Cited by
Opinions in Louisiana that cite Fertitta v. Palmer, 211 So. 2d 282.
-
Katty Calderon, Natural Mother of the Decedent, Avril Sanabria Versus Lezly Sanabria, Suly Sanabria, Jonathan Rivera, Abc Insurance …
La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 2022
App. 2nd Cir. 1982) ( So.2d 282, 285 (La.
-
Sherri Arceneaux v. Amanda Arceneaux
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2013
conduct in this case was use of the vehicle is a holding that “use” may be interpreted to mean “while using.” So.2d 282 (1968).
-
Andrew Richard v. Robert Brasseaux, Jr.
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2010
630 So.2d at 763; So.2d 282, 285 (1968).
-
Richard v. Brasseaux
50 So. 3d 282
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2010
630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
- Baker v. Hurst 50 So. 3d 215 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2010
-
Thomas Allen v. Allstate Insurance Company
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2009
Interstate, supra at 763; So.2d 282, 285 (1968).
-
Allen v. Allstate Insurance Co.
10 So. 3d 374
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2009
Interstate, supra at 763 ; , (1968).
-
Hebert v. Webre
982 So. 2d 770
La. 2008
Interstate, supra at 763 ; , (1968).
- Ursin v. Webb 945 So. 2d 734 La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 2006
-
Hill v. Shelter Mut. Ins. Co.
935 So. 2d 691
La. 2006
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
-
Gray Ins. Co. v. Old Tyme Builders, Inc.
878 So. 2d 603
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2004
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
-
Thiels v. AMERICAN INTERN. SOUTH INS. CO.
861 So. 2d 757
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2003
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
-
Charles Thiels v. American International South Ins. Co.
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2003
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763; So.2d 282, 285 (1968).
-
Trammel v. Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance
811 So. 2d 78
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2002
Casso, 688 So.2d at 183 , , (1968).
-
Doe v. Mires
741 So. 2d 842
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1999
Interstate, 98-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
-
Doe v. Mires
741 So. 2d 842
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1999
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
-
Ledet v. Leighton
736 So. 2d 854
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1999
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
-
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Cooper
707 So. 2d 986
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1997
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
- Casso v. United Cabs, Inc. 688 So. 2d 180 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1997
- Criticized Mahlum v. Baker 639 So. 2d 820 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1994
-
Crabtree v. State Farm Ins. Co.
632 So. 2d 736
La. 1994
Interstate, 93-0911 p. 5, 630 So.2d at 763 ; , (1968).
- Smith v. Estrade 589 So. 2d 1158 La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1991
-
Alford v. Kaiser
589 So. 2d 546
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1991
Such an interpretation would extend the meaning of the arising-out-of-use provision of the policy beyond the contemplation of the parties to the contract and would not comport with the common-sense interpretation *549 , (1968).
-
Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. v. Joe Dean Contr.
584 So. 2d 1226
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1991
[1] , (1968); Copes v. Copeland Bldg.
- Kessler v. Amica Mut. Ins. Co. 573 So. 2d 476 La. 1991
- Byrne v. State Farm Insurance Co. 572 So. 2d 728 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1990
-
Currera v. Loyd
531 So. 2d 544
La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1988
The Carter holding evolved from three previous Supreme Court decisions; , (1968); (La.
- Foster v. Lafayette Ins. Co. 504 So. 2d 82 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1987
-
Blue v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co.
493 So. 2d 701
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1986
1 So.2d 282 (1968), a determination of whether the injury-causing incident arises out of the use of a vehicle is best made by using a common sense approach.
-
Lucey v. Harris
490 So. 2d 416
La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 1986
The Carter holding evolved from three previous Supreme Court decisions; , (1968)
-
Bolin v. Safeco Insurance Companies
431 So. 2d 71
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1983
shall be legally entitled to recover as damages from the owner or operator of an uninsured automobile because of bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death resulting therefrom, hereinafter called ‘bodily injury’, sustained by the insured, caused by accident and arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of such uninsured automobile; * * , (1968) and Bruno v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company, (La.App.
-
Carter v. CITY PARISH GOVERNMENT, ETC.
423 So. 2d 1080
La. 1982
Co., (a police escort to a funeral procession negligently failed to block a crossing highway); , (1968) (a sign was unloaded from the insured vehicle and negligently placed in a store); (La.App.
- Copes v. Copeland Bldg. Supply, Inc. 415 So. 2d 264 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1982
-
Little v. Kalo Laboratories, Inc.
406 So. 2d 678
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1981
(1968), that an insurance contract should not be interpreted so as to lead to absurd conclusions.
-
Tobin v. Williams
396 So. 2d 562
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1981
In his written reasons for judgment the trial judge stated: "The Louisiana Supreme Court, , [282] (1968) probably said it best when they held that the Court of Appeal, in denying that certain actions constituted `use' of the automobile, properly used a `common sense' approach.
-
Lucas v. Deville
385 So. 2d 804
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1980
In resolving the issue herein, i. e., whether the quoted clause in State Farm's policy excludes coverage, , (1968), the Supreme Court referred to the "common sense" approach in determining whether the negligent act which caused the injury was a natural and reasonable consequence of the use of the vehicle, within the contemplation of the parties negotiating the insurance contract.
-
Johns v. State Farm Fire and Cas. Co.
349 So. 2d 481
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1977
In resolving the issue herein, i. e., whether the quoted clause in State Farm's policy excludes coverage, , (1968), the Supreme Court referred to the "common sense" approach in determining whether the negligent act which caused the injury was a natural and reasonable consequence of the use of the vehicle, within the contemplation of the parties negotiating the insurance contract.
-
Bruno v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co.
337 So. 2d 241
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 1976
(1968), held that a "common sense" approach should be used in determining whether the negligent act which caused the injury was a natural and reasonable consequence of the use of the vehicle, within the contemplation of the parties negotiating the insurance contract.
-
Commercial Union Insurance Company v. Bringol
262 So. 2d 532
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1972
(1968); Barrois v. Service Drayage Company, infra.
- Barrois v. Service Drayage Company 250 So. 2d 135 La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1971
-
Mays v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Company
242 So. 2d 264
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 1970
For a discussion of the "common sense" , .
-
Heider v. Employers Mutual Liability Ins. Co. of Wis.
231 So. 2d 438
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 1970
366 , , we cannot say that the general award to Mrs. Heider of $6,500.00 was either inadequate or excessive.