WCA-0007-0497 Nonprecedential Affirmed and rendered Processed

R. E. Heidt Construction Co. v. Henry Francis

Louisiana Court of Appeal, Third Circuit · Filed October 31, 2007

The holding in the court’s own words

After reviewing the record, we conclude that there is ample evidence for the WCJ to find that Francis’ children were dependants that relied upon on his workers’ compensation benefits.

Quoted verbatim from the opinion — no paraphrase, nothing generated. Not yet human-reviewed. How we find the holding.

Authorities cited

Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.

Opinion text

STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

WCA 07-497 consolidated with WCA 07-498

R. E. HEIDT CONSTRUCTION CO., ET AL.

VERSUS

HENRY FRANCIS

**********

APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - # 3
PARISH OF CALCASIEU, NO. 02-08360 C/W 03-01646
SAM L. LOWERY, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE

**********

JOHN D. SAUNDERS
JUDGE

**********

Court composed of John D. Saunders, Jimmie C. Peters, and Glenn B. Gremillion,
Judges.

AFFIRMED AND RENDERED.

Denis Paul Juge
Juge, Napolitano, Guilbeau, Ruli, Frieman & Whiteley
3320 W. Esplanade Ave. N.
Metairie, LA 70002
(504) 831-7270
Counsel for Plaintiffs/Appellants:
R. E. Heidt Construction Co.
Gray Ins. Co.

Robert Thomas Jacques, Jr.
Attorney at Law
P. O. Box 1883
Lake Charles, LA 70602
(337) 433-4674
Counsel for Defendant/Appellee:
Henry Francis

SAUNDERS, Judge.

This is a workers’ compensation case. The injured employee was receiving

temporary total disability benefits when the employer filed a disputed claim for

compensation due to the employee’s refusal to submit to an independent medical

examination. While this claim was pending, the employee filed a disputed claim for

compensation, and several supplementations to that disputed claim, alleging various

transgressions by the employer and its workers’ compensation insurer. All claims

were consolidated.

While the claims were pending, the employee was incarcerated twice, the

second time in February of 2006. The employee then filed a rule hearing for the

employer to show cause why indemnity benefits should not be paid to his minor

dependents that relied upon those benefits for support. The employer, upon learning

of employee’s February 2006 incarceration, terminated the employee’s benefits

shortly thereafter in March of 2006.

The workers’ compensation judge (hereinafter “WCJ”) quashed subpoenas

issued by the employer to witnesses based upon the employer’s admission that the

witnesses’ testimony did not relate to the issue at bar, found that indemnity benefits

should be fully paid to the minor children of the employee, and awarded attorney’s

fees and penalties. The employer appealed, alleging five assignments of error.

We affirm the WCJ on all five assignments of error. Further, we award the

employee $2,500 in additional attorney’s fees for work done on this appeal.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY:

Henry Francis (hereinafter “Francis”), an employee of R.E. Heidt Construction

Company, was injured during the course and scope of his employment on May 2,

2002. R.E. Heidt Construction Company’s workers’ compensation insurer at the time

was The Gray Insurance Company (R.E. Heidt Construction Company and The Gray

Insurance Company hereinafter collectively “the employer”). The employer initiated

and voluntarily paid temporary total disability benefits to Francis.

On November 7, 2002, the employer filed a disputed claim for compensation

alleging that Francis was refusing to submit to an independent medical examination.

On March 3, 2003, Francis filed a disputed claim for compensation alleging failure

to timely pay installments of indemnity benefits, along with a request for penalties

and attorney’s fees relative to the employer’s failure to timely pay the benefits.

Francis supplemented this claim on March 26, 2003, adding allegations of entitlement

to diagnostic testing and vocational rehabilitation, along with requests for penalties

and attorney’s fees for the employer’s lapse in its duties in regard to these

entitlements.

