Cited by
Opinions in Louisiana that cite Johnson v. Wilson, 118 So. 2d 450.
-
Carpenter v. Besco Corp.
521 So. 2d 421
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1988
1st Cir.1957), aff'd in part and rev’d in part, , concluded that medical testimony as to a “ ‘definite possibility’ ” of the existence of a condition, although it does not meet the alleged test of proving something with a reasonable certainty, nonetheless goes to the weight rather than to the admissibility of the evidence, the preponderance
-
Veals v. Manis
437 So. 2d 359
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1983
555 , (1972); , (1960); (La.App.
- Williams v. United States P. & I. Agency, Inc. 424 So. 2d 319 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1982
-
Chaney v. Cunningham
411 So. 2d 519
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1982
(1960).” We find from the evidence in the record that the trial court did not commit manifest error in finding contributory negligence on the part of Virginia Chaney; she was negligent in executing her passing maneuver under the circumstances of this case and this negligence bars her recovery.
-
Touchette v. Braud
382 So. 2d 272
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1980
133, (1963); , (1960); (La.App.
- Bodin v. Dauphine 351 So. 2d 1275 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1977
-
Bamburg v. Nelson
313 So. 2d 872
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1975
133 , (1963); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
- Morgan v. Lumbermen's Mutual Casualty Company 317 So. 2d 7 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1975
-
Distinguished
Wilson v. Jones
294 So. 2d 231
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1974
The cases of Scrantz v. Aetna Casualty and Surety Company, La.App., ; Ulmer v. Travelers Insurance Company, La.App., , , , are clearly distinguishable on the facts from instant case.
-
Messina v. Chauppette
284 So. 2d 830
La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1973
261 , ; , ; ; Zurich Insurance Co. v. Grain Dealers Mutual Ins.
-
Adams v. Travelers Indemnity Company
277 So. 2d 685
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1973
133 , (1963); , (1960); Nain v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 241 So.
-
Walker v. Milton
268 So. 2d 654
La. 1972
1071 , (1972); , (1960); Hollabaugh-Seale Funeral Home v. Standard Acc.
-
Walker v. Milton
268 So. 2d 654
La. 1972
1071 , (1972); , (1960); Hollabaugh-Seale Funeral Home v. Standard Acc.
-
Johnson v. Allstate Insurance Co.
244 So. 2d 79
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1971
Gaspard v. LeMaire, 245 La.
-
Flournoy v. Otero
212 So. 2d 559
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1968
133 , *562 (1963); , (1960).
-
Ginlee v. Helg
203 So. 2d 714
La. 1967
See, e. g., , ; Kinchen v. Cottle, La.App., ; Williams v. Lafauci, La.App., ; Crier v. Marquette Casualty Company, La.App., ; Crane v. London, La.App., ; Sanders v. Hisaw, La.App., .
-
Cotton v. Bartoneau
199 So. 2d 17
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1967
Johnson v. Wilson, 1960, , ; Jenkins v. Fidelity and Casualty Co. of New York, La.App., 1 Cir., 1957, ; Johnson v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Co., La.App., 3 Cir., 1960, .” We do not think this rule has any application here.
-
Cashio v. Moody
190 So. 2d 517
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1966
379 , (1957); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
-
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Niagara Fire Ins. Co.
183 So. 2d 145
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1966
Also, , , where both parties were guilty of negligence continuing to the moment of the accident and at the time each discovered or should have discovered the other's peril, it was too late to avoid the accident, the court held the doctrine of last clear chance did not apply.
-
Hoover v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance
185 So. 2d 548
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1966
379 , (1957); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
-
Fulgium v. Lamb
179 So. 2d 676
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1965
379 , (1957); , (1960); Gaspard v. LeMaire, 245 La.
-
Gorum v. Pritchard
173 So. 2d 308
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1965
2d 674 (1st Cir.1957), reversed at , on other grounds, i. e., that the left turning driver had already started his turn and was across the center line when he struck the following vehicle which was attempting to pass.
-
Evans v. Thorpe
175 So. 2d 418
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1965
(1960); Washington Fire & Marine Ins.
-
Kimball v. Landreneau
170 So. 2d 665
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1964
See Johnson v. Wilson, supra [ , ].
-
Williams v. Lafauci
166 So. 2d 42
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1964
Pinard v. State Farm Mutual Insurance Co., La.App., ; Hernandez v. Hood, La.App., ; Baumann v. Allstate Insurance Company, La.App., ; Bonstaff v. Hawkins, La.App., ; LSA-R.S.
