Mamie Trahan v. Acadia Parish Sheriff's Office
Mamie Trahan v. Acadia Parish Sheriff's Office, No. WCA-0006-1136 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Feb. 7, 2007).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Albarado v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. 926 So. 2d 94
- Hardy v. Bowie 744 So. 2d 606
- Hayes v. Autin 685 So. 2d 691
- Hayes v. Autin 690 So. 2d 41
- Kumpe v. State 701 So. 2d 498
- Kumpe v. State 712 So. 2d 882
- Soileau v. D & J Tire, Inc. 702 So. 2d 818
- Whigham v. Boyd 706 So. 2d 979
- Nguyen v. Underwriters at Lloyd's 929 So. 2d 821
- State v. Ross 937 So. 2d 387
- Lewis v. Jefferson Parish Sheriff's Office 798 So. 2d 249
- Kaufman v. City of New Orleans 720 So. 2d 835
- McGregor v. Boudreaux 738 So. 2d 576
- Smith v. St. Tammany Sheriff's Office 668 So. 2d 1331
- State v. Mallard 672 So. 2d 694
- Roberson v. LAFAYETTE OILMAN'S SHOOT 845 So. 2d 1267
- Garrison v. St. Charles General Hospital 854 So. 2d 370
- Elliott v. Catahoula Parish Police Jury 816 So. 2d 996
- State v. Theriot 323 So. 2d 120
- Morris v. Friedman 663 So. 2d 19
- Mauldin v. Town of Church Point 925 So. 2d 1269
- Newman Marchive Partnership, Inc. v. City of Shreveport 930 So. 2d 983
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
06-1136
MAMIE TRAHAN
VERSUS
ACADIA PARISH SHERIFF’S OFFICE
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION, DISTRICT 4
PARISH OF ACADIA, CASE NO. 05-06555
SHARON MORROW, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
JAMES T. GENOVESE
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Marc T. Amy, David J. Painter, and James T. Genovese, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Christopher T. Lee
Christopher T. Lee, P.L.L.C.
Post Office Box 3525
Lafayette, Louisiana 70502-3525
(337) 232-2390
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT:
Mamie Trahan
Homer Ed Barousse, Jr.
Barousse & Craton
Post Office Box 1305
Crowley, Louisiana 70527-0730
(337) 785-1000
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE:
Acadia Parish Sheriff’s Office
GENOVESE, Judge.
Plaintiff, Mamie Trahan (Trahan), appeals the judgment of the Office of
Workers’ Compensation (OWC) granting summary judgment in favor of Defendant,
Acadia Parish Sheriff’s Office (Acadia). The workers’ compensation judge (WCJ)
ruled that Trahan was not entitled to workers’ compensation payments for her injuries
because she was a deputy sheriff and, as such, was exempt from workers’
compensation coverage pursuant to La.R.S. 23:1034. The WCJ denied Trahan’s
cross-motion for summary judgment, declaring the doctrine of equitable estoppel
inapplicable in this case and, as a result, dismissed Trahan’s claims. For the
following reasons, we affirm.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Trahan filed a disputed claim for workers’ compensation benefits, commonly
referred to as a 1008, on December 21, 2005. Acadia initially answered Trahan’s
claim admitting she sustained injuries while performing her job-related duties as a
medic and denying that any workers’ compensation payments were ever paid to
Trahan. Acadia further averred that it was self-insured and not insured for workers’
compensation benefits because sheriff’s deputies are excluded from workers’
compensation coverage under La.R.S. 23:1034. Acadia admitted that it had elected,
for a certain period, to pay Trahan her salary in lieu of workers’ compensation
benefits, yet reserving its right to terminate those voluntary payments.
On May 1, 2006, Acadia filed a motion for summary judgment seeking the
dismissal of Trahan’s workers’ compensation claims on the basis that she was a
parish deputy sheriff and thereby not covered under the Louisiana workers’
compensation law. In response to Acadia’s motion, Trahan filed a cross-motion for
1
summary judgment on May 26, 2006, maintaining that Acadia was equitably estopped
from taking the position that Trahan was ineligible for workers’ compensation
benefits pursuant to La.R.S. 23:1034. At the hearing on these cross-motions for
summary judgment held on June 22, 2006, the WCJ granted summary judgment in
favor of Acadia, dismissing Trahan’s claims, and denied Trahan’s motion for
summary judgment. Trahan appeals.
FACTS
This litigation arises from Trahan’s filing of a disputed claim for workers’
compensation benefits (1008). Trahan’s 1008 contains two claims. Trahan’s first
claim alleges that on January 17, 2002 she tripped and fell in the parking lot of the
American Legion Hospital in Crowley, Louisiana. Trahan’s second claim alleges that
on February 28, 2002 she was involved in an automobile accident. Both accidents
occurred while Trahan was performing her job-related duties as a deputy/medic.
