Shane Trahan v. Montgomery Electric & Maintenance, Inc.
Shane Trahan v. Montgomery Electric & Maintenance, Inc., No. WCA-0011-1426 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Apr. 4, 2012).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Fluitt v. Christus Health Cent. Louisiana 935 So. 2d 369
- Fluitt v. CHRISTUS HEALTH CENTRAL LOUISIANA 943 So. 2d 1094
- Brown v. Town of Ferriday 76 So. 3d 155
- Richard v. Vermilion Hospital 41 So. 3d 1219
- Neese v. Romero 46 So. 3d 1269
- Francis v. Quality Brands, Inc. 870 So. 2d 589
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
11-1426
SHANE TRAHAN
VERSUS
MONTGOMERY ELECTRIC & MAINTENANCE, INC.
************
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION, DISTRICT 3
PARISH OF CALCASIEU, NO. 10-04143
HONORABLE CHARLOTTE BUSHNELL,
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
************
J. DAVID PAINTER
JUDGE
************
Court composed of Oswald A. Decuir, Jimmie C. Peters, and J. David
Painter, Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Scott J. Pias
522 Alamo St.
Lake Charles, LA 70601
Counsel for Claimant-Appellant:
Shane Trahan
M. Jeremy Berthon
P.O. Box 98001
Baton Rouge, LA 70898
Counsel for Defendant-Appellee:
Montgomery Electric & Maintenance, Inc.
PAINTER, Judge
Claimant, Shane Trahan, appeals the finding of the Workers’
Compensation Judge (WCJ) that he failed to carry his burden of proving his
lower back and neck symptoms are causally related to the accident that
occurred on August 18, 2009 at Montgomery Electric & Maintenance, Inc.
(Montgomery). For the following reasons, we affirm.
FACTS
It is undisputed that on August 18, 2009, while Claimant was in the
course and scope of his employment with Montgomery, the wall of a trench
in which Claimant was standing collapsed on him, throwing him against the
other wall of the trench. He was stuck for a short time, after which a co-
worker dug him out. Claimant continued working for Montgomery until
September 20, 2009. He did not report the incident until October 2009.
Claimant’s average weekly wage was $900.00 and his weekly
compensation rate is $546.00. No workers’ compensation benefits have been
paid. However, Montgomery paid its part of Claimant’s health insurance
premium until October 2009 and the full amount in November 2009. A
hearing was held on October 4, 2011. The WCJ gave oral reasons for her
determination that Claimant had not carried his burden of proving a causal
connection between the cave-in and his symptoms. Claimant appeals.
DISCUSSION
Claimant asserts that the WCJ erred in failing to apply the
presumption that his cervical pain resulted from the incident where he was in
reasonably good health as to his cervical region prior to the incident and had
an onset of pain shortly thereafter. Further, Claimant asserts that the WCJ
erred in failing to accept his uncontradicted testimony as to his condition
1
where there was nothing of record to cast suspicion on the reliability of his
testimony.
A claimant is entitled to a presumption that his or her disability was
caused by the accident if before the accident the claimant was in good health
but afterwards began having symptoms which continuously manifested.
Fluitt v. Christus Health Cent. La., 05-945 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/28/06), 935
So.2d 369, writ denied, 06-2302 (La. 12/8/06), 943 So.2d 1094.
The requirement that the claimant be “in good health” to
benefit from the presumption of causation has been interpreted
as not requiring that the afflicted body part be “in perfect
health.” However that does not abrogate the requirement that, in
order to be entitled to the presumption, the plaintiff offer
sufficient evidence to establish the requisite elements.
Brown v. Town of Ferriday, 11-570, p. 6 (La.App. 3 Cir. 11/2/11), 76 So.3d
155, 160.
Among those requisite elements is the requirement that there be either
sufficient medical evidence to show a reasonable possibility of causation or
that the nature of the accident, combined with the other surrounding
circumstances, raises an inference that there is a causal connection between
the accident and the injury. Richard v. Vermilion Hosp., 10-385 (La.App. 3
Cir. 6/9/10), 41 So.3d 1219, writ denied, 10-1611 (La. 10/8/10), 46 So.3d
1269.
The WCJ stated, correctly, in her reasons for judgment, that:
The records of chiropractor Chad Richard reflect that he
began treating the claimant in June of 2009. The claimant had
neck and lumbar complaints. On August 27, 2009, the claimant
was seen by Dr. Timothy Best at the referral of Dr. Rubino. The
September 21st, 2009 records of Dr. Best indicate that claimant
was seen after calling in with a significant flare-up of pain in
his left shoulder and arm. He diagnosed the claimant with
degenerative disc disease. Dr. Rubino performed the anterior
cervical discectomy on claimant on December 3rd, 2009.
2
....
. . . . . Before the incident, claimant saw several medical
providers and had complaints of chronic back pain, pain into
the legs and lower back with numbness and tingling. In fact,
there is no mention of a work incident in any of the medical
records and many record indicate that the problems began
months before the cave-in incident.
....
. . . . The presumption of causation cannot apply here because
claimant was not in good health before the accident. Further,
the medical evidence does not show a reasonable possibility of
a causal connection between the accident and the disabling
condition. In fact, the medical evidence does not mention the
work accident. Aside from the medical evidence, the claimant
did not report the accident until a couple of months after the
cave-in.
Given the failure of the post-accident medical records to mention the
accident, the WCJ found that those records did not support the existence of a
causal connection between the accident and the reported symptoms,
especially in light of the fact that Claimant reported similar symptoms prior
to the accident. As a result, she found that the evidence left the probabilities
as to causation evenly balanced. We agree. As the WCJ found, in such a
situation the claimant has failed to carry his burden of proof. Francis v.
Quality Brands, Inc., 03-1662 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/7/04), 870 So.2d 589.
We find no error in the WCJ’s conclusions herein. Accordingly, her
judgment is affirmed.
CONCLUSION
For these reasons, the judgment of the WCJ is affirmed. Costs are
assessed to the Claimant.
AFFIRMED.
3