On October 16, 2003, these claims were consolidated. On November 21, 2003,

Francis again supplemented his claim to add a dispute over a recommend translumbar

interbody fusion L5-S1. The employer answered this supplementation by requesting

that the WCJ appoint an independent medical examiner. Further issues regarding the

medical treatment that were added to the pending claims included psychological

support and ESI and/or myoneural injections. Trial on the merits, set for November

3, 2004, was continued by request of the employer.

In February of 2006, after being incarcerated, Francis filed a motion for a rule

hearing for the employer to show just cause why indemnity benefits should not be

paid to his minor dependent children. The March 26, 2006, merit trial was continued

at the request of Francis due to his incarceration.

After a status conference, trial was set for December 18, 2006. On December

2

6, 2006, the employer filed a second amended pretrial statement and listed witnesses

employed by the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Department and the Calcasieu

Correctional Facility. In addition, various medical documents and records from the

Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office were listed as exhibits. In response, Francis filed a

motion to quash the subpoenas issued to Calcasieu Parish employees.

On December 18, 2006, following a trial on the merits, the WCJ rendered a

judgment that: (1) granted Francis’ motion to quash trial subpoenas issued by the

attorney for the employer; (2) held that the only issue before the court was the

dependency status of Francis’ two minor children; (3) ordered that indemnity benefits

for Francis be reinstated from the date of termination and continued thereafter until

such time as a change in condition is shown and be made payable to Melissa Sarvaunt

as the natural mother of the minor dependents; (4) ordered that the benefits be paid

at the full rate of compensation entitlement of $280.37 per week; (5) ordered that a

penalty of $2,000 be paid to the minor children; and (6) ordered that attorney’s fees

of $7,500 be paid by the employer to Francis’ attorney.

The employer appealed this judgment, raising five assignments of error. We

affirm the WCJ on all assignments of error alleged. All costs of this appeal are to be

paid by the employer. Further, we grant Francis’ request for additional attorney’s fees

and award $2,500 in additional attorney’s fees for work done on this appeal.

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR:

1. Did the WCJ commit legal error in ordering that indemnity benefits be paid
without medical evidence by Francis that he is disabled from gainful
employment?

2. Did the WCJ commit manifest error in quashing the trial subpoenas issued by
the employer for the trial on the merits?

3. Did the WCJ compensation court commit manifest error in finding the minor

3

children were dependent on Francis’s compensation award?

4. Did the WCJ commit manifest error in awarding the minor children the full
compensation benefit instead of partial dependency benefits?

5. Did the WCJ commit manifest error in awarding $2,000 in penalties and
$7,500 in attorney fees?

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR #1:

The employer alleges in its first assignment of error that the WCJ committed

legal error in ordering that indemnity benefits be paid when Francis did not present

medical evidence that he is disabled from gainful employment. This assignment of

error is not properly before this court.

Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 2164, in pertinent part, states, “ The

appellate court shall render any judgment which is just, legal, and proper upon the

record on appeal.” (Emphasis added.) This is a court of review. It is not this court’s

proper function to hear an issue for the first time, without a determination made upon

that issue at a lower level.

Whether Francis was disabled from gainful employment was not ever

addressed as a contested issue at the trial level. The employer argues that a

determination of whether Francis is disabled must be made prior to any consideration

of whether his children should be considered dependent upon his workers’

compensation benefits.

Our reading of the record suggests that the employer at no time contested

Francis’ disability status, and indeed conceded his status by voluntarily paying

disability benefits. The employer once again conceded Francis’ disability status when

counsel for the employer, prior to the trial on the merits, stated on the record that the

only issue before the court was whether Francis’s children should receive his benefits

4

given that he was incarcerated.

Moreover, the employer filed several pre-trial statements, none of which listed

the issue of whether Francis was disabled from working as an issue to be litigated.

Further, the employer was making payments for temporary total disability voluntarily

until those payments were terminated based upon Francis’s second incarceration in

March of 2006, not upon whether Francis was actually disabled. Finally, the record

is completely devoid of any medical evidence that tends to prove or disprove whether

Francis was disabled.

