International Maintenance Corp. v. Robert L. Stoddard
International Maintenance Corp. v. Robert L. Stoddard, No. WCA-0005-0676 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Dec. 30, 2005).
The holding in the court’s own words
We conclude that his failure to appropriately answer questions regarding his history was inconsequential to IMC’s obligation to provide compensation benefits.
Quoted verbatim from the opinion — no paraphrase, nothing generated. Not yet human-reviewed. How we find the holding.
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- State v. Campbell 660 So. 2d 7
- Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Frantz 847 So. 2d 734
- Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Frantz 857 So. 2d 484
- Leopaul v. Acadiana Granite & Marble 865 So. 2d 1009
- Harvey v. BE & K CONST. 770 So. 2d 819
- Rachal v. Good Neighbor Glass, Inc. 867 So. 2d 129
- Rachal v. Good Neighbor Glass, Inc. 874 So. 2d 175
- Hickman v. Allstate Timber Co. 653 So. 2d 154
- Hickman v. Allstate Timber Co. 656 So. 2d 1017
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
05-676
INTERNATIONAL MAINTENANCE CORPORATION
VERSUS
ROBERT L. STODDARD
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - DISTRICT 3
PARISH OF CALCASIEU, NO. 02-04473
SAM L. LOWERY, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
OSWALD A. DECUIR
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of John D. Saunders, Oswald A. Decuir, and Glenn B. Gremillion,
Judges.
AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.
Mark Zimmerman
Attorney at Law
4216 Lake Street
Lake Charles, LA 70605
(337) 474-1644
Counsel for Defendant/Appellee:
Robert Stoddard
Gregory E. Bodin
Phillip E. Foco
Valerie Legé Mayhall
Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips, L.L.P.
P.O. Box 2471
8th Floor, Bank One Centre
451 Florida Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
Counsel for Plaintiff/Appellant:
International Maintenance Corporation
DECUIR, Judge.
In this workers’ compensation dispute, the employer terminated the employee’s
benefits and alleged fraud and misrepresentation on the part of the employee. The
employer sought to invoke the provisions of La.R.S. 23:1208, which provide for the
forfeiture of benefits, as well as criminal penalties, upon proof of an employee’s
willful misrepresentation for the purpose of obtaining workers’ compensation
benefits. After trial on the merits, the workers compensation judge found in favor of
the employee and ordered the reinstatement of benefits. The employer has appealed.
For the following reasons, we amend the judgment rendered below, and as amended,
we affirm.
Robert Stoddard was employed by International Maintenance Corporation as
a pipe fitter. He suffered a work-related injury to his back on September 30, 1999,
while working with a wrench and a spool of pipe. Initially, IMC contested whether
an accident occurred, but prior to trial, IMC agreed to pay future and past due
benefits. However, IMC later terminated benefits based on Stoddard’s failure to
finish a Functional Capacity Evaluation because of complaints of pain. A complete
FCE was performed shortly thereafter and showed Stoddard was capable of only
sedentary work. Medical evidence also supported the disability rating.
In 2003, IMC again terminated benefits, asserting its rights under La.R.S.
23:1208 for the forfeiture of future benefits and restitution of previously paid
benefits. IMC asserts that Stoddard lied in answers to interrogatories wherein he
denied having been involved in fights, arrests, a fall, and a car accident, and lied in
his deposition testimony when he denied being on medication.
Stoddard responded to these allegations by arguing the misstatements were
irrelevant to his workers’ compensation claim, were taken out of context, and were
exaggerated. At his deposition, Stoddard was asked whether he had taken medication
that day. By contrast, at trial, Stoddard was asked whether he was taking medication
during the time of his deposition. Stoddard contends these are completely different
questions. Concerning the fights, Stoddard testified at trial that he did not consider
being pushed around at a bar and breaking up an altercation between relatives to be
fights. He also explained that he was ashamed to admit he had been arrested for
possession of stolen goods and did not realize that a ticket for disturbing the peace
by intoxication when he was 18 years old constituted an arrest. Finally, Stoddard
argued that neither the car accident, in which his wife was injured and he was not, nor
the bathroom fall, resulted in injuries which affected his disability, and he reported
both to his doctor.
In oral reasons for judgment, the workers’ compensation judge made the
following findings:
[N]ot every false statement supports a finding of fraud. His
demeanor does not suggest to the court that he deliberately set out to
deceive the employer in order to collect benefits. Admittedly, he may
have been a difficult individual for the employer and the insurance
company to deal with, but being difficult is not the same thing as being
fraudulent.