Following these accidents, Acadia paid Trahan “wages in lieu of compensation” and
her related medical expenses through May 31, 2005.1 On December 21, 2005, Trahan
filed a 1008 seeking workers’ compensation benefits against Acadia for her work-
related injuries.
ISSUE
The only issue raised in this appeal is whether the doctrine of equitable
estoppel precludes the exclusion of Trahan, as a deputy sheriff, as set forth in La.R.S.
23:1034.
1
In Trahan’s affidavit attached to her cross-motion for summary judgment, she asserts: “On
or about May 31, 2005, my employer terminated all payments. Effective this same date, apparently
my employer terminated my employment as well.”
2
LAW AND DISCUSSION
As this matter comes before us on an appeal of the grant of a summary
judgment, we note that such judgments are reviewed de novo using the same criteria
that govern the trial court’s consideration of whether summary judgment is
appropriate. Albarado v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co., 05-1084 (La.App. 3 Cir.
4/5/06), 926 So.2d 94; La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(B). In the case at bar, there are no
contested facts, the issue before this court is the application of the law to the
undisputed facts. Summary judgment shall be granted if “the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,
show that there is no genuine issue as to material fact, and that mover is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(B).
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 966 charges the
moving party with the burden of proving that summary judgment is
appropriate. However, when the movant will not bear the burden of
proof at trial on the matter that is before the court, the movant’s burden
on the motion does not require him to negate all of the essential
elements of the adverse party’s claim, but rather to point out to the court
that there is an absence of factual support for one or more of the
elements essential to the adverse party’s claim. See La.Code Civ.P. art.
966(C)(2). If the adverse party fails to produce factual support to
convince the court that he can carry his burden of proof at trial, there is
no genuine issue of material fact and granting of the motion is
mandated. Hardy v. Bowie, 98-2821 (La. 9/8/99), 744 So.2d 606; Hayes
v. Autin, 96-287 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/26/96), 685 So.2d 691, writ denied,
97-281 (La. 3/14/97), 690 So.2d 41.
The threshold question in reviewing a trial court’s granting of
summary judgment is whether a genuine issue of material fact remains.
Kumpe v. State, 97-386 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/8/97), 701 So.2d 498, writ
denied, 98-50 (La. 3/13/98), 712 So.2d 882. Thereafter, we must
determine whether reasonable minds could conclude, based on the facts
presented, that the mover is entitled to judgment. Id. Thus, summary
judgment is appropriate when all relevant facts are brought before the
court, the relevant facts are undisputed, and the sole remaining issue
relates to the legal conclusion to be drawn from the facts. Id.
3
“Facts are material if they determine the outcome of the legal
dispute.” Soileau v. D & J Tire, Inc., 97-318, p. 3 (La.App. 3 Cir.
10/8/97), 702 So.2d 818, 821, writ denied, 97-2737 (La. 1/16/98), 706
So.2d 979. The determination of the materiality of a particular fact
must be made in light of the relevant substantive law. Id.
Nguyen v. Underwriters at Lloyd’s, 05-1407, pp. 3-4 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/3/06), 929
So.2d 821, 823, writ denied, 06-1332 (La. 9/22/06), 937 So.2d 387.
Generally, if an employee is injured or killed in the course and scope of his
employment, the exclusive remedy is workers’ compensation. See La.R.S.
23:1032(A). However, La.R.S. 23:1034 excludes deputy sheriffs from workers’
compensation coverage.
We find that the trial court was correct in finding that Trahan was not entitled
to workers’ compensation payments for her injuries. In this case, the relevant
substantive law, found at La.R.S. 23:1034, provides, in pertinent part:
A. The provisions of this Chapter shall apply to every person in
the service of the state or a political subdivision thereof, or of any
incorporated public board or commission authorized to hold property
and to sue and be sued, under any appointment or contract of hire,
express or implied, oral or written, except an official of the state or a
political subdivision thereof or of any such incorporated public board
or commission; and for such employee and employer the payment of
compensation according to and under the terms, conditions, and
provisions set out in this Chapter shall be exclusive, compulsory, and
obligatory; provided that one employed by a contractor who has
contracted with the state or other political subdivision, or incorporated
public board or commission through its proper representative, shall not
be considered an employee of the state, or other political subdivision, or
incorporated public board or commission; further, provided that
members of the police department, or municipal employees performing
police services for any municipality who are not elected officials shall
be covered by this Chapter and shall be eligible for compensation; and
provided further that criminal deputy sheriffs for the parish of Orleans
shall be covered by this Chapter and shall be eligible for compensation
as provided herein.
B. Except as expressly and specifically provided to the contrary
in Subsection A hereof, the officials excepted from coverage under the
provisions of this Chapter, in Subsection A of this Section, include all
public officers as defined by [La.]R.S. 42:1. In this regard, sheriffs’
4
deputies are, under [La.]R.S. 42:1, [La.R.S.] 33:1433, and [La.R.S.]