Accordingly, we will not address this issue as it was not properly raised by the

employer at the trial level, and, therefore, is not properly before this court on appeal.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR #2:

In its second assignment of error, the employer alleges that the WCJ committed

manifest error in quashing the trial subpoenas issued by the employer for the trial on

the merits. This assignment of error, like the previous assignment, is not properly

before this court.

This court, in Deville v. E.S. Fields, et.al., 546 So.2d 332, 334 (La.App. 3 Cir.

1989), stated, “Under LSA-C.C.P. Art. 1635, in the absence of an objection, the

complaining party must be deemed to have waived his right to complain of the

alleged impropriety on appeal. In the absence of objection the trial court is afforded

no opportunity to prevent or correct the alleged error.” (Citations omitted.)

After thoroughly reviewing the trial record before us, we find that the employer

made no objection to having the trial subpoenas quashed. In fact, counsel for the

employer stated as follows:

I don’t completely object to this motion to call these witnesses to
testify as to what Mr. Francis has done and has been doing. But, as I

5

understand, today the Court is -- the issue -- the only issue before the
Court today will be the children and any workers’ compensation benefits
related to the children.
With that, these witnesses could not address that particular issue.

Thus, due to the employer’s failure to make any objection to the rulings of the

WCJ, its right to urge this objection on appeal is waived. Senegal v. George Theriot’s

Inc., 445 So.2d 137 (La.App. 3 Cir.), writ denied, 448 So.2d 114 (La.1984).

Therefore, we will not address this assignment of error.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR #3:

The employer, in its third assignment of error, claims that the WCJ committed

manifest error in finding that the minor children were dependent on Francis’s

compensation award. We do not agree.

Whether a child is dependant on an employee’s compensation award is a

finding of fact. Rogers v. Wackenhut Serv., Inc., 05-459 (La.App. 5 Cir. 1/17/06), 921

So.2d 1076.Our Louisiana Supreme Court, in Chaisson v. Cajun Bag & Supply Co.,

97-1225, p.9 (La. 3/4/98), 708 So.2d 375,380, stated the following:

Factual findings in worker’s compensation cases are subject to the
manifest error or clearly wrong standard of appellate review. In applying
the manifest error-clearly wrong standard, the appellate court must
determine not whether the trier of fact was right or wrong, but whether
the factfinder’s conclusion was a reasonable one. Where there are two
permissible views of the evidence, a factfinder’s choice between them
can never be manifestly erroneous or clearly wrong. (Citations omitted.)

Louisiana Revised Statute 23:1201.4 states, in pertinent part:

The employee’s right to compensation benefits, including medical
expenses, is forfeited during any period of incarceration, unless a
workers’ compensation judge finds that an employee has dependents
who rely on a compensation award for their support, in which case said
compensation shall be made payable and transmitted to the legal
guardian of the minor dependent or other person designated by the
workers’ compensation judge and such payments shall be considered as
having been made to the employee.

6

In the case before us, the WCJ found that Francis had two minor dependents

who relied upon his compensation award for their support. Thus, given the standard

of review and La.R.S. 23:1201.4, it is this court’s duty to determine, after looking at

the record as a whole, whether the WCJ’s finding that Francis’ two minor children

were dependents that relied upon his benefits was a reasonable finding.

After reviewing the record, we conclude that there is ample evidence for the

WCJ to find that Francis’ children were dependants that relied upon on his workers’

compensation benefits. Ms. Sarvaunt was working at various odd jobs making a

minimal wage. She was raising four children. According to birth records, two of those

children were dependents of Francis. How she was supporting those children was

brought forth in the following exchange during her deposition:

Q: Is there any doubt in your mind that the compensation that
[Francis] was getting for R.E. Heidt or for the insurance company
due to that accident, he was using that money to support you and
your children?
A: To support his family, yeah.

Q: Was any of his money going to the other two children? You had
all four children, didn’t you?
A: Yes, sir.

Q: So he was paying money for - -
A: No.

Q: No?
A: No. I worked and took care of my kids.

Q: And he took care of his.
A: Yes.

Q: His money was going towards - -
A: Yes, sir.