Additionally, the medical information which I have reviewed does
not show that the undisclosed injuries are superceding, intervening
causes of disability. His behavior and responses do not rise or sink to
the level of fraud as defined in Resweber [v. Haroil Const. Co., 94-2708
(La. 9/5/95), 660 So.2d 7].
The workers’ compensation judge denied IMC’s request for restitution and
forfeiture of benefits and awarded Stoddard $5,000.00 in attorney fees. In this
appeal, IMC contests the denial of its § 1208 claim and the award of attorney fees.
Stoddard answered the appeal, requesting an award of attorney fees for work
performed on this appeal.
The Louisiana Supreme Court in Resweber v. Haroil Const. Co., 94-2708, 94-
3138 (La. 9/5/95), 660 So.2d 7, explained the requirements for forfeiture of benefits
2
under § 1208. The requirements are: (1) there is a false statement or representation,
(2) it is willfully made, and (3) it is made for the purpose of obtaining or defeating
any benefit or payment. Id. Additionally, the court explained:
[T]he statute does not require the forfeiture of benefits for any false
statement, but rather only false statements that are willfully made for the
purpose of obtaining benefits. It is evident that the relationship between
the false statement and the pending claim will be probative in
determining whether the statement was made willfully for the purpose
of obtaining benefits. A false statement which is inconsequential to the
present claim may indicate that the statement was not willfully made for
the purpose of obtaining benefits. Clearly, an inadvertent and
inconsequential false statement would not result in forfeiture of benefits.
Id. at 16. See also, Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Frantz, 03-0088 (La.App. 3 Cir.
6/12/03), 847 So.2d 734, writ denied, 03-1911 (La. 10/31/03), 857 So.2d 484.
The case before us raises questions of credibility, and it is, therefore, subject
to the manifest error standard of review. Leopaul v. Acadiana Granite & Marble,
03-1045 (La.App. 3 Cir. 2/4/04), 865 So.2d 1009. As the Leopaul court noted, the
statute at issue provides for a harsh remedy and necessarily requires a strict
construction.
We have reviewed the medical evidence, Stoddard’s deposition and trial
testimony, as well as his discovery responses. We, like the workers’ compensation
judge, acknowledge Stoddard’s failure to fully and truthfully answer questions
regarding his accident history, and we certainly do not condone such behavior.
However, we find no manifest error in the conclusion that Stoddard did not willfully
intend to perpetrate a fraud on IMC in order to obtain workers’ compensation
benefits. There is no medical testimony to support the suggestion that Stoddard’s
disability was caused by any event other than his work-related injury. We conclude
that his failure to appropriately answer questions regarding his history was
inconsequential to IMC’s obligation to provide compensation benefits.
3
Regarding the amount of attorney fees awarded in favor of Stoddard, IMC
argues in this appeal the $5,000.00 award is factually unsupported and must be
reversed. We disagree. A workers’ compensation judge has great discretion in the
award of attorney fees and penalties, and a decision concerning the award of attorney
fees will not be disturbed absent an abuse of discretion. Harvey v. B E & K Const.,
33,475 (La.App. 2 Cir. 8/23/00), 770 So.2d 819. “There is no requirement that the
trial court hear evidence concerning the time spent or the hourly rates charged to
make an award of attorney fees since the record will reflect much of the services
rendered.” Id. at 822. Louisiana Revised Statute 23:1201(F) requires that awards of
attorney fees be reasonable. Our review of the record convinces us the $5,000.00
award is reasonable and is not an abuse of discretion.
Stoddard has also requested an additional award of attorney fees for work
performed on this appeal. A workers’ compensation claimant is entitled to an
increase in attorney fees to reflect additional time incurred in defending an
employer’s unsuccessful appeal. Rachal v. Good Neighbor Glass, Inc., 03-1288
(La.App. 3 Cir. 3/3/04), 867 So.2d 129, writ denied, 04-0885 (La. 5/21/04), 874
So.2d 175; Hickman v. Allstate Timber Co., 94-1275 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/5/95), 653
So.2d 154, writ denied, 95-1133 (La. 6/23/95), 656 So.2d 1017. Accordingly, we
award an additional $1,500.00 in attorney fees for the successful handling of this
appeal.
For the above and foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Office of Workers’
Compensation is amended so as to award $1,500.00 in attorney fees for work
performed in the appeal. In all other respects, the judgment is affirmed. Costs are
assessed to IMC.
AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.
4