WCA-0013-1403 Nonprecedential Affirmed Processed

Jody Matt v. Dual Trucking, Inc.

Louisiana Court of Appeal, Third Circuit · Filed June 4, 2014

Authorities cited

Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.

Opinion text

STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

13-1403

JODY MATT

VERSUS

DUAL TRUCKING, INC.

**********

APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION - # 2
PARISH OF AVOYELLES, NO. 12-00726
JAMES L. BRADDOCK, WORKERS COMPENSATION JUDGE

**********

JOHN D. SAUNDERS
JUDGE

**********

Court composed of John D. Saunders, Jimmie C. Peters, and Billy Howard Ezell,
Judges.

AFFIRMED.

Peters, J., dissents and assigns written reasons.

Mark Louis Riley
Glenn Armentor Corp.
300 Stewart St.
Lafayette, LA 70501
(337) 233-1471
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT:
Jody Matt

Todd Anthony Delcambre
Law Offices of Henry H. LeBas
201 Rue Iberville, Suite 600
Lafayette, LA 70508
(337) 236-5500
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE:
Dual Trucking, Inc.

SAUNDERS, Judge.

This is a workers’ compensation case involving the propriety of the WCJ

granting the employer’s motion for summary judgment dismissing it from the

workers’ claim. According to the worker, he was exposed to various chemical

residues while cleaning the employer’s tanks and this exposure caused him to have

adverse health conditions. The employer contends that the worker cannot carry his

burden to prove causation between any exposure to chemicals he had and any

illness or injury he suffers.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY:

Jody Matt was the employee of Dual Trucking, Inc. (Dual) in Scott,

Louisiana. One of Matt’s job duties involved him cleaning tanks which he

contends were toxic, hazardous, and/or radioactive. On March 24, 2011, Matt

asserts that he was exposed to chemical residues while cleaning these tanks, and

that, thereafter, he became sick due to the exposure.

On January 24, 2012, Matt filed a 1008 disputed claim for compensation

against Dual. On July 24, 2012, Matt underwent an examination by his choice of

physician, Dr. Tony Alleman, a board certified physician in occupational medicine.

Dr. Alleman’s report contained the following pertinent language:

While it is almost certain that Mr. Matt has been exposed to a variety
of toxins, some of which may have been at levels sufficient to cause
disease, there is no condition at this time that seems to be
unquestionably related to his occupational exposures of benzene,
hydrogen sulfide and radioactive material.

Based on this report, Dual filed a motion for summary judgment on July 8,

2013. The WCJ held a hearing on this motion on September 5, 2013. After the

hearing, on the same date, the WCJ granted Dual’s motion. Matt appeals and

raises a single assignment of error.

DISCUSSION OF THE MERITS:

Matt’s sole assignment of error is that the trial court erroneously granted

Dual’s motion for summary judgment. We disagree.

Summary judgments are reviewed de novo. Thibodeaux v. Lafayette Gen.

Surgical Hosp., 09-1523 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/5/10), 38 So.3d 544. Summary

judgment “is designed to secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of

every action.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(A)(2). “The procedure is favored and shall

be construed to accomplish these ends.” Id. A motion for summary judgment

“shall be rendered forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there

is no genuine issue as to material fact, and that mover is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(B).

The burden of proof remains with the movant. However, if the movant
will not bear the burden of proof at trial on the matter that is before
the court on the motion for summary judgment, the movant’s burden
on the motion does not require him to negate all essential elements of
the adverse party’s claim, action, or defense, but rather to point out to
the court that there is an absence of factual support for one or more
elements essential to the adverse party’s claim, action, or defense.
Thereafter, if the adverse party fails to produce factual support
sufficient to establish that he will be able to satisfy his evidentiary
burden of proof at trial, there is no genuine issue of material fact.

La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(C)(2).

Dual, as the movant, has the initial burden of proof for its motion for

summary judgment. However, at trial, Matt, as the employee, has the burden to

prove that he is entitled to workers’ compensation benefits due to an accident or

injury occurring during the course and scope of his employment. Gradney v. La.

Commercial Laundry, 09-1465 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/12/10), 38 So.3d 1115. An

essential element to Matt’s burden to prove entitlement to workers’ compensation

2

benefits is that his work-related injury or illness was caused by his work-related

accident.

Dual noted to the WCJ that there was a lack of factual support for finding

that Matt’s alleged exposure to chemicals caused any of his medical conditions.

Thus, as referenced by the WCJ, the burden shifted to Matt “to produce factual

support sufficient to establish that he will be able to satisfy his evidentiary burden

of proof at trial.” La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(C)(2).

After a thorough review of the record before us, we agree wit the WCJ that

Matt failed to show that he can carry his burden to prove that any injuries or

illnesses were caused by any exposure to any chemical. The only evidence in the

record related to causation of Matt’s alleged symptoms is the report of Dr. Alleman.

