Roland Sorile v. Lott Oil Company
Also decided on this docket: La. Ct. App. 3d Cir., April 22, 2015
Roland Sorile v. Lott Oil Company, No. WCA-0014-1156 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. Mar. 4, 2015).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Smoot v. Hernandez 6 So. 3d 352
- Kelly v. Boise Building Solutions 92 So. 3d 965
- Kelly v. Boise Building Solutions 98 So. 3d 851
- Marange v. Custom Metal Fabricators, Inc. 93 So. 3d 1253
- Bruno v. Harbert Intern. Inc. 593 So. 2d 357
- Ardoin v. Firestone Polymers, L.L.C. 56 So. 3d 215
- Canter v. Koehring Company 283 So. 2d 716
- Vidrine v. LA-TEX RUBBER & SPECIALTIES 958 So. 2d 146
- Lafayette Steel Erector, Inc. v. Constance 137 So. 3d 1251
- Dugas v. AutoZone, Inc. 103 So. 3d 1271
- Dugas v. Autozone, Inc. 108 So. 3d 775
- Burnett v. Vector Electric & Controls, Inc. 40 So. 3d 477
- State v. Campbell 660 So. 2d 7
- 103 So. 3d 1275 not in our corpus
- Jeffers v. Kentucky Fried Chicken 7 So. 3d 812
- State v. Lamas 10 So. 3d 738
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
14-1156
ROLAND SORILE
VERSUS
LOTT OIL COMPANY, INC.
**********
APPEAL FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION, DISTRICT 2
PARISH OF RAPIDES, DOCKET NO. 13-02020
JAMES BRADDOCK, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
JAMES T. GENOVESE
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of Jimmie C. Peters, Billy Howard Ezell, and James T. Genovese,
Judges.
AFFIRMED.
Peters, J., concurs in the result and assigns written reasons.
John J. Rabalais
Janice B. Unland
Chad N. Evans
Rabalais Unland
200 Caroline Court
Covington, Louisiana 70433
(985) 893-9900
COUNSEL FOR EMPLOYER/APPELLANT:
Lott Oil Company, Inc.
Joseph J. Bailey
David E. Boraks
Provosty, Sadler, deLaunay, Fiorenza & Sobel
Capital One Bank Building
934 Third Street, Suite 801
Post Office Drawer 1791
Alexandria, Louisiana 71309
(318) 445-3631
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLEE:
Roland Sorile
GENOVESE, Judge.
Lott Oil Company, Inc. (Lott Oil) has suspensively appealed a judgment
which awarded its employee, Roland Sorile, workers’ compensation benefits for an
unwitnessed accident and injury sustained while in the course and scope of his
employment. Mr. Sorile has answered the appeal, alleging trial court error in
denying his claim for penalties and attorney fees and seeking additional attorney
fees for defending the appeal.1 For the following reasons, we affirm the judgment
in all respects and do not consider Mr. Sorile’s Answer to Appeal.
FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
Mr. Sorile, a fuel truck operator for Lott Oil, alleges that he injured his back
on February 26, 2013, while on the job. There were no witnesses to the accident.
Mr. Sorile filed a Disputed Claim for Compensation Form (1008) on March 25,
2013, seeking indemnity benefits, medical expenses, penalties, and attorney fees.
On April 2, 2013, Lott Oil answered, denying the occurrence of a work accident
1
We observe that in his appellate brief, Mr. Sorile assigns error to the denial by the
Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) of his claim for penalties and attorney fees and he requests
an award of additional attorney fees for defending the appeal filed by Lott Oil. However,
pursuant to statutory grounds and jurisprudential tenets, Mr. Sorile’s contentions are not properly
before this court and will not be considered.
