Cited by
Opinions in Louisiana that cite McDill v. Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 475 So. 2d 1085.
-
Blessen Francis v. Kaysha Nicole Mitchell Mason, and Usaa Insurance Company, Xyz Insurance and Under Insured Safeway Insurance …
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2025
coverage is receipt by the insurer of “sufficient facts which fully apprise the insurer that (1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured or under insured; (2) that he [or she] was at fault; (3) that such fault gave rise to damages; and (4) establish the extent of those damages.”
- Walid Attamari v. Allstate Property and Casualty Insurance Company La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 2024
- Alisa Alan Durkheimer v. Tranise L. Landry La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2023
-
Krishnendu Dey v. Eddie Williams and Lyndon Southern Insurance Company and First Chicago Insurance Company
La. Ct. App. 4th Cir. 2022
Out of an abundance of caution, Mr. Dey filed suit against Mr. Williams and Lyndon 1 (La.
- Zydeco's II, LLC, Zydeco's Corp, Dustin Gainey and Rosemarie Gainey Versus Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's, London Subscribing to … La. Ct. App. 5th Cir. 2021
- Tamekia Capers v. NorthPro Properties Management, LLC La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2021
- Martin Baack and Brenda Baack v. Michael McIntosh La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2020
- Heather Bourg and Susan Bourg v. Safeway Insurance Company of Louisiana and Chris Martinez La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2020
- Calvin Guidry and Denise Guidry v. USAgencies Casualty Insurance Company, Inc., Patricia Mousseau, Glenn Mousseau, Venture Transport Logistics, … La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2019
- Feingerts v. La. Citizens Prop. Ins. Corp. 265 So. 3d 62 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2019
-
Amanda Bertrand v. Progressive Security Insurance Company
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2018
Ms. Bertrand’s counsel notified Progressive on April 29, 2013, that the notations “In Payment Of: FULL/FINAL RELEASE OF UMBI CLAIM ARISING FROM MVA 3/10/12” and “Payment Type: FINAL PAYMENT” printed on the $15,000.00 check and the release document included with the check rendered the payment a conditional tender
- Jacobs v. Geico Indem. Co. 256 So. 3d 449 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2018
-
Jacqueline J. Gaspard v. Horace Mann Insurance Company
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2018
She submitted demands, which included documentation of her injuries and treatment, seeking an unconditional tender under its UM policy.
-
Gaspard v. Horace Mann Ins. Co.
247 So. 3d 778
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2018
She submitted demands, which included documentation of her injuries and treatment, to Allstate under McDill v. Utica Mutual Insurance Company , seeking an unconditional tender under its UM policy.
- Lind v. United Servs. Auto. Ass'n 242 So. 3d 576 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2018
-
Trae Thibodeaux v. Steven Arvie, Jr.
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2017
Co., (setting forth the four elements for “satisfactory proof of loss”: “(1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured or underinsured; (2) that he was at fault; (3) that such fault gave rise to damages; and (4) establish the extent of those damages”).
-
Thibodeaux v. Arvie
226 So. 3d 1229
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2017
Co., (setting forth the four elements for "satisfactory proof of loss”: "(1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured or underinsured; (2) that he was at fault; (3) that such fault gave rise to damages; and (4) establish the extent of those damages”).
- Henderson v. State Farm Mut. 244 So. 3d 576 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2017
- Jones v. Government Employees Insurance Co. 220 So. 3d 915 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2017
- Ewell J. Gaspard, Et Ux. v. Usaa Casualty Ins. Co. La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2017
-
Steven Odstrcil v. State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. Co.
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2017
t facts which fully apprise the insurer that (1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured or under insured; (2) that he [or she] was at fault; (3) that such fault gave rise to damages; and (4) establish the extent of those damages.”
-
Odstrcil v. State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. Co.
221 So. 3d 83
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2017
ss” in a claim pursuant to UM coverage is receipt by the insurer of “sufficient facts which ful *87 ly apprise the insurer that (1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured or under insured; (2) that he [or she] was at fault; (3) that such fault gave rise to damages; and (4) establish, the extent of those damages.”
- Cooper v. Farmers Insurance Exchange 210 So. 3d 829 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2016
-
Michael Burley v. New York Life Insurance Company
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2015
Louisiana Bag Company, Inc. v. Audubon Indemnity Company, 08– 0453 (La.12/2/08), [ ]; [ ](La.1985).
