Gernine Mailhes v. District Attorney, Parish of Calcasieu
Gernine Mailhes v. District Attorney, Parish of Calcasieu, No. WCA-0007-0265 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Oct. 10, 2007).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Sharbono v. FIRE SAFETY SALES AND SERVICE 883 So. 2d 1066
- Marsh Engineering Inc. v. Parker 893 So. 2d 73
- Alexander v. Pellerin Marble & Granite 630 So. 2d 706
- Rosell v. Esco 549 So. 2d 840
- Freeman v. Poulan/Weed Eater 630 So. 2d 733
- Baker v. Conagra Broiler Co. 640 So. 2d 494
- Sam v. Liberty Mutual Insurance 642 So. 2d 1289
- Cotton v. First Fleet 957 So. 2d 239
- White v. Phoenix Pharmacy 870 So. 2d 592
- Berniard v. Berniard 877 So. 2d 147
- Sevin v. Schwegmann Giant Supermarkets, Inc. 652 So. 2d 1323
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
07-265
GERNINE MAILHES
VERSUS
DISTRICT ATTORNEY, PARISH OF CALCASIEU
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DISTRICT # 3
PARISH OF CALCASIEU, NO. 03-07715
CHARLOTTE A. L. BUSHNELL, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
ELIZABETH A. PICKETT
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of John D. Saunders, Elizabeth A. Pickett, and James T. Genovese,
Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Christopher M. Trahan
Raggio, Cappel, Chozen & Berniard
P. O. Box 820
Lake Charles, LA 70601
Counsel for Defendant/Appellant:
District Attorney, Parish of Calcasieu
Mark M. Zimmerman
Attorney at Law
4216 Lake Street
Lake Charles, LA 70605
Counsel for Claimant/Appellee:
Gerine Mailhes
PICKETT, Judge.
The defendant-employer, the District Attorney, Parish of Calcasieu (the DA),
appeals a decision by an Office of Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) finding that
the claimant, Gernine M. Mailhes, suffered a work-related accident on October 22,
2002, which aggravated her pre-existing condition and resulted in her becoming
disabled from working after July 2, 2003. The claimant answered the appeal seeking
an increase in attorney’s fees for work necessitated by this appeal. We affirm the
decision of the WCJ and award the claimant an additional $2,500.00 in attorney’s
fees.
FACTS
The claimant, Gernine M. Mailhes, was an assistant district attorney in the
Calcasieu Parish District Attorney’s (DA) Office. Upon returning from court on
October 22, 2002, she went into the women’s bathroom and allegedly slipped and fell
on the wet floor (it appears that she did not completely hit the floor). At the time, Ms.
Mailhes had been employed by the DA for sixteen years.
Her prior medical history showed extensive back and neck problems. She had
been involved in two automobile accidents, one in the 1980’s and one in the 1990’s
and, as a consequence of these accidents, she had undergone a number of surgical
procedures including laminectomies, discectomies, and fusions. As of October 2002,
the claimant had undergone laminectomies at L-3/4 and L-4/5 with an unspecified
repair at S-1, and, after the failure of lesser treatment, had undergone fusions at C-4/5,
C-5/6, and C-6/7. At the time of her work-related accident, she was still under
medical care, was limited in her physical activities, and was experiencing pain which
adversely effected her daily life. The WCJ found that the claimant was able to work
1
at the time of her accident, but that following the accident her condition worsened,
and, by July 2003, she was no longer able to work.
On appeal, the DA’s Office assigns only one error, asserting that the WCJ erred
in that “her decision is clearly wrong, in finding the evidence adduced at trial
preponderates to prove an aggravation which may have occurred following the
October 22, 2002 incident made Ms. Mailhes’ pre-existing condition disabling after
July 3, 2003.”
LAW AND DISCUSSION
The law applicable to this case was discussed by this court in Sharbono v. Fire
Safety Sales and Serv., 04-265, pp. 6-7 (La.App. 3 Cir. 9/29/04), 883 So.2d 1066,
1070 (emphasis ours), writ denied, 04-2661 (La. 1/28/05), 893 So.2d 73:
An appellate court may not set aside the WCJ’s factual findings
unless they are manifestly erroneous or clearly wrong. Alexander v.