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 2088(A) provides, in pertinent part:
The jurisdiction of the trial court over all matters in the case reviewable
under the appeal is divested, and that of the appellate court attaches, on the
granting of the order of appeal and the timely filing of the appeal bond, in the case
of a suspensive appeal or on the granting of the order of appeal, in the case of a
devolutive appeal. Thereafter, the trial court has jurisdiction in the case only over
those matters not reviewable under the appeal. . . .
The record reflects that Lott Oil filed a Motion for Suspensive Appeal in the Office of Workers’
Compensation (OWC) on September 22, 2014. The WCJ granted Lott Oil’s appeal on
September 23, 2014. At that time, in accordance with La.Code Civ.P. art. 2088, the OWC
became divested of jurisdiction over all matters on appeal. Subsequently, Mr. Sorile filed an
Answer to Appeal in the OWC on September 30, 2014, relative to the WCJ’s denial of his claim
for penalties and attorney fees and he requests an award of additional attorney fees for defending
Lott Oil’s appeal. Thus, the Answer to Appeal filed on behalf of Mr. Sorile in the OWC was
improvidently filed in the wrong tribunal and, thus, will not be considered. See also, Smoot
v. Hernandez, 08-1121 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/4/09), 6 So.3d 352; Kelly v. Boise Bldg. Solutions,
11-1116 (La.App. 3 Cir. 5/2/12), 92 So.3d 965, writs denied, 12-1173, 12-1209 (La. 10/8/12), 98
So.3d 851.
and/or that any injury or disability was causally related to his employment and
claiming that Mr. Sorile willfully made false statements for the purpose of
obtaining benefits, thereby forfeiting benefits pursuant to La.R.S. 23:1208 and
La.R.S. 23:1208.1.
The case was tried on June 19, 2014, after which the WCJ took the matter
under advisement and accepted post-trial memoranda. On August 25, 2014, the
WCJ issued oral reasons for judgment, ruling that Mr. Sorile had proven the
occurrence of a work accident and that he sustained a compensable injury as a
result thereof. Mr. Sorile was awarded temporary total disability (TTD) benefits
from February 28, 2013, through July 25, 2013, supplemental earning benefits
(SEB) thereafter based upon a zero earning capacity, and was entitled to ongoing
medical benefits. The WCJ ruled that Blue Cross Blue Shield was entitled to
recover the full value of its lien. Mr. Sorile’s claims for attorney fees and
penalties, however, were denied. The WCJ ruled that Mr. Sorile did not commit
fraud and denied Lott Oil’s claims that Mr. Sorile willfully made false statements
for the purpose of obtaining benefits. Judgment was signed September 10, 2014.
Lott Oil has filed a suspensive appeal.
ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR
Lott Oil assigns the following errors for our review:
1. The [WCJ] erred in finding that [Mr.] Sorile carried his burden
of proof in establishing the occurrence of an accident.
2. The [WCJ] erred in finding that [Mr.] Sorile carried his burden
of proof in establishing a compensable injury caused by an
alleged accident.
3. The [WCJ] erred in finding that [Mr.] Sorile was entitled to
indemnity benefits or medical benefits of any kind.
4. The [WCJ] erred in finding that [Mr.] Sorile had not made
willful misrepresentations for the purpose of receiving
2
workers[’] compensation benefits in violation of
La.R.S. 23:1208 and La.R.S. 23:1208.1.
5. The [WCJ] erred in not awarding restitution to Lott Oil for all
benefits paid to or on behalf of [Mr.] Sorile, including litigation
expenses, due to his fraudulent conduct.
6. The [WCJ] erred in finding that [Lott Oil] was liable to Blue
Cross Blue Shield for the entirety of its lien for medical benefits
paid to or on behalf of [Mr.] Sorile.
