half-
sister, taken February 17, 2003.
7. Deposition of Tesha Gatlin, Mrs. Ray’s half-sister, taken February
17, 2003.
8. Affidavit of Dawn Neville, an American Interstate case manager.
In opposition to the motion for summary judgment, Mr. Ray attempted to
introduce a written statement purportedly made by his wife as well as a photograph
of his wife and himself. The workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) refused to admit
the written statement because it was not in affidavit form. Mr. Ray indicated that the
photograph contradicted testimony of his wife’s mother and stepfather. The WCJ
refused to admit it into evidence as well.
Louisiana Revised Statutes 23:1208(A) provides that “[i]t shall be unlawful for
any person, for the purpose of obtaining or defeating any benefit or payment under the
provisions of this Chapter, either for himself or for any other person, to willfully make
a false statement or representation.” In addition to possible criminal prosecution as
2
provided for in La.R.S. 23:1208(C), a claimant who willfully makes a false statement
or representation as defined by La.R.S. 23:1208(A) may be required to forfeit the right
to benefits associated with the claim. La.R.S. 23:1208(E). Also, a claimant who
commits fraud may be required to make restitution of all benefits paid up to the time
the employer became aware of the fraud and to pay a civil penalty. La.R.S.
23:1208(D).
At the hearing on the motion for summary judgment, counsel for Rodmar
Enterprises and American Interstate stated to the WCJ that “you either believe these
four people, these four adults, subpoenaed under oath or, as Mr. Ray would have you
believe, you - you don’t believe your lying eyes.” Thus, he made it clear that the
motion survived or failed on the credibility of the witnesses deposed. The WCJ
agreed by providing the following oral reasons in support of the summary judgment:
Well, I have read the depositions of all these people and they
pretty much put Mr. Ray’s claim for compensation benefits in - in a
bucket.
They - Mr. Ray testified in his deposition taken June 18th of 2002
that he did not participate in any manual fashion in the - assisting his
wife’s grandfather build some type of carport structure. Although,
everyone else testified that, in fact, Mr. Loyce Ray was on the roof of
that structure and did manual labor by installing some type of sheet
metal, I believe it was, or tin product or roof cap covering and that Mr.
Ray was the only one capable at that time of doing that type of activity.
Moreover the testimony from these persons are that when they
were first subpoenaed to give depositions in Mr. Ray’s claim for
compensation benefits that there was conversation between Mr. Loyce
Ray and a couple of these deponents that Mr. Ray offered them a
hundred dollars to testify falsely about his participation in the
construction of this carport structure.
There is further testimony in the depositions that Mr. Ray has
made statements over time that he - that he has no injury and that he has
made this claim because he realizes the difficulty of physicians to
diagnose a back injury and that he’s only made this claim to get back at
this employer because he believes that somehow they wrongfully
terminated him.
The deponents further testify that at no time in their association
with Mr. Ray have they ever seen him act disabled, that he has moved on
several occasions furniture and large appliances without difficulty.
3
The purpose of a motion for summary judgment, it’s - it’s a
procedure . . . designed to secure just and speedy and inexpensive
determination in an action. The burden remains upon the mover. And
the Court is to consider the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories and admissions on file together with affidavits to
determine whether there’s a genuine issue of material fact.
And I’m to consider this in - in light of the relevant law. The
relevant law in workers’ compensation with respect to a 1208 claim is
found in Revised Statute 23:1208 which states in section “A” that it shall
be unlawful for any person for the purpose of obtaining or defeating any
benefit or payment under the provisions of this chapter, either for himself
or for any other person, to willfully make a false statement or
representation.
And the only thing the Court has to find or - is that there was a
false statement made and that it was made for the purposes of obtaining
compensation benefits. . . .
In order to find - sustain a finding under 23:1208 the Court must
determine that there’s been a false statement or misrepresentation made;
two, that it was willfully made, the statement or misrepresentation; and,
three, that the statement was made or misrepresented for the purpose of
obtaining workers’ compensation benefit payments and that there is no
requiring under 23:1208 of a showing of prejudice to an employer and
that this statute is penal in nature and strictly construed.
Given the depositions of these individuals who are in-laws of Mr.
Ray and who appear to have been personally present, some of which
have - were personally present during the construction of the carport
structure, and the Court being particularly impressed with the deposition
of Ms. Tandi Ray’s stepfather and the - given the fact that, according to
him in his deposition, he was a former law enforcement person and
specifically informed Mr. Loyce Ray that he would at no time give any
false testimony in support of Mr. Ray’s claim, the Court finds that the
employer has shown under the requirements for a motion for summary
judgment that Mr. Ray has violated Revised Statute 23:1208 and that
there is a forfeiture of compensation benefits in this matter.
The affidavit of Ms. Dawn Neville, which is contained in the -
which was executed on April 11th of 2003 and filed with this Court on
April 16th of 2003, and all the offerings of the mover are admitted into
evidence indicates there - there - there has been paid on behalf of the
employer and insurance company to Mr. Ray the sum of one hundred
and seventeen thousand one hundred and forty-nine dollars and fifty-four
cents.
And the Court would order reimbursement of that entire sum to
the employer and payor of benefits.
We agree that the evidence presented in support of the motion for summary
judgment overwhelmingly establishes, if believed, that Mr. Ray did perform
substantial manual labor on the carport construction project and that he sought to bribe
4
others who were aware of his activities with money in exchange for their false
testimony in that regard. However, Mr. Ray’s testimony, if believed, establishes that
he did not perform substantial manual labor on the construction project.
As urged to do so by counsel for Rodmar Enterprises and American Interstate,
the WCJ made specific credibility calls in reaching its decision. Credibility issues
have no place in summary judgment procedure. Lexington House v. Gleason, 98-1818
(La.App. 3 Cir. 3/31/99), 733 So.2d 123, writ denied, 99-1290 (La. 6/25/99), 746
So.2d 603. “It is not the court’s function on a motion for summary judgment to
determine or even inquire into the merits of the issues presented. While deposition
testimony may be used to support or oppose a motion for summary judgment, it may
not be weighed.” Id. at 126 (citation omitted). Had this case come before us in the
posture of an appeal from a judgment on the merits, we would not have hesitated to
affirm. However, because the ultimate conclusion that Mr. Ray willfully made false
statements for the purpose of obtaining benefits required the weighing of evidence and
the making of credibility calls in the context of a motion for summary judgment, we
find that the WCJ erred in granting summary judgment.
DISPOSITION
For the foregoing reasons, we reverse the summary judgment below and remand
for further proceedings. We assess costs of this appeal to Rodmar Enterprises, Inc.
and American Interstate Insurance Company.
REVERSED AND REMANDED.
5
NUMBER 03-1133
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
STATE OF LOUISIANA
LOYCE ALLEN RAY
VERSUS
RODMAR ENTERPRISES, INC.
SAUNDERS,J., dissenting.
I would affirm the trial court, see (Girard v Courtyard by Marriot), 02-105
(La.App. 3 Cir. 10/2/02), 827 So.2d 578.