Louisiana Workers' Compensation Corporation v. Industrial Helicopters, LLC
Louisiana Workers' Compensation Corporation v. Industrial Helicopters, LLC, No. WCW-0017-0419 (La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. July 26, 2017).
Authorities cited
Identified automatically; this list may not be exhaustive.
- Hebert v. Richard 72 So. 3d 892
- Hebert v. Richard 166 So. 3d 1265
- Hebert v. Richard 178 So. 3d 991
- Hebert v. Richard 206 So. 3d 251
- Hebert v. Richard 214 So. 3d 870
- Brown v. Sanders 960 So. 2d 931
- Herlitz Const. Co., Inc. v. Hotel Investors of New Iberia, Inc. 396 So. 2d 878
Opinion text
STATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT
17-419
LOUISIANA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
CORPORATION
VERSUS
INDUSTRIAL HELICOPTERS, LLC
**********
SUPERVISORY WRIT FROM THE
OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION - DISTRICT 4
PARISH OF LAFAYETTE, NO. 16-00535
SHARON MORROW, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE
**********
JOHN D. SAUNDERS
JUDGE
**********
Court composed of John D. Saunders, Phyllis M. Keaty, and Candyce G. Perret,
Judges.
WRIT DENIED.
Kenneth H. Laborde
Brendan P. Doherty
Bradley J. Schwab
Gieger, Laborde & Laperouse
One Shell Square
701 Poydras Street, Suite 4800
New Orleans, LA 70139-4800
(504) 561-0400
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPLICANT:
Industrial Helicopters, LLC
Gregory E. Bodin
Christopher M. Vitenas
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, P.C.
Chase North Tower
450 Laurel Street, 20th Floor
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
(225) 381-7000
COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/RESPONDENT:
Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Corporation
SAUNDERS, Judge.
Two applications seeking supervisory writs from judgments of the Office of
Workers’ Compensation (OWC), Parish of Lafayette, the Honorable Sharon
Morrow presiding, have been filed in this matter, which has been before this Court
on several previous occasions in an underlying tort litigation filed by Tommie
Hebert (Hebert) and his wife against Industrial Helicopters, LLC (Industrial),
among other defendants, for injuries Hebert sustained in a helicopter accident. See
Hebert v. Richard, 10-1417 (La.App. 3 Cir. 7/6/11), 72 So.3d 892 (Hebert I);
Hebert v. Richard, 15-8 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/17/15), 166 So.3d 1265 (Hebert II),
writs denied, 15-1390, 15-1391 (La. 10/2/15), 178 So.3d 991; Hebert v. Richard,
16-427 (La.App. 3 Cir. 11/2/16), 206 So.3d 251 (Hebert III), writ denied, 16-2058
(La. 1/19/17), 214 So.3d 870.
In the first writ application, docket number 17-419, Defendant/Plaintiff-in-
Reconvention-Relator, Industrial, seeks supervisory writ from the OWC judgment,
which granted summary judgment in favor of Plaintiff/Defendant-in-Reconvention,
Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Corporation (LWCC), Industrial’s workers’
compensation insurer, finding the doctrine of res judicata precluded relitigation of
whether Hebert was in the course and scope of his employment with Industrial at
the time of the accident.
In the second writ application, docket number 17-428, LWCC seeks review
of the OWC judgment, which granted partial summary judgment in favor of
Industrial, holding that coverage would be afforded to Industrial under LWCC’s
policy in the event it is determined that Hebert was in the course and scope of his
employment with Game Management, Inc. (GMI), as a borrowed employee, at the
time of his injury.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This matter arises out of an accident in which Hebert fell from a helicopter
owned by Industrial while capturing whitetail deer using a deer-netting gun in
Mexico on March 3, 2007. Industrial voluntarily began paying medical bills and
issuing weekly checks to Hebert as workers’ compensation benefits. LWCC
denied coverage based on its determination that Hebert was not in the course and
scope of his employment with Industrial at the time of the accident. Hebert and his
wife sued, in tort, the owner and operator of the helicopter, Industrial, as well as
GMI, a wildlife survey company. Both Industrial and GMI are owned by J. Oran
Richard. As a defense, Industrial argued that (1) GMI was Hebert’s
special/borrowing employer who had borrowed Hebert from his general employer,
Industrial, and (2) under La.R.S. 23:1031(C), 1 both Industrial and GMI were
solidarily liable for workers’ compensation benefits and, therefore, immune from
suit in tort. The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Industrial on this
issue. On appeal, this court reversed, explaining:
GMI is not a borrowing employer. Further, the control by Industrial
in this case renders Industrial, but not GMI, liable for workers’
compensation benefits and entitled to tort immunity if Mr. Hebert was
in the course and scope of his employment with Industrial at the time
of his accident. Industrial states that he was not.
1
Louisiana Revised Statutes 23:1031(C) provides:
In the case of any employee for whose injury or death payments are due and who
is, at the time of the injury, employed by a borrowing employer in this Section
referred to as a “special employer”, and is under the control and direction of the
special employer in the performance of the work, both the special employer and
the immediate employer, referred to in this Section as a “general employer”, shall
be liable jointly and in solido to pay benefits as provided under this Chapter. As
between the special and general employers, each shall have the right to seek
contribution from the other for any payments made on behalf of the employee
unless there is a contract between them expressing a different method of sharing
the liability. Where compensation is claimed from, or proceedings are taken
against, the special employer, then, in the application of this Chapter, reference to
the special employer shall be substituted for reference to the employer, except that
the amount of compensation shall be calculated with reference to the earnings of
the employee under the general employer by whom he is immediately employed.