STANDARD OF REVIEW
The supreme court set forth the law relative to a workers’ compensation
claimant’s burden of proof for an unwitnessed accident and the appellate standard
of review thereof in Marange v. Custom Metal Fabricators, Inc., 11-2678, pp. 6-8
(La. 7/2/12), 93 So.3d 1253, 1257-58 (per curiam):
The employee in a compensation action has the burden of
establishing a work-related accident by a preponderance of the
evidence. Bruno v. Harbert International, Inc., 593 So.2d 357, 360
(La.1992); Ardoin v. Firestone Polymers, L.L.C., 10-0245, p. 5
(La.1/19/11), 56 So.3d 215, 218. An employee may prove by his or
her testimony alone that an unwitnessed accident occurred in the
course and scope of employment, if the employee can satisfy two
elements: (1) no other evidence discredits or casts serious doubt upon
the worker’s version of the incident; and (2) the worker’s testimony is
corroborated by the circumstances following the alleged incident.
Bruno, 593 So.2d at 361; Ardoin, 56 So.3d at 218-219. In deciding
whether the plaintiff has discharged his or her burden of proof, the
fact-finder should accept as true a witness’s uncontradicted testimony,
although the witness is a party, absent “circumstances casting
suspicion on the reliability of this testimony.” Bruno, 593 So.2d at
361. The fact-finder’s determinations as to whether the worker’s
testimony is credible, and whether the worker has discharged his or
her burden of proof, are factual determinations not to be disturbed on
review unless clearly wrong or absent a showing of manifest error.
Bruno, 593 So.2d at 361; Ardoin, 56 So.3d at 219.
....
. . . Nearly forty years ago, in Canter v. Koehring Co., 283 So.2d 716,
724 (La.1973), this court, in an opinion by Justice Tate, set forth the
bedrock principle that a reviewing court must give deference to the
findings of the trier of fact:
When there is evidence before the trier of fact which,
upon its reasonable evaluation of credibility, furnishes a
3
reasonable factual basis for the trial court’s finding, on
review the appellate court should not disturb this factual
finding in the absence of manifest error. Stated another
way, the reviewing court must give great weight to
factual conclusions of the trier of fact; where there is
conflict in the testimony, reasonable evaluations of
credibility and reasonable inferences of fact should not
be disturbed upon review, even though the appellate
court may feel that its own evaluations and inferences are
as reasonable. The reason for this well-settled principle
of review is based not only upon the trial court’s better
capacity to evaluate live witnesses (as compared with the
appellate court’s access only to a cold record), but also
upon the proper allocation of trial and appellate functions
between the respective courts.
DISCUSSION
Lott Oil’s first three assignments of error dispute the WCJ’s findings that
Mr. Sorile experienced a work accident, sustained a back injury, and is entitled to
workers’ compensation benefits. Lott Oil argues that the evidence reflects that
Mr. Sorile reported experiencing an injury at home and that he specifically denied
to co-workers and medical personnel being injured on the job. Lott Oil further
contends that Mr. Sorile only conjured a tale of being injured at work on March 12,
2013, when the neurological surgeon made him realize that he had a significant
back injury that would entail both substantial medical expenses and loss of income.
According to Mr. Sorile’s testimony, on February 26, 2013, he unloaded
diesel at Shop-A-Lot 6 in Leesville, Louisiana. He explained that he felt burning
in his back when he picked up a hose in order to drain the diesel out of the line.
Mr. Sorile had his wife apply Bengay, a topical analgesic, to his back that evening.
Mr. Sorile did report to work the next day, although he was still in pain. That
evening, Mr. Sorile again had his wife apply Bengay to his back. According to
Mr. Sorile, he awoke early on February 28, 2013, and got out of bed to use the
restroom. Suddenly, his back pain became severe making it too painful to walk.
He stated he lowered himself to the floor and crawled back to his bed. Mr. Sorile
4
called his co-worker, Anthony Guillory, to ask who was on call because he would
not be reporting to work. Contrary to Mr. Guillory’s testimony, Mr. Sorile
disputes that he told Mr. Guillory anything about his back during that telephone
conversation.