-
Burley v. New York Life Insurance Co.
179 So. 3d 922
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2015
Louisiana Bag Company, Inc., v. Audubon Indemnity Company, 08-0453 (La.12/2/08), [ ]; [ ](La.1985).
- Citadel Broadcasting Corp. v. Axis U.S. Insurance Co. 162 So. 3d 470 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2015
- Gaspard v. Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Co. 155 So. 3d 24 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2014
-
Lemoine v. Mike Munna, L.L.C.
148 So. 3d 205
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2014
Louisiana Bag Company, Inc. v. Audubon Indemnity Company, 08-0453 (La.12/2/08)
- Iteld v. Four Corners Construction, L.P. 133 So. 3d 312 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2014
- Williams v. Peerless Insurance Co. 123 So. 3d 204 La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2013
- Galyn and James Montgomery v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2012
- Montgomery v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. 103 So. 3d 1222 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2012
-
Katie Realty, Ltd. v. Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance Corp.
100 So. 3d 324
La. 2012
Co., (personal injury claim arising under uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance coverage); Hart v. Allstate Ins.
-
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v. Norcold, Inc.
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2012
Our supreme court has addressed satisfactory proof of loss as follows: It is well settled that a “satisfactory proof of loss” is only that which is “sufficient to fully apprise the insurer of the insured's claims.” McDill [v. Utica Mutual Insurance Co., ].
-
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Norcold, Inc.
88 So. 3d 1245
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2012
Our supreme court has addressed satisfactory proof of loss as follows: It is well settled that a “satisfactory proof of loss” is only that which is “sufficient to fully apprise the insurer of the insured’s claims.” McDill [v. Utica Mutual Insurance Co., ].
- Carl R. Guidry, Et Ux. v. State Farm Fire and Casualty Company La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2011
- Guidry v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. 74 So. 3d 1276 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2011
-
Payton v. Progressive Security Insurance Co.
66 So. 3d 1194
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2011
Co., is the seminal case on defining what constitutes satisfactory proof in the context of an uninsured motorist coverage claim.
- La Louisiane Bakery Co. v. Lafayette Insurance Co. 61 So. 3d 17 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2011
-
Jones v. Johnson
56 So. 3d 1016
La. Ct. App. 2d Cir. 2010
Co., “satisfactory proof of loss” is that which suffices “to fully apprise the insurer of the |10insured’s claim.” Id., at 1089 , citing Hart, supra.
- Ginger Hinch Durio v. Horace Mann Ins. Co. La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2010
- Oubre v. Louisiana Citizens Fair Plan 53 So. 3d 492 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2010
- Richardson v. Geico Indemnity Co. 48 So. 3d 307 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2010
-
Renia B. Hudson v. Aig National Insurance Company
La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2010
Rather, our supreme court was quite explicit as to what “satisfactory proof of loss” entails in Reed, 857 So.2d at 1022 ((alteration in original)) wherein it stated: “Satisfactory proof of loss” in a claim pursuant to UM coverage is receipt by the insurer of “sufficient facts which fully apprise the insurer that (1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured
-
Hudson v. AIG National Insurance
40 So. 3d 484
La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2010
Rather, our supreme court was quite explicit as to what “satisfactory proof of loss” entails in Reed, 857 So.2d at 1022 ((alteration in original)) wherein it stated: “Satisfactory proof of loss” in a claim pursuant to UM coverage is receipt by the insurer of “sufficient facts which fully apprise the insurer that (1) the owner or operator of the other vehicle involved in the accident was uninsured or under insured; (2) tha
- Betty Jean Pharis Morrison v. Alexandria Commons, LLC La. Ct. App. 3d Cir. 2009
- Morrison v. Alexandria Commons, LLC 25 So. 3d 989 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2009
- Guillory v. Lee 16 So. 3d 1104 La. 2009
-
Demma v. Automobile Club Inter-Insurance Exchange
15 So. 3d 95
La. 2009
22:658 [2] constitutes an acknowledgment sufficient to interrupt prescription.
- Neal Auction Co. v. Lafayette Insurance 13 So. 3d 1135 La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 2009