William Speyrer v. the Gray Insurance Company
William Speyrer v. the Gray Insurance Company, No. WCA-0011-1154 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Feb. 1, 2012).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Frantz 847 So. 2d 734
- Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Frantz 857 So. 2d 484
- Conagra Poultry Co. v. Collingsworth 705 So. 2d 1280
- Gautreaux v. K.A.S. Construction, LLC 923 So. 2d 850
- Walker v. Bossier Medical Center 894 So. 2d 1096
- Brasseaux v. Allstate Ins. Co. 710 So. 2d 826
- Desoto v. Desoto 694 So. 2d 1043
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
11-1154
WILLIAM SPEYRER
VERSUS
THE GRAY INSURANCE COMPANY, ET AL.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – DISTRICT 04
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE, NO. 11-00179
SHARON MORROW, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
ULYSSES GENE THIBODEAUX
CHIEF JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, John D. Saunders, and
J. David Painter, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Jay Anthony Pucheu
P. O. Box 310
Marksville, LA 71351
Telephone: (318) 253-5080
COUNSEL FOR:
Plaintiff/Appellee - William Speyrer
Mark Alan Watson
Stafford, Stewart, & Potter
P. O. Box 1711
Alexandria, LA 71309-1711
Telephone: (318) 487-4910
COUNSEL FOR:
Defendant/Appellant - The Gray Insurance Company and Westgate, Inc.
THIBODEAUX, Chief Judge.
The sole issue in this workers’ compensation proceeding is whether
the workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) erred in permitting the employee, William
Speyrer, to select a physical therapist to conduct a functional capacity evaluation
(“FCE”) following an FCE with a therapist selected by the employer. The
employer’s insurer, The Gray Insurance Company (“Gray”), asserts that the WCJ
erred in her judgment. We disagree with Gray and affirm the judgment of the
WCJ. Specifically, we find that the parties reached a compromise as contemplated
by La.Civ.Code art. 3071. The compromise reached by the parties resolves this
issue in favor of Mr. Speyrer.
I.
ISSUE
We must decide whether the WCJ erred in permitting Mr. Speyrer to
select a physical therapist to conduct an FCE following an FCE with a therapist
selected by the employer.
II.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Mr. Speyrer suffered a job-related accident and filed a claim for
benefits under the Workers’ Compensation Act. Gray has paid weekly indemnity
benefits since the inception of Mr. Speyrer’s claim. Indemnity benefits have never
been discontinued, and medical benefits are continuing to be paid.
To force an evaluation of Mr. Speyrer’s capabilities, Gray filed a
Motion to Compel an FCE. Prior to the hearing on the Motion, attorneys for both
parties conferenced with the WCJ. Following that conference, Gray’s attorney
drafted a letter to the WCJ, copying Mr. Speyrer’s counsel, memorializing the
conference. Specifically, the letter indicated that were the Motion to come up for
hearing as scheduled, the WCJ would more likely than not order that Gray is
entitled to its choice of FCE, including its right to choose the examiner and the
duration of the FCE. Conversely, Mr. Speyrer would be authorized to have his
choice of FCE, including choice of examiner and duration of FCE. Gray’s counsel
concluded the letter by stating:
Based on that information, we are advising the
court that the issues presented by the Motion to Compel
FCE have been resolved, and we ask that the hearing be
removed from the Court’s docket and shown as resolved
by the parties. (emphasis added).
Mr. Speyrer participated in an FCE conducted at Rosewood
Rehabilitation on August 17, 2010. Following the Rosewood FCE, Mr. Speyrer
requested a five-day FCE to be performed by an evaluator of his choice. Gray
denied Mr. Speyrer’s request.
At trial, Mr. Speyrer’s counsel introduced as evidence the letter
drafted by Gray’s counsel. The WCJ ultimately granted Mr. Speyrer’s request for
a multi-day FCE to be performed at Mr. Speyrer’s choice of facilities, Fontana
Center. Gray appeals the judgment of the WCJ.
III.
LAW AND DISCUSSION
Standard of Review
This case poses a question of law; accordingly, the appropriate
standard of review is de novo.
Appellate review of questions of law is simply to
determine whether the trial court was legally correct or
legally incorrect. If the trial court’s decision was based
on its erroneous interpretation or application of the law,
rather than a valid exercise of discretion, such incorrect
decision is not entitled to deference by the reviewing
court.
2
Citgo Petroleum Corp. v. Frantz, 03–88, p. 3–4 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/4/03), 847 So.2d
734, 736, writ denied, 03–1911 (La. 10/31/03), 857 So.2d 484 (quoting Conagra
Poultry Co. v. Collingsworth, 30,155 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1/21/98), 705 So.2d 1280).