Mr. Sorile also called Randall Cook, Lott Oil’s transportation supervisor, to
inform him he would not be reporting to work. Contrary to Mr. Cook’s testimony,
Mr. Sorile disputes that he said anything about his back during that telephone
conversation.
Soon thereafter, Mr. Sorile was taken to the Emergency Room of Rapides
Regional Medical Center by his wife. Mr. Sorile was evaluated by Brandi
Peacock, a nurse practitioner. Contrary to Ms. Peacock’s testimony, Mr. Sorile
recalled reporting that the onset of his severe back pain, not his injury, occurred at
home. He denies telling Ms. Peacock that he fell and injured himself at home.
Mr. Sorile was diagnosed with sciatica, given a steroid injection and pain
medication, and released with instructions to follow up with his primary care
physician.
Mr. Sorile then called Mr. Cook again. He told Mr. Cook he had sciatica
and that he needed to see his primary care physician.
The next day, March 1, 2013, Mr. Sorile sought treatment from his primary
care physician, Dr. Amy Griffin, at Griffin Family Medicine Clinic. Mr. Sorile
was evaluated by Elizabeth Robichaux, a physician’s assistant. Similar to what he
reported at the emergency room, he told her that the onset of his severe back pain
occurred at home. Ms. Robichaux ordered an MRI of Mr. Sorile’s lumbar spine at
Central Louisiana Surgical Hospital, which was performed on March 5, 2013.
Mr. Sorile was notified on March 6, 2013, that his MRI indicated the possibility of
two herniated discs.
5
Mr. Sorile next saw a neurological surgeon, Dr. Gregory Dowd, on
March 12, 2013. According to Mr. Sorile, when asked by Dr. Dowd’s physician’s
assistant how he injured himself, not when the onset of his severe pain occurred, he
revealed the incident of February 26, 2013.
On March 14, 2013, Mr. Sorile spoke via telephone to Jerry Arnold, Lott
Oil’s risk and safety manager, to report his work accident and resultant injury.
Thus, there is considerable dispute relative to Mr. Sorile’s failure to immediately
report a work accident.
Mr. Sorile explained at trial that he hoped he had simply pulled a muscle in
his back and that it would quickly heal. He reported having back pain in the past—
in 2004 and 2008—for which he saw Dr. William McBride. Dr. McBride
diagnosed him with muscle strain and/or pulled back muscles and prescribed
anti-inflammatory pain medication. Mr. Sorile recalled his back pain being
alleviated shortly thereafter. Mr. Sorile testified that he did not immediately report
a work accident to Lott Oil because he believed the back pain he began to
experience on February 26, 2013, was from a pulled muscle and that it, too, would
go away, just as it had done twice before.
Dr. Dowd testified, via deposition, that on March 12, 2013, he evaluated
Mr. Sorile and reviewed his MRI. Mr. Sorile reported the manner in which he
injured his back as occurring at work while handling a fuel hose. According to
Dr. Dowd:
[T]he MRI demonstrated that [Mr. Sorile] had a transitional
lumbosacral segment with a rudimentary S1-S2 disc. There was noted
to be an L5-S1 disc protrusion in the midline, which did cause
bilateral stenosis. And upon review, I also felt that there was a left
L4-5 lateral herniated disc which was not initially -- which was not
included in the radiologist’s interpretation.
6
On April 16, 2013, Dr. Dowd performed “a L5-S1 microdiscectomy, and a left
L4-5 far lateral microdiscectomy.”
Mrs. Sorile testified that she applied Bengay to her husband’s lower back on
two consecutive evenings before his lower-back pain became severe, and she
ultimately had to bring him to the emergency room on the morning of February 28,
2013. Mrs. Sorile denied that Mr. Sorile injured himself by falling at their home.
Dr. McBride corroborated Mr. Sorile’s testimony relative to his treatment
for pulled back muscles in both 2004 and 2008. According to Dr. McBride, he saw
Mr. Sorile once for each of the two instances, wherein he complained of
experiencing lower back pain.