33:9001 et seq., appointed public officers and officials of their
respective political subdivisions, the parish law enforcement districts.2
(Emphasis added.)
Therefore, because Trahan was a deputy sheriff and, as such, was a public officer, she
was excluded from workers’ compensation coverage. Lewis v. Jefferson Parish
Sheriff’s Office, 01-257 (La.App. 5 Cir. 9/25/01), 798 So.2d 249; citing Kaufman v.
City of New Orleans, 98-443 (La.App. 5 Cir. 10/28/98), 720 So.2d 835, writ denied,
98-3169 (La. 2/12/99), 738 So.2d 576; Smith v. St. Tammany Sheriff’s Office, 95-960
(La.App. 1 Cir. 2/23/96), 668 So.2d 1331, writ denied, 96-761 (La. 5/3/96), 672
So.2d 694.
Trahan argues that the doctrine of equitable estoppel, or estoppel in pais,
precludes the exclusion of deputy sheriffs from the Louisiana Workers’
Compensation Act. Specifically, Trahan argues that she relied upon Acadia’s
conduct. And, as a result of said reliance, she was forced to change her position.
Trahan further alleges that, as a result of said reliance and to her detriment, Acadia
should be estopped from asserting that it is exempt from paying her workers’
compensation in accordance with La.R.S. 23:1034. Trahan asserts that she relied
upon the conduct of Acadia, i.e., its payments to her of wages in lieu of compensation
following her work accidents beginning in early 2002 and continuing until May of
2005, yet Acadia terminated Trahan’s employment and all “wages in lieu of
compensation” payments on or about May 31, 2005. Trahan contends that she
construed Acadia’s payments to her as Acadia’s compliance and submission with
2
Louisiana Revised Statutes 42:1 defines “public officers” as “any person holding a public
office in this state.” Louisiana Revised Statutes 33:1433 sets out the requirement that deputy sheriffs
take an oath of office. Louisiana Revised Statutes 33:9001 “create[s], in each parish except Orleans,
a special district to be known as a law enforcement district for the purpose of providing financing
to the office of sheriff for that parish.”
5
Louisiana’s workers’ compensation law regarding indemnity payments. Trahan
argues that, since the running of prescription is suspended when the employer pays
the injured worker wages in lieu of compensation3, she should be allowed to proceed
with her lawsuit for workers’ compensation benefits against Acadia.
Acadia concedes that after Trahan’s second alleged accident, which occurred
on February 28, 2002, it gratuitously paid Trahan her salary and health insurance
benefits despite her inability to perform any of her occupational duties. However,
Acadia denies that it made any representation to Trahan by conduct or word that said
payments to her were workers’ compensation benefits.
This court stated in Roberson v. Lafayette Oilman’s Sporting Clays Shoot, Inc.,
02-1275, 02-369, pp. 4-5 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/30/03), 845 So.2d 1267, 1270, writ
denied, 03-1531 (La. 9/26/03), 854 So.2d 370:
Equitable estoppel or ‘estoppel in pais’ can be defined as
the effect of the voluntary conduct of a party whereby he is
barred from asserting rights against another party
justifiably relying on such conduct and who has changed
his position to his detriment as a result of such reliance.
Thus, there are three elements of estoppel: (1) a
representation by conduct or word; (2) justifiable reliance;
and (3) a change in position to one’s detriment because of
the reliance.
Elliott v. Catahoula Parish Police Jury, 02-9, p. 1
(La.App. 3 Cir. 5/8/02); 816 So.2d 996, 997 (quoting
Wilkinson v. Wilkinson, 323 So.2d 120, 125 (La.1975)).
In Morris v. Friedman, 94-2808, p. 9 (La.11/27/95); 663 So.2d
19, 25, the supreme court further elaborated on this issue: “[A] party
having the means readily and conveniently available to determine the
true facts, but who fails to do so, cannot claim estoppel. Further,
estoppels are not favored in our law, and properly apply only as to
representations of fact.... Finally, ‘[e]quitable considerations and
estoppel cannot be permitted to prevail when in conflict with the
3
Mauldin v. Town of Church Point, 05-1294 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/5/06), 925 So.2d 1269, writ
denied, 06-1043 (La. 6/23/06), 930 So.2d 983.
6
positive written law.’”
Considering the facts and applicable law above set forth, we find the doctrine of
equitable estoppel is inapplicable in this case. The law exempting deputy sheriffs
from workers’ compensation benefits is “positive written law.” Trahan’s reliance on
estoppel is in direct conflict with positive written law (La.R.S. 23:1034). Thus, we
find Trahan’s argument to be without merit.
DECREE
For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the OWC granting summary
judgment in favor of Acadia and denying Trahan’s cross-motion for summary
judgment is affirmed. Costs of this appeal are assessed against Plaintiff/Appellant,
Mamie Trahan.
AFFIRMED.
7