Q: - - was it Franklin and Mia?
A: Cedric and Mia.

Ms. Sarvaunt’s testimony above shows that she financially supported her other

7

two children with money she earned at her jobs while Francis’ workers’ compensation

benefits financially supported their two children they had together.

Moreover, Francis’ own testimony corroborates Ms. Sarvaunt’s testimony that

he provides support for his children. Francis testified the to the following on direct

examination:

Q: Prior to being incarcerated, were you living with Ms. Sarvaunt?
A: Yes, I was.

Q: Are you on the certificate of birth of these two children?
A: Yes, I am.

Q: Have you supported these two children since May 2nd, ‘02?
A: Yes, I have.

Q: You were getting workmen’s comp benefits. Were you giving this
money to Ms. Sarvaunt for the upkeep of Ms. Saraunt [sic], you,
and the children?
A: That is correct.

On cross examination, Francis’ testimony was consistent, as shown by the

following:

Q: From August of ‘05 until you were put in jail I think you said
around February of ‘06, what did you do with the money you got
form comp checks then?
A: I would give her [Ms. Sarvaunt] money that she needed for the
kids or whatever.

Q: Okay. But yet you agree that it has been about a year before her
deposition that was the last time you have given her any funds?
A: The year I’m considering is the year that I’ve been incarcerated,
almost a year that I’ve been incarcerated. Any time that I was not
incarcerated, I did give money for child support or support for the
family.

The employer argues that the WCJ committed manifest error in finding the

minor children were dependent on Francis’s compensation award. The employer

hinges its argument on some testimony that, for a period of time prior to

8

incarceration, Francis did not provide any money from his workers’ compensation

benefits to his children. It argues that this testimony necessitates a finding that the

children did not rely on Francis’s workers’ compensation benefits. This argument

lacks merit.

Given the evidence cited above, the testimony of Francis and Ms. Sarvaunt, we

find that the judgment of the WCJ that Francis’ children were dependants that relied

upon on his workers’ compensation benefits was reasonable. Accordingly, we affirm

the WCJ’s finding that Francis’ children were dependant upon Francis’ workers’

compensation benefits.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR #4:

Next, the employer argues that the WCJ committed manifest error in awarding

Francis’ minor children full compensation benefits instead of partial dependency

benefits. This assignment also lacks merit.

“A finding of dependency by the trial court is entitled to great weight, and

should not be disturbed unless clearly wrong.” Farmer v. Metro Light & Elec. Serv.,

Inc., 97-2237, p. 3 (La.App 4 Cir. 3/11/98), 708 So.2d 1251, 1253, citing Doyle v.

United General Ins. Co., 458 So.2d 152, 155 (La.App. 3 Cir. 1984) .

The employer argues that the WCJ erred in awarding full, rather than partial,

support to the minor children by citing two cases. The employer first cites the Farmer

case to bolster its contention that “sporadic” payment to children requires a finding

that only partial benefits should be paid. However, the Fourth Circuit in Farmer did

not reduce a finding of full dependency to partial dependency based upon “sporadic”

support given by the employee prior to his incarceration. Rather, the Farmer court

upheld the WCJ’s finding that, despite sporadic support, Farmer’s grandchild was “at

least partially dependent.” Farmer, 708 So.2d 1253. The Farmer court remanded the

9

case for a determination of what specific amount should be given to fulfill the partial

dependency as it found that the WCJ had arbitrarily estimated household expenses,

rather than relying on concrete figures, in setting the amount of support to be paid to

the grandchild. This case is distinguishable from the case before us.

The second case cited by the employer is Bellard v. OMNI Geographic, 00-717

(La.App. 3 Cir. 12/6/00), 773 So.2d 911. In Bellard, a trial court had ordered the

employee to pay $130 per month in child support. The court affirmed the WCJ’s

decision to award that amount of workers’ compensation benefits rather than the full

amount of the employee’s workers’ compensation benefits. Here, we have no monthly

child support award. Further, unlike in Bellard, we are not determining whether the

court’s finding that the minor children did not rely on the workers’ compensation

benefits was reasonable; instead, we are determining whether the record indicates that

a finding that he children rely on the full amount of the workers’ compensation

benefits is reasonable.