The report was obtained by Matt on December 10, 2012. It indicated the results

from an examination Matt underwent by Dr. Alleman on July 24, 2012. It

contained the following pertinent language:

While it is almost certain that Mr. Matt has been exposed to a variety
of toxins, some of which may have been at levels sufficient to cause
disease, there is no condition at this time that seems to be
unquestionably related to his occupational exposures of benzene,
hydrogen sulfide and radioactive material.

We read this excerpt to state that even if there was exposure, it has not

caused any harm as of the date of examination. Matt’s argument on appeal is that

his case is complex and, given this complexity, he has not had enough time to find

the evidence necessary to link his exposure to his illness. We find no credence to

his assertion.

The record indicates that Matt had been in possession of Dr. Alleman’s

report since December 10, 2012, and has not yet seen or even been scheduled to

see another physician for a second opinion on whether any symptom he

3

experiences is related to chemical exposure. Further, Matt was aware of Dual’s

motion for summary judgment for nearly two months prior to the hearing on the

matter. The WCJ granted the only motion for a continuance Matt sought. In that

motion, counsel for Matt requested that this matter be reset from mid-August to

September 5, 2013, the date that the hearing on the motion transpired. Matt’s

counsel cited a conflict with the date scheduled as the reason for requesting the

continuance, not that more time was necessary to successfully seek a second

medical opinion on this issue. Accordingly, given the status of the record, we find

no merit to the assigned error.

CONCLUSION:

Jody Matt raised a single assignment of error asserting that the trial court

erred in granting Dual Trucking, Inc.’s motion for summary judgment dismissing it

from the case. We find no evidence in the record that Matt can carry his burden to

prove causation between his alleged exposure to chemicals while on the job and

any injury or symptom that he has sustained. Thus, we find no error by the WCJ in

granting Dual’s motion. All costs of these proceedings are assessed to Jody Matt.

AFFIRMED.

4

STATE OF LOUISIANA

COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

13-1403

JODY MATT

VERSUS

DUAL TRUCKING, INC.

PETERS, J. dissents.

I respectfully disagree with the majority’s determination that the workers’

compensation judge (WCJ) did not err in granting the motion for summary

judgment filed by Dual Trucking, Inc. (Dual Trucking). While the majority

correctly notes that Dual Trucking’s burden is governed by La.Code Civ.P. art.

966(C)(2), I do not find that that burden has been met.

Since it did not bear the burden of proof at trial, Dual Trucking’s burden was

establish that “there is an absence of factual support for one or more emements

essential to” Mr. Matt’s claim. Id. In this case, Dual Trucking attempted to show

that Mr. Matt could not meet his burden of showing that his illness was, more

probably than not, caused by his work-related exposure to chemical residues. In

attempting to do so, Dual Trucking relied entirely on Dr. Alleman’s report that

“there is no condition at this time that seems to be unquestionably related to his

occupational exposures to benzene, hydrogen sulfide and radioactive material.”

(Emphasis added.) The correct question for Dr. Alleman is whether Mr. Matt’s

condition is more probably than not related to his exposure to the various

chemicals.

[Louisiana Revised Statutes] 23:1031.1 provides every
employee disabled by an occupational disease shall be entitled to

compensation as if he received personal injury by an accident arising
out of and in the course of his employment. [Louisiana Revised
Statutes] 23:1031.1(B) defines an occupational disease as a disease or
illness which is due to causes and conditions characteristic of and
peculiar to the particular trade, occupation, process, or employment in
which the employee is exposed to such disease.

The initial question is factual, i.e., whether the plaintiff
sustained an occupational disease resulting from causes and
conditions characteristic of and peculiar to his particular occupation,
process, or employment. The plaintiff is not required to prove the
causal connection with absolute certainty. The plaintiff must establish
the cause of his disability by a reasonable probability. Peck v. Procter
& Gamble Mfg. Co., 586 So.2d 714 (La.App. 3rd Cir.), writ denied,
590 So.2d 86 (1991).

Stutes v. Koch Servs., Inc., 94-782, p. 4 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/7/94), 649 So.2d 987,
990, writ denied, 95-846 (La. 5/5/95), 654 So.2d 335.

We are left to speculate how Dr. Alleman would have answered that question.

Given Dual Trucking’s failure to establish that there is an absence of factual

support for this element of Mr. Matt’s claim, the burden did not shift to require Mr.

Matt to produce any evidence. The WCJ should have rejected the motion for

summary judgment on the showing made.

Even had Dr. Alleman’s report addressed this issue, it would still not have

been sufficient to meet Dual Trucking’s burden. Louisiana Code of Civil

Procedure Article 966(B)(2) provides in pertinent part that:

The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions,
together with the affidavits, if any, admitted for purposes of the
motions for summary judgment, show that there is no genuine issue as
to material fact, and that mover is entitled to judgment as a matter of
law.

Dr. Allman’s report fits none of these categories and, therefore, is not to be

considered by the WCJ in rendering judgment on this issue.

I would reverse the grant of the summary judgment and remand for further

proceedings.

2