The WCJ found Mr. Sorile to be sincere and credited the testimonies of
Peggy Sorile, Dr. McBride, and Dr. Dowd for corroborating Mr. Sorile’s version of
events. In his oral reasons, the WCJ elaborated:
[I]t is clear that in the initial treatment phase of Mr. Sorile’s condition
he doesn’t tell anyone, the healthcare provider at the emergency room
or Dr. Griffin’s office, that he’s been injured on the job. He doesn’t
tell Randall Cook he’s been injured on the job. He has an MRI and
doesn’t tell the MRI facility he’s been injured on the job.
It does appear that Mr. Sorile testified that he thought he had a
pulled muscle. It seemed a bit odd to the Court at the time, until the
Court read the deposition testimony of [Dr.] William McBride, a
physician who has seen Mr. Sorile in the past -- 2004, for a back
complaint, and again I believe in 2008 for a back complaint. And we
see from Dr. McBride’s deposition that he did see Mr. Sorile in 2004.
He only saw him one time; gave him some anti-inflammatory
medication. And Mr. Sorile never returned for any further follow up
care on that incident, although there is testimony from Dr. McBride
that he did discuss with Mr. Sorile he may need an MRI and this may
be a more serious condition associated with a disc situation.
He returns to Dr. McBride . . . in 2008, after an accident from a
truck and had low back problems and leg problems. He saw
Dr. McBride one time for that visit; didn’t follow up at all with
Dr. McBride. Had the same types of medications. This is where the
Court began to understand Mr. Sorile’s point of view when he kept
believing he only had a pulled muscle. There are some similar
symptoms he had in the past to those he was having in February of
7
2013 and early March of 2013. He had gotten over those in the past
with just a small amount of medication.
Mr. Sorile only has a seventh grade education. He had a job
making good pay with Lott Oil Company, and I can believe Mr. Sorile
when he’s still insisting in his own mind, anyway, that he has just a
low-back muscle pull, he’s going to get better, and he’s going to go
back to work; after all, he’s making good income.
After thoroughly reviewing the evidence in the record, being mindful of the
WCJ’s reasons for judgment, and applying the correct standard of review, we find
that the WCJ’s factual conclusions that Mr. Sorile proved a work accident and
resultant compensable work-related back injury are reasonably supported by the
evidence. The testimonies of Peggy Sorile, Dr. McBride, and Dr. Dowd
established Mr. Sorile’s veracity. While there was considerable conflicting and
contradictory evidence which supported Lott Oil’s position, the WCJ chose to
believe Mr. Sorile and accept his position in this case. Though it is a close call, we
cannot say that the WCJ was manifestly erroneous or clearly wrong. There are
definitely two permissive views supported by the evidence.
Where there is conflict in the testimony, reasonable
evaluations of credibility and reasonable inferences of
fact should not be disturbed upon review, even though
the appellate court may feel that its own evaluations and
inferences are reasonable.
Vidrine v. La-Tex Rubber & Specialties, Inc., 07-1578, p. 4 (La.App.
3 Cir. 5/30/07), 958 So.2d 146, 149.
Lafayette Steel Erector, Inc. v. Constance, 13-1367, p. 3 (La.App. 3 Cir. 4/16/14),
137 So.3d 1251, 1256-57. Thus, we find no merit to Lott Oil’s contentions that the
WCJ erred in finding that Mr. Sorile met his burden of proving a work accident,
that he sustained a compensable work-related injury, and that he was entitled to
workers’ compensation benefits.
8
In its fourth assignment of error, Lott Oil contends that the WCJ erred in
finding that Mr. Sorile did not violate La.R.S. 23:1208 and La.R.S. 23:1208.1.
Louisiana Revised Statutes 23:1208 provides, in pertinent part:
A. It shall be unlawful for any person, for the purpose of
obtaining or defeating any benefit or payment made under the
provisions of this Chapter, either for himself or for any other person,
to willfully make a false statement or representation.