-
LeLeux v. Travelers Insurance Co.
162 So. 2d 417
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1964
Washington Fire & Marine Ins.
-
Wesley v. Home Indemnity Co.
157 So. 2d 467
La. 1963
379 , ; , and Gaspard v. LeMaire et al., 1963, 245 La.
-
Boyle v. Travelers Insurance Co.
157 So. 2d 471
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1963
379 , (1957); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
-
Dempster v. Beauboeuf
155 So. 2d 111
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1963
However, this case was reversed on certiorari by the Supreme Court, , , on facts identical with those here.
-
Moorehouse v. Gallow
156 So. 2d 62
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1963
379 , (1957); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
-
Ulmer v. Travelers Insurance Company
156 So. 2d 98
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1963
" , (1960), the Supreme Court held that a left-turning driver cannot discharge his burden by making his observation some distance from the intersection, but he is required to look to his rear immediately before attempting any turn across the center line of the highway."
-
Barras v. Fidelity and Casualty Co. of New York
152 So. 2d 74
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1963
379 , (1957); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
-
Bellard v. Texas Services, Inc.
151 So. 2d 694
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1963
* * * ” , ; Thomas v. Barnett, 240 La.
-
Mitchell v. National Surety Corp
149 So. 2d 213
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1963
379 , (1957); , (1960); Johnson v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Company, La.App., (3rd Cir. 1960); Stevens v. Dowden, La.App., (3rd Cir. 1960); Liddell v. New Orleans Public Service, Inc., La.App., (4th Cir. 1961); and LSA-R.S.
-
Hudgens v. Mayeaux
143 So. 2d 606
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1962
See, e. g., , and Washington Fire and Marine Insurance Co. v. Fireman's Ins.
-
Burton v. Allstate Insurance Co.
139 So. 2d 817
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1962
1 Cir., (reversed on facts, , ), the decisions involving the negligence of a left-turning driver were analyzed as falling into three general patterns, -679: “(1) Cases holding that the sole proximate cause of the accident was the negligence of the driver turning left suddenly and/or without signal and in the immediate
-
Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance v. George W. Foshee Lumber Co.
136 So. 2d 115
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1961
379 , ; , ; Jenkins v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of N. Y., La.App.
-
Guidry v. United States Casualty Co.
134 So. 2d 319
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1961
379 , (1957); , (1960); LSA-R.S.
-
Davis v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Ins. Co.
134 So. 2d 366
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1961
Washington Fire & Marine Ins.
-
Boudreaux v. Davis
134 So. 2d 349
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1961
A similar situation was presented in the recent case of Johnson v. Wilson, 1960, , , in which the Court held as follows: ■ “ ‘ * * * But, of course, defendant did not have the legal right to commence a left turn by driving over the center line when confronted with an unfavorable traffic condition and, had he checked to his rear, just before turning, he would have realized that t
-
Sonnier v. Great American Insurance Company
134 So. 2d 363
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1961
379 , ; Johnson v. Wilson, 1960, , ; Johnson v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Co., La.App.
-
Deshotels v. United States Fire Insurance Company
132 So. 2d 504
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1961
A similar situation was presented in the recent case of Johnson v. Wilson, 1960, , , in which the Court held as follows: "* * * But, of course, defendant did not have the legal right to commence a left turn by driving over the center line when confronted with an unfavorable traffic condition and, had he checked to his rear, just before turning, he would have realized that the Jo
-
North River Insurance Co. v. Allstate Insurance Co.
132 So. 2d 90
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1961
379 , ; , ; Jenkins v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of N. Y., La.App.
- Chapman v. Chapman 130 So. 2d 811 La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1961
-
Ruple v. Travelers Indemnity Company
129 So. 2d 240
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1961
Finally, the Supreme Court in the case of Johnson v. Wilson, 1960, , , reversing the decision of the First Circuit in La.App., , held as follows: "It is seen from the statement of defendant * * * that he felt that, when he had given a hand signal indicating his intention to make a left turn, he was entitled to engage in that maneuver irrespective of th
-
Johnson v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Ins. Co.
124 So. 2d 331
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1960
379 , ; Johnson v. Wilson, 1960, , ; LSA-R.S.
-
Self v. Johnson
124 So. 2d 324
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1960
1 Cir., , reversed on other grounds , ; Matherne v. Crowther, La.App.
-
Papillion v. Papillion
124 So. 2d 586
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1960
A; , , reversing La.App.
- Knighten v. American Automobile Insurance Co. 121 So. 2d 344 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1960