The record has substantial evidence of the reasonableness of the WCJ’s

decision. Some such evidence is the testimony of Melissa Sarvaunt, wherein she

stated:

Q: Most of the money [Francis] was getting in compensation you
said went into the house. When you say that, you meant to the
support of yourself or your children?
A: Yes, sir. He would cash the check and give it to me, and I’d pay
the bills or get diapers or food or whatever.

Q: He was like most working men or whatever. They cashed their
check and go to their wife or girlfriend and say, you know, to pay
the bills?
A: Yes, sir.

Corroborating Ms. Sarvaunt’s testimony was that of Francis, wherein he stated:

Q: You were getting workmen’s comp benefits. Were you giving this
money to Ms. Sarvaunt for the upkeep of Ms. Saraunt [sic], you,
and the children?

10

A: That is correct.

Q: Did you give her the whole check?
A: Yes, sir.

This testimony indicates that when Francis would gave his dependents his

entire benefits check, not just a particular payment amount ordered by a court as was

the situation in the Bellard case cited by the employer.

Given the testimony of Ms. Sarvaunt and Francis, coupled with the manifest

error standard of review, we cannot find that the WCJ’s factual findings were

unreasonable. As such, we affirm the WCJ’s finding that Francis’ minor children

were dependent upon the full amount of his workers’ compensation benefits.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR #5:

In its final assignment of error, the employer asserts that the WCJ committed

manifest error in awarding $2,000 in penalties and $7,500 in attorney’s fees. We do

not agree and further award $2,500 in attorney’s fees to Francis for work performed

on this appeal.

This court, in Ardoin v. Kipling Korner Grocery, 01-1596, p.3 (La.App. 3 Cir.

4/17/02), 824 So.2d 371, 374. (citation omitted.), stated the following:

The determination of whether an employer should be cast with
penalties and attorney fees is essentially a question of fact which will
not be reversed absent evidence of manifest error. In order to reasonably
controvert a workers’ compensation claim, an employer must have
factual or medical information of such a nature that it reasonably
counters that provided by claimant.

In the case before us, the employer was presented with evidence that Francis

was incarcerated, that Francis had dependent children, and that those children were

dependent upon Francis’ workers’ compensation benefits. While the employer did a

thorough investigation into Francis’s status relative to incarceration, it failed to

investigate the veracity of evidence that was presented to it that Francis had minor

11

children dependent upon his workers’ compensation benefits.

Accordingly, this court cannot find that the WCJ abused his discretion when

awarding attorney’s fees, nor can we find that $7,500 was abusively high. Although

the employer was presented with documentation and evidence of dependency, it

waited on the court to determine whether it should pay those benefits to Francis’

children. Given this, the WCJ did not err in awarding $2,000 in penalties. As such,

we affirm the WCJ’s award of $7,500 in attorney fees and $2000 in penalties.

Francis, in his answer to the employer’s appeal, requested additional attorney’s

fees for work done on this appeal. We grant this request.

An award for additional attorney’s fees is generally given when attorney’s fees

were correctly granted on the trial level, as to deny such a request on appeal would

be inconsistent with the underlying judgment. Frank v. Kent Guidry Farms, 01-727

(La.App. 3 Cir. 5/8/02), 816 So.2d 969, writ denied, 02-1608 (La. 6/27/03), 847

So.2d 1273. Given the number of assignments of error raised by the employer and the

amount of work Francis’ attorney performed in successfully defending the judgment

of the WCJ, we grant $2,500 in additional attorney’s fees for work done on this

appeal.

CONCLUSION:

The employer raised five assignments of error. We find that all assignments of

error raised by the employer are without merit and affirm the judgment of the WCJ.

All costs of this appeal are to be paid by the employer. We award $2,500 in additional

attorney’s fees to Francis for work performed in this appeal.

AFFIRMED AND RENDERED.

12