....
E. Any employee violating this Section shall, upon
determination by workers’ compensation judge, forfeit any right to
compensation benefits under this Chapter.
For an employer to prevail under La.R.S. 23:1208, it must prove “‘(1) there is a
false statement or representation, (2) it is willfully made, and (3) it is made for the
purpose of obtaining or defeating any benefit or payment.’” Dugas v. AutoZone,
Inc., 12-727, p. 4 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/5/12), 103 So.3d 1271, 1275, writ denied,
13-45 (La. 2/22/13), 108 So.3d 775 (quoting Burnett v. Vector Elec. & Controls,
Inc., 10-81, p. 4 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/2/10), 40 So.3d 477, 480 (quoting Resweber v.
Haroil Constr. Co., 94-2708, 94-3138, p. 7 (La. 9/5/95), 660 So.2d 7, 12)).
Louisiana Revised Statutes 23:1208.1 provides:
Nothing in this Title shall prohibit an employer from inquiring
about previous injuries, disabilities, or other medical conditions and
the employee shall answer truthfully; failure to answer truthfully shall
result in the employee’s forfeiture of benefits under this Chapter,
provided said failure to answer directly relates to the medical
condition for which a claim for benefits is made or affects the
employer’s ability to receive reimbursement from the second injury
fund. This Section shall not be enforceable unless the written form on
which the inquiries about previous medical conditions are made
contains a notice advising the employee that his failure to answer
truthfully may result in his forfeiture of worker’s compensation
benefits under R.S. 23:1208.1. Such notice shall be prominently
displayed in bold faced block lettering of no less than ten point type.
For an employer to prevail under La.R.S. 23:1208.1, it must prove “‘(1) an
untruthful statement; (2) prejudice to the employer; and (3) compliance with the
9
notice requirements of the statute.’” Dugas, 103 So.3d 1275 (quoting Burnett, 40
So.3d at 482 (quoting Jeffers v. Kentucky Fried Chicken, 08-1380, p. 12
(La.App. 3 Cir. 4/1/09), 7 So.3d 812, 820, writ denied, 09-956 (La. 6/19/09), 10
So.3d 738)).
The WCJ justified his denial of Lott Oil’s fraud allegations against
Mr. Sorile, stating:
I don’t find that Mr. Sorile is guilty of a 23:1208 violation as
argued by the employer. First off, the employer, in that argument,
says that Mr. Sorile in his post-hire medical questionnaire did not tell
the employer about any previous back problems. Well, this is a
statement made prior to the alleged injury and has no bearing or
relevance to a 1208 claim, which is misstatement made willfully and
purposefully for the receipt of benefits after the occurrence of [an]
alleged job accident.
Moreover, the previous incident from 2004, pointed to by the
employer, [was] distinguished by Dr. Dowd in his deposition . . . .
Mr. Sorile continued to work without complaint, did his job for Lott
Oil Company. I don’t find the minor back complaints he saw
Dr. McBride for were relevant to a claim for 23:1208 given the
distinguishment of Dr. Dowd and the continuation of work by
Mr. Sorile.
Considering these reasons and the evidence before us, we find the factual
conclusions of the WCJ are reasonable. We find no merit in Lott Oil’s fourth
assignment of error. Further, having found no merit to Lott Oil’s fourth
assignment of error, we need not address whether it was error for the WCJ not to
order Mr. Sorile to pay restitution for fraudulent conduct.
Lastly, Lott Oil contends the WCJ “erred in finding that [it] was liable to
Blue Cross Blue Shield for the entirety of its lien for medical benefits paid to or on
behalf of [Mr.] Sorile.” Having found the occurrence of a work accident, Lott Oil
is responsible for Mr. Sorile’s medical expenses. Thus, we find no merit in Lott
Oil’s contention that the WCJ erred in recognizing the lien of Blue Cross Blue
Shield for the amount of medical benefits it paid to or on behalf of Mr. Sorile.