Pellerin Marble & Granite, 93-1698 (La.1/14/94), 630 So.2d 706;
Rosell v. ESCO, 549 So.2d 840 (La.1989). Even though an appellate
court may believe that its own evaluations and inferences are more
reasonable than the fact finder’s, reasonable evaluations of credibility
should not be disturbed on review where there is conflict in the
testimony. Freeman v. Poulan/Weed Eater, 93-1530 (La.1/14/94), 630
So.2d 733.
In Baker v. Conagra Broiler Co., 93-1230, pp. 8-9 (La.App. 3 Cir.
5/4/94), 640 So.2d 494, 498, writ denied, 94-1435 (La. 9/23/94), 642
So.2d 1289 (citations omitted), we summarized the jurisprudence
pertaining to a worker with a pre-existing condition as follows:
In compensation cases, the claimant has the burden
of showing that more probably than not an employment
accident occurred and that it had a causal relation to the
disability suffered. A worker’s preexisting condition does
not bar his or her recovery under the workers’
compensation laws because an employer takes the worker
as he finds him or her. An abnormally susceptible worker
is entitled to no less protection under the workers’
compensation statute than a healthy worker. It is
immaterial that the diseased or weakened condition of the
worker might eventually produce the disability suffered
2
outside of the employment situation. Said another way, the
worker’s claim for disability benefits will not be
disqualified if the work-related injury aggravates,
accelerates, or combines with a disease or infirmity to
produce death or disability for which compensation is
claimed.
See also, Cotton v. First Fleet, 07-41 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/2/07), 957 So.2d 239.
Furthermore, the “developing injury” rule makes it clear that if an employee sustains
an on the job accident in which an injury is immediately apparent, but still continues
to work until he/she is finally disabled from doing so, the employee will not be
penalized.
The underlying rationale for this interpretation is that an injured
employee who continues to work, despite a work-related medical
condition which is painful but not then disabling, should not be
penalized for attempting to remain in the work force in order to support
his or her family or in the hope that the condition will improve.
White v. Phoenix Pharmacy, 03-1624, p. 5 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/7/04), 870 So.2d 592,
596, writ denied, 04-1150 (La. 7/2/04), 877 So.2d 147, quoting Sevin v. Schwegmann
Giant Supermarkets, Inc., 94-1859, p. 5 (La. 4/10/95), 652 So.2d 1323, 1326.
The defendant’s argument relies almost exclusively on the claimant’s prior
injuries and her medical records which document her treatment and condition prior
to her October 2002 accident. There is no doubt that prior to October 2002 the
claimant was working in pain and under restrictions as to lifting, bending, prolonged
sitting, etc. However, even with her restrictions and her pain, she was able to
continue her employment.
Dr. Frank W. Lopez had become the claimant’s treating physician in 2000. He
was well aware of all of her medical problems and, as early as 2001, had
recommended that she either find other employment or consider retiring. He stated
that her problems basically remained the same, but that “they became exacerbated
3
over time.” In his deposition, Dr. Lopez testified as follows:
In the time I knew Gernine before this [the October 2002 accident]
happened, as I said, I had made recommendations that she change jobs,
that she ease off the situations that were causing her to have pain. And
even though she accept[ed] what I said, she didn’t–I didn’t think she
made a great effort to change what she was doing because I think she
was enjoying her job. Stress or whatever it was, she wanted to stay
there. So, my impression would have been that had she been able to
continue, she would have either continued in the same job or something
else that she could have managed to do.
....
And my interpretation of the whole thing is that a person which has the
conditions that Gernine presented in that initial year I knew her, I would
have expected that she was going to deteriorate and have some kind of
problems. I think this accident [of October 2002] accelerates everything
to the point of her having to change all of her working activities and end
up not–not working.
....
I think that in my understanding of her condition, I think that [the
accident] both accelerated and aggravated the pain problems with
certainty in the neck and with great probability in the back, too.
Dr. Lopez stated that after the October 2002 accident he had to change the
claimant’s medication from a weaker, codeine preparation to a stronger, morphine
preparation.
In sum, we find that the testimony of Dr. Lopez supports the finding by the
WCJ that the claimant’s accident of October 22, 2002, aggravated, accelerated, or
combined with her pre-existing infirmity to produce her disability.
Accordingly, for the reasons stated, the judgment of the WCJ is affirmed. The
claimant is awarded an additional $2,500.00 in attorney’s fees for work necessitated
by this appeal.
AFFIRMED.
4