The special and the general employers shall be entitled to the exclusive remedy
protections provided in R.S. 23:1032.
2
Hebert I, 72 So.3d at 903. Following remand, the Heberts filed a motion for partial
summary judgment, asserting no genuine issue of material fact existed pertaining
to the issue of Industrial’s immunity from tort liability, given Industrial judicially
admitted Hebert’s injuries did not occur in the course and scope of his employment
with Industrial in multiple filings of record. The trial court denied the motion, and
after trial, the jury found Hebert was in the course and scope of his employment
with Industrial at the time of the accident, awarding $1,500,000.00 in special
damages and $500,000.00 in general damages. On appeal, this court again
reversed, finding, relevant herein, that (1) the statement made by Industrial
constituted a “judicial confession” that Hebert was not in the course and scope of
his employment with Industrial at the time of the accident and (2) after reviewing
all of the admissible evidence, including Industrial’s confession, “the evidence
overwhelmingly establishes that Hebert was not in the course and scope of his
employment with Industrial at the time of the accident.” Hebert II, 166 So.3d at
1274, 1276. At this point, LWCC sought to intervene in the action, seeking to
have its obligations under its workers’ compensation policy resolved, but the trial
court denied the motion. After remand, this court further concluded that Industrial
was entitled to an offset for the $503,839.49 in workers’ compensation benefits
already paid “as it was not responsible for workers’ compensation benefits since
Mr. Hebert was not in the course and scope of his employment.” Hebert III, 206
So.3d at 254. Industrial has taken full credit for the offset, but still seeks to recover
the entire $503,839.49 from LWCC.
Meanwhile, LWCC filed a Petition for Declaratory Judgment in the OWC,
seeking a declaration that no coverage was afforded under its policy issued to
Industrial. Industrial filed a counterclaim seeking coverage under the policy,
3
arguing Hebert was in the course and scope of his employment at the time of the
accident, either directly with Industrial or as a borrowed employee.
Thereafter, LWCC filed its motion for summary judgment, seeking, in part,
an order that this court’s course and scope ruling was res judicata between the
parties, precluding relitigation of this issue. Industrial opposed the motion,
contending that res judicata is not applicable because this action and the Hebert
action are not between the same parties. It also filed its own motion for partial
summary judgment, seeking an order that coverage would be afforded under
LWCC’s policy in the event it is determined that Hebert was in the course and
scope of his employment with either Industrial or with GMI as a borrowed
employee at the time of the accident. In response, LWCC argued there was no way
Industrial could be the lending employer because this court has already determined
Hebert was not in the course and scope of his employment with Industrial at the
time of the accident.
The OWC first heard LWCC’s motion on March 3, 2017. Finding it was
bound by this court’s ruling on “direct” employment, the OWC granted summary
judgment on the res judicata issue from the bench, noting:
And you make good arguments, [defense counsel]; I understand
the arguments. I see where you’re coming from. It just goes against
the grain for me to say, “Well, I disagree with the Third Circuit
holding here.” It’s kind of like a child and a parent; you don’t tell
your parent you disagree. You wait for the parent to maybe change its
mind or take a different approach. So I’m not saying that your
argument doesn’t have merit. It’s just I do feel bound by that finding.
In a separate hearing held on March 22, 2017, the OWC granted partial
summary judgment in favor of Industrial, finding, on the very narrow issue of
general employment, “that if it is determined that Industrial was a general
employer and Game Management, Inc. was a special employer of Tommie Hebert
at the time of his accident, then coverage for worker’s compensation benefits will
4
be payable under the policy LWCC issued to Industrial.” Industrial now seeks
review of the OWC’s grant of summary judgment on the issue of res judicata (17-
419), and LWCC seeks review of the OWC’s grant of partial summary judgment
on the borrowing employer/general employer issue (17-428). We have issued a
writ granting LWCC’s writ application on 17-428 which reversed the OWC’s grant
of partial summary judgment. Further, in writ 17-428, we have dismissed
Industrial’s claim in this matter.
SUPERVISORY RELIEF
“The proper procedural vehicle to contest an interlocutory judgment that
does not cause irreparable harm is an application for supervisory writs. See La.
C.C.P. arts. 2087 and 2201.” Brown v. Sanders, 06-1171, p. 2 (La.App. 1 Cir.
3/23/07), 960 So.2d 931, 933. But see La.Code Civ.P. art. 2083, comment (b),
Comments- -2005, which provides, in pertinent part, “Irreparable injury continues
to be an important (but not exclusive) ingredient in an application for supervisory
writs.” “A court of appeal has plenary power to exercise supervisory jurisdiction
over [trial] courts and may do so at any time, according to the discretion of the
court.” Herlitz Const. Co., Inc. v. Hotel Inv’rs of New Iberia, Inc., 396 So.2d 878,
878 (La.1981) (per curiam). When the trial court’s ruling is arguably incorrect, a
reversal will terminate the litigation, and there is no dispute of fact to be resolved,
judicial efficiency and fundamental fairness to the litigants dictate that the merits
of the application for supervisory writs should be decided in an attempt to avoid
the waste of time and expense of a possibly useless future trial on the merits. Id.
ON THE MERITS
We dismissed Industrial’s claim in writ 17-428. That dismissal renders this
writ application moot.
5
DISPOSITION
WRIT DENIED. This writ application is moot.
6