10
DECREE
For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the judgment of the Office of Workers’
Compensation in its entirety and do not consider Mr. Sorile’s Answer to Appeal.
All costs of this appeal are assessed to Defendant/Employer, Lott Oil Company,
Inc.
AFFIRMED.
11
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
14-1156
RONALD SORILE
VERSUS
LOTT OIL COMPANY, INC.
PETERS, J., concurring.
I join with the majority in the decision to affirm the judgment of the workers
compensation judge (WCJ) awarding workers’ compensation benefits to Ronald
Sorile. Additionally, I concur in the result reached in rejecting Mr. Sorile’s claim
for penalties and attorney fees at the trial level as well as his claim for attorney fees
for work performed on appeal. However, I do not agree with the manner of
disposition of the claims raised by Mr. Sorile.
Mr. Sorile raised the issues of penalties and attorney fees by filing an answer
to the appeal of Lott Oil Company, Inc. (Lott Oil). The majority refuses to
consider the issues raised in the answer based on their interpretation of La.Code
Civ.P. art. 2088(A). Specifically, the majority reaches the conclusion that the WCJ
“became divested of jurisdiction over all matters on appeal” when it granted the
appeal to Lott Oil on September 22, 2014. According to the majority, from that
point forward, Mr. Sorile could only file his answer to the appeal in this court. I
disagree with that analysis.
The majority quotes part of the first paragraph of La.Code Civ.P. art.
2088(A) in support of their rejection of Mr. Sorile’s answer to the appeal.
However, the language deleted is of critical importance in interpreting that Article.
The full paragraph and the pertinent language that follows the quoted language
reads:
The jurisdiction of the trial court over all matters in the case
reviewable under the appeal is divested, and that of the appellate court
attaches, on the granting of the order of appeal and the timely filing of
the appeal bond, in the case of a suspensive appeal or on the granting
of the order of appeal, in the case of a devolutive appeal. Thereafter,
the trial court has jurisdiction in the case only over those matters not
reviewable under the appeal, including the right to:
....
(6) Grant an appeal to another party[.]
(Emphasis added.)
Thus, clearly the WCJ had not lost jurisdiction to grant an appeal to Mr. Sorile.
In this case, however, Mr. Sorile did not seek an appeal of the WCJ
judgment. Instead, he chose to file an answer to the appeal as provided for in
La.Code Civ.P. art. 2133(A). Compliance with that Article requires no order from
the trial court, and the Article provides in part that “[t]he answer filed by the
appellee shall be equivalent to an appeal on his part from any portion of the
judgment rendered against him in favor of the appellant and of which he complains
in his answer.” (Emphasis added.) The appellee “must file an answer to the
appeal, stating the relief demanded, not later than fifteen days after the return day
or the lodging of the record whichever is later.” Id.
The record was lodged with this court on October 31, 2014; and the return
date was set first for November 24, 2014, and finally for November 30, 2014. Mr.
Sorile filed his answer into the record on September 30, 2014, or well within the
fifteen-day outer limit set in La.Code Civ.P. art. 2133(A). Nothing in La.Code
Civ.P. art. 2133(A) requires an appellee to wait until after the lodging of the record
or the return date to file an answer to the appeal, and when the record was lodged
with this court, Mr. Sorile’s answer was lodged as a part of that record. It is
significant to note that La.Code Civ.P. art. 2133 falls within that section of the
Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure related to the procedure appealing at the trial
level and not the procedure in the appellate courts.
Although I find that the majority erred in not considering Mr. Sorile’s
answer to appeal, my review of the record before us causes me to conclude that his
request for penalties and attorney fees lacks merit and that the WCJ did not err in
rejecting his claims in that regard. For those same reasons, I would reject his claim
for an award of attorney fees for work performed on appeal. Thus, I concur in the
ultimate result reached by the majority.