Discussion
Gray asserts that the WCJ erred in allowing Mr. Speyrer to select his
own therapist for the FCE. We disagree. Gray points out that this court addressed
a similar issue in Gautreaux v. K.A.S. Construction, LLC, 05-1192 (La.App. 3 Cir.
2/22/06), 923 So.2d 850, and argues that Gautreaux controls the instant matter.
We are mindful of Gautreaux, but we find that it is not implicated here.
In Gautreaux, the plaintiff argued that he had the right to choose a
physical therapist to conduct the FCE. This court stated:
We now are called upon to face the issue [of choice]
squarely as it relates to FCEs. After careful review, we
find that the statute itself addresses the issue.
Specifically, it provides that an injured employee “shall
submit himself to an examination by a duly qualified
medical practitioner” selected by his employer. La.R.S.
23:1121(A) (emphasis added). However, the statute also
provides that an injured “employee shall have the right to
select one treating physician” in each field or specialty.
La.R.S. 23:1121(B)(1) (emphasis added).
Gautreaux, 923 So.2d at 851-52.
The court concluded that a physical therapist falls within the scope of
the boarder term “medical practitioner,” and, accordingly, the plaintiff was
“required to submit to the FCE with the medical practitioner arranged by the
Defendants.” Id. at 852. Moreover, the court noted that because the clear
language of La.R.S. 23:1121(B)(1) grants only the employee the right to choose a
treating physician, and not a medical practitioner, the plaintiff had no right to select
a physical therapist to conduct the FCE.
3
Gautreaux is distinguishable from this matter. In Gautreaux, the
parties had not reached a prior agreement about the FCE. Here, the parties
compromised, as indicated by the letter written by Gray’s counsel that asked the
court to remove the motion hearing from the docket and that alerted the court that
the parties had “resolved” the FCE issue.
Louisiana Civil Code Article 3071 states that “[a] compromise is a
contract whereby the parties, through concessions made by one or more of them,
settle a dispute or an uncertainty concerning an obligation or other legal
relationship.” Moreover, Article 3072 states, “[a] compromise shall be made in
writing or recited in open court, in which case the recitation shall be susceptible of
being transcribed from the record of the proceedings.”
The letter drafted by Gray’s counsel, copying Mr. Speyrer’s counsel,
fits the definition of a compromise. In the letter, Gray acknowledges that based
upon the information provided by the court that it would allow each party to
choose a therapist to conduct the FCEs, Gray was withdrawing its Motion to
Compel, and the parties 1 consider the issue “resolved.” 2 To settle the dispute
involving the FCE, Gray made the concession that Mr. Speyrer would be allowed
to choose his own therapist to conduct an FCE following an FCE conducted by
Gray’s therapist of choice. The record indicates that Mr. Speyrer agreed to these
terms because his attorney entered the letter as evidence in support of his case at
trial. Thus, when Mr. Speyrer requested an additional FCE with a therapist of his
choice, the terms of the compromise governed, and Gray was required to grant the
request.
1
The letter repeatedly uses the pronoun “we,” implying that the parties have had a
meeting of the minds and have reached a compromise.
2
We note that in the letter, Gray uses the phrase, “the employee is conversely authorized
to have his choice of FCE . . .” (emphasis added). The term authorized indicates payment by
Gray of the FCE under La.R.S. 23:1121(B)(1).
4
Gray now argues, however, that the letter its attorney drafted does not
meet the requirements of a compromise as contemplated by La.Civ.Code art. 3071
or 3072. Specifically, Gray cites jurisprudence stating that both parties must sign a
compromise document for it to be valid, or, alternatively, the compromise must be
read in open court. See Trahan v. Coca Cola Bottling Co. United, Inc., 04-100
(La. 3/2/05), 894 So.2d 1096; Brasseaux v. Allstate Ins. Co., 97-526 (La.App. 1
Cir. 4/8/98), 710 So.2d 826; DeSoto v. DeSoto, 96-1079 (La.App. 5 Cir. 4/29/97),
694 So.2d 1043. While we are cognizant of this jurisprudence, we refuse to
elevate form over substance. The parties clearly had a meeting of the minds, and
their compromise was memorialized in the letter Gray’s counsel drafted and sent to
the WCJ. Mr. Speyrer’s counsel implicitly accepted the compromise and
acquiesced to its terms as evidenced by his use of the letter in support of his case at
trial.
Though our rationale differs from the WCJ, the judgment of the WCJ
was legally correct. Gray should have authorized Mr. Speyrer to receive an FCE
administered by a physical therapist of his choosing.
IV.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons articulated above, we affirm the judgment of the WCJ.
Costs of this appeal are assessed against Appellant, The Gray Insurance Company.
AFFIRMED.
5